Vijay, the song is 'paniyum nAnE malarum neeyE' by SPB and Jency, movie :panimalar.
e.hari, 'EthO oru nathiyil' is by MSV indeed!!!
Printable View
Vijay, the song is 'paniyum nAnE malarum neeyE' by SPB and Jency, movie :panimalar.
e.hari, 'EthO oru nathiyil' is by MSV indeed!!!
Mr.O, thanks :-) MD yaaru SGya?
the MD is indeed SG, I just confirmed it
guys, refer here for SG songs
http://www.tfmpage.com/forum/25012.15.47.13.html
vijay, I think the song is "Paniyum Naane, Malarum Neeye" ( Or is it Paniyum Neeye, Malarum Naane ?) And then it goes "Paruva Raagam Paaduvom..Thithikkum Muthangal"....etc etc...
I have seen this song on Sun TV a few years ago. Not sure about the movie, though. May be I have to think more harder :-)
I see that Mr. O has beaten me to the answer...I think I have to check my internet connection ;-)
I think the following songs are also from SG.
1. naal nalla nall ( vellikilamhi viradham???). This song has some intresting resemblences to 'vada karle sajna'.
2. asai anbu malagarilale
3. Sakkarai pandhalil then malai poliyudu.
Mr. Observer,
I am sure that edo oru nadiyil is by SG. I think the movie featuered vijayakumar. Do you know what movie it was?.
e.hari, the movie is 'sonnathai cheivEn'. The cassette cover states that the MD is MSV and it has MSV style percussion arrangement and his style written all over it.
e.hari, 'thangaththErOdum azhaginilE' is by V.Kumar
Naal Nalla Naal is from Panakkara Penn? (JaiShankar and Jayachitra - TMS/VJ) -
Sarkarai Pandhalil is from Pattampoochchi?
Thanks for the Oorkavalan jogger guys! I knew I could count on you!
S-G had an original VJ solo in Kalyanakaalam and some fine songs in Dhooram Adhigamillai (both Robert-Rajasekaran films).
Nee Venmalligai, Thaen Un Punnagai - from Veetukku Oru Kannagi (PJC/VJ) was another original hit. Didn't Sattam Oru Iruttarai have another fine duet by...?
Was Indru Poi Naalai Vaa by S-G or IR (they were favoured by Bhagyaraj for a few films...)
Edho oru Nadhiyil - is definitely by MSV. I think the movie's name is Enna Thavam Seidhen. It has another beautiful duet by KJY-Vaani, "Andhiyil Chandiran Varuvadhen".
or Is it 'Punniyam SeidhavaL'?
The film 'Radha' had 2 beautiful songs:
KadavuL Meedhu Aanai Unnai Kai Vid Maatten - SPB-PS
Unnai Edhirpaarthen Kanna Nee Vaa Vaa - PS
The first one is one of my very favourite songs. I don't know why but I keep listening to this song over and over and over again!
sattam oru iruttarai had a duet by S.N. Surendar and SJ ' thanimayilE oru rAgam oru thALam uruvAgum', a good song.
Yes, Mr. O that was a good song from Sattam Oru...
I kept confusing that song with Vidiya Vidiya Solli Tharuvaen from Pokiri Raja (the md was msv). Thanks for the first line - now I know how that one goes...
Vijay - the duet from Uchchakattam was the one I mentioned earlier as being from Krotham. It was "Idhazhil Thenpaandi Muththukkal, Udalil Vaidooryam Vairangal, Naan aLLava..." Wasn't Uchchakattam the movie with Sarath Babu and Sunita?
(The other Raj Bharath film Chinna Mul Periya Mul had no songs.)
Is the song 'Vaanam arugil uruvaagum' from Nyayatharasu (Radha-Nizhalgal Ravi starrer with dialogues by M Karunanidhi, directed by K Rajeshwar, dunno if I've the movie right tho!) originally by SG? Its an amazingly beautiful song.
Also, the BGM and songs from another K Rajeshwar movie, Idhaya Thamarai were exceptionally good. The BGM in particular was incredible and stands out as one of SG's best!
KS, you are right, that song was a good one sung by KJY
Naaz
Chinna mull had a SJ solo.I saw the movie.It was a stage song.Santhi Krishna 's friend would sing that.The BGM by SG was a joke.Even when the Hero looks around there will be a ear-piercing music to give "Effect".Vikatan had a "special mention" about this.
Idhya thamari was SG's effort to do a IR.
Uchakattam was indeed by Sarath babu and Sunitha.Sarath Babu's maruvesham would like a elementary school fancy dress competition.But the movie was sort of ok.
S Karthik ,welcome.
Pananm Pen Pasam (Laxmi vanthall Maharani pole),Pasi,Mariah my darling are some of Durai movies SG did.Pasi had no songs.
Kamal's "Ennattam rasigan kidayathu" and Mariah my darling (SPB) were ok.But could not stand IR's onslaught.
Pani malar was by "Kuruvikudu Thalayan" Ravindar.
Oli piranthathu (Maneka-Vijayan-Dir Dorai) had " Ambigaye Unnai Nambi vanthen" by SPB. a real good one.
There was this song " Siva Siva Shankar Hai" from some sports(?) movie?I think it had some guest appearances by some cricketers.
Oru ooril oomai Raja by JC was a very good one.
Talking of "lakshmi vanthaal maharani pol", the song "aadhayen bhi hai mohabbat bhi hai" from ashiqui is note-by-note similar, atleast the first couple of lines, to this song..could be a coincidence as I believe the tamil song was not extremely popular and came way earlier than the Hindi version
Another good song from oorkaavalan by VJ is malligai poovukku kalyanam
O_IS_G, the movie name you are looking for is 'pAthai mArinAl'.
It had "Julie" -Vikram -Right?who was the cricketer -Brijesh Patel?
SG's "Jilu Jilu" and "Deviyin Thirumanam" from Vellikizhamai viratham were AIR fav.
Ganesh would have tried to imitate Kishore in " Pallandu Kalam Nee Vazavendum" in the hum part.Incidentally this was even before " Laxmi Vanthal".My guru says he even gave a guest appearance in that song.
Adiyile perukkeduthu aadi varum kauveri -Is it by SG?
I had mentioned "Malligai Mohini" while discussing GKV.This same Vikram Kozhi acted in that movie."Megangale Varungalen" is a top song.
one of my favorite SG song is: Nadiganin Kaadhali (Kamal movie Thai Illaammal Naan Illai)
In malayalam, they gave some extraordinary numbers, always originals. (Sindoora kiranami ninnil; Gaganame, Gaganame etc..) sg really gave the street sounds more than anyone else tried. another one is: Paniyum Naan Malarum Neeya (classic, classic tune!)
Devar vazhangiya Shankar-Ganesh was how their credits appeared.
Can anyone forget Aatukkara Alamelu, Thaimel Aanai, etc.
When Kannil Theriyum Kathaigal was released, competition was strife among the five MDs. S-G came out tops with Naa onne ninaichen.
Yeah.It was a movie produced by AL Ragavan.The real competition was between IR (Nanoru ponnoviyam) and SG. KVM (TMS song),TR Papa (AL Ragavan),GKV songs were not in the race at all.
IR's song was good but SG's song is certainly better.But to IR's credit SG's song was in his style& orchestra.Partiucularly the interlude before Jikki enters the song.
Dear Friends
My favourite songs of SG is
1. Pattu Vanna Rosaavaam - SA Rajkannu Movie / Bhagyaraj
2. Unnai Naan parthathau ..vennila madayil - Pattikkattu Raja - Kamal / Sivakumar
3. Oh.. Nenjae ...Neethan paadum geethangal - Bhagyaraj movie.
M Madhanraj;
Unnai Naan parthathau ..vennila madayil - is NOT from pattikaatu raja, it is from "pattana pravesam"
O_IS_G, Shankar and Ganesh made their first guest appearance in 'kAthalikka nEramillai'. They are the composers Nagesh is rehearsing with, when Baliah, Muthuraman and Ravichandran enter the room. They were working as assistants for MSV-TKR then.
Trivia...when MSV started taking Ganesh seriously, he made him play the Dholak in the song 'sonnathu nee thAnA' by PS. He graduated to playing the triple congos/bongos in MSV's troupe and that is stating a lot as percussion is an area where MSV has worked wonders. Ganesh started with 'paruvam enathu pAdal' (Ayiraththil oruvan). According to him, the most difficult assignment that was awarded to him was 'avaLukkenna azhagiya mugam' (Server Sundaram), it seems his hands never crossed each other so often :)).
WRONG Raghu!
Unnai naan paarthathu vennila medaiyil un kannanggal nenjoaduthaan IS from Pattikaattu Raaja and sung by Kamal (SP Bala) The hero is Sivakumar.
(@ 203.106.162.145);
but, Pattikaattu Raja is Rajni film , is not it?
The very fact that SG are known for so many songs against the all pervasive IR shows that they were indeed a force to reckon with, though they probably started out much before IR and were extablished b4 IR came in full force.
And the fact that they composed for an MGR movie is another important point. When Chandrabose did Manithan and Raja chinna Roja, he did get into an higher plane due to the association with RK.
Are there any regulars with SG...I mean directors who used SG regularly. K Rajeshwar did to good effect with two movies I think but he switched to others like IR and Adityan.
To a large extent association with a saleable director plays a major role in any composer's career. ARR-Mani, ARR-Shankar, Rajiv Rai-Viju Shah, KB-Maragathamani (partly!), KB-MSV (earlier), KB-IR, BR-IR, Mani-IR (earlier) and so on.
If they didnt have a steady association, that might be one of the key reasons for them not hitting the right notes and not making it big despite talent et all.
There was this song " en kanmanni yaar sollava nadamaadum isai allava" SPB-KJY duet of some SIvakumar kamal movie ( B & W) that was agood no from SG.
Naan yen piranden was also another movie scored by SG , if my memory is correct. It had Chittira cholaigale a good number. Ithaya veenai " Ponnandi maalai pozhudhu was good but I have a lurking suspicion that the tune was lifted & altered.
" Seppu kuddam thooki pore sellamma" KJJ _ VR was also a good duet ( Otthaiyadi Paadai)
"Rendu kannam sandhana kinnam thottukola (Sigappu malli ) is also good
Now i got it the first mentioned song was from Thangathil Vairam
Vengayam, the song u were referring 2 is "En kadhali yaar sollava nadamaadum isai allav", nice song by SPB+KJY.
Durai kept SG for most of his movies.But the problem was Dorai himself remained in the II line with KB,Sridhar,P Madhavan,K Shankar, or Devaraj-Mohan in First line during SG 's prime.
But SG did have Devar's patronage.With Devar's death his company moved to Ilayaraja for Annai Or Aalayam.
Slowly SG were made to fight with the likes of Gangai Amaran,Chandra bose for the never-existed No.2 position.
One of SG was GN Velumani's son-in-law(who produced Kudiyirutha Koil MGR )MGR milked the best tunes of the duo and promptly reverted to MSV.
I forgot Kaneer Mannan - KS Gopalakrishnan who used SG for Magarantham,Adukku malli etc.but both the parties sunk further with those movies.
BTW
S Karthik -Viju Shah must be one of your favourites with Oye OYE and Tu legaye Mere Nndiya from African sources.
That guy is a disgrace to KA.
My favourite songs of SG's are
1. Pattu Vanna Rosavaam - Bhagyaraj/S A Rajkannu movie
2. Unnai Naan Paarthathu - Pattikkattu Raja/Kamal
3. Oh Nenjae neethan paadum geethangal - Bhagyaraj Movie
Vivekananda Films usually had music by S-G (Vandichchakaram, Aaniver) but they switched to IR for Rosapoo Ravikaikari and then ARR for Vandichcholai Cinnarasu. Durai was the only consistent - with Pasi, Thani Maram, Padhai Marinal, etc.
Vijay - Padhai Marinal was way ahead of Ashiqui. However, Nadeem-Shravan claimed that they had the tunes (which the used in the film) nearly a decade before the film was made. Did the meet S-G for coffee during that period....maybe. :-))
SG had some peepy numbers in Ilam jodigal.
Thogai Pullanguzhal Degam Roja idhaz
Mami sivagami -(rehash of vaa machan vaa ,Konjam odhungu naan thaniya (Vasantha Kalam))
I think "Ayiram thamari mottukale" inspired " Thannikul nikkuthu Dhavani Thamarai" by SG was good.But original .. hmm..