Thiru,
Similarly Arjuna's ego was devasted by Maha Paramathma Maha Iswar in the form a Hunter, during the same vanavasa.
Printable View
Thiru,
Similarly Arjuna's ego was devasted by Maha Paramathma Maha Iswar in the form a Hunter, during the same vanavasa.
"thiru" :
//In mahabharatha there is a sequence when Hanuman meets Bheema.. Can you elaborate on the significance of this meeting?//
// Also, I read somewhere that Hanuman and bheema were almost like brothers (hanuman was born to vayu & bheema was born by the grace of vayu//
Hanuman being a Vishnu-bhaktha... used to volunteer... to correct if any Vishnu-devotee... goes out of the way either by thoughts or actions.
And He felt... Bheema being a Vishnu-bhaktha... was slipping towards a wrong direction of... Head-Weight... which is one of the Greatest Inimical qualities to be curbed off... for any Devotee.
So Hanuman intentionally lied down across the path by which Bheema used to pass by for taking daily bath.... prior to Pooja.
On seeing an Old Monkey obstructing the way...
"Hae You Monkey keep off the way"... Bheema shouted...
"Oh.. Being very old ... I am unable to lift-off my Tail... If you want your way... You can make way Yourselves... by shifting my tail out of your way."... Replied Hanuman.
Angered by these words.. Bheema kicked off Hanuman's Tail... He felt much painful as if he had kicked a Rock... Then he tried to Lift it for shifting... but Could not...
Then Bheema became furious... " Oh You are a Magician... playing with me?"... saying so he lifted the Gadhayudham... which hit back... Bheema himself... making him .. bewildered..
Then Bheema asked .."Hae Monkey tell me why you are delaying my Vishnu-pooja?"
"Oh!... Vishnu-pooja... can you perform carrying such a HEAVY-WEIGHT on your Head?"
" What heavy Weight?"
"Ego... Greatest Obstruction in the Devotional path... for any devotee... Even though You are performing Pooja sincerely to Lord Vishnu daily... it will not fetch you the due result... nor you can get the Grace of God... until you think you are great... If you feel you are Great .. show your might with me in any way ... either by Knowledge or by Physical-Might"
"Oh .. You are not an ordinary Monkey as I was thinking of you so cheap... then I thought perhaps you are a Magician in the disguise of a Monkey... that too wrong I have understood now... because...
You showed me your physical-might first... now you are quoting Dharma-sasthras too... which proves that you cannot be just any ordinary person.... since you could OVER-POWER even me... the Invincible warrior.. in both the ways.. Please tell me who you are.. and why you are coming in my way?"... asked Bheema
" Oh I see.. If I show God here... will you worship Him?"... saying so Hanuman showed... Lord Vishnu... in his Chest.
Bheema was amazed to see the same Vishnu idol there.... which he used to worship daily.
Then Bhema realised that it as not just a Monkey but a Mahaan...
So Bheema shed tears and prostrated at the feet of Hanuman... Immediately Hanuman picked him up and embraced...
Then Vayu-deva came there and said... " I am happy to see both of my Sons... you brothers... have come together"... and He blessed them
//...Yes, Lord Krishna wanted get rid of bheema's ego, so during the Pandavas's vanavasa,
he resquests Hanuman, to take an avatar as a very old & weak monkey, so hanuman ji did
and was sitting , under a tree, bheema came in contact with him, and he had to cross hanuman ji,
bheema full of ego, starting saying how greater warrior he was and this old monkey does not know him and respect him,
all hanuman ji said was, I am an oldand weak monkey, I am unable to get up, please move my tail and go pass me, bheema thougt that a greatest warrior like him was being insulted by an old monkey.
so he got angry and tried to move the Old monkey's tail and he could not even move it at all, he realsied that this monkey is indded a mahaatma, and appologises for his sin and hanuman ji shows his true form and blesses bheema.//
Hanuman NEVER TOOK REBIRTH... nor Re-incarnation... the so called Awathara...
...but He is a CHIRANJEEVI... living ETERNALLY... so blessed by Rama.
Sudhaama,
Thanks.. but according to some versions, bheema goes to the forest in search of Sauganthika flower which Draupadi asks for...
"Thiru"
//. but according to some versions, bheema goes to the forest in search of Sauganthika flower which Draupadi asks for..//
Yes...Bheema goes out in search of Saugandhika Fllower for Draupathi ...
But his meet with Hanuman... was not in that Context ...If I remember correct.
Dear Sudhama sir, pls respond to my PM as and when time permits, Regarding your above post, as far as I know this incident did take place when bheema goes in search of Saugandhika Fllower, pardon me if I am wrongQuote:
Originally Posted by Sudhaama
Can you elaborate a bit more abou the incident in which Arjuna's ego was blown by Lord Maha Iswar?
thanks in advance.
"Raghu"
// .... as far as I know this incident did take place when bheema goes in search of Saugandhika Fllower, pardon me if I am wrong //
Mr.Raghu & Mr. Thiru
Yes .. After re-thinking I recollected that you are CORRECT.
// Can you elaborate a bit more abou the incident in which Arjuna's ego was blown by Lord Maha Iswar?//
Yes that is one of the THOUGHT-PROVOKING parts of Bharatham...
... conveying Rich-Moral behind...TAUGHT BY LORD SIVA... to Arjuna..
... applicable to anyone amongst the Mankind.... ETERNALLY.
I will take up that ... after Completing the Ones... already on Hand
Thanks Sudhama sir
As far as I remember, Maha Iswar comes as a Hunter in the Jungle, Maha Iswar and Arjuna kills a wild boar at the same instant, Arjuna picks up an Argument with mahaeswar, as to whom the boar belongs to, soon this develops into physical fight, arjuna used all his arrows, but failed miserably(huge blow for his archery skills and the ego related to this), he then picked up Gadhayudha fight, again failed miserable, and so son, at least Arjuna Tries Mal Yutham with Maheswar, when the Lord Hughed him Arjuna could not Move an inch, he realised this was no ordinary Man, and Lord Shiva appears in front of him and grants him a boon in the form of an asthram, what was the asthram?
thanks
I heard the story differently.
Arjuna was a famous fighter, and he attained fame by fighting many great demigods, including even Lord Siva. After fighting and defeating Lord Siva in the dress of a hunter, Arjuna pleased the lord and received as a reward a weapon called pashupata-astra.
Nitai
When Arjuna was hunting in the forest, so Lord Siva appeared before him.
A boar was killed in hunting and Lord Siva claimed that “I have done this killing, ” and Arjuna said, “No, I have done this.” So there was controversy and because of this there was fight between Lord Siva and Arjuna.
In the mahabharatha, Lord Krishna asks Yiduishtra to go and get knowledge of dharma from Bhishma.Bhishma is one of the 12 people in the world who is supposed to know about all forms of dharma.Yudishtra goes and asks him a lot of questions on Hindu dharma and bhishma then says the Vishnu sahasranamam and answers Yudishtra's questions.
This is also one more very important part of Mahabharatha where Hindu dharma can be learnt.