Good! Good! I was actually going to ask you that. Please proceed.
Now, I do not like NT crying in movies! I know, I'm a woman and its unlikely a woman's taste. But within reasonable reason ok, but too much crying makes me depressed. One of those 'reasonable reason' was when Rangan meets his aunty/surrogate mother/foster mother and just realized his uncle whom he considered his world had just past away. Nothing but a very loud cry for at least 3/4 mins. just enough to bring my tears profusely!! What a magnificent performance from Sivaji Ganesan and Kannamba!!!.
Not only in PM film like Babu,Thangapathakkam and many more
NT brings tears those who are watching whether it is women or men.
Madam,
We can divide/segregate NT's films in more than 10 types. The major ones of course are "Best Films in which NT was the Hero" and "Best Performance of NT in Films". Kai Kodutha Deivam falls in the former category and I have made such lists almost 15 years ago. This is one of those rare KSG movies in which situations/acting overtakes long and over emotional dialogues.
கை கொடுத்த தெய்வம், கெளரவம், உத்தம புத்திரன், பலே பாண்டியா, இருவர் உள்ளம், என்று பல படங்கள் இந்த வரிசையில், அதாவது, எந்த வித பிரத்தியேக பிரயத்தனமும் செய்யாமல், சும்மா ஊதித் தள்ளிய படங்கள் என்று சொல்லலாம்.
R. Parthasarathy
It's really nice to see you back here Mr Parthasarathy. I've been reading your previous detailed articles on NT (not yet finished the previous threads), which on reading them give me the same feeling of appreciation of certain scences that only last few seconds or so. I can't write like you, but really enjoy reading them. I do not own Kai kodutha deivam and looking for a good quality dvd. I desperately want to watch that again.
Dear Mr. Gopal,
Normally, I don't get into these controversial discussions. Still, when I read about KRV, now I thought I should intervene. Without KRV, "Iru Malargal" wouldn't have been a touching film. The dignity KRV could give to that role cannot be imagined with anybody else at that period of time (should be young and contemporary leaving old heroines who were almost fading like Padmini, Savithri, Saroja Devi, Devika, et al.). In fact, in most of the frames, especially towards the climax, she was brilliant. Iru Malargal is one of my favourites (In fact, NT himself commented the team work of all Three Lead Artistes NT, Padmini & KRV, which contributed to the success of the movie.
Dear Mr. Ganpat,
Sowcar is one of the strong pairs of NT and a lucky Artiste also. She is versatile which is proved in "Pudhiya Paravai", "Motor Sundaram Pillai", "Uyarndha Manidhan". She was not the right choice in movies like Padikkadha Medhai, Paavai Vilakku (sobbing throughout the movie), Paalum Pazhamum (to some extent OK, as she wins as a character who has to be hated by every one), Paar Magalae Paar (OK to some extent), Mahakavi Kalidoss. Pachai Vilakku is ok but had limited scope.
Mr. Gopal:- The versatility could be found in Pudhiya Paravai, Motor Sundaram Pillai and Uyarndha Manidhan. She was excellent in the scene following visit of NT's son to home, where she visits Manimala's home (unknowingly), the reaction she shows once she knows that they are motherless, is extraordinary. A very controlled (sobbing will be controlled here!) and dignified performance in indeed.
Aalam, CID Sakunthala:- இவங்களை எல்லாம் ஒரு கதாநாயகி ரேஞ்சுக்கு எடுத்துச் சென்ற உங்கள் பெருந்தன்மைக்கு ஒரு வந்தனம் திரு. கோபால் அவர்களே!
R. Parthasarathy
sarathy sir,
Iru Malargal was brilliant.Yes. Kudos to K.R.V.
Sowkar's Pudhiya paravai- It fell on her lap.There were more capable takers at that point of time and she was lucky.
motor sundaram pillai,Paar magale paar- There were other better choices.
Pair- It doesn't mean only heroines.
என்னை பொறுத்த அளவில் அவரின் மிக சிறந்த பத்து படங்கள்.
1)புதிய பறவை
2)தில்லானா மோகனாம்பாள்.
3)அந்த நாள்.
4)முதல் மரியாதை.
5)இருவர் உள்ளம்.
6)கர்ணன்.
7)கப்பலோட்டிய தமிழன்.
8)உயர்ந்த மனிதன்.
9)பராசக்தி.
10)தேவர் மகன்.
அவர் நடிப்பு திறனை மட்டும் வைத்து நான் தேர்ந்தெடுக்கும் சிறந்த பத்து.
1)தெய்வ மகன்.
2)கர்ணன்.
3)நவராத்திரி.
4)திருவிளையாடல்.
5)முதல் மரியாதை
6)உயர்ந்த மனிதன்.
7)உத்தம புத்திரன்.
8)தெய்வ பிறவி.
9)திருவருட்செல்வர்.
10)கெளரவம்.
[QUOTE=parthasarathy;1001742]
especially towards the climax, she was brilliant. Iru Malargal is one of my favourites (In fact, NT himself commented the team work of all Three Lead Artistes NT, Padmini & KRV, which contributed to the success of the movie.
I agree, Iru malargailis an exceptional movie. KRV did an excellent job but I think not an inimitable one, in terms of acting only.
Sowcar is one of the strong pairs of NT in "Pudhiya Paravai", "Motor Sundaram Pillai", "Uyarndha Manidhan".
[I agree totally.[/COLOR]
Aalam, CID Sakunthala:- இவங்களை எல்லாம் ஒரு கதாநாயகி ரேஞ்சுக்கு எடுத்துச் சென்ற உங்கள் பெருந்தன்மைக்கு ஒரு வந்தனம் திரு. கோபால் அவர்களே!
:rotfl2: I think Mr Gopal has a different view on those ladies, nothing to do with acting!