If you like Malkauns..........
............of course, you like Malkauns! :) Here is a song from Opera House(1961) to dance to:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7tk5mIR8kWM
Bhimpalasi for the weekend (again)
Here is a song from Mirza Ghalib(1954) by Suraiya:
Yeh na thi hamari qismat............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzi5ifhNSz0
This is a popular ghazal sung at a faster pace.
Here are a few singers at slow pace:
Tina Sani, a Pakistani singer in Darbari kanada:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q7Tcno3ZQ4w
Habib Wali Muhammad, another Pakistani singer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiEL_sSsQDA
Farida Khanum, another Pakistani singer in Bageshri:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUQ253pSObs
Begum Akhtar:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Oh2KBWWcI1s
Rafi:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=g7T_8fvZjYs
Noor Jahan:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZKect_7OrTg
There are a few other singers. I will post their renditions later.
Have a ghazal filled (Memorial Day) weekend! :)
V_S: Adding vowels at the end of a word or between adjacent consonants is permitted in Hindustani classical and Hindi movie songs to fit the tune/ragam and thaalam. Long time back I discussed this with a linguist. He said that it was bacause they had difficulty with double consonants. They have a name for it, I forgot. That is why swarna (Sanskrit) became swaran. He gave me some other examples. Splitting words is also permitted. In fact, something similar happens in carnatic music. There is a Harikambhoji composition - dinamani vamsa tilaka......lavanya. They will sing it as 'dinamani vamsa...........tilaka lavanya'. In spoken language it is unacceptable. In singing it is fine. In the composition 'samaja vara gamana...' saama nigamaja sudhaa maya becomes saamani gamaja.... These are not that bad. Current crop of singers mutilate words. I won't go into that. What is worse than changing 'bhagyadha lakshmi baarammaa', a Purandara Dasa compostion to 'bhagyadha lakshmi paarammaa'! :lol: More later.
Enjoy the ghazals! I like them! :)
Kalyan(yaman) for the weekend
Another song from Mirza Ghalib:
nukta cheen hai gham e dil........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRtiZTTIyio
By K.L.Saigal in Yahudi ki Ladki
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozY5ItOpLsA
By Noor Jahan in another movie
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6CdkNOxVug
I chose a song from 1954 because it is a special year for me. 1953-54 was a memorable academic year for me. That was my final year in high school. I sat for the statewide school final known as Secondary School Leaving Certificate (SSLC) examination with a letter from a doctor certifying that it would not affect my health adversely because I was underage (avasara kudukkai :lol: ). In that examination I came first in the school, first in five of the seven subjects including Tamil for which I won a gold medal, one sovereign worth (called savaran or pavun for pound in Tamilnadu). If I remember correctly a British sovereign sold for Rs75 those days. I hear it is about Rs20000 now. I still have that gold medal. It will be a heirloom.
Avvaiyar, a Tamil movie with K.B.Sundarambal in the lead, was released that year (1953). That was the only movie my father accompanied me to the theater. He left at the interval asking his clerk accompanying us to take me home after the movie. I also attended my first carnatic vocal concert by K.B.Sundarambal. I still remember the main piece- Rama nannu brovara. She repeated the line 'neppulakai kanna thaavu ...' several times. Next day I sang that line to the amusement of my classmates! :) Avan, dubbed version of AAH was released that year. That is my most favourite Hindi movie ( for the songs). Another memorable event was watching the drama 'KaLvanin kaadhali' by T.K.Shanmugam brothers. It was made into a movie later with Sivaji Ganesan in the lead.
I acted in a Hindi skit ( Don't laugh ! :) )
Above all my first story was published by KalkaNdu, edited by Tamilvanan. I sent (posted) the story and told my friends about it. They started laughing uncontrollably. I did not know why? Then one of them explained that people who wrote for KalkaNdu were twice or thrice my age and there was no chance of my story being accepted. But, to my surprise, the story appeared in KalkaNdu a few issues later. It was time to rejoice with the three rupees reward promised by Tamilvanan. I waited for two weeks for the money order for three rupees.
It never came. Then I wrote to Tamilvanan, with no response! :( Next time I visit India I will stop by KalkaNdu office and demand that three rupees with interest for nearly sixt years! :lol:
Will somebody do the calculation and let me know how much I should ask for? :)
( I am sure all of you have memorable years. Time to record it for your children and grandchildren! :) )
Have a good weekend! :)
A hauntig melody by Geeta Dutt
From Kagaz ke Phool
Waqt ne Kiya Kya Haseen Situm........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paAptFpHBm8
V_S: Thanks. When I was in high school my ambition was to become a writer like T.Janakiraman. When I went to college for Intermediate in Science I met three others with similar ambitions. We all wrote to different magazines. When I went to Engineering I had not time to write except for the annual manuscript magazine edited by a friend. Strangely, some of my engineering classmates remember me for my writing than engineering! :lol: Soemtimes I wonder whether I took the right turn! :)
Swarup: :)
Guess the raaga for the weekend!
Suraiya and Rafi in Naach(1949) :
Ai Ishque Hame Barbad Na Kar....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H--5TkBmRag
I posted a few songs in this raaga earlier! :)
V_S: The word my linguist friend used was "chandabangam". If singing the way it is written(pronouncing correctly) results in 'chandabangam'(affects chandam) the words can be altered adding vowels where appropriate or splitting words into syllables!
Mehdi Hasan and Darbari Kanada
Mehdi Hasan. May his soul rest in peace.
Mehdi Hasan was considered to be one of the best exponents of Darbari Kanada in ghazals.
Here is a clip from Meri Pasand (My favourite) in Pakistan TV:
ku ba ku (also spelled 'kou ba kou' ):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p7mYWijfriA
Longer clip:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAA3n55wSd4
A short clip (about 6 minutes) with lyrics and a list of his ghazals:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KJzkI2A8Gho
In the second clip he talks about Darbari Kanada and Jaunpuri, and sings in those ragas to show the difference and how you can move from one to the other. Darbari Kanada, Jaunpuri and Adana have the same parent scale. If you listen to these clips a few times you will never forget Darbari Kanada! :)
Have a good weekend!
From my high school days !
A popular song from Malhar(1951). Music: Roshan
Bade armaan se rakha hai balam teri qasam..........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=shjfQSqswDU
The tune was used in the Tamil movie VaLaiyapathi(1952).
Kulungidum poovil ellaam thEn aruvi kaNdadhanaal.....
http://ww.youtube.com/watch?v=PIUTLcyYeP4
A comedy song in " classical style"
Lapak jhapak from Boot Polish(1958):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ja3XCe4e2gc
A comment quoted made fun of the music director accusing him of drifting to other raagas in the song. I thought it was in poor taste. I searched, found the song and listened to it a few times.
The song is about water/rain and clouds heralding monsoon. The viewers identified darbari kanada,adana (from the same parent scale),megh malhar and mian ki malhar(from a different parent scale). Megh malhar and Mian ki malhar are called monsoon ragas that bring rain. The lyrics has words/phrases like 'aa re badharwaa', 'pani la', 'panghat' and 'barso' indicating water! After listening to the song I was convinced the comment was in poor taste. Obviously the person who made such a comment has no sense of humour, knowledge of ragamaligai used in carnatic music! :( I suppose that is freedom of expression in the internet age ! :lol:
This is probably the best comedy song in "classical style" !
If you are interested in viewer comments:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ja3XCe4e2gc