தெய்வமே உங்களால மட்டும் எப்படி முடியுது ? :lol2:
Printable View
தேங்க்ஸ் app _eng.
I double the pleasure listening to என்ன சமையலோ....too.
இலையை போடடி பெண்ணே இலையை போடடி....சமைத்த உணவை ருசித்துப் பார்க்க.....ராஜா ends with மத்யமாவதி ..கற்பகமே கண் பாராய்...கடைக்கண் பாராய்....திருமயிலை...
Unnal mudiyum thambi is a kamal masterpiece.
I love kamal when he stays with me in my heart after I finish watching the movie.
Salangai oli, Punnagai mannan, Unnal mudiyum thambi, sathi leelavathi etc...are like that for me.
yw, baroque!
nanRi Plum, for the rudra veeNA / UMT comparison insights :-)
A job well done, with PM !!! Unggal payanam with this thread is still a long way ahead, ;-))
Enna Samayalo, what a fun,cute song , SPB & IR at their best trade, making music that gives people the delight & pure joy... love them forever...
App, I have a doubt about this song for a long time, especially the year and it's association with Manipoor Maamiyaar. If you hear this song @3:52 SPB sings 'manorama, seetha'. I remember I have mentioned somewhere about this earlier. If this song was originally composed in 1979 or even 1982, there is a reference to 'Seetha' whose debut was Aan Paavam which was released only in 1985. Or that 'manorama seetha' line was just coincidence, I could not believe it. Even if it is coincidence, since this original song has "Manorama seetha", and KB wanted to reuse this song, so KB requested these two to act in UMT? Again could not believe it.
Other than that, the voice of SPB does not sound like 1979/82, he sounds like late 80s and the orchestration also resemble late 80s.
Can you please clarify?
கல்யாணி, வனிதா, சீதா, மனோரமா etc .. are names of those hostel girls .
that's all.
some hostelers are sick of their mess food , the guy is calling
hey கல்யாணி , are you a cook? she is asking for tumeric powder , dhal etc ..
மனோரமா, சீதா...சாதம் ஆக late aa ?
அடியே வனிதா is rice ready ?
that's what lyrics says..
உன்னால் முடியும் தம்பி situation
மன்னியை tease பண்ணுங்க younger மச்சினரும், குட்டி sister -in -law வும்
அப்பா இல்லாத நேரத்துலே அட்டகாசம் பண்ணி enjoy ...
மனோரமா happens to be மன்னி.
I'm 100% sure about Anantha thEn kARRu date - late 70's, my school age. Same goes with
'rasiganE, en arukil vA' that I clearly remember. Also, SPS was an IR fav at that time.
So, one would think 'samayal pAdam' too was a late 70's product. Since the movie never got released (as per my memory), this song possibly got limited exposure - say to a few broadcasts on IOKS, though I can't say for 100% sure.
BTW, look at this blog that has the inreco disk pic & claims 1979
Thanks baroque and App for confirmation.:)
Can't wait for you to reach Ponni Nathi in Mudhal Vasantham, which I suspect was composed and recorded way earlier. But I'll wait...
#84 மாலைசூடக்கண்ணே ராதா நாள் வராதா
(கண்ணே ராதா, 1982 , ஷைலஜாவுடன் )
As promised, a real 'light-weight' number for a Rama Narayanan movie (rare combo of this director working with IR, his regular association was with Shankar-Ganesh or lower). The then hot pair of Karthik-Radha (they did a few movies together following the jubilee debut), some otherwise cheap budget with some ok story made sure the investors got decent returns. IR was obviously heavy-weight for such a movie but then he was also known to be so prolific / high speed that the producers only stood to gain money by employing him despite his relatively bigger paycheck. (Even the "bigger" is quite suspect as he worked often without charge, friendship basis, gratitude basis, pAvam basis, pazhaya ALu basis etc).
In any case, quite a peppy number where IR tried some of his tricks-and-toys-of-the-day. SPB gives jolly thuLLal mode and his sis does what comes effortlessly to her.
Quite a regular on radio, this song also enjoyed some bus / cassette recording shop etc popularity.
:redjump::bluejump::redjump::bluejump:
vinatha
The sound, mate, the sound. SPB's voice here and in another song, Summa Todavummatten. Very different. And Summa was stereo and Ponni Nathi is mono. And the music, very late 70s/early80s. Remba naalaa enna disturb pannikitirunthuchu, forgot about it until the discussion last few pages came up.
App, lovely picks all through the week. Thanks a ton for Maalai soodum; I haven't heard this before. Very good electric guitar work in this one... distortion, leads, chords.. rocking stuff! \m/ \m/
Naanum mudhal vati Maalai Soodum kekkaren..and i thoroughly enjoyed it ..Electric Guitar Sama Dhool :)..The bit from 0.25 to 0.31 briefly reminded me about Ilamai Idho Idho ..
nanRi KV, skr, V_S:-)
teen din behind (songs due for Fri / Sat / Sun)...will try to catch up :-)
#85 நேத்து ராத்திரி யம்மா
(சகல கலா வல்லவன் , 1982 , ஜானகியுடன்)
Repulsive in a number of ways, but a big hit anyways. Suits the Friday theme (though Friday is past). Shankar / Rajini chose this song a few years back, to depict (in their viewpoint) what KH-IR are primarily identified with, when it comes to romance - which is a shame :-(
SPB-SJ sings so well, terrific guitar & northie-sounding. What was the use? It's no match even in 'maRRa' department to the other nilA number from the same movie.
ok, there may be other hubbers who can say some +ve things about this song - one of the biggest commercial hits ever in TN!
#86 இளமை இதோ இதோ
(சகல கலா வல்லவன் , 1982)
One of the most popular numbers ever in the SPB-IR combo! The lyrics are typical Valee-ism and the beneficiery in this case is KH ('nAn thAn sakala kalA vallavan', which is quite fitting)! IR's extremely succesful mix of class & mass :wink: In other words, presenting some novel, innovative orchestration in a thoroughly commercial format and succeed! The trumpets, bass, synth and the drums - AhA, I love the drum-hitting-in-the-end-of-the-saraNam! One of IR's best drum sounds:-)
SPB thoroughly enjoyed this song (made for each other)! Equally enjoyable is the karOke version which got played on buses often.
Watched the movie at the time of release in Trichy Cauvery theater (a/c located in the congested Palakkarai area) and it was one of the very few occasions when I got scared by the rowdyism in crowd :-( Anyways, the movie created bad taste in many ways and that was just one. Ofcourse, the best part of the movie was katta vaNdi (2 times) and nilA kAyudhu, both MV songs. (IR-KH possibly differentiated the kAttAn KH & modern KH with MV-SPB which went in favor of MV)...
Memorable songs App! (no words can describe the songs of SKV). Nethu Rathiri - Again my top pick of SKV even compared to Ilamai Idho Idho and nila kaayuthu, as I 'more' frequently listen to this song compared to Ilamai Idho Idho. Perfect erotic number. Through the arabian arrangements and setting Maestro takes to another level of erotica. While we are seduced by the husky 'Yamma' of SJ, SPB comes with his style of 'Yamma' (from @2:25) with his voice goes baritone and intentional cracking. Wow! No singer in the world can ever do that. :notworthy: All awards should have been poured for this song for SPB. And what a way to complement by SJ.
Hear the line before this and we cannot even imagine this line would come, again a great stealer by Maestro!
அஞ்சு விரல் பட்டவுடன் அஞ்சகத்த தொட்டவுடன் ஆனந்தம் வாரேவா (again that cracky ending!)
அம்மாடி ஆத்தாடி உன்னாலதான் (again the feel SPB given in this line, can anyone in this world can do? Impossible!)
Our friends were very crazy about this song and that 'Yamma' by SPB.
Perfect song for a moonlight sea travel on a open boat dancing to this number!
Still remember watching this movie on the front row and since many of my friends already watched it, they were creating all the suspense of how the post-interval would be! Unimaginable! Still today I get goosebumps whenever I rewind my memories on the day I watched this film first time. We were all out during interval to enjoy some fresh air (as that theatre was not having a/c at that time, now it has) and everyone was asking about my feedback. I was already on cloud 9. As far as I remember this was the first Kamal film which was talked so much on par and even greater to Rajini's mass films. And this is the film from where I became a big fan of Kamal. Again still today could not believe the post-interval opening, a cracker! What a punch! Again a top film for me and can watch any numer of times. Kamal :notworthy:
#87 பூக்கள் சிந்துங்கள் கொஞ்சும் தேவ சந்தங்கள்
(நிழல் தேடும் நெஞ்சங்கள், 1982 , ஜானகியுடன்)
An example as to how IR's creativity was simply overflowing in this year! A drum delight with a very catchy tune and format! Right from the start where the chorus sings 'dhoo thoo!' it's full of pullarips! All for a relatively unknown team and a movie that didn't make any impact whatsoever but this song is still dearly loved!
I intro'd the song to the village teastaller and he got it in the cassette and it became such a sought after number by all the boys! Had some radio-time but mostly became popular by the 'recording-center' thingy! The drum sounds where so enjoyable that those shops loved to play this in high decibels to create a sensation those days.
It's more of a Janaki song with SPB appearing only during the second interlude (with puli urumal voice that supposedly played havoc to his throat in a later-time-song; but he was ok doing stunts like this during earlier days).
A must listen for all IR lovers!
(BTW, there's another stylish Janaki / Deepan Chakravarthy song in this movie, 'idhu kanavukaL' )
This NTN song definitely predates (at least by months if not years) the 'nAn thAn tAppu meethi ellAm dooppu', so the later song was the sandham recycle while 'pookkaL sindhungaL' was the original. (ARR had a song of a similar sandham - mAyA machcheendrA)
[QUOTE=app_engine;711655]#85 நேத்து ராத்திரி யம்மா
(சகல கலா வல்லவன் , 1982 , ஜானகியுடன்)
Hi
I remember as kids, or even in high school days, we were not allowed to watch Nethu rathri & Nila kayuthu songs ! Strictly a NO NO from both of my parents. hehehe,,, And didnt hear much to understand the songs & their technicalities of these songs, hence even today i would probably skip this 2 songs from watching, I dont know why... Nethu rathiri yamma, was KH with Silukku , if Im not mistaken ?
Recent times, I remember seeing the spoof of nethu rathiri in Sivaji (2007), an unwarranted first nite scene!! and he will pull Sivaji ganessan .MGR to KH,,, and for what course ?? totally absurd ! makes me think, Man, you want to insert a song here, just do it !!! Pavum anthe aatmakkal (NT & MGR & Silukku) Spare them....
2nd, another spoof in a movie called Tamizhpadam, where there will be a character like Vjkanth in Vaidehi Kathirunthaal, and each nite at 12am he will start to sing this song nethu rathiri so that the villagers will go to (sleep) ehem hem... duh!
Everlasting New Year song and Ever lasting erotic song from SKV. Thanks App for the picks.
Whenever I hear Ilamai Idho Idho, I remember the Ooty Trip I went with my Mom (who is a doctor and was a visiting lecturer in Coimbatore Medical College) and the medical college students. I was probably around 8 or 9yrs old at that time. Ilamai Idho Idho was played countless times on that trip. That song was a complete rage among the students. That's how this song got etched in my mind and I get the same excitement every time I listen to it.
~Ilamai Itho Itho~
Ahh,,Now this song is a whole diffrent story all together, I love this song very much, from the
beginning to the ending stroke !! What an energizing & vibrant song, the orchestration, drums,trumpets and the equally invigoratingly fast beat singing! Hes the man!! the way he goes hey,hey,,,,& kalej teenage pengal ellorkkum en meethu kangal! Blasting away with awesomely ! An eternal new year song!
I like the part whr he will stick a flower on the actress's ear, Yaar kaathilum poo sutruven! naan than sagalakala vallavan,,, :D
Small, but related digression: I heard back then that Kamal injured (I know, the usual) himself during shooting this song (Ilamai Itho Itho). Anyone?
App anna
Lovely pick of "Ilamai itho itho" absolutely energetic stuff from SPB,I can not think of any singer whom are known for their versatility (TMS, Kishore kumar) can do justice to this song, SPB 's stamina is unmatched ( I often used to wonder how a man of SPB size has an awesome stamina of an athlete :shock: :notworthy: ) . Now, coming back to this song from "Hi every body wish you a happy new year” till the end, it is just amazing!
Listen to the lines of "Shabab beebpara beeba shariba heeey " he will drag this hey bit for almost a minute and end on high octave (8)! Simply stunning :notworthy:
#88 சந்தனக்காற்றே செந்தமிழ் ஊற்றே
(தனிகாட்டு ராஜா, 1982 , ஜானகியுடன்)
Absolute stunner! The ending of the saraNam alone is sufficient to prove the greatness of this IR-SPB-SJ combo! Unbeatable ever! I can go on using superlatives for this song but none can describe the fantastic feeling one gets when driving alone listening to this song - very, very dear to me!
Ofcourse for a kuppai movie - Rajinikanth losing out to Jaishankar on Sridevi and ends up romancing Sripriya in another SPS stunner - a lead guitar delight - rAsAvE onna nAn eNNiththAn. Some years back, I rented this DVD from an Indian store in Ypsilanti and got enough thittu. The movie never got watched in full, even though it was weeks after I returned the DVD to store. Such an intolerable one despite Rajini & Sridevi. Definite vizhalukku iRaiththa neer by rAsA.
Both these songs survived big time, however, and are dear to me ever since they arrived. (I'll feature the other SPB songs from this movie as well in this thread as they all had some airtime, loudspeaker time etc those days, even though didn't gain much favor from me).
The prelude alone is sufficient to keep my pulse racing! The only thing tolerable on screen is possibly this song where the great star pair walk / dance around in a park. Rajini was quite smart and it was a Telunguish Sridevi here IIRC. Will try to post the youtube...
The ettu-nattam sentiment removed the 'க்' from the title :lol:
Here's the youtube of santhanakkARRE :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yoni5c5urjQ
App, Santhana Katre is a fabulous song. Btw my favourite is Nanthanda ippo devadoss SPB rocked :thumbsup:.
Santhan Katre is one Fabulous song, Rajni and Sri devi :thumbsup:
stunning strings:musicsmile: in sandhana....
playful mirudhangam prelude and tantalizing violin and flute lude in mullai arumbe....Vasu and Janu.
maane thaene kattipudi... too seriyaana danceable mirudhangam.:bluejump:
Janu is THE MATCH for Bala with sexy allure!
Janumma is AMAZING! :bluejump:
Rajini is oozing with awesomeness.
thanks app_eng.
vinatha.
Sridevi looking beautiful is not surprising but Rajini did look ravishing in this particular song. IMO his great looks in songs is a toss up between this one and kaadhalin dheepam onru. Very smart indeed.
Beautiful song. And what expressive singing. Louu apdiyE vadiyum :-)
+1, very impressed with Rajini after revisiting the song on youtube!
I like the songs where Rajini does no dancing but expresses stylishly - comparable to Sivaji of younger days :-)
At the end, the youtube prompted me to go to 'rAsAvE onna nAn' :oops: kyA kartA hai, hey Rajini sir? :oops:
it was a ramesh naidu movie, a remake of telugu movie..
I recall watching this movie as a kid and the one that stuck me was the cinematography and color scheme of things. Later brain developed and associated such
color patterns with manavaadu movies. But yes.. Rasaave onnai naan is a stunner that got to me even those early days..
Years later when I was going through a pile of kannada classics by raaja, heard the song "Aakashadhindha jaari" from "Mathu thappidha magaa"? (or is it some other movie?)
where the charanam interlude arrangements are the same as "Raasave onnai naan" and made me say "whoa"...
Coming back to Sandhana kaatre, the instrumental clincher is the electric guitar - what a funky out of the box usage of this instrument - purely whacky, yet totally appealing.
As far as SPB- SJ chemistry goes..
a line by SPB and a gentle nod "nana nana" then branch off to an aarohanam in a different scale followed by that haunting glide of "thara nana nana nana" ending up in the pallavi on a lower scale - these are two awesome eagles with years of flying together giving us a demonstration in flight..
Their majesty and proficiency make every flight an arresting sight. Ilaiyaraaja presents these wonderful birds with a beautiful blue sky and scintilliating drafts of swara transitions in the song which these birds use like staircases to climb up and down, roll and turn much to the delight of dumbfounded spectators like us.
#89 நான் தான்டா இப்போ தேவதாஸ்
(தனிகாட்டு ராஜா, 1982 )
Awesome singing by SPB (he packs some extra energy for any drunk song IMO). The song sounds somewhat similar to mAmEn oru nAL malligappoo koduththAn. IR did another one with similar styled tune later on for K Bhagyaraj (kaNNaththoRakkanum sAmi, the famous murungaikkAi song).
Catchy beat pattern, SPB & shenoy - IR possibly did this song in lightning speed at the peak of his creativity. As this thread's collection process shows, 1982 was perhaps a significant milestone year for him when he was scoring sixers all around the field. (If we also include the albums where SPB didn't feature, like Anandha rAgam, eera vizhikkAviyangaL, thooRal ninnu pOchchu, thAi moogAmbikai, kOzhi koovuthu whose disk was out and that narasoos song etc - what a year!)
Perhaps that was one reason why I didn't so favourably respond to this number at the time of arrival. If one listens to this simply as a song, it's quite impressive!