"Ram rahim mein anthar naahi" : lovely song by K.J.Yesudas and Asha Bhosle.
RD : I don't remember watching this movie either in the cinema hall, or on TV. So I cannot say whether or not the theater copy of the movie had a longer version.
Printable View
"Ram rahim mein anthar naahi" : lovely song by K.J.Yesudas and Asha Bhosle.
RD : I don't remember watching this movie either in the cinema hall, or on TV. So I cannot say whether or not the theater copy of the movie had a longer version.
"Koi Humdum Na Raha" from Jhumroo is one of my favorite songs of Kishore Kumar, picturised on Madhubala and himself. Some people leave behind their foot prints never to be forgotten, and one of them is Kishore Kumar. The song rendered by Ashok Kumar is the original from which Kishoreda took the inspiration and also took brother Ashok's permission to use it for Jumhroo. The original music director was Saraswati Devi and the lyrics were written by Jamna Swarup Kashyap.
Raj : The song is quite popular as can be seen by the number of views (617,955) for the following version.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDPb2ShfjHo
Thank you Ramky & Raj! :)
"Some people leave behind their foot prints never to be forgotten..." - very true!
Here is the proof... Sonu Nigam's tribute to Rajesh Khanna; at the Mirchi Music Awards night;
singing mostly Kishore Kumar songs"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmEVp5WYqjM
You're welcome RD.
Nice performance by Sonu Nigam, featuring some of my favorite Kishore Kumar songs like, Zindagi Ek Safar, Jai Jai Shiv Shankar, Mere Sapnon Ki Rani, and many others. Sonu manages to almost touch Kishore Kumar's style of yodelling which the latter had perfected to an art.
I never took Sonu Nigam seriously until about a year ago. Now I know that he is indeed a very good singer and a multifaceted artist. You should watch some of his mimicry performances (on youtube) where he teases several other artists, singers, etc!
I will definitely watch those and post my comments.
Sonu Nigam's mimicry of Annu Malik, SPB, Lata Mangeshkar, Kumar Shanu, Adnan Sami, Vinod Rathod, Mohammed Aziz, etc is amazing! Imitation is the best form of flattery.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdbpw92Jwfg
Sonu sings so well in other people's voices. His comedy tracks are hilarious too!
Quite true, RD.
Might havev been posted before. A song by Nutan http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVjBE66NWmY
"Songs that are made today are not long-lasting" - Sonu Nigam
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/20943765.cms
"There has to be a catchy word in every song, which is repeated again and again." What Sonu Nigam says is right. A few examples are "Sheela Ki Jawani", "Munni Badnaam Huyi", etc.
"Kuch To Log Kahenge", a popular song from Amar Prem, set in raag Khamaj. Amar Prem (translation: Immortal Love) is a 1972 Hindi drama film directed by Shakti Samanta, based on a Bengali short story Nishi Padma by Bibhutibhushan Bandopadhyay about a school boy, who is ill-treated by his step mother, and becomes friends with a prostitute neighbour. The film stars Sharmila Tagore playing a prostitute with a heart of gold, while Rajesh Khanna in the role of lonely businessman, and Vinod Mehra, adult Nandu, the young child, who they both come to care for.
The film is noted for its music by R.D. Burman, numbers sung by famous playback singers like Kishore Kumar, R.D. Burman's father S.D. Burman and Lata Mangeshkar; lyrics were by Anand Bakshi. At the 1973 Filmfare Awards, Arabinda Mukherjee won the award for Best Screenplay, while Ramesh Pant won the award for Best Dialogue. Also Jehangir Nowrojee won the award for Best Sound.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95UdAo4JdJI
Thanks a lot too Indian Idol Junior for introducing me to Sawan Ke Jhule Pade from Jurmana. Great Song! :thumbsup:
Great song from a wonderful film, probably my all time favourite Hindi film:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXwl48nfnnU
Listen to the song from Jawab(1942):
Toofan Mail Duniya Ye Duniya ........ by Kanan Devi :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQl82p4JZh0
Toofan Mail ran between Howrah and Delhi. I travelled by that mail twice (1959 and 1962). Not sure if they still have the same name or changed it. I am sure it does not have a steam engine now. Still, it is fun to travel by trains. The letters EIR stand for East Indian Railway ! I went beyond Delhi by train to Kalka to catch the mountain rail to Simla. Try it and have fun! :)
Legendary Bollywood star Pran has passed away :(
Here is a song featuring Pran from the 1967 film UPKAR; Lyrics - Indeewar; Music - Kalyanji/Anandji; Singer- Manna Dey
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlLuo_ENHcY
Does the tune sound familiar?
Hi Raj: I must have missed your original posting.
Pran was one of my favorite actors from the older crowd of actors. He acted in reprehensible, evil and villainous roles; but he did those roles with class and style. I remember a scene where he returns to India after living in the West for so many years, and happens to walk into his daughter's wedding ceremony. Someone introduces him to his daughter; and Pran says "Hi!..." in the Western style! WOW, What a classy scene! The expression on his face showed exactly the helplessness a person in his position would feel in such a situation. He had left India when the daughter was not even born; and he never even knew he had a daughter until that moment... (BTW, I don't remember the name of the movie! :) ) There were several other occasions that impressed me about Pran's unique style of acting. I was happy that they gave him the Dadasaheb Phalke Award before he passed away; better late than never!
"Do Bechare Bin Sahare" from the film "Victoria No. 203", picturised on Pran, Ashok Kumar and Helen.
Music : Kalyanji-Anandji
Singers : Kishore Kumar and Mahendra Kapoor
Lyrics : Verma Malik
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2WxL...77456D308DDBDE
Several excellent songs from 1953 in http://www.songsofyore.com/best-song...e-winners-are/ including
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyqT25YBWC8
From Dard(1947)
Shahe Medina....... (Beech Banware Mein)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFM4sUa9fAQ
Well sung by Nutan!Quote:
Originally Posted by gaddeswarup
Here's one more song, "Sawan ka mahina" being sung by Nutan. This song from Milan (1967)
was originally sung by Mukesh and Lata Mangeshkar.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unOpa3bSPP8
+1 lovely song by Lataji; nice composition by R.D.Burman.Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunil_M88
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdxeNxyXgno
Soul-stirring ghazal by Madan Mohan from Mausam (1975).Quote:
Originally Posted by crimson king
Here's the Lataji-Bhupinder Singh duet version, penned by Gulzar :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8s4Mb1sgN0
Nice composition by Kamal Das Gupta.Quote:
Originally Posted by rajraj
It is monsoon season here. I thought I should post a song about rain and clouds! :)
From Megdoot(1942):
Oh Varsha Ke Pehle Badal Mera Sandesa Le Jaanaa.............
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O52A9SEHI2w
I'm posting this song in relation to the prevailing weather (Mausam in Hindi) at present in Chennai. This song is nostalgic for me because, I was studying in higher secondary in New Delhi when this film was released and had watched it in the cinema hall with my friends.
Mausam Mausam Lovely Mausam from the classic Bollywood film, THODISI BEWAFAII (1980), directed by Esmayeel Shroff. The music is by Khayyam. The film stars Rajesh Khanna & Shabana Azmi in the lead. This song is sung by Anwar & Sulakshana Pandit, and features Padmini Kolhapure and an unknown actor.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BykvHmbmpYw
From Bharat Ki Beti (1935) by Rattan Bai:
Tere Poojan ke Bhagwan....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e_pngW5KuDU
A recent version:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haf1UudsIlQ
A parody from Shaadi(1962):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-a_iORVW4Q
A reflection of the changing world! Money talks! :lol:
kaasu .. paNam.. dhuttu.. money money
http://youtu.be/E_Hl_nmlWko
Railway Platform ( debut Sunil Dutt )
dan daulat ke peeche kyon hai yeh duniya deewani ?
yahan ki daulat yahan rahegi.. saath nahi yeh jaani.. !!
Really I was thinking that this is Lata...
Melodious Suman Kalyanpur
http://youtu.be/hd8MStc1Zww
I might have posted one song of Nirmal Devi ( mother of actor Govinda) before. From the Wikipedia article on Govinda her original name is Nazeem. She is also sometimes called Nirmal Arun. Today I found the following link to some of her filmi and non-filmi songs http://mishraraag.blogspot.com.au/20...alist-and.html
From Ladki(1953)
Shaadi Shaadi.........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grpatzL0hEI
Tamil version from PeN(1954)
KalyaaNam Kalyaanam...........
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgtZk34-5WM
The singer in Tamil version is J.P.Chandrababu. The actor is Veena S. Balachander. This is the only instance of Chandrababu singing for another actor( that I know of).
Execellently sung by Suman Kalyanpur, to the music of Jani Babu Qawwal.
Here's my favorite song of Suman Kalyanpur : Dil Ne Phir Yaad Kiya, from the movie of the same name. The other singers are Mohammad Rafi and Mukesh, and music is by Sonik-Omi.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2YohEL8ZkFg
In memory of Tragedy Queen actress Meena Kumari, whose Birthday fell on 1st August, I'm posting a few songs from the 1972 film, Pakeezah.
Chalo Dildar Chalo sung by Mohammad Rafi & Lata Mangeshkar; Music by Ghulam Muhammad; Lyrics by Kaif Bhopali.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l2bl57tFlLQ
Chalte Chalte Yunhi Koi Mil Gaya Tha sung by Lata Mangeshkar; Music by Ghulam Mohammed; Lyrics by Kaifi Azmi.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubQ9hrKO6XI
Inhi Logon Ne Le Lina Dupatta Mera sung by Lata Mangeshkar; Music by Ghulam Muhammad; Lyrics by Majrooh Sultanpuri.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EDwvnOkDqSg
Inhi Logon Ne Le Lina Dupatta Mera seems close to an old Shamshad Begum (Imight have posted this before)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaQGlPl4ZmQ
^ Maybe Ghulam Muhammad and Majrooh Sultanpuri were inspired by the music of Pandit Govindram, and the lyrics of Aziz Kashmiri respectively! Though the latter version is a more fast-paced one.
I'm posting a few of my favorite songs in memory of Kishore Kumar whose Birthday was on 4th August.
Kya Yahi Pyar Hai from Rocky (1981), sung by Kishore Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar, featuring Sanjay Dutt and Tina Munim/Tina Ambani. Music is by R.D.Burman.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6DvyDiDpU4
Kora Kagaz Tha Ye Man Mera starring Rajesh Khanna & Sharmila Tagore from the classic bollywood film Aradhana (1969). Singers are Kishore Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar; Music is by S.D Burman.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ql1-jjEPErw
Zindagi Ek Safar Hai Suhana from Andaz (1971), sung by Kishore Kumar, featuring Rajesh Khanna and Hema Malini. Music is by Shankar Jaikishan.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8wZDU-DDTOU
Thanks Ramki.. all songs are lovely.
My fav old Meenakumari dance..
http://youtu.be/J8B41qfGGNQ