enna shocking idhula?
Printable View
enna shocking idhula?
A kathir-Rahman flick again?
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...nts/27574.html
A R RAHMAN SEE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFYrd...eature=related
Thanks for the info, LM, Ajay, and Scale. Didn't know that Kathir approached ARR way before Mani did. And Kathir being ARR's brother in law is definitely news to me.
Did you order it from online Mahen? The website I went to can only deliver in and around India. Which website did you go to? Did you get the Connection cd with the book?
Thanks for the info Lancelot and Mahen. Looks like I can only get this book if I have a friend in India or if I go to India myself :(
AR Rahman’s states of mind
The composer’s latest project is a movie production house that he hopes will create wholesome family entertainment and use music differently. Nasreen Munni Kabir’s interviews shed new light on his personality, writes Shana Maria Verghis. Kabir does a Q&A
After creating his music label and academy, AR Rahman, whose various projects included composing music for the late MF Husain’s Meenaxi: A Tale Of Three Cities, is starting a film company. It is named YM Movies.
In AR Rahman, The Spirit of Music, a series of interviews with the musical genius, by filmmaker Nasreen Munni Kabir, Rahman explained that AR’s film project is to, “provide a platform for new ideas and change the perception of music implementation in films.” Adding he was “keen that we produce family entertainment that enriches our lives. I’m hoping it will also help to change the status of musicians in India...The profession itself must be regarded as a stable one.”
Not many people know it was a singer and actor, the late Malaysia Vasudevan, who gave AR Rahman his first break as a music producer. In 1987, he composed an album with Vasudevan. It had various music styles, like disco, although the title of the collection was Disco Disco.
AR fans usually know he was in a band called Magic and another called Roots. Both with Sivamani.
The longer story behind Rahman’s early band days, is that the first one he formed, was with schoolmates, when he was in class nine. It was a rock music cover band. Another group, Magic, was created between 1985-86. It had two shows. A few years later, Roots did fusion music and disbanded after one show. Like Rahman’s last band, Nemesis Avenue, which was formed between 1990-91?
Nasreen Munni Kabir, a documentary filmmaker, who has produced books based on the screenplays of Awaara, Mother India and Pyaasa, uses the interview format he had applied for a previous book on Lata Mangeshkar, to unearth various facets like the above, about Rahman’s life and work. Published by Om Books, AR Rahman, The Spirit of Music is based on Kabir’s four years of chats with the music producer, beginning from the year 2007. In it, he discusses everything from his family, to his early days of struggle and also gives us insights into his perception.
Rahman said that working with the music director Shekar, had expanded his world vision. While Mani Ratnam’s collaboration, inspired him to think laterally. The influence of spirituality meanwhile had “helped me to think positively.” After Roja, for instance, Rahman felt a vacuum and was unsure whether he wanted to go on composing for films. When Ratnam told him his music should be “for the whole world”, he began to think differently. Instead of complaining things about things he realised it was better to think: “I can make a change, make a difference. I can do this. I can do that.”
He clarified in the book that he never toured on the Colours album (1992) with Zakir Hussain, but only played notes he was given on a keyboard. Nor has he ever studied at London’s Trinity College. Rahman did however sit for a Trinity exam at Musee Musical in Chennai which has followed Trinity’s Western classical music course for close to a century. The composer also said that creating jingles, helped him develop “linear thinking.” He commented, “Writing jingles requires a kind of superficial intelligence. Sometimes we need superficial intelligence. And when we don’t, we must switch it off.”
Rahman apparently does zikr, a meditation and goes into that state for some hours. It helps his composing. He remarked, “Ultimately, you should try and be a good human being if you want to make good music. You have to stay out of negativity — be in another state.” So he “needs to be quiet” and “distant from time to time.”
Here is Kabir in a Q&A:
A musical director in Bollywood, Ismail Durbar recently alleged that Rahman bought his Oscars. Did that ever come up while talking to him?
Ismail Durbar clearly doesn’t know on what basis Oscars are given out. I think he should be very careful about accusing the American Academy of selling Oscars to anyone. He is demeaning and slandering a reputed institution without proof. He should remember the Americans are famous for suing people for libel.
Your book doesn’t mention AR Rahman’s latest project with Dave Stewart and others, including Mick Jagger. But it has a picture of him with Stewart. Was that a deliberate omission?
Not a deliberate mission! We had to send the manuscript to the printer at the end of Feb for a May release. A book is not Twitter and can’t be up to the minute, thank Goodness. Or there would be no books. At least books have a kind of permanency.
Did you ever encounter an angry Rahman?
Everyone is bossy when they need things done. I never saw him angry.
What do you think is the source of constant innovations?
I think it is his spirituality and desire to create new sounds and push the boundaries of music.
Did you sit on sessions where he was working? What was that like?
Yes. I sat in on many sessions. He records quietly. Say he is working with his favourite flute player Naveen Kumar. They will talk gently. Then AR records Naveen’s improvisations. It gives the musician freedom to give something of himself. After that AR edits the whole piece together and the work is painstakingly done in a disciplined fashion.
AR told you he was weak in languages. I think he learnt Urdu and manages to get nuances.
He spoke of getting a Maulana to teach him. He’s weak at speaking languages but not weak at understanding. He grasps the essentials for sure.
What was happening at the conservatory when you visited. Does he find time to go there?
There was a piano class. I was floored by the standard of playing. Students were so young. So fired up. AR goes when he can, but is not a teacher. So he doesn’t need to be there on a daily basis.
http://www.dailypioneer.com/344680/A...s-of-mind.html
song discussion la intha song okya machan nu kettirupar Rahman...udane koluthi pottirupaanga Kathir is ARR's brother in law nu :)
See this link http://www.mail-archive.com/arrahman.../msg33493.html, supposedly taken from Kathir's interview in Rahmania show (Aaha FM), so these are words from the man himself
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kathir
Quote:
Quote:
Michael Bolton - GEMS Vignettes: A.R. Rahman MichaelBolton
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fMm88H-gHY
M F Husain said 'Jai ho Rahman'
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/tablo...-ho-rahman-363
"Munbe Va" (A.R. Rahman cover) ft. Iyer Sisters - Shankar Tucker
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dSjP7eyWRs
ithu eppo vanthuchi? :oops: first time im seeing this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjMs_...eature=related
sakala... ivanga solli dhaan idhu oorukku theriyumaa enna....
idhula paaraatradhukku enna irukkku?
Maybe because I saw Srikanth's name and Kathir's name first - I read this involuntarily as "Kodumai varaimuRai" at first :lol:Quote:
Kodai Vidumurai with Srikanth
Ismail Darbar Apologises Over Oscar Comment
After rumours about the Academy planning to sue him for $50,000 million, Ismail Darbar, who had accused AR Rahman of having bought the Oscar awards, says he is ready to apologise.
The musician had indicted Rahman, who received two Oscars in 2008 Best Original Score and Best Original Song for his music in Slumdog Millionaire, of having paid for them.
Following this, there was scuttlebutt that The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences might sue him for insinuating that the awards can be bought.
Darbar now says he has nothing against the Oscars and that he just wanted to warn his 'friend' Rahman for churning out inferior quality music since last one year.
Darbar says, "I am grateful that I have been respected in the industry for my work. I did say some things about Rahman, because as a friend I want to jolt him out of his reverie and start giving good music. I chose a public platform to do it, because he wouldn't listen to me otherwise. I have nothing against the Oscars. It is the most respected award, the whole world acknowledges it, and I do, too. If any of them (Academy) are hurt by my comments, I apologise to them."
Darbar says he is not saying this out of fear of anyone, but God.
"I am not scared. The truth is, I realise that those people who respected me for my work, might misunderstand me and think I am baddimaag (arrogant person). Also, the fact is, I can have nothing against the Oscar panel or those behind the awards. My issue was with Rahman and I guess he's got the message by now," he said.
Source: http://www.srktimes.com/2011/06/swad...gowarikar.htmlQuote:
Ashutosh Gowarikar is all set to make a sequel of his critically acclaimed film ‘Swades’. According to the sources, Ashutosh is in talks to retain Shah Rukh Khan, who played Mohan Bhargava a NRI in the prequel.
“I am planning to make ‘Swades 2’ but it’s too early to talk about it,” said Gowarikar who denied to divulge more details about the story.
The sources also informed that though SRK is the first choice of the filmmaker, there shall be change as far as actress in the film is concerned. Gayatri Joshi was introduced opposite Khan in ‘Swades’ but since she has quit the industry after marriage, a new replacement is being considered.
Sources added that the story board is like a second chapter where Mohan Bhargava, the protagonist will be on a journey to set up basic amenities for another part of rural India.
The 200 odd minutes film ‘Swades’ which had a message for every Indian who desired to make his name abroad when his soil needed him the most is all set to move forward with a sequel which will show the NRI trying his best for the upliftment of his fellow Indian citizens.
Thanks - Daily Bhaskar
:happydance:
It is 10th Anniversary of Lagaan today. And a tibute post, about (what else) A.R.Rahman's best ever background score, in Lagaan
http://www.backgroundscore.com/2011/...of-lagaan.html
Thanks you suresh
Lagaan.
What can I say about this film? I'm just a grain and a really miniscule fraction
of the population that stood up with their hands on their heart feeling the pride
of nation, regardless of their origin i.e. Indian, Pakistani or Bangladeshi.
If the Empire didn't arrive at the sub-continent, would there really be 3
countries or division.
Back to the topic – All songs can't be explained in mere words but the songs
that initially had me going were Chale chalo and Oh paalanhaare. Who would've
thought that Oh paalanhaare would start the triology followed by pal pal hai
bhari and mann mohana. With time Radha kaise na jale became the most heard song
for me and watching this song as stage performances many times ignited my
interest in this song furthermore.
However in terms of picturisation, I would say Ghanan ghanan is my pick from the
film and may be to a lesser extent, O re chori.
But for a deeper feel, Radha kaise na jale is the best song whether heard on
headphones or speakers. The percussion compliments the instrumentation so well.
Along with Radha kaise na jale the other song that equally catapulted to
forefront of my playlist was the theme song. Theme songs like this are not
churned every day and neither do they genrally/often appear for patriotic
movies. ARR redefined the music scene with this film once again or should I say,
"..... Once upon a time in india".
for me the goosebump song was 'baar baar aa...'
Akshay Kumar's Ko
Akshay Kumar is very excited about his remake of Ko and is putting together a team as quickly as possible. RS Infotainment and Fox will be producing this venture jointly. Daredevil that Akshay is, he loved the stunts in Ko and wants to do the same on a larger scale in his version.
Anthony D'Souza aka Tony will be wielding the directorial baton. He had formerly worked with Akshay in the debacle Blue. Word is that AR Rahman will be doing the score. Karthika might be the heroine but that bit of news is awaiting confirmation. There is no word on who will do Piaa's part.
Karthika :shock: Again??? :shock: :shock: Boycotttttttttttttttttttttttt
கோழி குருடா இருந்தா என்ன? குழம்பு ருசியா இருந்தா போதாதா?
http://www.filmfare.com/articles/ar-...life-2478.htmlQuote:
AR Rahman: The Spirit of Music is an authorized biography. For someone so painfully shy, how difficult was it to allow someone to peep into your life and mind?
The whole idea while writing this book was that it should make sense to the person reading it and be a positive exercise. And to make it positive, I had to give them the whole route.
Did it take much convincing on the part of the author?
First of all, I agreed to do it because Munni was writing it and also because she’s multi-cultural. I too have both Indian sensibilities and a certain global understanding because I have lived abroad too.
What other goals have you set for yourself?
We’re celebrating 20 years of my music career. I’m going into another direction which is giving back to society. My music school KM Conservatory is moving forward.
How much do you get affected by criticism?
If there is no criticism you become lazy. But it should be constructive and it should be the truth.
Your theme song for the Commonwealth Games got a lot of flak… There were probably certain things we overlooked. Everyone was expecting an international song and we wanted it to be motivational. A lot of people were so drowned in Shakira’s Waka waka that they found Jiyo… very desi.
Does genius also err?
(Laughs). It is good to err. But making music in a film is not one person’s decision. They work as a team, but if the main guy, the director, goes terribly wrong then everyone hates the music and everything else associated with the film.
Did you feel terrible when Jhootha Hi Sahi and Raavan came a cropper after your Oscar win?
That’s how it is. But around the same time, I was working on 127 Hours which got an Oscar nomination.
Were you prepared when you lost the Oscars for 127 Hours?
I was prepared for it because I knew that after winning two Oscars, they wouldn’t give it to me again. So, after the awards, we skipped the governor’s ball and went to a Malayali restaurant and feasted on morkozhambu, rasam and sambar.
What is your take about the must-have item song in movies?
(Smiles) That’s the culture nowadays! If you’re making a commercial movie and people are enjoying it, it’s fine.
Have you heard Munni badnam Hui or Sheila ki jawani?
I liked Sheila ki jawani very much.
Heard you’re planning to produce films…
Yeah it’s an aspiration. For the past six months I’ve taken a break and going through ideas. We’ll mostly kick the venture with one Tamil and one Hindi film.
Would you remix an RD Burman song? What’s your stand on remixes?
No! As a composer, I’d rather do a new song. Sometimes, a remix is good because it reaches a whole new generation. But when it gets too much, it’s irritating.
Apparently, Mani Ratnam has gone back to Illayaraja for his next film...
No, I’m doing the movie. Hopefully.
Your collaboration with Mani Ratnam is magical.
We struck a rapport with the first movie. The movie that we are now working on is a typical South Indian one. So there’s going to be a lot of South Indian classical and folk music.
How often do you thank the Sufi saint Moti Baba (in Chennai) because it’s there your mother first saw your wife Saira?
(Laughs) Moti Baba! Man! I can’t complain to him when things go wrong. But seriously marriage is not just a physical thing. (Giggles) The institution of marriage works better when there’s a spiritual connection.
What kind of a father are you?
I am a friend when I need to be a friend, a father when I need to be a father and a musician when music calls. I switch roles accordingly.
Is it true that when you take your kids to Disneyland and elsewhere you film it, so that they don’t accuse you of not spending time with them later?
I have said this in the book in a cheeky way. You always cherish good memories. I thought it was important to have some documentation of whatever little I do.
Do you feel guilty of not spending enough time with your family?
(Laughs) No, I’m not guilty at all. At least they have a father. I didn’t have one. It’s not a perfect life. And that’s what makes it special. That’s what makes us more human.:
I've read the same interview a month or so ago.. Looks like Filmfare rehashed it
That's a good interview :thumbsup:
GVM's 101st announcement on his next project..
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...-20-06-11.html
arumaivadi
i think we can ignore that news :) Let him finish his VTV remake first..GVM neraya pesuvaru but no action
yes a film with mahesh babu,film wiht rana,film with telugu actor ram,love story with mirchi shiva,period film called anandan,a film with surya(initially was with ajith),ippo idhu :banghead:
3 great interviews of Rahman Sir coming your way very soon.
The first of the three is on CNN international - tomorrow where the interviewer discusses with Sir how he approaches composing for scores and Sir plays the piano and demonstraters.
The second is with Filmfare where you will read Sir's exclusive response to the Ismail Darbar controversy and when you read the reply, you will love and respect the man a thousand times more.
The last will be with Dr Roy of NDTV who specially flew down from Delhi to interview him. Dr Roy doesnt interview or runs a weekly program on his channel yet he was keen to do this with Sir.
-vijay@kmmusiq.com