ok, time kidaikumpodhu ketu sollunga...will MF be accompanying u to cbe?
Printable View
ok, time kidaikumpodhu ketu sollunga...will MF be accompanying u to cbe?
Dev ,thanks for the cauliflower masala recipe.Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
One doubt,will the cauliflower gets cooked by 2 mins without any water?Clear me in this point?
Aarthii, u r already cooking the cauliflower separately. So appove 80-90% cook aagidum... then when u add along with masala stuff,the 2 mins cooking is just for the cauliflower to absorb the flavours...
MY DEAR FRIENDS, I came home on the 30th evening in the mids of heavy rain in Malaysia.
The trip was very promising. Gave me lots of hope.
Friends, I saw that the KK thread has grown from page 67 to 73. It brought tears to my eyes.
Even if anything happens to me, I know that the KK thread will go on without me.
First thanks to my moderator, my anneh NOV for his wishes.
Dev, Sudha, Selviem, Aarthii, Suja, NM, Roshan, Madhu, Rose75, Gulabjamun, P.S Tamby, Raj raj uncle and Chevy.
Dev, a very big thank you for all the nice recipes.
Thanks to Sudha, Gulabjamun too for the nice recipes.
I met a super cook and have come back with lots of recipes.
Please give me some time, as I am still recovering.
Not that too well
What happened to bkarthika, Lakme, Jay, Thiru tambys, tvshanker and our Suvai.
I am very very worried about our Suvai :(
It's daily raining in Malaysia, very cold, cannot dry the cloths.
Take care will be back soon.
Kugan98
P.S will try out all the recipes soon.
My niece, Sumithra Senthil cooked this dish, when I went to her house
SPICY MUSHROOM MASALA
Ingredients:
300 grms fresh button mushrooms sliced
3 big onions grind them to a coarse paste
1 tomato chopped
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 small cinnamon stick
3 cloves
2 tsp oil
Salt to taste
Little coriander leaves for garnishing
3 tsp masala powder
Masala Powder:
1 tsp coriander powder
1 tsp chillie powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
½ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp pepper powder
A pinch of clove powder
A big pinch of cinnamon powder
Method:
Heat a kadai with the oil. add in the cloves and cinnamon stick.
Now add in the coarsely ground onions, ginger and garlic pastes.
Sauté them well till the raw smell goes.
Add in sliced mushrooms, and sauté them once.
Now add in the masala powder, and salt.
Mix well and allow it to cook for about 5 minutes.
The oil should separate from the gravy.
Now add in the chopped tomatoes and stir well.
Let it cook for about 3 minutes.
Remove and garnish with the cut coriander leaves.
Goes well with rotis, chapathis and even rice.
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9137/...mmasalaone.jpg
Sorry friends, still I cannot post big pictures.
NOV anneh knows about me.
It will take some time before I learn.
Thanks, Kugan98
now its easier to post pics K
just click on image icon above the reply box and put link.
http://www.mayyam.com/talk/attachmen...1&d=1296560248
KEERAI PULI KUTOO
Ingredients:
300 grms spinach, cleaned and chopped
¼ cup moong dal , cooked with little turmeric powder
1 tsp tamarind paste
3 pips garlic smashed
1 big onion chopped
1 red tomato chopped
2 tsp oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
½ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds
A pinch of asafoetida powder
1 red chillie cut into pieces
1 tsp sambar powder
Salt to taste
Method:
Boil the moong dal with turmeric powder. Keep aside.
Heat oil in a pot, add in the mustard seeds.
When it splutters , add in the urad dal, cumin seeds
fenugreek seeds, asafoetida and the red chillies.
Now add in the chopped onion and fry till it turns a little brown.
Add in the chopped tomatoes and fry for a while.
Add in the smashed garlic, salt and sambar powder.
Mix well, add in the chopped spinach and mix again well.
Close with a lid and let it cook for 5 minutes on low heat.
When the spinach is cooked add in the cooked dal and cook for 5 minutes.
Now add in the tamarind paste, mix well and let it come to a boil.
Remove from the stove and mash it a little with a masher.
Serve with a spoon of ghee.
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/9528/pulikeerai.jpg
K, welcome back...:)
Thanks a lot for the recpies...both looks yummy!!!...:slurp:
yeah, I too am wondering what happened to our Suvai...:think:
Hi Kugan and friends. Am new here. Though I've joined the hub for quite some time, I've been quite inactive, prefering to be a silent hubber. Was going through the hub and just found out about this thread! And what an amazing thread this is! All the mouth-watering recipes is not only prompting me to start my cooking again, but they are also instrumental in making me to post in the hub! Going through all these recipes, I just can't resist complimenting you on a job well done here. Keep up the good work Kugan! :)
Hi Kugan And All Kugan Thread friends,
How r u all? Sorry for my absence...I was in tight project schedule and now i got some time. So icame to see the thread...So many recipes posted.....Keep going on....I will come whenever i find time...Bye..
Dear gayathri.17, welcome to Kugan's Kitchen.
Thanks for your very nice first post.
Please feel free to come and post when ever you are free.
Also you can request for any recipes that you want.
Be it simple or difficult, we will try our best to post the recipe.
All hubbers are very friendly here, just like one family.
Try out the simple recipes and post us your feed backs.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98
Thanks bkarthika for your nice post.
Do not worry, your work and family comes first.
Do drop in when ever you find the time.
I'm here! :smile: Konjum busy with work, that's the reason why I couldn't post as much as I like to. All the recipes look fantastic! Spinash kutoo and Spicy mushroom masala looks tempting- I love spicy food though not as much as P.S likes them :lol: Thanks to you and your niece for the wonderful :slurp: recipes!
Btw, how are you Kugan sis? How's your health now? Hope you're doing well.
Welcome gayathri.17. Don't be a silent hubber...do give your feedbacks and share your thoughts with us whenever you have the time! I'm very sure you'll enjoy your stay here!
Thanks Tamby Jay, for your nice post.
Glad you are well. Its o.k your work comes first.
Come to the forum when you have free time.
I am on medication now. Hoping for the best.
Thanks and take care. Kugan98
Dear Dev, here is how we do porridge with black glutinous rice.
BLACK GLUTINOUS RICE PORRIDGE
Ingredients:
300 grms black glutinous rice
1 litre thin coconut milk
2 litres water
100 grms castor sugar
100 grms palm sugar
2 pandan leaves
1 tbs corn flour
2 tbs water
½ tsp salt
150 ml thick coconut milk, warm it a bit.
Method;
Wash the rice and soak for about 1 hour.
Now put the rice, water and thin coconut milk in a pot.
Cook over medium heat until rice is soft and almost creamy.
When rice has reached desired consistency, add in the pandan leaves.
Now add both the sugars, salt and simmer for further 15 minutes,
over gentle heat. ( never add sugar before the rice is fully cooked)
now add the 1 tbs of corn flour to the 2 tbs of water.
Add to the porridge and mix well. Let it boil once and remove.
To serve: pour the porridge into a bowl.
Pour 2 tbs of the thick coconut milk on the top of the porridge.
Serve warm or cold.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5270/...78bcbfe3fb.jpg
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5021/...c0ac56bcfd.jpg
Dear Dev, I cannot send you a pm because it is full.
Kindly delete some posts so that I can send you a pm.
Thanks, Kugan98
Thai maasam, I was able to bring home some fresh motchai.
Here is the recipe, Kugan98
FRIED FRESH MOTCHAI
Ingredients:
2 cups of fresh motchai
1 big onion chopped
1 big red tomato chopped
1 tsp red chillie powder
2 tsp coriander powder
½ tsp pepper powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
Salt to taste
Little coriander leaves
1 tbs oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves
Method:
Heat oil in a wok, add in mustard, urad dal and curry leaves.
Let them splutter, add in the onions and sauté well.
When the onions brown a little, add in the chopped tomatoes.
Fry till they become mushy, add in chillie, coriander, turmeric.
Stir fry well. Add in the fresh motchai.
Stir fry nicely, add in 2 cups of water, and bring to boil.
Cover and cook on low heat till the motchai is cooked.
Add in the salt, garam masala and pepper powder.
Give a nice stir, add in the cut coriander leaves.
Stir well and remove. Serve with rice or roti.
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/7...hvallbeans.jpg
Fried Fresh Motchai looks so yumm!!!...
Black rice inga kidaikumanu theriyalai... is it the same as kavunarisi?...
Dev you are right. It is the same as kavunarisi?...
You all make payasam, and we make porridge.
Let me try making payasam.:)
Kugan98
I C... I don't have a liking for the kavunarisi payasam... I've tasted it only once... I'll try ur version once if I can get hold of this rice here...
Oh!my God Kugan, my head is going round with the new forum.
Your pictures are so small, and I just don't like the new forum.
Give me back my old forum. crying, crying
Do not know where to get the smilies.
Rose75
rose, relax!!!... just click on the small pics(thumbnails) and it'll show the pics in a bigger size...
For smilies, i just type the character combi for the smilie I want to post... I'm not sure from where to get the smilie list like what we used to get in the old forum... if u want the character combi for smlies, here it is... http://www.mayyam.com/talk/misc.php?do=showsmilies
Dear Kugan,
Welcome back. Hope you had a good trip. Missed you.
Suja
Makkale,
Went to the grocery store yesterday and picked up a bag of sweet potatoes (Sakkaravalli Kizhangu). I only know to make poli with it. Anybody knows any other recipes? Kindly post. Thanks.
Suja
Kuganka,welcome back.
Hope u had a nice trip.
So many recipes u have posted.Thanks for all those.
yes,it had been a very long time,since suvaika came to forum,dunno what happened to suvaika?
Dear Suja, thanks for your nice welcome.
Suja in page 91 of this thread, I have posted
a recipe for sweet potato curry.
In earlier threads I have post a donought made with sweet potatoes
Also a savoury palagaram called cucur badak.
I do not know how to trace the index now. cry, cry cry.
Take care Suja. Kugan98
Dear NOV anneh, what happened to the index which our Rajraj uncle
showed us. Will it come back?
I also find many of the pictures missing from the thread.
Will they come back also.
Sorry anna for so many questions.
Thanks, and take care, Kugan98
Dear aarthii, thanks for your nice welcome.
Please try out the simple recipes and post the feed backs.
oh, index poidicha!!!...:( pls post it in http://www.mayyam.com/talk/forumdisp...roubleshooting
I'm sure the admin will comeup with a good soln...:)
Hi ALL
Shiv ji is back from Meditation :lol2: :yessir:
Good to see you P.S Tamby.
Take care, Kugan98
Dev, do you remember that I had few pasta recipes.
This is a little Indianised version of it.
It tasted good. Kugan.
SPIRAL PASTA WITH EGG PLANTS
Ingredients:
1 ½ cups of spiral pasta. Boil with salt, drain and keep aside
2 tbs olive oil
5 pips of garlic chopped
1 big onion sliced
1 large capsicum cut into short strips
1 zucchini quartered lengthwise and diced
1 cup sliced button mushrooms
1 ½ cups tomatoes chopped
1 cup of diced egg plant
1 cup finely shredded spinach
1 tsp red chillie flakes
1 tbs dried oregano
¼ tsp crushed coriander seeds
¼ tsp crushed aniseeds
½ tsp dried thyme
2 tbs fresh basil leaves
½ tsp black pepper powder
1 ½ tsp salt
Method:
In a large pot, heat the olive oil. add in the chopped garlic.
Sauté well, add in the sliced onions and a pinch of salt.
Stir on low flame till soft.
Add in the egg plants, and capsicum. Stir this till they are half done.
Now add in the zucchini, mushrooms and tomatoes.
Add in the chillie flakes and salt and cook for about 5 minutes.
Now add in the spinach and stir till the leaves wilt a bit.
Now add in all the herbs, basil leaves, black pepper,
and give it a very good stir.
Add in the cooked pasta and combine well with the gravy.
Serve hot.
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/9...injalpasta.jpg
K, brinjal pasta sounds so diff... will try it tomorrow...