Nice peppy dance number. The chemistry, both onscreen & real life, between Amitabh & Rekha was very good during those days.
Printable View
Raj, thnx for sharing your high school nostalgia.
Here's one more popular song from Do Ankhen Barah Haath, Aye malik tere bande ham :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmYFRNXrPdk
Hubby-wife lovefest from good old hindi cinema! So many compositions from Khaiyyam saab to Rahman have done! I am picking a melodious composition by HEMANTA in the movie ANUPAMA! Music album is sweet and sensuous! Lataji works for Hemanta, DHEERE DHEERE MACHAL..... melodious and heartwarming composition!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIDnaZUyzv0
SHUB KARADAIYAN NOMBU WISHES TO YOU ALL! :)
Vinatha
Lovely music; "brings nostalgia of an era of so simple yet sublime romance". Thnx baroque.
yeah! sugary composition from Hemanta!
I am so running around with OLD HINDI FILMI SANGEET for couple of days...:happydance:
this morning woke up to RAG SIVARANJANI of Lataji for composer Jaidev!:musicsmile:
inhale the adoration and intense longing in
Tumhen dekthi hoon to lagta hai aise
Ke jaise yugon se tumhe jaanti hoon
Agar tum ho sagar
Agar tum ho sagar, main pyasi nadi hoon
Agar tum ho sawan, main jalti kali hoon.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ro_FnOd5CXE
We are blessed to grow up with such a rich heritage of Indian filmi sangeet!!:ty:
bekhudi mein sanam uth gaye jo qadam
aa gaye aa gye aa gaye paas hum....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6yZe0uLmS8
Rafi-Lata's evergreen duet from Kalyanji-Anandji!
Vividh Bharati's favorite!
ALLURING HINDI FILMI SANGEET, I was enjoying while driving yesterday afternoon!
I AM IN LOVE! :-D
From Payal(1957), remake of Malliga(Tamil)
Jaare sanwle salone natkhat chodoji baiyan hamari....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Txkha2UZGhA
From Malliga
Neela vaNNa KaNNane unadhu eNNam ellaam...........(video from Payal)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QK5pWzYTSKc
This is one of my favourite songs I sing in our annual music party! :)
Very nice Rajraj. Do you have a link to the original dance? I could not find it Thanks.
Shankar Mahadevan has won the National Award for
Best Male Playback Singer for "bOlO na..." from the movie CHITTAGONG.
The song also won the Best Song of the year National Award.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kDQi-Mwkqk
From Main Suhagan Hoon (1966)
Gori Tore Nain nainwa......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gh-AGDBO5ng
swarup: I could not find the original Tamil video clip anywhere. If I find it I will post it.
"Bekhudi mein sanam uth gaye jo qadam" : nice romantic duet featuring Shashi Kapoor & Nanda (I think).
A song made up of the names of early Hindi film stars
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z3wSq...fHNEow&index=4
From Swarnasundari (Hindi), remake of Swarnasundari (Telugu)
Mujhe Na Bula....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azPNDnPcmGI
From ManaaLane Mangaiyin Bhagyam (Tamil)
Azhaikkaadhe Ninaikkaadhe.........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8a91oS0B_B4
From Swarnasundari(Telugu)(1957)
Piluvakura......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ahLd6iiYabE
Movie: Basu Chatterjee's "APNE PARAYE" (1980);
- Featuring Amol Palekar and Shabana Azmi-
Music: Bappi Lahri; Lyrics: Yogesh
"shaam rang ranga re..." by K.J. Yesudas and chorus:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8jFGRzTx0dU
"gaO mErE man..." by K.J. Yesudas and Asha Bhonsle:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16r7oQZWOoU
I am straying a bit here since I cannot distinguish between Hindi, Punjabi and Urdu. Please let me know if it is not permissible
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=ArFHH8EOIO0
K.J.Yesudas sings again for Amol Palekar, in Chitchor -> Gori Tera Gaon Bada Pyara. Also starring Zarina Wahab. Music by Ravindra Jain.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzECWv9z47M
Apparently Nehru liked some lines in this song, source seems to be Kedar Sharma's autobiography.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hHJqyBNPIo
Mubarak Begum in Hamari Yaad Ayegi
Kabhi tanhaiyon main un hamari yaad aayegi....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rpYFab53aqM
Another Kamal Dasgupta song, this time by Jagmohan from 1938
http://atulsongaday.me/2013/04/05/mu...on-se-behlaao/
From Payal(1957), a Hindi remake of Malliga(Tamil):
Aye Meri Maut Thahar.............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_g7-8QoRME
varuven Naan Unadhu MaaLigaiyin Vaasalukke.............from Malliga (video from Payal)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN3OJSSWiNk
Another of my favourite songs! :) The HIndi version is a close translation of Tamil lyrics.
From a large sample of nice old Hindi twin songs, a post in 'Songs of Yore' http://www.songsofyore.com/twin-songs/ says
"Now if you observe carefully you notice a very strange phenomenon. In all these songs the male version caught the popular fancy. The female versions lagged so far behind that many of them became extinct from public memory and it would be difficult to believe that they existed." There are both versions of many songs like 'Ae mere dil kahin aur chal'. Is this correct?
Kuchh Dil Ne Kaha
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69dnqIFfrnE
I wouldn't mind this song playing in the background at my funeral. Complete bliss! :musicsmile:
From Zimbo(1958)
Yeh Mana dil............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLcZc1wc4Gs
From Jimbo(1959), Tamil dubbed version of Zimbo
Nam Aasai Endra Nal Roja Malar MuL Indri Vaaraadhe........... (embedding disabled. Please click on link to listen)
http://youtube.com/watch?v=dEjU9EQiACk
A Trilok Kapoor song from Trolley Driver 1948
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOjUoLYbTrk
There is also 'version song' which is pretty good
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxabk9-W0Ck
From Parasmani
Roshan Tumhi se....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xtlH07cylQ
P.B.Srinivos in Maayaa Mani
Kothai un Meni Oliya.....
http://youtube.com/watch?v=0WINiy0h4sU
(Embedding disabled. Please click on link to listen)
May his soul rest in peace.
( I posted another of his Hindi tune songs in post #1187.)
These were quite popular in my school days and might have been posted before
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngO9SDllyCw
Tamil version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDIpi_Yb90g
But my favourite is the Telugu version of the next one for which I could not find either the Telugu version or the Tamil version on YouTube
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=Bk6-AsNTkd8
A news item mentioned Mr.Sampat to be his first movie.
Here is his first song in movies.
From Mr.Sampat(1952)
Chalo Paniya Bharan ko....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSGok1ahEVI
Heard for the first time while browsing (for some reason there is Bhanumati picture on the video) By Mubarak Begum from Basera 1950
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIGiP0AUC7w
From Nishan(1949)
Jaiyo Jaiyo....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9sErV1BP3A
From Apoorva SagotharargaL (1949)
Laddu Laddoo....................
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IsdQUhG9hk
For fun try to identify the languages in the songs! :)
Rajraj,
The two songs seem quite different though there is some similarity. There seem to be medley of tunes in the Hindi version. I wonder how many different songs came out of it. There is also a multiple-lingulal song in 'teen batti char rasta' 1953
which I might have posted already. The music director seems to be from the south.
Legendary singer Shamshad Begum passes away - RIP!
http://www.thehindu.com/news/legenda...?homepage=true
May her soul rest in peace ! :(
In her honor I post a naat (poem in praise of the Prophet) she sang.
Paigham Saba Layi Hai............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bl9Az5X-ob8
I posted some of the songs listed in The Hindu link posted by RD. Mere piya gaye Rangoon.... was one of them. The last song I posted from Nishan was also by Begum.
There are some songs in this link of Shamshad Begum which I have not heard before. They include duets with Trilok Kapoor, C.Ramachandra and a bhajan which she sang under the name Radharani, so that it may be acceptable.
http://sursangat.com/index.php?showtopic=51&st=40