It is heartening to see some sanity prevailing here .....at last!!
Thank you MR!
Spoke to Fr. last night.
IIR will be making an announcement[press meet] on Feb 2nd.
Watch for details.
YIA!!
Printable View
Thank you MR!
Spoke to Fr. last night.
Watch for details.
YIA!!
Please see Fr.'s announcement at www.tis-usa.com.
YIA!!
TODAY IS 2ND FEBRUARY. ANY PRESSMEET ANOUNCING THE RELEASE??? EAGERLY AWAITING TO KNOW THE DEVELOPMENTS.
Further, I request someone to draft and send me a forward mail covering the details of the project, attached with some photographs, so that I can atleast circulate to my friends, many of whom are still unaware of this great project.
Thank you MR!
Spoke to Fr. last night.
Watch for details.
YIA!!
Please see Fr.'s announcement at www.tis-usa.com.
YIA!!
Fr.'s announcement at www.tis-usa.com
[January 24, 2005]
Dear Friends,
I am pleased to announce that Maestro Ilaiyaraaja and Tamil Maiyam have together decided to dedicate the THIRUVASAKAM album to the victims of Tsunami and donate all the profits to the educational rehabilitation of children orphaned or affected otherwise by Tsunami. We have commissioned Ma Foi Management Consultants Ltd. to bring out an unique plan of rehabilitation that will not only include scholarship but career guidance and livelihood/placement security. The implementing NGOs will be identified after further consultations and study.
I can perfectly understand the frustration of some of our friends about the delay in releasing the album. You will never probably know the emotions we were undergoing as persons who were closely part of the Tsunami tragedy. I myself lifted 52 dead bodies along with others in a village called Colechel. I had gone to visit a friend of mine from a village close to this costal hamlet in Kanyakumari district. In the context of Tsunami we genuinely thought as inappropriate and unethical to talk even about release of our album. To those who even went to the point of using abusive language for the delay I beg you to be charitable.
Thank you.
fr.jegath
SO FEB 2 HAS FINALLY GONE....GENTLEMEN CAN YOU PLEASE COMEUP AGAIN WITH A NEW DATE AND RELEASE.
AND IAM SURE I WILL BE LABELLED INSANE, ARROGANT...BUT CAN YOU PLEASE COME OUT WITH A LEGITIMATE REASON FOR THE DELAY....ONCE IT WAS MONEY....MANY A THINGS WERE SAID "DEBT, PLEDGE, DOLLARS"...THEN CAME TSUNAMI.....
WELL I DO REMEMBER THE DATE WHICH WAS FIRST ORIGINALLY SAID WAS AROUND DIWALI, THEN IT WAS NOVEMBER, THEN IT WAS NEW YEAR....THEN TSUNAMI CAME...SO NO PONGAL RELEASE...AND FINALLY IT WAS FEB 2....
ONLY GOD KNOWS.....
ALL I COULD SAY IS "IT IS THE MOST UNPROFESSIONAL WAY OF HANDLING A PROFESSIONAL WORK"
IF ANYONE WHO IS REALLY CLOSE TO RAAJA SIR, KARTHIK RAAJA, YUVAN....PLEASE TAKE THIS MESSGAE TO THEM...
AND I BEG YOU PEOPLE...DO NOT COME WITH ANOTHER DATE....EITHER RELEASE IT ELSE KEEP QUITE LET IT DIE A NATURAL DEATH....
In utter frustration....
A true Raaja Fan
Raaja rasigan
Those who are close to raaja sir ...vera yaarum illa father Jegath um SSSAV um thaan !!!!
See ,more than you and me - do remember that Father jegath has risked $1,00,000 for this and Sankar Kumar has risked $40,000 for this -Infact Sankar Kumar and FJ should be the persons who will be more frustrated for the delay !!!Not just from the money perspective ,these guys ( SSSAV ,others ,FJ) have been through with Raaja right from its infancy !!!
EVen iam bit frustrated - but let us wait patiently - it is we who have to be patient !!!!
BTW ,i fully support them for not rleasing it until Jan 26 th - Nobody would buy it when such a huge disaster has struck TN !!! I think this is the right time to start heating things up !!!
The reason is - we are used to all such quick made stuff - everything quick and coupled with the fact our expectations are there every time a date is raised - Please releaise this is not ajith's film ( JI ) or any other film which is being released !!! The planning has to be done perfectly ..
SO WAIT PATIENTLY !!! AND HELP US TO DO SO !!!
Hello please stop telling us to be patient. And stop building on the crab about so and so risking money. They have come in just like any typical fellow to do a business venture. They have collected so much from all of us also in the name of donations...don't you forget that.....we have yet to verify the details of actual sum collected for this project. I can't see anyone in this deserving special status......for thei involvement..
What is extremely clear is that they have wasted precious time and have done nothing to market the product. The only active and creative thing they have been doing is come up with all sorts of silly excuses for their incompetence and lack of sense in making this project a success. Instead they keep on saying they need to plan and plan and plan.....tillllll now we all know what kind of work have been put in to promote the finished product. We are not fools to sit back and accept all these bull shit theories and excuses for the lack of effort.......stop telling us to be patient when you have been patiently sitting on a project like this and waiting for it all to rot away like IR's first Symphony!!!!!
Dear Sankar Kumar and team!
I was eager to hear good news either from TIS USA or Tamil Mayyam or this thread. I was disappointed not to hear any updates. I hope you people will come up with a specific date for the release as I am excited to buy the CD as and when it comes up for grabs. The longer the delay, lesser will be the interest and therefore lesser the sales. Looking forward to speedy release of Thiruvaasagam in Oratorio by IR.
Well friends,
Iam again here, just to remind the things i have put in this forum. Well i placed my comments before you people. Well by now you yourself know the involvement and professionlism as far as this Project goes. So no more comments.
To quote from Fr.Jegath last message posted on 'TIS - website'
In the context of Tsunami we genuinely thought as inappropriate and unethical to talk even about release of our album. To those who even went to the point of using abusive language for the delay I beg you to be charitable.
Well, i would like to say my comments, well I do agree that Tsunami created such a havoc and made life miserable for many, whats my ideas are you people could have arranged a Press meet and should have made IIR address the people. You said the profit from this would go to Tsunami victims. If you have done the same during the last week of Dec or Ist week of Jan. The sales would have been like anything, since it would have got such a nice opening with many of the dailies, weeklies helping their bits in supporting 'TIO' and 'Tsunami victims'. Hope iam talking sense.
But it didnot happen.
Well, i would like to say my personal experience. Basically iam from Trichy. Many of you would have heard IR's Geetanjali, a devotional album on Mookabiga, Vinayagar and Murugan. I think it was 1999. I went to 'Uchi Pillayar' Koil, i went to Thayumanavar Sannathi, after worshipping Lord Siva and Thayaar i was returning. I hope many have been there, to say exactly, you take the right to Uchi pillayar and right to Thayumanavar Sannathi. You go straight and you climb few steps and you take the left to go to Thayumanavar Sannathi.
I was just climbing down that 'few steps' when i listened to the song 'Thaniyaga Naan Enna Ketten' for the first time in life. It was played through a Public address sytem through 'Ahuja wall mounting vertical speakers - i still remember that'. I was really stunned to hear this kind of soul stirring song inside the temple. Some kind of lightning went down my spine. But what i could grasp was....just simple...a devotional album by Illayaraja......will you people believe, without knowing the name of the Album...i went shop to shop in Super Bazaar for almost a week and finally lady lucked smiled on me...and still i have that cassette.
SO WHAT I WISH TO SAY IS THAT....PALAPALATHUKKU....VILAMBARAM THEVAI ILLAI.....HOPE THE CONCERNED PEOPLE UNDERSTANDS THIS.
I dare to say, i myself can sell you quite a number of albums...plz price it at Rs.200/- per CD. I shall easily sell a minimum of 100 CD's among my friends.....So calculate the entire Raaja fans....
Ithukku mela ennatha solrathu.....enna sonalum....vilalukku iraitha neer than....
A creative artiste has also must grow into a good businessman. Many a geniuses have lost inspiration and felt cheated in the long-term because some selfish company exploited the artistes simple state of mind. In those days in India, especially film stars, Music Directors got a pittance for the limitless, priceless and timeless accomplishments. Today, who is reaping the benefits? the pathetic likes of Saregama, HMV and other caricatures of marketing entities.
You take any MD in India, they are basically living in abject conditions (I don't want to give examples, I have personally seen it.)
Today' generation of audience and producers are paying tons of money for loads of s_it turned out by mediocre artistes, simply because the market is wide and marginal returns are guaranteed even for mediocrity. Not like the old days, where only geniuses had a chance to be appreciated and barriers of entry was very high.
The future of music is in India, and especially Indian film music will find appreciation forever, once the world awakens to the general depth that is missing thus far in Western creativity. Yes, they have reached heights, but a skyscraper without a foundation cannot weather the winds that long.
If an artiste can also have business acumen, he can help preserve the creative legacies for all peoples of the world far into the future without having commercial giants waste away the gifts of creativity.
I strongly feel if the creator is not ready yet to release it, then the audience know less about the creator and the maestro knows about the audience. (Tsunami brought people' focus on basic human values and minds were not tuned to joy or pleasure at that time. However, many an artistes have foolishly exploited (of course, at the behest of greedy executives of marketing companies) the feelings to sell concerts in aid of Tsunami not just abroad but also in north India!!! What do you say about this heartless behavior?! Do you think the likes of Raaja would capitalize on this?!
Let us all be patient. Timing and preparation is very important for such historical works, one must not throw it away because others are restless. We can wait, some may miss out, but we have a time and day to look forward to....
However, it is all a balance between not postponing a good even too much and timing the event giving all involved due consideration.
Let us pray for success for Raaja and Tamil Maiyyam in their efforts!
well said natha
Digression...
raaja rasikan,
trichy-super bazaar-malai kOttai....are you aware of supersonic recording center ??
-yet another raaja rasaikan
I got a mail!!!
I am here to share with you, some important points of the discussion I
had with Rev Fr Jegath Gasper Raj yesterday, after I got an urgent
call from him. Narasimman was with me when I met him. Father wanted
the following details to be conveyed to all of us:
1) The audio company for Thiruvasakam would be decided within two or
three days from yesterday and the release would be very soon
throughout India, by a single company.
2) They would purchase the rights under Royalty basis and they may not
be expected to spend any amount on advertisements or promotions.
Hence, though the project will be released, we will not have enough
profits to take care of the heavy loans that Rev Fr Jegath has
personally incurred. So, the success of the project lies in our hands.
3) We have already collected a lot of ideas from our club members
regarding marketing of the product and Father asked me to convey his
personal thanks to everyone who gave the ideas. Now, we are in the
next phase. We need volunteers for doing field work.
4) Field work includes volunteership for staying in temporary stalls
which may be put up in several temples or public places on festival
days for selling the CD's/cassettes. It does not mean that only people
who can do this should be volunteers. If you feel you have any plan of
marketing and you could offer yourself towards the implementation of
the same, you are welcome to key in your ideas.
5) If you can collect considerable number of pre-orders from your
office or in places where you work, Father is even ready to come to
your place personally for the sale of CD's.
6) A data bank about the festivals to come in major temples, Tamil
organisations, saivaite trusts, etc has to be charted out. We can
decide among the volunteers as to who will look after the stalls at
that place, depending on who is free at that time. This will be of
much help in making Thiruvasakam profitable, which is necessary for
covering the loans and more so for the Tsunami relief, as decided by
Maestro and Tamil Maiyam.
7) A press meet can be expected very soon in the next week for
announcing the release. Maestro and people from Tamil Maiyam will be
addressing the press. Father is planning to call for a meeting of
Maestro's fans who are interested in this project. It is again our
privilege that he has asked us to co-ordinate the fans, as we are
already doing it. Hence, we will be getting more work force soon. What
remains from our side is that we have to plan our work correctly so
that we can select apt persons from the extra hands to use them
effectively for this project's success.
On a note of conclusion, I request all of us who are willing to
volunteer to kindly send in their names to our club, as soon as
possible. Volunteers can be from any place in the world. Let us charge
with our full strength to repay Maestro for what all He has done to us!
Raja Rasigan
I dare to say, i myself can sell you quite a number of albums...plz price it at Rs.200/- per CD. I shall easily sell a minimum of 100 CD's among my friends.....So calculate the entire Raaja fans...
_ If you can really do that ,nothing like that !!!!!!!! Plz continue this service !!!
Digression...
raaja rasikan,
trichy-super bazaar-malai kOttai....are you aware of supersonic recording center ??
-yet another raaja rasaikan
yes very much Shankar..but i preferred "Melody Musicals" they had a large variety and better quality of Raaja Songs, now i only rely on net....
Mumbai Ramki, i really dunno whether you are ridiculing me or serious....but all i can say is that if the guys can price the CD a fair price, it wont be tough for me to push a minimum number of quantities i said....
I stand by my words...
Raja Rasigan
Sathiyama ridicule pannala .....!!!!!! That is genuine very much !!!
** Offensive post deleted **
Good work moderator(s). Let sanity prevail.
OK
I got a mail.. things r taking momentum after a long pause.
"Dear Friends,
I met Rev Fr Jegath Gasper Raj at 6 pm along with Narasimman, Ramji, Rajesh Kanna & Vel Ramanan on February 8, 2005, following his call that I received in the morning. As decided previously, it was the first of the frequent meetings that Father wanted to have with us.
The salient points announced and discussed in the meeting were:
1) Maestro meets the press on February 10, 2005 to announce that the project has been completed and is ready for release.
2) In the same Press Meet, Father will call for a meeting of Maestro's fans at some common place to discuss about the project, its release, implementation of marketing ideas, allotting responsibilities to the volunteers and any related point as the situation may demand with the permission of Time.
3) The probable date for the meeting will be February 20, 2005 and the time may be 4 pm. The venue has to be decided and the whole programme is yet to be confirmed. But, everything will be ready at the time of the Press Meet.
4) Our club will be posting an advertisement welcoming all the fans who would attend the meeting, in at least two daily newspapers. The advertisement will be having Maestro's photograph, our club's web address and the details about the date, venue & timings of the meeting for the fans. Probably, Tamil Maiyam's logo and name may be
used along with the content. Apart from this, the design and content required for the caption are to be planned soon. Ideas for or even completed designs are welcome from all of us.
5) After the meeting with the fans is over, we will plan our further course of action. We are planning for hoardings in important areas of major cities, starting from Chennai initially. Since paper advertisements and hoardings involve a good deal of money, all members among us who are willing to take part in the financial budget for these measures may kindly contact me personally at
drjvvr@yahoo.com with a cc marked to Ramji at amjis2@yahoo.com. Since this is a separate form of donation to the project (in kind) compared to the donation that we have been and still are collecting (as money) on one side, I request all of those who volunteer, to
kindly mention whether they want their donation to reach Tamil Maiyam as money or if they would allow us to keep the money till we reach a significant amount, so that it could be used collectively for a high budget way of advertising like placing hoardings. All details of the accounts will be made available online as and when money reaches and leaves us, as soon as possible.
6) We handed over the list of volunteers registered so far, to Father. He was interested to note that volunteers were from Chennai, Hyderabad, Coimbatore, Kanpur and Singapore. But we were personally wondering why we never received any mail from Bangalore or Kerala, where the need of volunteers is much more important. Anyhow, Father
felt people would join in soon and the project would become a Model Project for anybody who would try anything of this sort in future.
7) Father was very happy to see the links of the groups interested in World Music, especially the ones collected by Vijaygen and Vel Ramanan. He encouraged all of us to collect more and more of them, as they appeared to be potentially strong areas for both the spread of the project's message and its profitable sales too. So, I guess we can concentrate more on collecting these contact information and passing it on to Father for him to contact them professionally on behalf of Tamil Maiyam, the Producer.
8) Father reviewed Ramji's work on the website of Tamil Maiyam and requested him to complete the same before the Press Meet because it will have to be ready by then. Ramji is seriously working on it, along with the original designer of the site, who was introduced to him by Father himself.
9) Vel Ramanan took up the responsibility of customizing the content of the emails that would be sent to any specific world music organization and sending it to Father, who in turn, would send it from his id to the organization. This arrangement is needed because if the same email is sent to all organizations, those of them which have little relevance to the theme of our project would just leave the mail in the trash can. There is another danger of Tamil Maiyam's server from which the mail will be sent, being black-marked as a spamming server.
10) Finally, when we came out it was 7:30 pm and Father had to rush for a meeting. In fact, he had spent a lot more of his time with us than that was originally planned. After that, we had discussion among ourselves and felt that it would be better if our club members could search for core groups that would be interested in Thiruvasakam like Tamil Organizations (in Mumbai, New Delhi, Kolkata
and many other cities in India and abroad also), Cultural Bodies, Literary Societies, Bhakthi Trusts, etc and get the list of contact addresses so that our project would reach their hands too. I hope many of us will turn up with fantastic links.
I think I have covered up all the details that I remember to the best of my memory. If any of the others feel that you have to add something, you are welcome to do so.
Hoping to see the fruits of our sweat soon. "
Hi Folks
TIS is going to be released on April 14th.
There was a press meet today in chennai and please visit
http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews/newsitem.asp?NewsID={723152D8-E1A2-4059-9E39-ECB9FF39B0C5}&CategoryName=CHN
for details
yellAm iRaivan aruL !!
TISK, can you update us on what the TIS-USA team's plans are as far as marketing efforts are concerned?
Thats some good news finally. But two things would be worrisome as far as marketing is concerned.
1. April 14 release? clashing with all the biggies that are released on this date? Competing possibly, with IR's own Mumbai express? Not sure if its a great idea. When the curiosity is at its peak right now, it should be released, unless otherwise IR is planning something else from now till April 14.
2. quote from the article
----------------
Ilayaraja has sung six songs in this album. "You have to listen to my voice; that is your fate", he said amidst laughter.
well many might decide to chose a different fate after seeing that he is the sole singer. Anyways, nothing can be done now regarding this
The article says that releases are planned in several Indian cities, however all the cities listed are in TN.
Is no attempt being taken to get it out of the realm of Tamil Nadu and Tamils?
I am waiting for some more clarifications from Fr. and once I have them, I will update it promptly. There is going to be world-wide release events, for sure. To 'vijayr' and the likes, I would once again plead with you not to consider TiO on par with any movie releases. This one is a different class in itself. Thanks.
YIA!!
TISK, I was not comparing TIS musically with those other film albums. I was just talking from a sales/business point of view. Right now, April 14 seems to be too far away
TISK ,
Iam planning to write an article( in one of teh tamizh magazine yahoogroups ) on TIS and Fr .jegath .DO you have any ready made article for that ?
I can write it from my heart ,but iam afraid that i may mis few important points in being real .
Vijayr
You wrote:
"Ilayaraja has sung six songs in this album. "You have to listen to my voice; that is your fate", he said amidst laughter.
well many might decide to chose a different fate after seeing that he is the sole singer. Anyways, nothing can be done now regarding this"
I share the same frustration. Though I do not agree with the some of the comments you make of IR, I share your views on IR's albumns some 80s, and many recent ones.
WHen creating such a great project, shouldn't IR have gone for the best singers possible. If money is the issue, wouldn't the so called Tamil lovers sang for free? This beats me. I cannot some how digest that IR has chosen to six 6 songs in the album..
However being an ardent fan of IR, I will buy this album and as IR has said "I will have to listen to his voice; that is my fate"
Let us wish the album comes out with no issues
Bala
From the hindu article :
This is the underlying spirit of the project! I have no doubt that Ilayaraaja and team would have brought this spirit out in the most appropriate manner.Quote:
Father Jegath Gaspar of Tamil Maiyam said that as Catholic priests, they have taken up this project to highlight Thiruvasagam which says that god is one — "I salute the one that is called Siva in the south, but known as God throughout the world."
Till I hear I would not give much merit to the sentiments of vijayr and balaji. The only singer who could have sung moving lyrics of Thiruvacagam with the same feeling of Maanikka vaacagar is no more in the physical realm with us. That is Smt. M.S. Whichever singer is going to sing is only going to do the second best effort only. So it is better if IR who has the emotional attachment to the verses and project sings instead of making someone understand the 'bhaava' and then sing. Yet I will reserve my comments on the vocals after hearing it. I would not pass any prejudiced comments on it.
BR and Thangar Bachaan were present there to wish IR !
So can we expect them to join hands with IR again ...??
If you want to see the photos and videos of this historic press meet
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...ents/7094.html
Vazhipokkan, thanks for the link
Vazhipokkan ,
Kodi thanks !!!
An article in tamilcinema.com
http://www.tamilcinema.com/CINENEWS/...ry/110205a.asp
Yesterday I saw the IR's press meet in Tamizhan TV
Hi friends, few more links on TIS....
Ilayaraja and Sivapuranam
http://www.chennaionline.com/music/E...2ilayaraja.asp
Ilayaraja's Thiruvasakam is ready
http://www.chennaionline.com/colnews...439663DF2EA%7D
Yesterday I saw IR's press meet on TIS at Tamizhan TV.
It was wonderful watching. :)
Guys, which Audio company is going to release the Historic project ' Thiruvasagam by Illayaraja '? Is it going to come in English also? Will both the English and Tamiil versions be released together on the same day? No much information about the English version of the project. Any news about it? Will Father Jegath answer for this query?
With expectations
Arun
Rajarasigan.[/b]