I've seen just two - PFC site (lukewarm) and the one quoted above. Are there some more?Quote:
Originally Posted by rajasaranam
Printable View
I've seen just two - PFC site (lukewarm) and the one quoted above. Are there some more?Quote:
Originally Posted by rajasaranam
I'm trying to find other reviews from Bollywood-based sites but havent found any :(
Intha rende too many thaanpa ippothaikku :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by crajkumar_be
did u notice this: Rediff which went gaga over "Nishabd" is completely 'nishabd' about Cheeni kum ! wonder why ? usually for a Karan Johar or a Barjatya crap, rediff will devote columns for the music alone! perhaps Balki should throw a grand cocktail party for rediff guys, esp the Bachan b*tt-licker Raja Sen!
We should wait to see if the movie goes well and carries the music to the hindi audience.
Anyways after hearing the songs, watching the clips and watching the brief interview of Balki to CNN IBN, I feel like this :
Even though IR had already done worthy job in MX and Shiva for Kamal and RGV , these two guys were engrossed in their own way of movie making and reputation , that inspite of their love for IR, they failed to carry the music to the audience. Not to blame them.
But now luckily for IR, Balki seems to have taken specific interest in show casing this man's talent to the hindi audience. He just took a simple concept, managed to rope in big names and has done a probably winning movie.
IR now badly needs just these kind of people - even average movie makers , simple, who promise less but will make a movie which will carry the music to the people.
Earlier in tamil , IR had people like RVU and P.Vasu who were just like this. Without great concepts, but more success probability. Like now Sathyan Andhikkad in Malayalam.
I wish Balki to try something in tamil..Just 2 movies and IR will be interested in tamil again :)
>>I wish Balki to try something in tamil<<
And should he do re-work of IR's malayALam hits?:-)
http://www.lyricsmasti.com/2344/Song...heeni-Kum.html
How people find time to do all these, I wonder!...
" And should he do re-work of IR's malayALam hits?"
I would just don't mind ! Rather I will be happy if he does the rework of his old magics :)
Quote:
http://www.lyricsmasti.com/2344/Song...heeni-Kum.html
How people find time to do all these, I wonder!...
Did you see the rating for the songs ? It is 5/5 for Baaten Hawa and Jane do naa, and 4.7/5 for the other two !!
I checked "Kabhi Alvida.." and its rating is just 4.3/5 for most of its songs.
Does it indicate the success of Cheeni Kum among hindi audience ? :)
Athathan Karthikraja pannurare for cellphone worldQuote:
Originally Posted by raja_fan
Yes I welcome he re-arrange songs from his malayalam and other languages songs in tamil (for worhty tamil films not crap films)
Here's another review: From Indian Music - An Auditory Excursion Discussions
Posted by Carla
(*) EDITED TO ADD: I mistakenly stated that *Cheeni kum* was Ilaiyaraja's first Hindi film soundtrack. I got my information from the film's official website - but after I was told that it was incorrect, I looked again, and what the website actually said was *Cheeni kum* was Ilaiyaraaja's "first major original Hindi" film soundtrack - whatever that means! He has composed for several Hindi films that were remakes of Tamil films, including *Hey Ram* and a few others.
Aakash previewed the upcoming *Cheeni kum* - a salty romance with Amitabh Bachchan and Tabu - here: http://www.jaman.com/a/group/052qzAm.../0Ie6fuScNL1k/
I have listened to the soundtrack which was released a couple of days ago. This soundtrack is the first for a Hindi film by South Indian composer Ilaiyaraja. I am sadly completely ignorant of South Indian cinema but I understand that Ilaiyaraja has composed the music for more than 850 films, and is widely revered as one of India's greatest film composers. Listening to *Cheeni kum*'s soundtrack, I can see why - and I hope that Ilaiyaraja's first Hindi film is not his last. The songs are fresh and playful, melodic and cohesive, with a sound that is both cinematic and intimate. An excellent soundtrack! I just love it - it's mellow, haunting, and lovely.
The title song is completely infectious; Shreya Ghoshal's vocals are as smooth as silk and blend smoothly into a synthesizer line that is sneaky and slightly sinister. The instrumental breaks are part jazz-pop fusion, part cinematic bombast. It's just perfect. It's hard to listen to the rest of the soundtrack because I want to back up this track and listen to it over and over again. "Sooni sooni" is a less manic take on the title song's melody, with male vocals this time by Vijay Prakash.
"Baatein hawa" has a whole lot going on besides Shreya Ghoshal's mellow vocals - a most eclectic instrumentation ranging from piano and synthesizer to saxophones and strings, and even power-chord crunching electric guitars weave in and out over a bouncing bassline that keeps the composition moving forward despite the rapid jump-shifts in rhythm and instrument. It's delightful and fun.
"Jaane do na" continues the seemingly effortless blend of cinematic themes and instrumentation with gently funky rhythms, again seasoned by Shreya Ghoshal's smooth, melodic vocals. It is evocative of the title song with its shifting tonalities - the song is for the most part upbeat and cheerful, but a carefully placed minor interval here and there gives the song the same anticipatory, sinister feel of the brilliant title track.
Finally, the instrumental theme pulls the whole soundtrack together with variations on the other melodies echoed in slow motion piano lines and crisper, percussive synthesizer sequences.
http://www.jaman.com/a/group/0G2KS8e.../0cV_Gddta6uU/
Meet the 'Meow'sic Lovers...
Ever seen cats listening to Ilaiyaraja, Rahman, Yuvan's songs and their awesome expressions?
http://vigneshram.blogspot.com/2007/...ic-lovers.html
Did any body get the CD of Cheeni Kum ?
I could not find in Bangalore. All latest hindi albums except this are there..
Pathetic marketing :(
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/n/i/hindi/6732/
"...Unlike "Nishabd", the film appears fresh and interesting and the lead pair strike the right kind of chemistry."
Cheeni Kum --- SPB's hits (Vizhiyile, manram vantha) have been reproduced here - Isiliye, SPB's voice hee yahaan kam hai !
But, SG's voice is very sweet ! and the album just reminds the melody of IR's vintage songs.
I wish many more Hindi and Tamil MDs roped IR for their big budget movies !
The only disappoint here is that Balki has used only 3 of IR's tunes..... I wish he had used more :)
Did anybody see, yesterday Jeya TV's "Violence and Modern Violence" programme against MK and his successors
"......thamizhagamae rasithu partha Isaignaniyin Anrum Inrum Enrum isai nigazhichiyai niraiya per parka villai enrum......"
against TRP ratings illegally controlled by SUN TV
Saw VIJYA TV's Kofee with Anu
Wov what a wonderful show, they will continue on next saturday too (first time in KWA's history).
Full of fun made by SPB, Gangai Amaran and their sons SPB Charan, Venkat Prabhu and sweet memories with Ilaiayaraja's younger days.
Many informations were new to me.
Before IR introduction as MD in TFM 8 persons including IR, SPB, GA met with an accident while they were driving a Car. Car did some dives and fell in a stream. Luckily they did not meet with heavy injuries. IR said "naam varunkaalathula etho sathikamnu irukuda athanalathan pizhaichurukkom". As IR said, all the 8 persons, achieved a lot in their departments
GA composed for 165 films :shock:
these guys are hopeless - read on:
http://ww.smashits.com/news/bollywoo...heeni-kum.html
sample this:
"CHEENI KUM : Illaiyaraja's musical presentation has largely been influenced by South Indian style of music but in "Cheeni Kum", he maintains the conventional harmonic textures of Bollywood music."
HARMONIC TEXTURES OF BOLLYWOOD MUSIC ???!!! harmony and Bollywood ?? - give us a frig*ing break
"there's nothing extraordinary or chartbusting about this track"
""Cheeni Kum" comes as modest and simple musical offering from South Indian music maestro Illaiyaraja after his forgetful musical presentation in RGV's 'Shiva'."
"and it will be too much to expect anything spectacular from this sweet "n" tender album."
The latest Vikatan has an interview with PC Sreeram (Cheeni Kum's cinematographer) and he says the BGM in the film is mind blowing with very rich symphony style and worth releasing as a soundtrack separately!
thats good to know. I will watch the film just for IR's BGM......
By the way, I tried desperately to watch the entire Shiva movie - Guys, that movie is an utter crap and it is very sad that IR had to work on such idiotic movies........
No wonder, IR didnt bother to score any BGM for atleast 1/2 of the movie :)
"
these guys are hopeless - read on:
http://ww.smashits.com/news/bollywoo...heeni-kum.html "
The reviewer is apparently a joker ! He is very much confused and though he seems to be impressed he is not completely ready to give credits to IR..
See some of his blabberings :
"Vijay Prakash' voice sounds similar to Yesudas' but fails to bind listeners. "
About the Sax melody :
"It's an average offering and also a background score in the film where the viewers can anticipate chemistry between two lovers. "
:confused2:
IR is not the king, but continues to prove that he is THE GOD of all music. Just listen to the magic he still brings in his interludes. The Cheeni Kum song' first interlude simply shatters glass and wind pipes out of all competition, past, present and future. How the heck in 20 secs or less does this brain of hims can cause tremors in my mind, only he has consistently achieved this. My next challenge to explore ramaujan' math!!!
I think that song,(amazingly sounds simple in Hindi) will turn heads all the way east west north and west of west. i foresee IR getting busy in Hindi (He shoud stop in malayalam, no strong enough melodies any more for that language.)
One thing has anyone noticed, IR has unknowingly rendered a so many superior and mind boggling variations of the James Bond theme inclduing the ones inspiring this response from me (my favorite is O Baby Baby in song' second interlude one fascinates me most.)
As Kamal rightly said in his interview(about the producers and directors who ignore Raja) ,"These guys ought to be crushed to death in the huge crowd gathering in Ilaiyraja's statue opening ceremony in future."
Guys,
A very upbeat review atlast !! :)
http://www.planetbollywood.com/displ...d=051007042806
"Maestro Ilaiyaraaja demonstrates once again his versatility and his excellent commands over the arrangements, resulting in some extremely catchy melodies and ear pleasing stanzas. "
Vow !! IR finally reaching hindi audience indeed !! :2thumbsup:
btw..Do any body know about this site "planetbollywood" ? How neutral are their reviews ?
Also see the ratings :
http://www.planetbollywood.com/displ...dex.php?scid=6
Cheeni Kam is at par with the best rated albums..though the number of public raters are less..
Wow.... So happy to see this :DQuote:
Another glowing review. Looks like there are some people up North who can appreciate such efforts...
http://musiqa.sulekha.com/blog/post/...-kum-music.htm
Reviewer writes a glowing review.Quote:
But then gives it a mere 6.5/10 rating.
Well, there goes the neutrality of the site.
Teja,
I just checked the other reviews in the site by the same person..This guy/girl seems to be a balanced reviewer. And Cheeni kum seems to have got a good rating in fact.
Cheeni kam song featured as a "new release" in Zoom Tv's "My Desi top 20" today. Have to check next week for the place it takes..
Also I was excited to hear "Jane do na" played in one of the Bangalore FM radio today :)
IndiaFM review
http://www.indiafm.com/movies/musicr...845/index.htmlQuote:
'Cheeni Kum' turns out to be an enjoyable album which has its moments throughout its 7 track duration. While one never expected a musical from a film which told a love story that had never been seen before, 'Cheeni Kum' manages to throw in a nice-n-little pleasant surprise
Baaten Hawa is clear winner :thumbsup:Quote:
When one almost thought that melody couldn't become better after the 'title song' (Chenni kum), there is a surprise in store with the arrival of 'Baaten Hawa'. Shreya Ghoshal once again demonstrates that she is the best in the business when it comes to crooning a plain melodious track with a sweet-n-innocent charm
Looks like 'Baaten Hawa' and 'Cheeni kum' is becoming super hits :).
I understand "'Jaane Do Na" will take time to grow. Even you can consider me (a HCIR fan), i did not like "Vizhiyilae" song initially but it grew on me and addicted me after a notable time.
I can see the ratings in musicindiaonline and planetbollywood growing day by day :)
If the movie goes well, sure IR will get noticed !
ஒளிப்பதிவாளரும் இயக்குனருமான பி.சி.ஸ்ரீராம் முதல் முறையாக ஒளிப்பதிவு செய்துள்ள இந்தி படம் 'சீனிகம்.' தபு, அமிதாப்பச்சன் நடித்திருக்கும் இப்படமும் கேன்ஸ் திரைப்படவிழாவில் பங்கேற்கிறது. இப்படம் இன்னும் ரிலீஸாகவில்லை. அதற்கு முன்பே பி.சி.யின் ஒளிப்பதிவு பேசப்படுகிறது கேன்ஸ் படவிழாவின் பி.சி.யின் 'சீனிகம்' ஒளிப்பதிவு பெரிய அளவில் பாராட்டு பெறும் என பாலிவுட்டில் உள்ளவர்கள் எதிர்பார்க்கின்றனர்.
http://tamil.cinesouth.com/masala/ho...052007-4.shtml
http://www.businessofcinema.com/?file=story&id=3466
Unbiased review from a pro-IR person...
Sanjay Ram :hammer:Quote:
Originally Posted by app_engine
ivana yellam yaar "review" ezhuda vittadhu???
Like he just returned from Pluto, he thinks he has DISCOVERED that 3 songs are "inspired" from Tamil/Kannada songs :lol:
Dei, inspired illa da, its the same song! :banghead:Quote:
Call it coincidence if you will, but Jaane Do Na, by Ghosal is yet again similar to a Kannada song ' Jotheyali jothe jotheyal'
???Quote:
The soundtrack of Cheeni Kum features two instrumental tracks called the Veg Melody and Non Veg Melody
crajkumar_be,
Paavam, vidunga !
He may not be aware of the background info about the movie, director etc as we do..
btw.., all the hyped movies like "Metro", "Good Boy Bad Boy" etc have all been declared as flop in BO.
So now Cheeni Kum is waiting for its test next week..
Cheeni kum's official website says:
Ilayaraja is probably the greatest composer India has ever had! :clap:
He wanted to work only because he liked the script. (and I guess Balki's dream to work with Meastro)
Could anyone post a transcript of what PC sir said about Maestro's work in Cheeni kum, I think it was Vikatan. Thanks in advance :)
" Isai Ilaiyaraaja. Padathoda BGM'yae oru thani Albuma podalam. Oru Kutti Symphony Maadhiri irukkum :D . Ilaiyaraaja appadi izhaichirukkar.. "Quote:
Originally Posted by thilak4life
For those who don't know Tamil,
" Music by Ilaiyaraaja, BGM itself could be a separate album. It will be a Mini-Symphony. Ilaiyaraaja has crafted like that... "
Originally Posted by raajarasigan
PC sir knows whose music can create life out of visuals. I can't wait to watch it for these two greats: MAestro and PC! :notworthy:
Aah, finally, the quintessential rediff review. Decide how you want to rip this apart!
http://in.rediff.com/movies/2007/may/15cheeni.htm