yes mani
udhavum karangal is by Aadityan only
Printable View
yes mani
udhavum karangal is by Aadityan only
Was it aadhithyan who was the MD for Naalaya seidhi (prabhu , kushbu) and Musthafa (Napolean, Ranjitha which got remade as Ghulam - E - musthafa in hindi starring nana patekar) ???
yvsmani, yes it's another surprise package from Adhityan. Probably we'll feature it in P.O.W later sometime. I should have the song.Quote:
Originally Posted by yvsmani
vaa pulli maanae vanna meenae thendral vanthu ennaithottu unnaithottu seitha kolamenna from minmini poochigal used to occupy prime slot in ceylon radio those days.
Elelo Elelo un manasu from kovilpatti veeralakshmi ( KSC???) was also a melodious number
Next pick
http://tfmpage.com/cgi-bin/stream.pl...gs/vaazh_pn.rm
Song: vaazhugindra makkalukku
Film: ponnagaram
Singer : KJYesudoss
Lyrics: Pulamaipithan
Music : MSViswanathan
PoNnagaram was an interesting film. It was about a brother and sister(sarath Babu and Lavanya) returning to their native village that was once terrorized by their father. The whole village hates them and does everything
to drive the siblings away. I do not remember the exact details but towards the climax the villagers chase Lavanya to shave the hair of her head.
Sarath and Lavanya were very good in their roles. Shobha played Sarath's love interest.
This film also had the sweet duet 'muthu mugamo moga kuzhalo'(JC, VJ)
-Today's pick is noteworthy for its nice lyrics by
Pulamaipithan and ofcourse KJY's voice.
I vaguely remember seeing this movie. I remember the song muthu radhamo mullai charamo (I guess this is the song you meant, Ramki) where Sarathbabu and Shoba are seen swinging.
RC
isnt that
muthu radhamo moga kuzhalo
munne vandha mullai charamo
kaNNe nee isaipaadu
kanindha manadhil
ezhundha ninaivil
kaadhal uravaadu
?
RC you are correct
JC starts
muthu radhamo mullai charamo
moondru kaNiyo piLLai thamizho
kaNNe nee viLaiyaadu
kanindha manadhil
ezhundha ninaivil
kaadhal uravaadu
and then VJ continues
muthu mugamo moga kuzhalo
munne vandha moondru thamizho
As I remember, it is
muthu radhamo mullai charamo
munne vandha moondru tamizho
kanne nee vilayaadu
kanindha manadhil
ezhundha ninaivil
kaadhal uravaadu
Ramki: vara vara ungaLukku maradhi jaasthi aagi pochu pola irukke.. :)
Ramki,
I thought ponnaagaram is by SG :wink:
Ramki ku ennamO aachu :)
There's a bit of a mix up, or so it seems, with the opening lines of Muthu Rathamo Mullai Charamo
Hope this sets it right:
PJC Opens:
Muthu Rathamo Mullai Charamo
Moondru Kaniyo Pillai Thamizho
Kanne Nee Vilaiyadu
Kanindha Manadhil
Ezhundha Ninaivil
Kaadhal Uravaadu
VJ Folllows:
Muthu Mugamo Moga Sugamo
Munne Vandha Moondru Thamizho
Kanna Nee Kavi Paadu
Kanindha Manadhil
Ezhundha Ninaivil
Kaadhal Uravaadu
....and so on.
Ponnagaram was scored by SG.
Ramki-
I have chosen a song and have written a page worth of "commentary." Would this be a good time to send it? Please let me know.
FM, signature ellam bayangarama irukku :)
T :)
RC,FM :)
RC, Naaz thanks for the correction.
Naaz send them to pow_request@yahoo.com
Ramki,Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramki
indha punnagaikku ( :) ) enna artham-nu puriyalaye.. :)
RC ennaale sirikkathaan mudiyum arthamellaam solla theriyadhu:)
Ramki -
I sent you a message. Could you please confirm when you receive it? Thanks.
Next pick
http://tfmpage.com/cgi-bin/stream.pl...gs/kotha_ke.rm
Song: kothamalli poove
Film: kallukuL eeram
Singer : SJanaki, Malaysia Vasudevan
Lyrics: Gangai Amaran
Music : Ilaiyaraja
-A beautiful village song to get you into pongal spirits.The song always make me imaginge green,lushy villages, uncorrupted villagers working on rice fields singing 'esapaatu' , young kids swinging on tree branches,
ladies carrying lunches for their hard working husbands.
Never been to a village but always dreamt of one, thanks to these songs filled with nativity.
This song is just another example of SJanaki's Versatility. Though she is not a tamilian, i always felt that her voice has the 'mannvaasanai'
-'kallukuL eeram' had few new faces(Aruna,vijayashanthi, janakaraj, chandrasekar (not very sure if this his is first film))with sudhakar,venniradai Nirmala and Bharathiraja. I dont think i need to mention the other songs as all of them are very popular.
ramki: though BR may have appeared in the screen for a minute or 2 in other movies, I think this is his first movie in which he acted as a director. I may be wrong:)
JN you are correct. I think he appears for a minute or so in almost all of his films i have seen(as far as i know).
Ramki: Try 'yeru pootti povaaye' by Jikki for 'village feeling'. :)
Raj i have never listened to that song. Send me if you have it with you
Nivas, the director of KallukkuL eeram is back in the news. He is making a movie, maanidan with Meena in the lead. Follow the link for more information.
http://www.webulagam.com/cinema/vip/...50105013_1.htm
SJ gives such songs all she has (all her limitations factored) and somehow, on most occasions, it works. Today's song is also a good example of her ability to assume "other" voices - aidhedhedhehe (or something like that, in the beginning of this one) Nathaaga Oni Vachchen (?) - the brief verse before a lovely flute rise and dip - show SJ doing what's become her signature - reveling in her vocal inventiveness. She offers a fine exposition in the charanams as well.
The chorus and varied voices/tones also hark back to a song from another age - composed by SC - "Bichchua" from Madhumati.
Even GA manages an a good outing as a lyricist is songs such as these. I haven't seen a kollththamallipoovu in this lifetime, but the brothers (with SJ) sure turn up a heady fragrance!
koll - koththamalli
GA manages a good outing - drop "an"
Ramki, Kothamalli poove is by IR and SJ. I guess it was not by MV.
Naaz: You can edit postings yourself. If you are in lite view, jump to 'Full View' to edit.
I'm well aware of 'Kothamalli Poove,' and it is just as great a song as 'Siru Ponmani' and 'Ennathil Etho' from the same film ['Thoppiloru Naadhagam' I would call good, not great! :-)] Especially hear the interludes; that's something we cannot get from the present crop of composers!
nitya: It's chalanattai, right?
SN23 the voice is clearly MV's.
Next pick
http://tfmpage.com/cgi-bin/stream.pl...gs/kaatr_km.rm
Song: kaatrodu kuzhalin naadhame
Film: kodai mazhai
Singer : Chitra
Lyrics: ?
Music : Ilaiyaraja
Mrs charumathi writes:
"Kaatroodu kuzhalin naadham" song is set in "Simmhendra
madhyama" raagam and aadhi thaaLam. "Simmhendra Madhyama"
raagam is57th "MeLam". It has the following "Aarohanam"
and "avarohanam":
Aarohanam: Sa Ri2 Ga1 Ma2 Pa Da1 Ni2 Sa
Varohanam: Sa Ni2 D1 Pa Ma2 Ga1 Ri2 Sa
The song has an excellent start with small "Alaapana"
alongwith the mridhangam piece. The small "Thani" alongwith
the "Korvais" between the pallavi and the first charanam makes
it more pleasant to listen.
The tune of the first and second charanams is set in 2
different ways. The tune of FIRST HALF of Second "charanam" is
different. The tune of SECOND HALF of second "charanam"
is similar to the tune of the first "charanam".
The FIRST HALF of the second charanam is based on the
following aspects of Carnatic music:
1. Madhdhima Kaalam (2nd speed)
2. Song has "Jadhis" and also the instruments are played
separately.
3. Setting of "Korvai".
Normally in a song, if the swaram is sung with "Korvai
amaippu", the song will end with either pallavi or the last
line sung. But this song continues with "Sahithiyam"
similar to the first charanam, which makes it quite unique.
The mridhangam with beautiful "Korvai" set in a carnatic
style adorns this song.
The lyrics of the song expresses the eager awaiting of
Radha for Lord kannan's arrival which makes it equivalent to
divine Love. In the musical forms, this reminds the "Padham".
It is noteworthy that the song can be considered as a
semi-classical song.
- 'Kodai mazhai' had vidya, Lakshmi, arundhadhi.
This was the first film by Mukta v sundar.
I watched this film in 1986. Very average movie. Other than todays pick, this film had thuppaki kaiyil eduthu(IR sang for Vidya) and one SJ solo(for Lakshmi). I have been looking high and low for this SJ solo(then thoongum poove) , if any one has this song please send it to me.
nice song ramki..
kodai mazhai 'vidhya' acted in a lot of sister roles and TV serials but she never got a lead role after this I guess.. isn their another kodai mazhai fame actor??
IR scored quite a few simmhendra madhyamam songs like aanandha raagam and ennai enna seidhaai (sudha ragunathan) song..
T i dont remember any popular actor from that film. I think sripriya acted as vidyas dance guru and jaishankar played her husbands role. vidya did not have a jodi in 'kodai mazhai'
did rajini make a special apperance in this movie?
Ramki,
you watched this movie in 1986, still remember :) mmmm who will remember these paadavathis. I only remember the thupaaki kaiyil eduthu sony only :)
'Vidhya' was called after this movie as 'kOdai mazhai' Vidya, similar to 'nizhalkaL' Ravi.
T when did you become expert in raagas :)
FM, enna oru kandupidippu :)Quote:
Originally Posted by From_Mars
ungalai paathu thaan..:)..Quote:
Originally Posted by From_Mars
FM yaar yaarai padavadhinnu solradhu?:)