Feddy,
This statue sh!t is extremely annoying. Especially in Orkut Thalaivar community.... Its no big freakin deal AT ALL...
adhaan unga post-a paatha udane, manasu valichidhu
Printable View
Feddy,
This statue sh!t is extremely annoying. Especially in Orkut Thalaivar community.... Its no big freakin deal AT ALL...
adhaan unga post-a paatha udane, manasu valichidhu
Neenga solradhum oru vidhathula correct dhan :oops:
Tendulkar thanks fans for support
Sachin
Mumbai: Sachin Tendulkar and four of his victorious teammates returned to Mumbai in the wee hours Thursday, thanking every Indian for their support to the team in their quest for victory in New Zealand.
“It’s an achievement. Everyone is happy. The entire country has supported us. It was victory after 41 years,” the champion batsman told reporters at the airport.
Under Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India defeated New Zealand in their own backyard in a Test series for the first time since Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi’s team vanquished the Kiwis in 1967-68.
Tendulkar, who had made vital contributions with the bat in the five-match ODI series and the Test rubber, returned with Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel and Dhawal Kulkarni.
Some members of the support staff also landed in Mumbai with them. Captain Dhoni and some other members of the team disembarked in Delhi.
South-based cricketers, including stalwarts Rahul Dravid and V.V.S. Laxman, went to their respective places directly, according to the Board of Control for Cricket in India sources.
Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma and Amit Mishra received a heroes’ welcome on arrival at the Indira Gandhi International Airport. Innumerable supporters gathered to get a glance of the players.
Sehwag was accompanied by wife Aarti, while Ishant’s father Vijay Sharma came to the airport to receive the pacer.
The cricketers did not speak to the waiting reporters as they were whisked away by the security men.
India clinched the three-Test series 1-0 after the third Test ended in a draw in Wellington on Tuesday.
They had won the first Test in Hamilton by 10 wickets while the second one in Napier ended in a draw.
India had earlier clinched the five-match one-day series 3-1, also their first series win in the shorter version of the game in New Zealand.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/109041...y_10799982.jsp
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.a...059565&start=1
Wish Happy budday to Sachin in your mothertongue
Hey people. let wish Sachin happy birthday in our own mother tongue. It will be a fun too. Please mention your mother tongue too with your message.
its different and cool idea...
in TAMIL....
பிறந்த நாள் வாழ்த்துக்கள் "சச்சின் டெண்டுல்கர்".
பல்லாண்டு பல கோடி நுற்றாண்டு வாழ்க...
in english
happy birthday wishes to "sachin tendulkar"
live for crores of centuries.....
in tamil.........
என் கிரிக்கெட் தெய்வத்திற்கு
என் இனிய பிறந்த நாள் நல்வாழ்த்துக்கள்.....
in punjabi
ਜਨਮ ਦਿਨ ਦੀ ਵਧਾਈ ਸਚਿਨ
HAPPY BDAY SACHIN
THis is in Telugu
Janmadina Subhakanshalu Sachin ...
In bengali
Shubho Janmodin Sachin
in hindi.........
जन्मदिन की हार्दिक शुभ कामनाएं
IN MALAYALAM
SACHINNU MUNNKURR PIRANAL ASYAMSHEKAL......
Huttu Habbada Haardika Shubhashayagalu Devaru Volledu Maadli - Kannada
It says
Many Happy Returns of the Day, God Bless You
subho janmodin sachin.......janmodiner hardik subhechcha railo...khub bhalo theko....ar amader eibhabei ananda diye jao...
ਜਨਮ ਦਿਨ ਦੀ ਵਧਾਈ ਸਚਿਨ
वाढदिवसाच्या हार्दीक शुभेच्छा....!!!
janmadinaashamsakal(malayalam)
In PUNJABI,
SACHIN Paaji bahut-bahut mubarkaan Janam Din diyan...
Marathi
वाढदिवसाच्या हार्दिक शुभ्भेच्छा...
janmdin ni khub khub hardik shubhkamnao.... ane so varsh jivo .. (GUJARATI)
എത്രയും പ്രിയപ്പെട്ട ഞങ്ങളുടെ സച്ചിന് ഹൃദയങ്ങമമായ ജന്മദിന ആശംസകള്*....
നല്ലവനായ ദൈവം അങ്ങയ്ക്ക് നല്ല ആയുസ്സും ആരോഗ്യവും നല്*കട്ടെ..
ethrayum priyappetta njangalude sachinu hridayangamamaaya janmadina aashamsakal....
nallavanaaya daivam angaykku nalla aayussum aarogyavum nalkatte..
it means,
birthday wishes to our dearest sachin....
may good God grant you long life and health..
Birthday wishes Cont'd:
In Bihari
सचिन जी के हमार तरफ से जन्मदिन की खूब ढेर सन सुभ्कनाये
Subho jonmodin Sachin !! khub bhalo theko .. jiboner arekta bosonto khub bhalo katuk tomar ... Bengali!
जन्मदिन की हार्दिक शुभ कामनाएं > Hindi
ਜਨਮ ਦਿਨ ਦੀ ਵਧਾਈ > Punjabi
Janmadina Subakankshalu ( జన్మదిన శుభాకాంక్షలు )
This is in telugu..........
tamil
பிறந்த நாள் வாழ்த்துக்கள்
i m from rajasthan nd mine is marwari..................
सचिन तेंदुलकर जिका भगवान् हैं सब लोगो रे वास्ते वोणे कम्युनिटी मेम्बेर्स री तरफ हु वर्षगाँठ ऋ हार्दिक शुभकामना
ಹುಟ್ಟು ಹಬ್ಬದ ಹಾರ್ದಿಕ ಶುಭಾಶಯಗಳು... - Kannada
Marathi
സച്ചിന് എന്*റെ ജന്മദിന ആശംസകള്*
जन्मदिन की ढेर सारी शुभकामनाये सचिन !!!
In Gujarati
સચિનને જન્મદિવસનેી હાર્દિક શુભકામનાઓ.
cricketnte deivamaaya sachinu ente hridayam niranja pirannal aashamsakal[ malayalam ]
tamil
cricket kadavul sachinuku en eniya pirantha naal vaalthukal..
means: hapy bday to cricket god sachin
in assamese
...."Sachin, tomaloi janmadinor bahut hubha kamana thakil"(assamese)
sachine ente piranal ashamshakal...
Marathi
Birthday wishes Cont'd:
ಹುಟ್ಟು ಹಬ್ಬದ ಶುಭಾಶಯಗಳು
sachinu ente janmathina asamsakal..
In Sindhi
Cricket jee tareekh ja chamkander Sitara tawhan khay salgrah mubarik hujay
In dhatki
Sachin awhan na saligrah ray lakh lakh mubarkan hueeeen
ਜਨਮਦਿਨ ਦੀ ਬਧਾਈ ਸਚਿਨ ਨੂ ਤੇ ਸਾਰਯਨ ਸਚਿਨ ਦੇ ਫਾਂਸ ਨੂ
meaning
brithday wishes to Sachin and his fans
சச்சின் டெண்டுல்கருக்கு என் இனிய பிறந்த நாள் வாழ்த்துகள்.
நீ வாழ்வில் இன்னும் உயரங்களை அடைய எல்லாம் வல்ல இறைவனை மனதார பிரார்த்திக்குறேன்.
Marathi
Vadhdivasachya Hardik Shubhechha Sachin!!!
ಹುಟ್ಟು ಹಬ್ಬದ ಶುಭಾಶಯಗಳು - ಸಚಿನ್ -- Kannada
huttu habbada shubashayagalu-kannada
i will wish him in all the languages that i know..
1.My mother tongue -Telugu
Janmadina subhakaankshalu :)
2.My national language-Hindi
Janmadin ki hardik shubhkamnayein
3.The language forced upon me by the education system in india-English
Many more happy returns of the day
4.The language which i learnt of my own interest -Japanese
Otanjoubi omedetou gozaimasu
5.Living in latin america right now so -Spanish
Feliz compleaños
there you go :) i hope he completes 100 years and 100 international centuries. God bless him with long life and happiness...
Will be continued : :D
Sachin creates history in London
Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian sports icon to be featured at the Madame Tussaud's wax museum.
The world renowned tourist attraction in London flewn its new wax figure of the Indian batting legend over 7,000 kilometers to Mumbai for a "meeting" with the real cricketing legend.
"I am very impressed with the figure and delighted to be honoured by Madame Tussauds," commented Terndulkar.
"It is the first time we have ever launched a figure overseas but we really wanted Sachin to see his likeness before it "meets" the public in the attraction," said Liz Edwards, PR Manager at Madame Tussauds London.
"The figure will now be returning to London to join the ranks of sporting greats past and present in our Sports Zone. There will also be a cricketing challenge around the figure where guests can test their skills against the `masterblaster` and we know it will be a huge hit with fans," Edwards was quoted.
Sally Chatterjee, Interim CEO, Visit London said, "London and India share a great passion for cricket and we are delighted that Madame Tussauds has unveiled a figure of Sachin Tendulkar. With the ICC World Twenty20 coming to London this June more cricket fans will have the opportunity to come face to face with one of their sporting heroes."
http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/inte...ory-in-London/
http://cricket.rediff.com/report/200...-tendulkar.htm
When Tendulkar met Tendulkar
April 13, 2009
Sachin Tendulkar (left) alongside his wax figureIndia batting legend Sachin Tendulkar [Images] will become the first Indian sports personality to be portrayed at Madame Tussauds, in London [Images]. His wax figure was launched at the Taj Lands End Hotel in Mumbai [Images] on Monday.
Tendulkar met with Madame Tussauds sculptors in hometown Mumbai earlier in the year to be measured and photographed for the creation of his figure and donated the cricket whites his striking wax double is wearing. He follows in the famous footsteps of Bollywood giants Amitabh Bachchan [Images], Aishwarya Rai [Images] Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan [Images] and Salman Khan [Images].
The figure was created at Madame Tussauds studios in West London over a three month period. The first step is to craft a perfect clay sculpture from which the moulds are made to make an amazingly life like wax figure. Then it is over to a team of skilled hair and colour artists to insert the hair by hand and build up life like skin tones using layer upon layer of oil paint; every freckle, mole, dimple and wrinkle are accurately reproduced.
"I am very impressed with the figure and delighted to be honoured by Madame Tussauds", commented the renowned batsman, who was delighted to come face to face with his likeness.
"I am glad he does not breathe," he added.
"It is the first time we have ever launched a figure overseas but we really wanted Sachin to see his likeness before it "meets" the public in the attraction," said Liz Edwards, Official Spokesperson at Madame Tussauds.
"The figure will now be returning to London to join the ranks of sporting greats past and present in our Sports Zone. There will also be a cricketing challenge around the figure where guests can test their skills against the 'masterblaster' and we know it will be a huge hit with fans."
Sport
Tendulkar excited over Madame Tussauds' honour
Mumbai (IANS): It was another record but of a different kind for master blaster Sachin Tendulkar. Madame Tussauds flew the cricketer's wax figure some 7,000 km to meet the legend in person here on Monday and made him the first Indian sportsman to be featured by the London-headquartered studio.
And Tendulkar was truly delighted, coming face to face with the likeness of his wax figure at the downtown Taj Lands End Hotel.
"I am very impressed with the figure and delighted to be honoured by Madame Tussauds," said the renowned cricketer, who holds several records to his name, including the batsman with the highest number of Test centuries.
"It is the first time we have ever launched a figure overseas. But we really wanted Sachin to see his likeness before it 'meets' the public," said Liz Edwards of Madame Tussauds, London.
"The figure will now be returning to London to join the ranks of sporting greats past and present in our sports zone. There will also be a cricketing challenge around the figure where guests can test their skills against the master-blaster'," she said.
"We know it will be a huge hit with fans."
Tendulkar had met the sculptors of Madame Tussauds here earlier in the year to be measured and photographed for the creation of his figure. He also donated the cricket whites that his striking wax double is wearing.
The cricketer follows in the footsteps of Bollywood giants Amitabh Bachchan, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan, who have been honoured by Madame Tussauds.
According to the London-based firm, Tendulkar's figure was created at their studios in west London over a three-month period, starting with a a perfect clay sculpture from which the moulds are made for an amazingly life-like wax figure.
Then it was over to a team of skilled hair and colour artists to insert the hair by hand and to build life-like skin tones using layer upon layer of oil paint - every freckle, mole, dimple and wrinkle are accurately reproduced, the firm said.
"London and India share a great passion for cricket and we are delighted that Madame Tussauds has unveiled a figure of Sachin Tendulkar," said Sally Chatterjee, the interim chief executive of Visit London, the agency that promotes tourism to the British capital.
"With the International Cricket Council's World Twenty20 coming to London this June more cricket fans will have the opportunity to come face to face with one of their sporting heroes."
Madame Tussauds, which has its attractions in London, New York, Las Vegas, Washington, Amsterdam, Berlin, Hong Kong and Shanghai, has been making wax figures for over 150 years.
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus...0904131883.htm
Tendulkar at loss for words after seeing his wax replica
Mumbai, Apr 13 (PTI) Sachin Tendulkar confessed he was at loss for words when he first saw his life-like wax replica prepared by the world famous Madame Tussauds of London that he unveiled at a city hotel close to his residence here today.
Terming it a great honour and reflection of his contribution to Indian cricket that his wax figure would be adorning Madame Tussauds iconic museum, Tendulkar gushed about the attention to details that has gone into producing it.
"It's something special. I have never reacted to anything like this in my life. It's difficult to express in words what is very close to something identical. I'm glad it does not breath. The detailing is so much," the champion batsman said after unveiling his own wax replica.
"It is a great honour to be there at the Tussauds. I know I am the first sportsperson of the country to be there. I think it is an appreciation and a reflection of my contribution to Indian cricket," he said.
Tendulkar said he was spellbound after seeing the statue which will be inaugurated at the Tussauds on April 24, his birthday.
"(My son) Arjun wanted to take down the bat and start playing but I told him not to get very close. It's fabulous, fantastic," he said in awe. PTI
http://www.ptinews.com/pti/ptisite.n...4?OpenDocument
Thanks LM :)
Tendulkar gives Dhoni's captaincy full marks
April 14, 2009 20:29 IST
Instrumental in Mahendra Singh Dhoni's [Images] elevation to captaincy of the Indian cricket team, Sachin Tendulkar [Images] says India's rich success under the stewardship of the star stumper from Jharkhand vindicated his faith in him.
After Rahul Dravid [Images] decided to step down from the captain's job soon after India's England [Images] tour last year, Tendulkar suggested Dhoni's name to the then Board of Control for Cricket in India president, Sharad Pawar [Images].
Under Dhoni, India won, among others, the Twenty20 World Cup in South Africa [Images], tri-series in Australia, Test series against Australia [Images] at home before recording their first ODI series win in New Zealand and first Test series there in 41 years.
Refusing to disclose much about his suggestion to Pawar to appoint Dhoni captain, Tendulkar said, "I spoke to the BCCI president but I would not want to discuss everything publicly. As I said earlier, it's my principle that whatever happens inside dressing room should stay there."
Tendulkar, however, did not hide his satisfaction about Dhoni living up to his expectations.
"Talking about his captaincy, I'm extremely happy and delighted the way he has conducted himself," Tendulkar said.
"He is a balanced guy, is always on his toes all the time. Before he was made the captain, standing in the slips I interacted with him and picked lot of things which clearly indicated that he has a sharp brain, his approach was pretty clear and not complicated", Tendulkar said.
"I think he is doing a fantastic job," he said.
Incidentally, Tendulkar himself struggled whenever he was saddled with captaincy.
Asked if he would love to have another go at it, the Mumbai [Images] run-machine was almost indignant.
"Now what kind of question it is?" he asked.
"The team is doing so well (under Dhoni) and you should be proud of it," he admonished the person posing the query.
Tendulkar said he was rather happy playing mentor's role to younger players.
"To players like Harbhajan Singh [Images] or Yuvraj Singh [Images], I'm like their elder brother. I share information not just with them but also with other members of the side. It's a terrific atmosphere in the dressing room and it's not just a one-way traffic," he said.
"We learn from each other and if someone has some issues, there is the coach. Generally it's a great atmosphere and I enjoy being part of this side," he added.
http://cricket.rediff.com/report/200...full-marks.htm
Sachin bats for women
Soumyadipta Banerjee
Tuesday, September 9, 2008 23:59 IST
The soft-spoken cricketer feels very strongly for underprivileged women, finds out SOUMYADIPTA BANERJEE.
Sachin and Anjali Tendulkar were at HR College yesterday to release a directory of NGOs and women's organisations in Mumbai. Sachin and Anjali were quite a contrast when it came to their dressing. While Anjali looked every bit of a corporate woman in a neat sky-blue shirt with white stripes and off-white trousers, Sachin was wearing motif embossed tees and acid-washed denims.
"I consider myself lucky that I've never seen a woman being harassed on the road. I would have definitely reacted against it, had a situation like that happened in front of my eyes," Sachin said, while Anjali nodded her head in agreement.
"I don't want a chance to do that either. That would mean someone, somewhere is suffering. I know what the family members go through when such incidents happen. I request every citizen to ensure that such episodes never happen in our city. If you don't respect women then you are not a man. A woman is always somebody's daughter, mother or wife," the master batsman added.
Sachin, whose daughter Sarah is now 10-years old, said that media reports of young girls getting molested in public disturb him a lot. "I am a father so I know. It feels terrible. It has got nothing to with the city. Rather it has got to do with the mindset of people. That is why I chose to support this cause. I felt it's very close to my heart. I will be there with anybody working for this cause," Sachin continued.
Sachin and Anjali have been working for underprivileged children for quite some time now. Sources reveal that the couple has sponsored 200 underprivileged children through an NGO, which is associated with Anjali's mother Annaben Mehta.
"Yes I am involved with some organisations but I would like to go on with my work the way I do," Sachin stated briefly.
s_banerjee@dnaindia.net.
http://www.3dsyndication.com/ShowArt...NMUM107548&i=1
The Rediff Cricket Interview / Sanjay Narang
'There is no 'I am Sachin' about him'
April 24, 2003
Food guru Sanjay Narang is a name to conjure with among gourmet circles - but it was his association with Sachin Tendulkar that made his name familiar to the average Joe.
Tendulkar's partner in the eponymous restaurant cannot stop talking when the subject of the master batsman comes up; gentle, simple, down to earth, no airs, these are the words that pepper his conversation.
Follows Tendulkar, as Narang knows him:
"Our relationship goes back to when we met through Mark Mascarenhas, the late head of WorldTel," says Narang. "He approached us, told us about plans to open a restaurant. Naturally, we were ecstatic.
"Unfortunately, Mark passed away around that time. A couple of months after that, we met up and actually discussed this project in some detail.
"Interacting with Sachin the individual, getting to know him as a person increases your awe of his abilities and talent. But I think Sachin the person is even greater -- there is a simplicity, a down-to-earth nature, a straightforwardness about him.
"There is absolutely no 'Star Value' to him, he is just a common guy. At home, he is just a member of the family, and is not treated differently by his family members -- nor does he expect to be. He is an extremely humble and simple person without the slightest 'attitude', there is no 'I am Sachin' about him.
"Because he is so reserved and keeps to himself, a lot of people interpret that to be arrogance and a sign of being hard to get along with, but it is not like that at all.
"When it comes to business, too, he is straight, clear about what he wants -- you don't have to try to figure out what he means or what he wants, it is all an open book. There is no doubt in my mind when I am dealing with him.
"There is Sachin the cricketer and Sachin the businessman -- but beyond these, I would rate Sachin the individual higher. For those who have been fortunate enough to know him, like his childhood buddies, he as a human being is unbelievable.
It takes time to get to know Sachin, and for him to get comfortable with you. But once the ice is broken, he is the kind who will speak his mind -- there is no mincing of words, he says what he means and he says it straight out. It may not always be what you want to hear, but at least you know he is telling you the truth.
"He speaks a lot about cricket, and some of the things he says about his experiences makes your hair stand on end.
"The concept of 'Tendulkar's', the restaurant, was one way for Sachin to bridge the gap and allow him to reach out to his fans. Thus, everything in the restaurant is chosen by him -- the colour, the décor, the food, even the designs on the aprons of the stewards is of his choosing, he approved everything.
"Wherever he went, if he liked a dish he would get the recipe, we would try them out in the kitchen here before approving it and putting it on the menu. Now we plan to open another one here in Mumbai -- a different type of restaurant, one more for the masses.
"An incident I will always remember happened after the World Cup match against Pakistan. We were going some place but it got late getting back to Jo'burg from the stadium. The whole team was trying to find a place to eat. Finally, we ate on the footpath, at well past midnight, from a Chinese stall. The guy manning it didn't recognize the players; he said, you guys eat chicken and veg, nine dishes of each, that is all you get and all 18 of you eat, and get out.
"That was it, and the whole team stood there and ate that food.
"I can't over-praise Sachin, especially Sachin the individual. He is an impeccable gentleman, a self made guy with no formal exposure to the world. In his life, he has proved that you can rise from the lowest of the low, without a godfather, without pulling strings, you can climb to the heights through sheer determination and hard work."
Sanjay Narang spoke to Harini Rana
http://www.rediff.com/cricket/2003/apr/24narang.htm
LIVE CLOSE ENCOUNTER WITH 2 SACHINS
HELLO GUYS I JUST COULDNT RESIST STARTING THIS TOPIC I STILL FEEL LIKE I M IN A DREAM , YESTERDAY I HAD THIS LUCKIEST OPPURTUNITIES OF VISITING THE INAUGRATION OF SACHINS WAX STATUE AT TAJ LANDS END HOTEL BANDRA AND IT WAS JUST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE TO WATCH MY GOD OF CRICKET IN FRONT OF ME BOTH REAL AND A STATUE .AT FIRST WHEN THEY UNVEILED THE STATUE SACHIN WAS STANDING IN THE SAME POSE AS THE STATUE AND BELIEVE ME IT WAS REALLY DIFFICULT TO SPOT OUT WHICH WAS THE REAL ONE .
AT LAST WHEN HE WAS LEAVING NEAR THE GATE HE WAS STANDING ABSOLUTELY VVV CLOSE BESIDES ME I CALLED OUT TO HIM ''SIR'' AND SHOWED HIM THE T SHIRT I WAS WEARING WHICH WAS A TENDULKAR WHITE SAHARA JERSY AND WHEN I CALLED OUT ''SIR LOOK AT MY T SHIRT'' HE WAS WEARING A SIMILAR ONE AT THAT MOMENT HE TURNED AROUND AND NODDED HIS HEAD IN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT THE SECURITY DIDNT ALLOW ME TO TAKE HIS AUTOGRAPH AS THERE WAS A HUGE MEDIA RUSH .THIS WAS THE MOMENT I'LL ALWAYS CHERISH.
An Orkut Sachin Fan's account
http://www.mumbai-
central.com/nukkad/sep2004/msg00860.html
Hi folks.... found an interesting write up dated 27-sep-2004. author talks (then) the sachin the dasher has been replaced by sachin the circumspect. and that change, he argues has diminished his brilliance.
now we are happy that in the 2008-9 season we are seeing the sachin of the 90's.
http://www.dc-epaper.com/DC/DCH/2009...9.shtml?Mode=0Quote:
One decision, one captain: Sachin
NEW DELHI
Master blasterSachin Tendulkar was all praise for his Indian Premier League team, the Mumbai Indians, and felt they had a fair chance in the second edition of the tournament.
“Mumbai Indians have a very balanced team. It’s a nice blend of experienced players like Sanath Jayasuriya, Shaun Pollock and youngsters like Abhishek Nayar and Dhawal Kulkarni. We have many talented and impressive players,” said Tendulkar on the sidelines of an event here on Tuesday.
On John Buchanan’s theory of having multiple captains in a team, Tendulkar said, “Multiple suggestions from players will always be welcome but there should be one captain to take the final decision. Whatever other teams are doing is not my business but in Mumbai Indians there will be only one captain.” The Mumbaiker though was disappointed with the IPL’s shift to South Africa.
“The Indian cricket control board must have tried their best not to shift the venue.
But I am sure it hardly affects the popularity and people’s interest in the tournament.
“I’m going to miss home support. We don’t have home and away matches but I am happy that it is at least happening,” he said.
Sachin was all praise for Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s captaincy. “He is on his toes all the time. Before he was made the captain, I interacted with him and knew that he had a sharp brain. His approach is clear and not complicated.” Asked about not playing Twenty20 at the international level, he said: “I remember before the Twenty20 World Cup I played a reasonable amount of cricket during our England tour.
After that I was not fit to give 100 per cent to the team.
“Cricket is a team sport, and one weak link could prove fatal. So, I would like to give others a chance. And now I don’t want to disturb the combination. So, this year also I’ll give it a miss.” The 35-year old also felt that the IPL was a great platform for the domestic players. “Domestic players get a chance to rub shoulders with the top players of the world.
There are many who are going to play for the first time outside India, and it will be a good exposure for them.” Tendulkar added that he was rather happy playing the mentor’s role. “To players like Harbhajan Singh or Yuvraj Singh, I’m like their elder brother. I share my experience not just with them but also with other members of the side. It’s a terrific atmosphere in the dressing room and it’s not just one-way traffic,” he said.
“We learn from each other and if someone has issues, the coach is always there.
Generally it’s a great atmosphere and I enjoy being part of this side.” Sachin gave credit to three gurus — his father Ramesh, elder brother Ajit and coach Ramakant Achrekar — for his success and whatever he was today.
“My father was my first guru. He always taught me to be a good human being and never change as a person. The second guru is my elder brother because of him I started playing cricket and third is my coach Achrekar.
“When I was young he used to take me on his motorbike daily for training.
My life would have totally different had these three people not been there.” On the tough times in his life, he said, “Travelling in crowded local trains in Mumbai was really difficult.
I experienced it and that made me realise what comfort means in life.”
Whatever other teams are doing is not my business but in Mumbai Indians there will be only one captain.
:smokesmirk:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/4407117.cms
Father, Brother, Coach three pillars of my life: Sachin
15 Apr 2009, 2327 hrs IST, Amit Sharma, ET Bureau
It seems that all these years have had no impact on Sachin Tendulkar, cricket’s most definitive run machine. At 36, Tendulkar is still the affable boy who charms one and all with a smile. On a recent visit to the capital, the ace batsman got candid, speaking his heart out on a range of issues- from the IPL and women’s cricket to the important people in his life and his motivations to excel.
Q. How will the shifting of the IPL to South Africa impact the tournament? It will be a completely alien experience for younger cricketers...
Sachin: The IPL has helped Indian cricket a lot. It has exposed our budding cricketers to international talent. They are rubbing shoulders with the very best in the world. As for Mumbai Indians, Shaun Pollock and Johnty Rhodes have been training the players for over a month in South Africa, which should help the team.
The IPL’s popularity will remain the same, irrespective of the venue. I play cricket and do not organize it. So I am focused on doing my job.
Q. Who are the most important people in your life, people to whom you credit your success?
Sachin: I have had three gurus in life- My father, My elder brother and my coach Ramakant Achrekar. My father gave my life the right direction. His best advice to me was- everything is temporary but your nature. Your nature will stay with you forever and if you are a good person, people will remember you. A man is successful only if people like him and want to be with him.
My elder brother Ajit guided and introduced me to cricket. Even today, I go to him when I am faced with problems.My coach Ramakant Achrekar has helped me achieve what I have. As a school-going boy, I used to think of bunking practice sessions but he himself took me on his scooter to practice cricket. In hindsight, I feel that had I missed all those practice sessions, I would not have succeeded. In sum, I have benefited immensely from these three people who have been my key influencers in life.
Q. What is your reflection on MS Dhoni’s captaincy? Is it true that you recommended his name for captaincy?
Sachin: Dhoni has been a very good captain. We should be happy with what is happening with our team. I used to interact with him before he was captain, standing in the slips. And I found him very level-headed. Indian team is in good hands under Dhoni and we aim to be the number one team in the world but are going step by step in the pursuit.
It’s a well-balanced team that we have. I see myself as the elder brother in the team, sharing my experience with younger players. Harbhajan, Yuvraj, the others and I are always sharing each others’ experiences and learning from each other. And then of course there is the coach Gary Kirsten who helps us all. Its terrific being a part of this side.
Q. What are your views on the progress of women’s cricket?
Sachin: The women’s cricket team is good. They have proved themselves and are progressing well. Last year, Jhoolan Goswami’s recognition as the ICC woman player of the year was a high point. I hope that the BCCI continues to support women’s cricket the way it has.
Q. Do you see another champion cricketer coming up in son Arjun?
Sachin: I think it’s a bit premature as he is only ten years old. He has a life of his own and he will make his choices. I will let him choose things for himself and nothing will be forced on him.
Q. What is your ambition now, having achieved so much? How has your reaction to media commentary changed over the years?
Sachin: There is a I am happy with my life and do not miss anything. God has been very kind to me. I want to enjoy cricket as long as possible. Life is about completing a circle and it teaches a lot. Cricket has also taught me a lot. To me, happiness in life is that when I score a ton, I should have my people around me to celebrate it with.
That is why all my fans play a big role in my life and in making me happy. To play cricket, what matters to me is that my fitness is top-notch. I have to focus on how to score, more than anything else. I do not react much to media criticism. Every person has their own opinion and those who matter will reach to me. Playing for India is still the biggest thing for me.
And there is (and there will be) only one SachinQuote:
Originally Posted by Vivasaayi
:smokesmirk:
Mindblowing stats of Sachin
Lets see how many times Sachin was close to the landmarks, 50's and 100's
Test Matches :
-----------------------
Total Innings : 260
100's : 42
80-100 : 16
50's : 53
40-50 : 17
Had he converted, Sachin would be having 58 tons and 70 half-centuries.
ODIs
-----------------
Total Innings : 415
100's : 43
80-100 : 34
50's : 91
40-50 : 27
Had he converted, Sachin would be having 77 tons and 118 half-centuries.
That would have been some records.
But still,
128 times Sachin has scored more than 40 runs in 260 test innings.
195 times Sachin has scored more than 40 runs in 415 ODI innings.
Now that is called consistency.....
Do we need to look at Don's stats for batting records ?
Wat you say guys.... ??
http://www.orkut.com/Main#CommMsgs.a...88066747671041
Flashback to 07:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VRet...eature=related
Watch with high volume from 1:03. listen to the standing ovation and the respect he commands. Commentary box, non striker bhajji and the crowd. Nobody can command more respect than sachin. Commentator's (Alan wilkins and sunny G) do a fine job.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83Kgv...eature=related
Idhu resppettt
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=815yomYKRNg
Hands down the best ad with sachin. stands tall and above with other silly ads.
Learn from Tendulkar, Gill says Dhoni, Harbhajan
New Delhi (PTI): Sports Minister MS Gill on Friday advised Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Harbhajan Singh to learn from their team-mate Sachin Tendulkar how to treat national awards with respect and said the batting maestro is a 'true gentleman'.
"Last year I was so delighted to see Tendulkar attending the function to receive his award. What a gentleman he is," Gill said.
"Why they don't copy Tendulkar or Dravid or Kumble who are my heroes. They are gentlemen in cricket with great and greater achievements," he told NDTV.
Dhoni and Harbhajan came under severe criticism from Gill on Thursday for skipping the Padma Shri award function with the Sports Minister saying he would soon issue a circular to ensure that sportspersons treated national awards with utmost respect.
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus...0904172031.htm
What is this about>??
AF,
See here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
Brilliant shots.....Tendulkar..... :notworthy: :notworthy:
NEWSMAKER
‘It was surreal’
RESHMA S. KULKARNI
With his likeness now finding place in Madame Tussauds, London, master blaster Sachin Tendulkar talks about what this honour means to him.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
‘It feels great because Madame Tussauds is known to include only those who’ve achieved something great in their lives…’
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PHOTOS: S. SUBRAMANIUM AND SHASHI ASHIWAL
Ace cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has added several feathers to his cap in the course of his illustrious career; but, his being ‘immortalised in wax’ at the Madame Tussauds museum in London, definitely is the biggest plume yet! The master-blaster’s wax figurine has found a place of pride in the museum’s portals after a huge demand from millions of guests to have him there!
Sachin’s figurine was unveiled in a glitzy ceremony at a suburban Mumbai hotel earlier this week. Incidentally, this is the first time that a figurine was taken outside the museum to be unveiled.
Process of creation
Asked about this, Liz Edwards, PRO of Madame Tussauds, said, “Each year we have a poll where we ask our guests who would they like to see this year in the museum? Sachin Tendulkar’s name kept popping up for quite some time now and finally, this year things fell into place.” Liz further said, “Time was a major factor in the process of creating this figurine. Sachin is an extremely busy man and when he expressed his inability to come to London to unveil the figurine, we decided to make an exception and bring it to meet him in Mumbai instead!”
The demand for Sachin’s figurine grew after the batsman crossed the 12,000 run-mark in Test cricket. When quizzed on an earlier occasion as to his inspiration in achieving this magnificent milestone, Sachin had revealed, “As a kid when I started playing cricket, our coach and my brother at home would constantly tell us to follow Sunil Gavaskar’s passion for the game and his achievements. I grew up being told that if I had to make my country proud and happy, I had to achieve something at that level in cricket. I guess that teaching lingered on subconsciously to drive me towards achieving this milestone.”
On the occasion of unveiling the figurine, Sachin was at his eloquent best as he happily chatted, mostly in his mother-tongue Marathi, about the experience. “It came as very pleasant news when Madame Tussauds contacted me four months back about wanting to make a wax-statue of mine. I was very excited about the endeavour but also worried because I did not have much time to spare for measurements ... However, the team was extremely professional and knew their job perfectly. We had a two-hour session where we discussed the pose they’d like me to be in; what would I like to wear ... The statue dons my helmet, gloves, tee-shirt and, most of all, my precious bat! Then came the measurements — it was a novel experience to have every inch of my body, down to a little tooth measured! But I thoroughly enjoyed each moment,” beamed Sachin who, incidentally, is the first Indian sportsperson to have found a place at Madame Tussauds. “It feels great because Madame Tussauds is known to include only those who’ve achieved something great in their lives and thus, it translates that my humble achievements count as worthy enough for the honour. However, more than for personal reasons, I’m happy that through me, the sports arena of my homeland has received this honour.”
When asked if he had ever dreamt of having his statue at Madame Tussauds, Sachin quipped “First, I’ve never been to Madame Tussauds; and second, while I cherish every honour bestowed on me, including this one, I’ve never played cricket with an eye on awards and rewards.” Sachin further expressed a desire to now visit the museum soon after the IPL and meet the sculptors who “seem to have magic in their fingers! Looking at one’s reflection in the mirror is one thing but it was surreal to see my life-size statue! ”
Chasing his dreams
Asked if he had any other dreams remaining, Sachin remarked “One should never stop dreaming; for the day you stop dreaming, you stop living. I cannot claim to have done it all. There’s much more I want to do. In fact I’m all for chasing my dreams till eternity. I don’t just see dreams but also wake up and get going to achieve them. That is more important! At this stage, I’m only dreaming of winning the World Cup for India!”
On the occasion, Sachin did not forget to mention his parents and family who he said “have stood behind me through thick and thin. I can never be grateful enough to my mother and late father as also my siblings, who guided and supported me at every step; my wife Anjali who stood rock-solid behind me when the chips were really down. It is thanks to these people, my well-wishers and gurus that I’m at this stage today,” said a clearly overwhelmed Sachin.
Asked whether he considers the statue his best birthday gift ever (Sachin’s birthday falls on April 24), he remarked “This is indeed a great gift but my parents, siblings’ and wife’s love and my children’s affection remains the most-cherished gift of all time!”
http://www.hindu.com/mag/2009/04/19/...1950190400.htm
Sachin Tendulkar 59 n o v Chennai 1st Match DLF IPL 09
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V3FSKGd2XU0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9Es8NmBcLs
sachin tendulkar in power cricket vs new zealand
ithula Das batting thaan irukku :evil:Quote:
Originally Posted by ajithfederer
http://ipl.timesofindia.indiatimes.c...ow/4422377.cms
India's T20 team doesn't need me, says Tendulkar
20 Apr 2009, 0140 hrs IST, Dwaipayan Datta, TNN
CAPE TOWN: A lazy Sunday morning, the first hurdle crossed, and Sachin Tendulkar was in the mood. He had come down to for a commercial event in the
team hotel and with a handful of mediapersons around, Tendulkar seemed to be opening his heart out.
Going back to his childhood days when he used to pick his own fantasy team with Sunil Gavaskar and Viv Richards as certainties, to why he is not playing international T20 cricket, Tendulkar was ready to play every ball.
After so many years of international cricket, is there a special feeling after showing the world, along with Rahul Dravid, that T20 cricket can also be played in a different vein? Sachin agreed, but only to a certain extent.
"This was probably my most satisfying T20 innings. But neither me, nor Rahul, have anything more to prove to the world.
We play just for the love of it," Tendulkar said with a smile hanging on his lips.
"All my life, I have played according to the situation. Yesterday, on a difficult wicket, the team wanted me to buckle down and bat through and I did just that," Tendulkar said, talking about his unbeaten 59 that won Mumbai Indians the opener against Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Team Chennai.
Probably, his son Arjun was more excited about the innings than the man himself. "Arjun was saying quite a few things...he was actually excited," Sachin joked.
Had he been 25, Tendulkar would surely have liked to play international T20 cricket, but not now, not anymore.
"I backed out of 2007 T20 World Cup because my body was not 100 per cent. I just didn’t want to be a burden on the team," he said.
But now that he is in such great form, why is he so adamant about not playing the T20 World Cup? "No point. This Indian team has gelled quite beautifully as a unit and there’s no need why I should be playing T20 cricket," Tendulkar added.
Not that Tendulkar dislikes the T20 format, but there’s something about it which can’t make him take it too seriously. Not that he would say it in as many words, but Tendulkar made it clear that technique doesn’t really matter too much in T20 cricket.
"If you play some of the T20 shots in Test cricket, you’ll be sitting there in the dressing-room for the next two days. But here you get runs for the same shot."
For vicky and like minded saga's who think sachin should play Int'l T-20.
http://www.dreamcricket.com/dreamcri...d=11440&ntid=4
I don't need to prove to anyone - Sachin Tendulkar
by DreamCricket USA
Apr 20, 2009
By DreamCricket Correspondent
They are all set to the rock the world, and Mumbai Indians kicked off their Indian Premier League campaign in grand style with a comprehensive win over the tournament runners up last season. Come Tuesday and Tendulkar's blue brigade will take on Warne's wounded Royals.
The Royals will be looking to script a comeback while Mumbai Indians are confident of keeping up the winning momentum at Durban. Ahead of the clash with the defending champions Mumbai Indians skipper speaks to DreamCricket.com.
Brilliant match winning knock in Tnwety20, with age you just getting better?
It's about loving the game and cricket is in my heart. If we care about something, all these things happen naturally. Something that is important to me is pride. I take pride in playing cricket. I want to go out there and win. I don't like losing that's how I have played my cricket. If that hunger and competitiveness is not there than there is no point playing the sports. It's a team sport, if there is one weak link it hampers the team. I just want to keep doing well and better.
It was a controlled innings, do you reckon in this format you have a point to prove? I don't think senior players are here to prove anything to anyone. People always find something that I (still) need to do. I do not play cricket to prove to someone. We all have started playing cricket because we love this sport and enjoy and while doing that you achieve some things, sometimes your performance is good and bad. It's all about contribution and satisfaction. It need not be big runs or number of wickets, small contributions that have an impact on the game is also important.
So, do you regret opting out of India's national T20 side?
When I opted out of T20 WC, my body wasn't feeling great. We had long tour of England and I felt that if I was not 100 percent, it's not fair to the other guys and I never want to be the weak link. It's a team sport and all should perform. The team has done well, the combination is set. I don't want to disturb that right now. If I was 25 years old than things could have been different.
Happiest Birthday Wishes to the One and Only Indian who can bring smiles on Billion faces of Fellow Indians irrespective of their caste, creed, religion, language,state and what not !
Age cannot wither; Nor custom stale him.
Modesty thy name is Sachin.
வாராது வந்த மாமணியே
வாழிய நீ பல்லாண்டு
:victory: :2thumbsup: 8-) Birthday Wishes to the Greatest Batsman of the World, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar 8-) :2thumbsup: :victory: