Quote:
Originally Posted by Dear Balaji,
[quote
Before answering the 7 questions that you have asked, let me answer the earlier question of yours (i.e) whether I have met NT & talked with him. I have seen him in person on numerous occasions but never had the opportunity to talk to him. And that will remain one of the bitterest disappointments of my Life.
Me too. Though I have seen him, it was one of my unfulfilled dreams :cry:
Quote:
Then coming to your questions
Naalai Namadhe: As you know it was a remake of the evergreen hit Yaadon Ki Baarat. YKB was making waves all over TN in 1973-74. Sethu Madhavan of Malayalam film world (A great director who had done some excellent films in Mal. Also directed some Tamil films, the last of which was Nammavar) got the remake rights and approached MGR. The initial plan was MGR will do Dharmendra’s role, Sivakumar will do Vijay Arora’s role & Kamal for Tariq’s role. But MGR again as his wont did not accept and he dictated his own terms and made it happen. Since the eldest did not have Jodi and songs, he took the second son’s role also and brought Chandramohan (Sankarabharanam fame- though it was released much later 1979) for Tariq’s role. This clearly affected the movie and moreover when it was released on 4th July 1975, YKB was still fresh in the minds of the people and if you remember NN had no such elements that would satisfy a MGR fan. The supposedly long run of MGR’s films in normal circumstances can be contributed to another factor. The Gap between two MGR films will be big and for hard-core MGR fans who used to repeatedly view the movie, they had no other go and this helped the movies to run for more days. Compared to this NT’s movies always had a short gap between them. In the case of NN, the MGR fans had nothing to cheer about and moreover on 22nd August 1975 (just after of 49 days of NN’s release), Idhyakani was released and so MGR fans dropped NN and it bit the dust at the BO. After it’ release (it was not announced before) the ad came out stating that NN is MGR’s 125th movie, but it did not help.
True, NN when compared to YB was a disaster only and the only redeeming feature were terrific songs . No remix and all originals
Quote:
NIN: You should be aware that was produced by Asokan. It took unusually long time for even a MGR movie to complete. That was due to the serious differences that cropped between MGR and Asokan and Asokan was in big trouble. The Distributors used to lap up MGR’s movie even on Pooja day but the amount they paid was locked up due to the delay. When it was ready for release, the political problems also threatened it (which I have explained earlier). So though the movie ran for 100 days, the delay happened put the burden on the distributors. Moreover the MuKa government collected the charges for deploying the police for protection and for this the theatre owners wanted the Distributors to share the same. All this put together created problems for the Distributors. For Asokan it was a financial loss and for the Distributors, though it was not to the extent of NN, still it hurt them
I too heard that Asokan lost heavily & later started playing roles which were really really unfortunate. From a hero, he was reduced to .............. Once again, the splendid songs came to the rescue .
Quote:
PV: Again this was a remake of Shantaram’s Do Ankein Baara Hath (about which you have given a lucid analysis in MGR’s thread) and as you know it was not cut out for a MGR film as it lacked the BO elements. Another point was miscasting. Thengai & VKR as hardcore criminals was hard to digest (Here again because of NIN, MGR refused to take Asokan in). To make up for this, MGR went for glamour and all the three duets (Poi Vaa, Indru Sorgathin, Enna Sugam) had a heavy dose of glamour. But one advantage for PV was it was made in quick time. MGR always had a soft corner for Manian and the entire cast & crew camped near Mysore in March-April 1975 and completed the movie. But still the movie was released on 31st October 1975 (i.e.) 2 days before Deepavali. The movie didn’t do any wonders at the BO, but compared to the above-mentioned films, it did better.
romba clinical analysis panni irukeenga Murali Anna ! Unmai dhaan. I think MG lost his image a bit by acting with heavy dose of glamour
Quote:
2.Yeah, I do agree that no of days doesn’t matter and because of mass support it would have made profit. But the thing was in that period (especially after he founded ADMK) he had only 3 Super hits (i.e) USV in 1973, UK in 74 & IK in 75 and hits such as SVVendum, PV, IPEVazgha & Meenava Nanban. There were BO disasters like Pattikattu Ponniah, NN, Uzhaikkum karangal, Oorukku Uzhaipavan & Navaratnam. There was another category like N Mudipavan & MMSP, which because of high budget and shooting delays made distributors suffer. Another movie that scrapped through in this period was N Thalai Vanagu. The reasons for this were after entering active politics MGR didn’t get stories to his liking and most of them were remakes. Another factor was Emergency. After 1975 June, the censorship laws were tightened in such a way that fights in cinema was curbed to a great extent and showing of blood stained fights were totally prohibited. If you could see those films especially Oorukku Uzhaipavan you cannot watch usual MGR’s dishum dishum. He will simply rotate the villains with a screen or with his hands. NTV, where in the initial part, he will behave like a villain and this also didn’t go down well with the masses. So in general distributors did not have a field day like they used to have earlier.
You are right . Besides, some of the movies like Uzaikkum karangal were stereotype MG movies and no wonder they didnt succeed....
Quote:
3.When Emergency was proclaimed, NT had no connection with Indira. PT was alive at that time and unlike modern times, not everyone will comment on issues like that. The media persons too will ask for comments only from politicians and as for as I knew, NT didn’t say anything on this subject. But of course when he joined IC, he supported Emergency but that was in the later days to come.
True. Probably only CHO came out openly & the Janata dhal group opposed staunchly.
Quote:
The answers for questions 4 & 5 can be combined
4. I had written in my post that MGR was forced to use this asthra. But the reasons were manifold. His movies were not doing commercially well. If you look in detail, after Rickshawkaran (release date: 21.05.1971) his films were like this till his suspension from DMK that happened on 10.10.1972
a. Neerum Neruppum (RD: 18.10.1971)
b. Oru Thai Makkal (RD: 10.12.1971)
c. Sangae Muzhangu (RD: 04.02.1972)
d. Nalla Neram (RD: 10.03.1972)
e. Raman Thediya Seethai (14.04.1972)
f. Naan En Piranthen (RD: 09.06.1972)
g. Annamitta Kai (RD: 15.09.1972)
If you observe, Sollikollumpatiyana hit enbathae illai endru unaruveergal. Not only that except NN & RTS and to a lesser extent NEP, others were disasters. At the same time NT in the same period also had seven releases starting from Babu to Vasantha Maaligai and except Dharmam Engay all others were Hits/Super Hits. Another reason was MGR to make up for this, wanted ministerial berth to which MuKa refused to oblige. Moreover he was promoting his son MuKa Muthu in the film world and MGR saw sinister moves behind this. Then Indira wanting to break DMK and to teach MuKa a lesson put enormous pressure on MGR and for that she used IT Department & FERA authorities. MGR even after becoming CM never crossed Delhi Badhushaws in the wrong way whoever it may be like Indira, Morarjee, Charan Singh & Rajiv. Therefore it is no wonder that MGR succumbed to the pressure. He needed to break the party. What reason will he tell? It should be convincing and so he hi-jacked the agenda of PT & Congress.
True again ! Probably Makkal thilagam took the best decision which turned the political tables and the history of TN !even when his govt was dismissed, he appeared in TV with a sobre look and asked the public WHAT WRONG DID WE DO TO BE DISMISSED. Is it for having given a corruption free govt ??
I still remember that evening in Dhoordharshan when he made his party's political speech .
Quote:
Regarding the political activity of NT, I have covered whatever that had happened in those times. Plus he had been using his cinemas to convey messages like I said in Thangapathakkam & En Magan (Neengal Athanai Perum Uthamarthana). Shall I take the liberty to give a detailed reply for this and to another earlier question of yours (Why NT did not contest any election other than 1989 General election) at a later stage after all the phases are over?
Yes, I will await .
Quote:
Balaji, as I told you, whatever I had been narrating is from my memory alone and I don’t have any materials to fall back upon. So at times some incidents might skip my memory. For example when I wrote the first phase, Annadurai’s election to Rajya Sabha got skipped and I included that in the Second phase. Same way casting NT’s vote by bogus people came in the third post. There is also another extreme that even when I remember something that I forgot, like MGR’s election as MLC and his subsequent resignation in the mid 60’s, I choose not to narrate because I thought it became irrevalant. This long explanation is for Simpson Gurumoorthy. Though the name does ring a bell, I am unable to put my finger on the pie. If something comes across, I will definitely write that.
Murali Anna, you have a splendid memory. Some of the incidents which you have narrated - mid 70s really come to me like a flash back !
All the ones prior to that were all confirmed by my Uncles!
Quote:
In the overall perspective, MGR was more popular than NT. The reasons are not hard to find. His films, the ways in which his character was presented, the messages he used to convey through his songs and dialogues, the valour that his characters showed, the designing of songs and fights to attract the youth, his ability to reach the hearts of women and plus his undeniable charisma contributed to his popularity. He always choose his characters in the same mould (i.e.) a good Samaritan role that will always stand by the poor. Any film you choose, you will find only MGR. On the other hand you could only remember Gunasekaran, Manoharan, Parthiban, Vikraman, Kattabomman, VOC, Karnan, Prestige Padmanabhan, Barrister Rajinikanth, SP Chowdry & Periya Thevar. That should be self-explanatory.
Absolutely true ! the way MG presented before audience was the deciding factor between his charisma and that of NT's
I recollect what Mr. Mohanram mentioned earlier :
Pochuda , en padatha thaan papaanga , enna namba matanga polirukku !
Quote:
In spite of having this great mass, still MGR started losing commercially and this had happened to all matinee idols. You can look at Amithab, NTR, Rajini and all have suffered this at one time or another. This along with the reasons stated above did force MGR to take that decision.
Idhuvum mutrilum unmai unmai unmai :clap: :thumbsup:
Thanks a lot for giving a clinical analysis and reply.
PL CONTINUE WITH YOUR NEXT PHASE