Gautham, respect!
Friends,
Any downloadable link of the Jaya TV interview? Techsatish links are banned here :(
:lol: He may not be much of a filmaker, but he makes a fine journalist.
'ennodu vaa vaa' has a retro feel to it. Sounds a bit like old Hindi song. (BTW, it has more than 200000 hits on youtube now. Probably around 100000 by our own Aravind Mano :) ) Anyway, what I wanted to say was that nowadays Raja is trying to give some retro style songs. Two songs which immediately come to my mind include, 'aaro paadunnu dhoori' from 'Katha Thudarunnu' and 'unnai padithen' from 'Ponnar Shankar'. Infact I feel this songs affinity to the 'Ponnar Shankar' song a lot. Lets see how he takes in the charanams. Two weeks from now, we will know :)
The organ (or accordian or some huge sized EU instrument that produces louder versions of such sounds) could also be one reason for the retro feel.
There's a city in MI called "Holland" and there's a tulip festival in that city each year. The exhibits during the festival include a windmill & a huge organ (fills the whole room -length, width, height all in feet measures) and the sound produced can be heard far far away. Then there'll be people in dutch country style costumes / dancing with wooden shoes with an "on-road orchestra" that produces similar sound. (There was a docu on a French city with a lot of Italians on Detroit public TV a couple of days back and similar sound was reverberating in the market place shown in it).
The "response" to the singer's "call" (follows the 'mAttEn' of each sentence of pallavi) sounds like one such instrument...London ubayam'nu ninaikkiREn. That gives a distinct classic / retro EU feel to the song.
BTW, the youtube crossed 250K - may be the Friday effectu...
The interview seems mega blade for the first 15 minutes, does it get better or should I not bother anymore?
Okay, it got better...
Internet comments'lam avalo kevalama pOchu ivanukku.. Ivan padatha vida youtube comments 'la neraiya kaththukkalam.. Poda Dei.
nani (@NameisNani) 18/08/12 5:53 AM
Off to chennai .. Last schedule of yeto vellupoyindhi manasu
Gautam Vasudev Menon: internet commentslAm kEvalamA irukku
Internet commenters: appuRam edhukku adhai padicha?
app,
True. The retro feel is both due to the instrument sound as well as the tune.
Gowtham would not have really been honest on his "hubbers" comments.
I strongly feel he just commented that way , because he was with IR and had a fear that IR can always shoot back saying "Yaar enna sonnaal enakkenna kavalai ?". So Gowtham should have thought of adding a pacifier in his question itself.
This interview is notable in ways more than what is obvious.
We all think that Gowtham has been clever in handling "fragile" IR in a "careful" way. Yes, that is true, but only partially.
The fact is that IR has become less sensitive and more "wise" about the way media, showbiz and interviews work.
Thalaivar mattum "Hey Ram" time-la irundha form-la irundhirundhaarnaa Gowtham enna pambiyirundhaalum fireworks thaan..
Even in this interview, there were some trigger points which IR just ignored and passed. See Gowtham...Even when he shows good respect he has for IR, he never missed a chance to proclaim "I decided this..I decided that...Naan thaan London polaamnu sonnen...naan thaan pesuvennu nenaichen..." etc.
Though he seems to appreciate IR for "bold decisions", we can see a hidden uncomfort when he says "Engalukku aavanga paadinathu okeyaa thaan irundhudhu...budget pottu thaan avangalai kooppittirundhom" etc..
IR even says "...Did I not ask you Gowtham when you faced some difficulties, ' Why did you come to me ? why did you not go to youngsters like Yuvan etc ?" .
So All has not been well, but if both of them are happy at the end of the day then we are happy :)
raja_fan,
Very pertinent observations. I have been saying here that Raja (or someone close to him) is finally understanding the power of his brand and trying to monetize it in multiple ways. I don't say this as something wrong but as something which is quite natural to most professionals around the world. In India, stars like Tendulkar and Rahman have shown how to create and maintain a brand and how to monetize it. Raja has a humongous brand and only now some effort is going into monetizing the brand. Good for us as we can look forward to more of Raja's music.
This is also one reason why Raja is being more tolerant towards media, towards public functions and now realizes the changed business climate of film and film music promotion. He is still the man of the 70s so you see a clear discomfort when he is talking. He definitely is not as media savvy as the younger generation. Yet, the fact that he understands the current climate bodes well for fans like us. Because if he adjusts to the business climate, there is chance of more music coming from him which will reach a larger audience. (That he will not compromise on his music is a given.)
Thanks for sharing!
App_engine,
Nice observation on ABBA connection. I remember Raja has one song inspired from ABBA's Money, Money. (btw, ur from Pollachi? It is my hometown)
Like several others pointed out, Ennodu Vaa Vaa has a retro feel. Personally, the moment I tried to sing the song, "kalangalil aval vasantham" song popped in my head, I don't know if there's any connection. I'm sure it is my horrible way of singing the tune and tempo wrong!
Some initial observation about the interview.
1. Wonderful interview by GVM. He seems like a hardcore raja fan. Although raja fans would be familiar with the content, still there are some very good nuggets. Should appreciate GVM for trying to document and show the workings to general public. I wish more directors do it. More I hear Raja speak, more enlightening it is.
2. 9:30 Raja asks if the situation is happening in the evening. I think for Raja it is one of the key factors in coming up with tune. Setting, environment, mood, character's emotion are extremely important for him and inspires his compositions. I think, if they were not confined sitting inside the car as GVM narrated, the song tune would be different. (say, if it is outdoor or if the scene transposes to swtizerland or something)
3. @9:37, Raja slightly feels restricted by voice & guitar set up fixed by GVM. "So you fixed with guitar to start with so I cannot go anywhere". I think Raja likes directors to give him a free hand at these things. IMHO, it is like acting out and showing to Sivaji sir how to approach a scene. It immediately restricts a himalayan artist like Raja.
4. @ 12:51 Raja explains such restrictions coming from film directors and format of the current film. He likes to be inspired by the situation and characters. Just asking him to come up with "hit" song is terribly boring for him.
5. @ 15:48 Raja got the freedom and he transposes "Saindhu Saindhu" by slowing the meter down. I guess this is the bit he plays in the piano at the end of the interview (41:30) I found this version more soulful and loved it more than the Yuvan's version. Take away for me is, If you go with a fixed notion to Raja, you get a standard song, if you go with a bloody open mind, I think he surprises himself and everyone.
6. @ 23:30 This is the reason, Raja songs will always retain his strong signature no matter which orchestra plays it. As GVM calls it Raja genre. He is pretty much doing sound designer's work in his compositions itself. Not an easy thing to do in cinema music. I think Raja's BGM could be sound designer/mixers nightmare. Would love to see Resul Pookutty (Slumdog millionaire - Sound designer) work on Raja's film and see how he approaches it.
7. LOL @ Jaya TV BGM during interview.
Overall, I like it. The more you listen, the more you feel it is different.
Got to run. may be more later.
PS: I put the time marker on youtube comment section for interested ppl.
s usual, excellent writeup senthilvc! :D Adikkadi vaanga!
You expect that Gautam shud not say anything as a producer?!? Thats his opinion! Even he is not a musical talent to decide things, you shud see that he agreed for Angel Studios. Hope you know Budapest is somewhat a cheap/affordable/not too costly option and this Angel studios shud really be somewhat costly. I am not saying we shud praise GVM for offering the freedom to IR. I am saying he too has some opinions, right or wrong. Consider this against many producers who openly disagree for any Budapest or any other Studios outside India! There shud be handful of such!
"Script nallaa irukku, Foreign studio book panni BGM, tracks ellaam nalla quality la pannalaam" nnu IR e suggest seithum athai budget exceed aaguthunnu sollli reject pannura producers are there! Now Gowtham agreed for whatever Raja asked, just that he says an opinion on one of the decisions. This need not be amplified at all. See the other good things he has done, as a marketing manager!
While what you are saying is rational, the way I understood Gowtham's comment was that for a untrained ear like his the choir seemed OK but IR could see the imperfections that he couldnt pick up and did not compromise the overall quality by sticking with the choir's performace he was unhappy with eventhough he knew there was money spent on the choir. I thought Gowtham was admiring IR's integrity for requesting another choir to come in despite the fact that it had the potential to upset the producers because of the incremental costs. I felt that Gowtham narrated that to highlight IR's unique music sense and his uncompromising spirit towards the overall quality of music.
kr, if that is the thought then its really nice! Gautam didn't elaborate that part as you did!
Gautam surely has shortfalls. Any director will. There are fans who are irritated with the non-stop one minit teasers. Not that they are fedup with the delay and diluting the concept of teaser, and thus drowing the hype itself, but they were against it becos they think "its a very cheap way to market a genius & IR don't need this kind of marketing". Agreed but the effect made by the last teaser is really good.
There are many Gautam haters among IR fans. Though I am seeing many of us actually appreciating gautam after the interview than before. Thats a good change.
Associations with Directors like Gautam is surely essential. How long will IR and we fans keep saying that nobody is needed for IR and only ppl who volunteerly take efforts shud come to IR etc?! Already IR's music is reaching to the new GenX aroung 20s via Singing Competitions and old movies aired in TV, Concerts like Endrendrum Raja, FM Channels etc PC as a medium for them may not be automatic. Howmany of them are searching volunteerly for IR music on Net? Maybe those who have their Parents or Elders in their family/friend may show a path for them.
But how many days are they going to listen only to the greater hits of Raja? Ajith is said to have asked to prepare a Village based script with IR music, to Venkat Prabhu. Surya once had expressed his wish to do an film with IR, to gautam. These things shud be taken serious. Diamond Babu shud put in actions, so that things like that shud realize. We have see live, many movies happen before us, Pazhassi Raja, Paa, Nandalala, Sriramarajyam etc. But the real youth, tender young kids who are budding, they should witness IR's music happening live and new before them, in their times, like NEPV! And such albums will be really very pivotal link in those young minds so that they will naturally start to Dig Raja's music, in their 30s 40s! Its like opening a Fixed Account, and Compund Interest shud start accumilating! New Age, New generation, and New Music for them from the same Music God who can create the New Music fresh for them :)
Oh! didn't know. I'm not surprised by your observation. I think any good sound designer would find it difficult to work with Raja's BGM. It is very easy to screw it up.
Will take a look at the film anyway.
App_engine,
Gotcha. I bought my NBW album in Pollachi in a road side shop. The owner was warning me at that time, that it is just BGM :) But recently, I saw Tamil people respond to Schubert's piece in Raja's concert as if it is Raja music (Or mistaking for Raja's music) Goes to show that Raja has brought us all a long way in WCM.
skv,
I go with what kr says. Gautham was definitely trying to highlight Raja's perfection. In the sense that for layman what seems to be good was not 'good enough' for the perfectionist in Raja. I don't think it had anything to do with budget and such.
http://www.flipkart.com/neethaane-po...7-7d9dfbe3007d
1. Kaatrai Konjam - Karthik - 05Min 34Sec
2. Pudikale Maamu - Suraj Jagan, Karthik - 06Min 00Sec
3. Yennodu Vaa Vaa - Karthik - 04Min 19Sec
4. Saayndhu Saayndhu - Yuvanshankar Raja, Ramya NSK - 06Min 07Sec
5. Pengal Yendral - Yuvanshankar Raja - 04Min 06Sec
6. Mudhal Murai - Sunidhi Chauhan - 03Min 55Sec
7. Sattru Munbu - Ramya NSK - 05Min 57Sec
8. Vaanam Mella - Ilaiyaraaja, Bela Shende - 06Min 02Se
Interesting singer choices. :)
Ramya NSK is interesting find . More like Andrea types i see .
http://soundcloud.com/singer-ramya
Bela Shinde again??!! Ippayaavadhu thamizh varudhaanu paarkkalaam. Shreya kozhandha rembba busyO?
Ramya NSK is the one who sang that Rihanna song in thamizh, no?
no options for buying it outside India ?
SONY pereeeyya meeesic brandnnu sonnainga ?imbuttu thaana ?
Enakkum athe peeling... sucks! Saw this on the facebook group page, hope its accurate. Kamesh has been pretty good with info he posts...
Kamesh BavaratnamBy Sep 1st, 2012 - NEPV will be available on itunes - this is a confirmed information
Ayyo! Bela Shinde's atrocious Tamil diction and Yuvan singing for 2 songs????? Kizhinjudhu lambaadi lungi!
My hope largely is on Karthik, NSK Ramya and Sunidhi, in that order.
Ramya is the grand-daughter of one of the greatest comedians of Tamil cinema, Nagercoil Sudalaimuthu Krishnan (N.S.K). Her singing style reminds one of Sunidhi Chauhan's. Good find indeed.
:oops: Completely forgot (irukkara konja nanja grey cells dying)
B Shinde - is she the 'booze irukkudhu' (appadeennA 'poo sirikkudhu'nnu artham) ammaNi?