An interesting interview with Sonu Nigam; didn't know where else to post it!
I am not a God gifted vocalist: Sonu Nigam
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/19726166.cms
Printable View
An interesting interview with Sonu Nigam; didn't know where else to post it!
I am not a God gifted vocalist: Sonu Nigam
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/19726166.cms
Shamshad Begum in Hindi and Tamil from Dusedoff tribute http://dustedoff.wordpress.com/2013/...gum-a-tribute/
Apparently, the Tamil version was drpped from the film in favour of the one by Rajalakshmi. First the Hindi version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkDui6p66vo
Tamil version by Shamshad Begum
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtV-VK70Lbs
Rajalakshmi version
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=NYUEbhdipvs
Perhaps Rajraj and others can tell us the problems with her pronunciation.
Happy 94th Birthday to the one and only Manna Dey...
Here are two of his classics!
1. "laga chunri mein daag chhupaun kaise..." from DIL HI TO HAI composed by Roshan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uD5Pe4k3myI
2. "jhanak jhanak tori baje payaliya..." from MERE HUZOOR; composed by Shankar Jaikishen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qpIQygF-VQ
Uthamaputhiran is being discussed in Sivaji Ganesan (Nadigar Thilakam) thread.
Here is a song from Sitamgar, Hindi dubbed version of Uthamaputhiran :
mein bi teri....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUZd1j8AxnY
The original:
unnazhagai kanniyargaL sonnadhinaale.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnM_GD1WuSw
A lilting song from Patanga:
O Dilwalon Dil Ka Lagaanaa....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nz2O8mnrx8
A Tamil song in the same tune from Digambara Saamiyaar(1950):
oosi pattaase vedikkaiyaa thee vachchaale vedi dabaar dabaar....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DH-__OEW1wU
oosi pattaase.. was one of my favourite songs during my middle/high school years (early 50s). The song is about fireworks for children during DeepaavaLi ! :lol:
Rajraj,
The Tamil version is new to me and is a very nice adaptation.
I found the Telugu version, not the video, in http://desitunes.desibantu.com/agnipareeksha
The site has songs in various languages.
Thank you Swarup for the link; an interesting collection of multilingual songs! :)
In a short span we lost four stalwarts in music - Shamshad Begum, P.B.Srinivas, T.K.Ramamurti and Laalgudi Jayaraman. But, we will always remember them, thanks to modern technologies.
Here is a song about memories from Dil Ek Mandir, Hindi remake of Nenjil Or Alayam(Tamil):
Yaad na Jaaye....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4Wad2VKzIw
A song from the original with similar sentiment:
Nenjam Marappadhillai....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyPPUBH6otg
M.S.Viswanathan and T.K.Ramamurti were the music directors for the movie.
Lalgudi Jayaraman composed several thillaanaas. Here is one in Desh:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USb9qjGJe2I
He composed thillaanaas in Hindolam,Bageshri,Yamuna Kalyani and other ragas. I have a 33 RPM record of those thillaanaas somewhere. If I find it I will attempt to post them! :)
A short Meera bhajan from Jogan 1950. Does anybody know who the male singer is?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9AzBOeXZK4
Here is a 1949 Gujarati tunewhich came to Telugu in 1961 probably via the Hindi song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbJrJ...ature=youtu.be
The telugu version is in the film 'velugu needalu'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qY1r-UABhQ
The tamil version is called 'tuya uram'. I wonder whether there is a Tamil version too.
Madhu Ji,
Thanks. There are interesting discussions in 'Songs of Yore' about copied-adapted songs traveling from one language to another. Since I participate in different language websites (without really knowing the languages) I pass on information from one site to another. Cumulatively it seems to be ok, at least it satisfies some curiosity and I get to know some nice tunes.
I am not sure whether I can post Tamil songs separately in this thread, since it is a continuation of a post above I hope that it is OK. As Shri Madhu pointed above, there ia Tamil version too and Shri Venkataraman gave the link in 'Songs of Yore'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFHGQ4SnUDU
Here is TMS himself singing a Hindi song on stage.
According to the person who posted this on youtube, this song was originally composed by Naushadji.
If any of you have more information about this song, please post it here. Thank you.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hD_tB3PMfbI
T.M.Soundararajan passed away. May his soul rest in peace.
From 'Avar Enakke Sondham' (Tamil) (1977), a comedy song:
tholi nenu jesina/ kabhi kabhi mera dil mein khayal aataa.......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzxVaAj7Y_Y
kabhi kabhi mera dil... from kabhi khabie (Hindi) (1976)....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKMPf737pp0
From the Hindi movie Qaidi No 911 (1959):
Meethi Meethi Baton Se..................
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xe3s3rjh27E
Tamil version from Kaidhi Kannaayiram(1960), a remake of the Hindi original:
Konji Konji Pesi Madhi Mayakkum.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyNOEzYgpUU
Telugu version from Kaidhi Kannaiyaa............
Tiyya teeya ni...............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-RACy68ARc
Rajasulochana, in the Tamil and Telugu clips, passed away a few months back.
May her soul rest in peace.
Nice songs vathiyarayya..
the telugu tune is like " teri pyari pyari surat ko" from "sasural"
http://youtu.be/lG-2kRGGQ2o
We said 'May His/Her Soul Rest in Peace' five times for artists. For a change here is a tune from the west. 'Never On Sunday' from the movie Never On Sunday by Connie Francis was a very popular song in the early 60s. It also won an Oscar. Here is how it was used in 'Ustadon ke Ustad':
Maine kahan tha aanaa Sunday ko....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=286n0dtqCQQ
The original English version from Never On Sunday(1960):
Never On Sunday...........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QF8OYdL1tG8
The video shows Doris Day. But the singer is Connie Francis.
The original Greek version by Melina Mercouri:
Ta Paidia Tou Piraia ( transliteration of Greek may be different if you are searching youtube.)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28EAWlOXrYs
The movie was made in English,Greek and Russian (or dubbed from the Greek version, not sure.)
Connie Francis was a popular singer in the 60s. Two of her other popular songs: 'Lipstick On Your Collar' and 'Where The Boys are'.
"Meethi Meethi Baton Se" - nice song Raj. I think the song features Nanda & Daisy Irani.
"Maine kaha tha aanaa Sunday ko" - peppy number featuring Johny Walker & Helen. Thnx Raj, for posting the original English version "Never On Sunday" by Connie Francis. I'm not sure whether I've heard this one before, but I've definitely heard "Lipstick on your collar".
Thnx Madhu, for posting "Teri Pyari Pyari Surat Ko" featuring Rajendra Kumar & Saroja Devi.
From Bombai ka Babu(1960):
Dekhne Mein Bhola hai Dil ka Salona......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3lqFcRiPG0
From Kaalam Maari Pochchu(1955/56)(Tamil):
Yaeru Pootti Povaaye ANNe ChiNNaaNNe.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RJfMjq3fcU
From Rojulu Maaraayi(1955)(Telugu):
Eruvaaka Sagaroo....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OcRX4o71xUI
Rice crop cycle begins in June in Tamilnadu. The Tamil and Telugu songs are about being a farmer. I used to visit my ancestral village during summers of my school/college days. In one of those visits I was asked to initiate the ploughing season. The handle of the plough was about as tall as I was. I held it with both hands. Another person held it firmly to make sure I did not let it go when the plough hit a bump in the field. I went one round in the field and others took over! That was a long time back. Now, the ploughs are gone. You see tractors and other equipment. Bullock carts are gone. Now it is automobiles and motor cycles. Progress has a price. The simple rustic life is gone. The songs (Tamil/Telugu) are about simple rustic life.
Yaeru in Tamil means plough ! :)
My attractions in the village were tender coconuts, tender palms, mango and tamarind fruit ! :lol:
And also the percussion used in the songs known as 'thappu' in Tamil. The farm workers used to play the instrument and dance on special occasions. I think that practice is gone too! :(
"Dekhne Mein Bhola hai" - lovely song well sung by Asha Bhonsle to Sachin Dev Burman's tune.
"yEru pootti pOvaayE" - was surprised to see Waheeda Rehman dancing in this song; probably the only Tamil song she has featured in.
Nice to read about your reminiscence, Raj. It's been ages since I visited my ancestral village - no chance of that happening now as my relatives have themselves shifted to Chennai.
"Sau Baar Janam Lenge" from USTADON KE USTAD (1963) sung by Mohammad Rafi starring
Ashok Kumar, Pradeep Kumar, Shakila
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTprvBjARLY
------
"Or Aayiram Paarvayile" from VALLAVANUKKU VALLAVAN (1965) sung by TMS, lyrics by
Kannadasan. Starring Gemini Ganesan, Manimala, Asokan, R.S.Manohar, Savithri
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spdzznttMmY
Designer:There seems to be one more Tamil movie of Waheeda Rehman 'Alibabavum 40 Thirudargalum'.
Saw this a few days ago, a duet with chorus of Anil Biswas-Lata based on a Bengali folk song
http://atulsongaday.me/2013/06/10/pa...hori-chori-aa/
மேலைத் திசையிலே வானவில் பாராய்
இடியும் மின்னலும் மழையும் பாராய்
ஓடையில் கால்கள் பாய்வதைப் பாராய்
உலர்ந்த பொட்டலில் அருகினைப் பாராய்
வாத்தியாரையா... உழவு செய்ய வேண்டிய சீசன் வந்தாச்சு என்பதற்கு எப்படி எல்லாம் அடையாளம் சொல்றாங்க பாருங்க.
இப்போ எல்லாம் வானிலை ஆராய்ச்சி நிலையம் என்ன சொல்லுதுன்னு கேட்க வேண்டிய நிலைமை :(
yes... yes..
http://youtu.be/wqQ2Gqu_Kkw
Thnx for the video Madhu.
From Janam Janam Ke Phere (1957):
Zara Samne To Aao Chaliye.............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gn0ySV_UASE
From Kalyaniyin KaNavan:
Indha Maanilathai Paaraai Magane........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLcRLF2xsok
From Bawarchi(1972)
More Naina Bahaye Neer..........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2x6y21VFew
Among the instruments seen (Flute,Sarangi,Sitar,Jalatarangam and Tabla) I remember listening to Jalatarangam in a concert about 60 years back. The instrument seems to be fading away. There are only a few players . :( Of course classical concerts with seven or eight instruments are gone! :(
If you like to listen to jalatarangam:
alai paayudhe kaNNaa in Kaanadaa
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnKMsKBMuJ0
Zara Samne To Aao Chaliye : nice song well sung by Rafi & Lata, featuring Manhar Desai & Nirupa Roy.
Indha Maanilathai Paaraai Magane : goes to show that numerous Tamil & Hindi songs in the '50s & '60s were inspired from each other.
More Naina Bahaye Neer from Bawarchi is a lovely number by Lata, featuring Rajesh Khanna and a very young Jaya Bhaduri. Bawarchi is a clean comedy film directed by Hrishikesh Mukherjee, in which the cook Rajesh Khanna defuses the internal squabbles of a joint family household by his wit & winsome ways.
Raj : The "Alai paayudhe kaNNaa" instrumental rendered using Jalatarangam is quite tuneful. The last time I had seen a Jalatarangam performance was on the Pothigai channel about a decade ago.
From Qaidi(1957):
Yun Muskurake Saamne Aayaa....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnNR5lZ7JFw
Same tune from Magudam Kaatha Mangai(Tamil):
Oh Mohana Senthaamarai aadaadhe nee......
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6r-V3x5uR14
This is a rare song. First of all, this is the only song that K.J. Yesudas sang in a
Rajesh Khanna movie (even though the song was not for Rajesh Khanna!).
This song is from one of only three movies in which Yesudas sang songs composed
by R.D. Burman. In the video of the movie that I watched, only a few seconds
of the aalaap (humming) in the middle of the song were included. I do not know whether
or not the theater copy of the movie had a longer version. Most, if not all, of the LP records,
CDs, and on-line collections of the songs from the movie had this song excluded, but the movie's
titles credited Yesudas as one of the singers.
Without further ado, here it is:
Song: "raam rahim mein anthar naahi..."
Movie: ALAG ALAG (1985)
Directed by: Shakti Samanta
Starring: Rajesh Khanna, Shashi Kapoor, Tina Munim
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi
Music: R.D. Burman
Singers: K.J. Yesudas and Asha Bhosle
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5feedZKjMo
Ashok Kumar sings in Jeevan Naiya (1936/37)
Koi Humdum Na Raha....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUpJ3-QG-fs
About 25 years later Kishore Kumar sings in Jhumroo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRRQ7z_eiVg
Hundred years of Indian Cinema is being celebrated. I am familiar with some movies from the 30s. I thought I should post some songs from the 30s. I was surprised to see Ashok Kumar singing. Of course those days there was no playback singing.
Once in a while I will post songs from the early years of Indian cinema. :)
Many other singers have sung this song. Must have been very popular!
"Yun Muskurake Saamne Aayaa Na Keejiye" : nice melody sung by Muhammad Rafi & Asha Bhonsle, to O.P.Nayyar's music.