Idhellaam overu :)Quote:
since he has the mass of international fans.
No Indian MD has international fans for him yet.
And Marma Yogi is going to be an international hit..is it ?? :lol:
Printable View
Idhellaam overu :)Quote:
since he has the mass of international fans.
No Indian MD has international fans for him yet.
And Marma Yogi is going to be an international hit..is it ?? :lol:
There is a fan named 'massimo simmoni' for an Indian MD. The fan was so fascinated with the composers music that he arranged a musical show by the composer in Italy :)Quote:
Originally Posted by raja_fan
Not to take away the credit from other composers, there is also a fan named Andrew Llyod Webber for another Indian MD. :oops:
but yes these are few stray instances and there is no fan following in a mass scale, for any Indian MD in international arena. :|
I've recorded some selected IR songs on CD's and given to my Detroit friends (who are musically inclined, play instruments etc) and they cannot stop admiring those...some can even recite those Thamizh lines without any trouble:-)
Music has no language barrier and IR can play to the emotions of any part of the world, esp. with west he'll be easily at home with his WCM calibre:-))
i want to rip only the instrumental and chorus portion of TIS..is there any way to do it
Today morning KTV telecasted idhayam...oh what a masterpiece..We shd tell IR "only u possible"....
The famous one in youtube is
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjKAXSpfLPw
yeah Idhayam had awesome BGM
one of my alltime favourite BGM
Earlier when IR was not roped in, he pointed at his directors as the reason and later switched his theme to producers. Why he says this thing over and over and for every movie? I sincerely hope IR puts him in the black list and never composes for his films/productions when he does some low-budget movies. He knows how to talk to IR and get his things done, and I hate IR falling for this guy's talks all the time.Quote:
Originally Posted by k_vanan
Common Judge, Kamal is the one who always ropes in IR in every of his home production.In 80's and 90's kamal wasn't required to insist on IR to any director/producer as IR was a marketable brand, so there was no problem.
but now every one have their own choice of MD and kamal doesnt want to enter into that issue.Even then he has been accused as interfering in their work.
More over IR and Kamal have good raport between them, there is mutual respect ( do you remember kamal's "kittathata Bharthikku equavalna talentthan idhu").
Not like Rajini, who avoided IR purely for commercial purpose, kmaml is not able to rope IR now a days as most of his recent/future movies are not his own production.
I don't think it's rajni's act to avoid IR. Rajni doesn't involve in selecting MD i guess. This is just my opinion.Quote:
Originally Posted by nanchil_guy
PS: Yes, i do have the same doubt as why he went to ARR for his own BABA. :confused:
Dhanam - ILamai kanavugaL , true to its meaning is brimming with youthful energy and has some racy guitar works [synth guitar??] .
"Koothu onnu" is quite different and masks a nice melody
[abheri scale like "nila adhu vaanathu mela"]. I won't be surprised if Raja tweaks this tune to create a melodic number in future, the same way he did for "vaadi vethalaipaaku" from "Veera" .
Only IR is capable of makiing a brooding "thathuva paadal" like "kattilukku mattum thaana" sound interesting with nice orchestration and a jumpy tune. But I find the crude lyrics
unpalatable. May be this song would have earned many praise with a different lyrics and a singer like Janaki.
"Kannanukku enna" starts off like "saami kitta solliputten", but
immediately veers away in a different direction, thankfully. This pleasing melody becomes another "kurangu kaiyil poomaalai" in Bhavathaarini's hands till the second charanam, when
SriRam Paarthasarathy and Prassanna join in to salvage the song. What raga is this song?
"UnakuLLe" is another endearing melody with nice singing and
interludes
"uLAGAM KIDAKUDHU" could easily pass off as a HJ poppish song and that is no compliment. "Dhanam Dhanam" is forgettable
thumburu,
Thats an improvement! and iam happy to see that you are liking 5 out of 7 songs from this movie. Iam also observing many other people who had brushed off 'Raaja' as left with no fire anymore are appreciating his current albums.
I hope this positiveness continues and he will enthrall you all with Naan kadavul, Nandalala and Pazhasiraaja soon :)
Glad that bhava atleast has a unique voice - I have a tough time distinguishing between the young crop of singers - parvathavardhini (to some extent ok), sangeetha mahadevan, vinaya, reeta, shalini, madhushree...same in males - Binny sounds same ditto as karthik or prasanna? :lol: The unique voices we have today are a rare breed and IMHO are that of shreya goshal, bhava, malathy, sadhana sargam in female and sriram parthasarathy, madhu balakrishnan, pushpavanam kuppusamy and manickam vinayagam in male ...i agree that bhava has to improve but you will have to agree that most of the other people in the race have to improve as well ...Quote:
Originally Posted by thumburu
Very reliable sources informed that Ayya refused to work with Bharath Bhala on a gigantic international project recently.The movie is said to have south indias top names along with prominent orient superstars.Any one heard such a thing???
ithu veraya ?Quote:
Originally Posted by rajaalltheway
It feels bad to see IR missing out on some grand projects where there is hope for great music. Like this one and Marudhunayagam. I felt the same way for Dasavatharam, until I saw the movie - then I was glad that IR stayed away from that joke of a movie.Quote:
Did you notice how the songs seem to reflect the movie name? As they say in Tamil, 'Panam Pattum Seiyyum'. So Dhanam has lot of variety :)) Starting from class melody numbers, semi classical stuff, base desires, pop philosophy etc. There is no predominant mood in the album.
In case of 'Mallepoovu', the predominant mood is one of tenderness. Yes, some other songs exist but the best songs are like the literal Mallepuvu, fresh, fragrant and fragile. Can't stop listening to the songs. The Calypso fellow in Jayanagar has not yet got it :(
I, for one, love 'Dhanam Dhanam' song, especially the first charanam, 'kuthu kuthu kuthu kuthu'. What energy !!
I agree with Thumburu on some of the lyrics. While I love 'Koothu Onnu', it is a bit tough to play in the house loudly. Same with 'Kattiluku Mattundhana'. I too wish the lyrics weren't so explicit. Maybe it has to do with the situation. But a lovely song nevertheless.
The orchestration for 'Kannanukku' shows what a master can do. It is very easy to let a semi-classical number go on with simple beats. The tune will carry it through. Not for Raja. He starts the song with the drums. During the first charanam, the tabla accompanies but the playing is not continuous. There is a small pause in the beats. When it comes to the second charanam the tabla plays continuously. When the song ends, it is the tabla which is playing along with the pallavi and not the drums. You don't notice the change at all !!
I too couldn't figure out the raga of 'Kannanukku'. Given that I heard shades of Shanmukhapriya during the swara singing, there is a possibility of this being Natabhairavi. Will rip it and send it to a friend for his opinion.
S.Suresh
To set things in right perspective, ALWebber had a friend called Shekar Kapur who was totally enchanted by Rahman songs - so he made sure that ALW listened to Rahman songs and so the idea of Bombay Dreams began - It always requires a landed resource - a desi fan to spread our cultural icons to the outside world from where there are a lot of things to learn. How did you come across Pink Floyd? Because someone in your college or school introduced him to you - so it needs our guys with capacity outside our country to do that - however most of our guys outside are not of the outgoing type and think that the musi composer who composesi n the western style is the one who would be more cool to project in front of a forigner than someone who composes 'paadariyen padippariyen'. and therein lies the reasons...Quote:
Originally Posted by rajasaranam
>>so it needs our guys with capacity outside our country to do that <<
That's not a big deal, there are a lot of them here in U.S. who have the capability to easily connect our artists with some of the decent names / studios / labels abroad. And many of them love IR's music as well.
There are two problems
1. Most of such people may not have any kind of access to IR
2. Even if some can connect with IR, he may not be in a mood to work with them or even work on any such assignment (probably the symphony #1 experience made him bitter)
I think IR of today is comfortable to ONLY work with his "existing" admirers who are in the business / entering the business.
Possibly not interested in marketing himself to unknown businessmen who should be convinced of his prowess. He is simply not interested in submitting his resume:-)
And i was here thinking Bharat Bala only goes for ARR. Well if that is true and you add in previous rejected movies, IR could have well been commercially number 1 if he wanted but i guess he has no interest in such things and prefers a "low" profile. Besides if your a true blue music composer u dunt need big budget films to show your talent. Anyone remembers karagattakaran which just ran for music? :DQuote:
Originally Posted by ananth222
rajaalltheway,
I read about a Kamal's movie '19 Steps' with Walt Disney (after Marmayogi), which will have Bharat Bala as director. This film is supposed to be based on Japanese martial arts and Indian Kalaripayattu. I think this is the movie for which Bharat Bala would have approached IR.
Check this link:
http://www.extramirchi.com/movies/ka...film-19-steps/
If this is true, then it means IR has decided to part ways with Kamal.
And I welcome that, considering Kamal's form now :)
As raja has always claimed he shd soon try to come out of film music and do albums and he shd go to a new level.with films he wud always stay low..
as i have been telling, the 1st step towards it is releasing RPO
Thanks for the link crv..my my thiss astonishing.I cant believe Ayya would refuse a movie with Kamalji no matter how much he gets sidelinedQuote:
Originally Posted by crvenky
I see it different. He always plays safe. He knows that he will need IR back someday, so whenever he goes out of IR, he will say 'my first choice was IR blah blah blah....' Do you seriously think if Kamal wanted IR for his anbe Sivam and Sundar C rejected? Do guys like Sundar, SureshKrishna or KSR have guts to say no to Kamal's idea? He doesn't need to admit it openly, he should just move on with his projects with some md he likes, who cares? But this is irritating to hear the same old lame excuse again and again. It is high time IR wakes up and says no to his projects now and in the future.Quote:
Originally Posted by nanchil_guy
I don't buy this crap. Bharath Bala goes to IR???? Media :twisted:Quote:
Wanted to listen to "Idhaya Kovil" songs, so ventured into thiraipaadal site.
Listen to the song "Yaar Veettu Roja" song. Check out from 4:40.
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/albums/ALBIRR00211.html
enjoy,
Krishnan
:rotfl:Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJudge
The lack of reasoning is appalling to say the least.
Why would he go for IR for Mumbai Xpress and why didn't he give an excuse (which came AFTER Anbe Sivam)? Why didn't he give an excuse for all his home productions (barring an exception or two)???? Do you have any idea what happened during Nammavar??? Self-delusion at its best! If you have no clue about what actually happened, its better you get into all openings closed airtight shut mode :shhh:
He was the one who batted for Raaja when not many were doing that.
P.S: However, for the record, for Marmayogi, ARR was the first and only choice
why so ?Quote:
Originally Posted by crajkumar_be
Because 'Chandrahaasan' was a powerful man in Kamal's household that he decided it will be none other than ARR to compose music for their next production venture 'Marmayogi' - as told umpteen times by Kamal Fans :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by irir123
But the same Chandrahassan went on record saying something like IR's music for Hey Ram brought tears from my eyes, fluid from my nose etc etc! didnt he ?!
Ada Udungappa!
"Ponaal Pogattum Poda
Inthe Cinemavil
Nilayaai Irunthavar Yaarada"
There may be number of things we may not be aware. IR knows, probably, Kamal knows...But IR has seen this type of things over 900 movies....So lets keep move on.
dont make such sweeping statements like you've analyzed the lenght and breadth of the world. An extract from Amazon.com for sample.. there are quite a few writeups like this from international fans scattered across the internet.Quote:
Originally Posted by raja_fan
Quote:
The Genius of the Heart, June 18, 2004
By S. Ferguson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)
Although I am a native American who grew up in Texas on Lightin' Hopkins and Ray Charles, with a diverse taste in music from Mozart to Bill Evans to Emmy Lou Harris, I now listen primarily to A.R. Rahman - and frankly have just about lost interst in any other music.
Rahman is the genius of melody and subtle percussion. His music has evolved out of India, but it also comes from what must be his personal enormous heart-felt love for all of life, humanity and God. His grasp of the eternal and the transcendental in melody will bring tears to your eyes and long lost feelings into your heart.
Rahman is a superstar composer worldwide, loved by literally millions, and appreciated by great musicians in every country all over the planet. I'm delighted SONY has released this, because not only is it breathtaking, magical music that draws you into far away exotic realms, but it is commercially accessible to us as westerners and perhaps it will introduce many more to the Genius of the Heart - A.R. Rahman.
I can't say enough good things about his music. Look him up on the internet - there are dozens of websites devoted to him, his music, and his remarkable life. A modern day Orpheus, India's Mozart - Awesome!
It is natural for Media/People of Britain and India to hype up their own heroes (like hailing a local hero as international superstar).It is in our Genes and we can't change it.We always would look for a thing or two like the one you have mentioned to feed our egos(thinking My hero is the best in the world).We do know that there are people across countries who recognise IR,ARR,Kamal and Rajini.But,they are not big in numbers.our media always talks about Hollywood recognistion.But, for general Public there or their Industry, very few would have heard of these names.Quote:
Originally Posted by thamizhvaanan
It is nice to feel that our own heros are World Heros,but it hasn't happened as yet.I am not talking about talent,I am talking about recognition.
Digression
Now Gandhiji is well recognized in the west:-) Yesterday I was in a meeting and the (American) speaker was quoting Gandhiji frequently!
End-digression
Many of my friends appeciate IFM greatly (one has even subscribed to Hindi TV channels). Some love Indian food.
The awareness / recognition is slowly coming up in U.S., IMO.
I saw the CD's of ARR in display in "Borders" Dearborn, MI (which has great amount of Arabic population but not so much of Indians). The recognition of "Sanjaya" in the 2007 American Idol is another thing (I don't watch that program and not sure what songs he sang - but it is a phone voting show and that an Indian could get to such stage means they are making the mark).
One of the main reasons for less recognition of our artists in the west during the post-independence period was the Govt's foreign policies IMO which totally eclipsed their output reaching outside the country, pretty much (except the sub-continent).
It took a more than a decade since "liberalization" to reverse a little bit. However, with the IT diaspora making a greater impact around the globe, recognition of the artists also won't be far behind.
Taking into account IR's approach to music (& business / people etc), his international recognition is almost out of question.
So, talent-wise, the next best hope for TFM / IFM is ARR and let's celebrate as his reach increases ! :-)
http://www.keralanext.com/Kerala/read.asp?id=1282089
Music maestro Ilayaraja has been always exceptional when ever he took time to give music to Malayalam films.
His innumerable number of hits in Malayalam had been the favorites of many in the industry. After the recent success of ‘Innathe Chintha Vishayam', Ilayaraja will once again give music to another Mollywood flick 'Manikantan'.
An animation film based on the legend of Lord Ayyappa, the movie will be made simultaneously in Malayalam, Kannada, Tamil, Hindi and Telugu.
Ilayaraja will give tunes to six songs for each version. The recording of the songs for the film was held at Mumbai recently.
Why do we need Kamal and Rajini for IR at this stage....
Always remember the magic of IR's music for these heroes
Sudhakar,Mike Mohan, Pasunesan and Ayya Raj Kran
Digression: happened to watch Balu Mahendra's "Adhu oru kanaa kaalam" - OMG! cudnt believe that BM cud make such an absymally hopeless movie - if this is the kind of drivel an ace filmmaker like BM can come up with, and if IR continues to work only with such 'veterans', he doesnt have much scope for doing anything creative
Guys,
How is malle puvvu doing in Andra? Good?