kugan,
what is gaglangal??
Printable View
kugan,
what is gaglangal??
Dear Selviem, galangal is a type of ginger used in Malay cooking. It has a very strong smell. Here is how it looks like.
The galangal roots:
[html:968b013e14]
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/2672/galangal.jpg
[/html:968b013e14]
This is how the galangal plant looks like:
[html:968b013e14]
http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/3083/plantr.jpg
[/html:968b013e14]
DEV, what happened to your galangal plant?
[tscii]
PODI POTTA CABBAGE PORIYAL
Ingredients:
300 grms cabbage sliced
2 tbs Masala Powder
1 tbs oil
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 green chillies sliced
1 sprig curry leaves
1 tbs grated coconut
Little chopped coriander leaves
Masala Powder:
4 dried red chillies
1 tbs channa dal
1 tbs urad dal
1 tsp coriander seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds
½ tsp dried tamarind
2 garlic pips
Few curry leaves
A pinch of asafoetida powder
1 tsp oil
salt
Method:
Dry roast all the ingredients. Cool and grind it to a fine
Powder with salt. Store in air tight container.
Can be used in dry poriyals, for idli and dosai too.
Method:
Heat a wok with the oil. Add the mustard and cumin seeds.
When they splutter, add in the asafoetida, curry leaves,
and the green chillies.
Add in the sliced cabbage, salt and mix well.
Stir in intervals or it will stick the wok.
Let the cabbage cook for few minutes.
Add in the masala powder, stir well until the masala powder has
Coated well, add in the grated coconut.
Stir well and remove. Garnish with the coriander leaves.
[html:48c595da72]
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/8...odiporiyal.jpg
[/html:48c595da72]
Kugan, I tried your lotus root curry. Gravy was superb-very tasty. Unfortunately, the lotus root was not good ( I used frozen). I will try the same gravy again with potato. Thanks!
K, thanks a lot for the chutney recipe...:)
My galangal plant died...:cry2:
K, have u posted a recipe for pavakkai chips already?...The one that uses a mix of flour, spices n bittergourd... I used to buy it from the stores and my lil one likes it a lot... recipe irundhaal kudunga...I want to try it at home... I want something that will stay crisp for atleast a week or 2...
K, I passed on the chicken recipes to my cousin and just now she called me to tell that the coriander chicken turned out soooo well... Thanks a lot K...:)
thanks for the clarification. cabbage podi poriyal looks yummy.
Dear Lakme, one way I am happy that your gravy was nice.
The other, very sad that your lotus roots were not good.
Try again with fresh roots if you can get.
I am very happy with your feedback.
Thanks for taking the time to reply.
Take care, Kugan98
Oh I am so sorry about your galangal plant.
I will try to sneak some more in my next visit.
I am glad your cousin liked the chicken recipe.
Dev, how come I missed posting the bittergourd crispies.
Its a must in all my vegetarian lunches.
I will post soon. It will make the kala kala sound
after frying :lol:
Take care, Kugan98
Siva Siva RIP :(Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Thiru :lol2:
Avanga intha sohathila irukumbodhu ithellam :lol2:
Thanks Selviem, try panni paarungga.
A little bit different from our usual poriyal.
Take care, Kugan98
Kugan ka
Endhiran pathuteengala :roll:
P.S Tamby, Enthiran paakra vayasu illai enakku :roll:
I do not watch movies. Just enough time to run the home, business and to take care of the childrens education.
24 hours is not enough for me.
Now I worry about my health. Etho vaalkai oduthu.
Thanks, take care Kugan98
Dev, here is your kala kala bittergourd crispies.
BITTER GOURD CRISPIES
Ingredients:
5 young bitter gourds cut into rounds
1 marble size tamarind
2 tsp chillie powder
1/4 tsp tumeric powder
1/4 cup of rice flour
1/4 cup of besan flour
Little corn flour
a pinch of perungayam
salt to taste
oil for frying
2 sprig curry leaves for garnishing.
Method:
Mix the tamarind in about 1/2 of cup of water and little salt.
Soak the cut bittergourds in the tamarind mix.
Let it soak for about 1/2 an hour. Squeeze out the bitter gourd.
In a basin mix all the flours , salt, chillie, tumeric powders,
and perungayam.
Now slowly mix the bitter gourd with the mixture.
Sprinkle little water, if the mixture does not coat the bitter gourd.
Heat oil in a wok and deep fry the bittergourd.
Fry the curry leaves in oil, and garnish the crispies.
It will stay crisp for a long time.
[html:04d2531b07]
http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/9...rispiesca8.jpg
[/html:04d2531b07]
[tscii]Selviem, when ever I use mealmaker in any recipe, my thoughts will always run to you.
I know you like to use mealmaker. Try this pakoda.
Thanks and take care, Kugan98
HEALTHY PAKODA
Ingredients:
½ cup of soaked and shredded soya meal maker
½ cup of finely shredded cabbage
2 onions chopped fine
¼ cup of chopped green chillies
½ cup of rice flour
½ cup of gram flour
½ tsp aniseeds
½ tsp chillie powder
1 tsp ginger paste
1 tsp garlic paste
1 tsp butter
1 tbs chopped coriander leaves
1 tbs mint leaves
1 tbs chopped curry leaves
Salt to taste
Oil for frying
Method:
In a bowl, add in the shredded soya mate, cabbage,
onions, ginger garlic paste, aniseeds, green chillies,
chillie powder, curry leaves, salt , coriander and mint leaves.
Use your hand squeeze and mix every thing nicely.
There will be enough juice in the onions, cabbage and things
to mix nicely.
Now add in the two flours and butter.
Sprinkle water little by little just to bind the ingredients.
Heat oil in a wok, drop the mixture little by little.
Deep fry till golden brown. Remove to a kitchen towel.
Serve with chillie sauce or green chutney.
[html:15dbca426e]
http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/6097/img9389j.jpg
[/html:15dbca426e]
Super pavakkai crispies... trying it soon...:D
Galangal... Hmmm... :( You know K, here in gudalur,ooty area lemongrass is very common aama.. but since the name is diff, we never know abt it...now after seeing the lm plant at home, atleast 4 ppl said that it's freely available in their hometown(all r from ooty area)... But they never use it in cooking... only used for oil extraction and the oil is called pul thailam...so I'm hoping galangal too would be available here and asking ppl around but no positive response so far... Appadi thaan I guess the plant called thiruneetru paththini is actually thai basil... the leaves have a strong resemblance...
Padam paarka vayasu oru thadaya!!!...interest irundhaal endha vayasilayum paarkalaam... thappe illai... Udambukku thaan vayase thavira manasukku illai...:DQuote:
Originally Posted by kugan98
pullarikuthu.... :cry:Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
sari ippa sollunga.. unga udambukku enna vayasu :lol2:
adhaane? enakku vayasu 17dhaan. endha college-ukku pogalaamnu yosichukittu irukken ! :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Siva Siva RIP :(Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Thiru :lol2:
Avanga intha sohathila irukumbodhu ithellam :lol2:
Thiru
Dev ku ungalum paaka vayasu kuraiya :lol2:
Uncle , enaaku 4 vayasu thaan aagudhu...endha schoolku pogalaamnu yosikkiren naan...:PQuote:
Originally Posted by rajraj
Right age for aunty's school ! :lol: (Also aunty's cooking school ! :) )Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
hello..innaikku kaalaila thaan naan poranthen :swinghead:Quote:
Originally Posted by PARAMASHIVAN
Kugan as usual tan tanu recipe given.
All super recipes. I too wanted the bittergord recipe.
Nice healthy pakora recipe as well as the chutney.
My aunt used to make pakora with moong dal.
Do you know how to do it. Very healthy with protein.
Rose
Kugan I tried your kasmiri pulav. I was a bit hesistant before trying. It turned out very yummy. Now I have full confidence in trying out your recipes. you know I always cook prawns like the sambal thing. Do you have any Indianised prawn recipe.
A little like with gravy.
K, chettinad style poondu kuzhambu and pepper chicken fry(like perattal) recipe irundhaal post pannunga...Also chettinad style biryani...
Rose, thanks for your nice post. Yes I have tasted moong dal pakoda. I will post it for you soon. Keep trying other recipes also. Thanks and take care, kugan98
gulabjamun, thanks for the confidence that you have in me. I will not promise that all my recipes will be yummy.
Happy that you liked the pulav, that's my favourite too.
As for prawns, I will soon post an Indianized version for you.
friends, lately I am very forgetful. I know that I owe lot of recipes. So if I have forgotten, please kindly remind me of your request. I owe Suvai, beetroot cutlet. I cannot find the beetroot in the supermarket. Let me get hold of it first.
I promised Rose, four angled bean cooked our Indian style.
Will post soon.
Dev your request coming also very soon.
thanks for your requests. I feel very happy.
[tscii]My aunt says that in the villages, when unexpected visitors drop in for tiffin, and if they do not have anything, this is the easiest side dish they make for idli or dosai.
the taste is very super. Kugan98
ONION TAMARIND MIX
Ingredients:
250 grms shallots cut into halves
½ tsp oil
1 tbs tamarind paste
1 cup of water or little more
½ tsp jiggery
¼ tsp turmeric
A pinch asafoetida
Salt to taste
To Roast And Powder:
5 dry red chillies
2 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp rice
To Season:
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 sprig curry leaves
2 tsp of oil
Method:
Heat a wok with ½ tsp of oil.
Add in the shallots, sauté well and remove.
Heat 2 tsp of oil in the same wok, add in the mustard seeds,
and the curry leaves. Also add in the asafoetida powder.
Now add in the tamarind paste, 1 cup of water, turmeric powder,
the ground powder, salt and jiggery.
Let it boil on low flame till the gravy thickens.
Add in the sautéed onions. Mix well, boil for a minute.
Remove and serve with idli, dosai.
[html:366aa6a262]
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/9...arindonion.jpg
[/html:366aa6a262]
Rose here is the four angled beans poriyal. You can add cooked dal and make it into a kutoo also. Thanks, Kugan98
FOUR ANGLED BEAN PORIYAL:
Ingredients:
100 grms four angled bean sliced
2 tbs grated coconut
2 dried red chillie cut into pieces
1 tsp urad dal
1/2 tsp mustard seeds
1/2 tsp cumin seeds
A pinch of asafoetida powder
1 tsp oil
Oil - 1 teaspoon
salt to taste
Method:
Clean and slice the four angled beans
In a wok add the oil, and when it is hot add mustard. When it splutters add urad dhal, jeera, asafotida, red chillies broken into pieces along with curry leaves.
Fry till the urad dhal turns into light brown. Add cut beans and sprinkle a handful of water. Stir well and cover with lid. Cook
on low flame till the beans are soft. Add salt and coconut gratings and mix well. Keep it in the stove for few more minutes and remove.
[html:87d81ae60d]
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/8483/img9381.jpg
[/html:87d81ae60d]
nice onion tamarind mix, mouth is watering.
kugan: I asked aunty to write down some recipes. She has promised to do it in December when she is on Christmas break ! :)
I am banned from the kitchen. Otherwise I will follow her and write down everything or video record everything ! :lol:
selviem, thanks for your nice comments.
Try and see, very simple, but very tasty dish for doasi
and idli. Thanks, Kugan98
Three Cheers for uncle. eppadiyoh auntyai agree panna vachiteenga. Eagerly waiting for the yummy recipes from aunty.
Thanks aunty. Take care, Kugan98
[tscii]Try this simple mango dal.
MANGO DAL
Ingredients:
1 cup toor dal soaked and boiled
A pinch of turmeric powder
¼ tsp oil
1 red chillies cut into small pieces.
3 green chillies sliced
1 tsp ginger paste
2 cups of raw mango chop into cubes with skin
Salt to taste
Little chopped coriander leaves for garnishing
To temper:
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 red chillie cut into small pieces
1 sprig curry leaves
A pinch of asafortida powder
2 tsp oil
Method:
Boil the toor dal with the turmeric powder, oil, and red chillie.
Cook well, remove and keep aside.
Heat a wok with the oil, add in the tempering ingredients.
Sauté well, add in the green chillies, ginger paste.
Sauté well, add in the chopped mango pieces.
Add salt and mix well. The raw mango cooks very fast.
Now add in the cooked dal and mix well.
Boil for a minute, taste for salt and remove.
The dish should be semi thick. Garnish with the coriander.
Serve with rotis or rice.
[html:ce470c8e63]
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/9804/img9395.jpg
[/html:ce470c8e63]
ONION TAMARIND MIX makes me drool, K... :slurp:
Kuganka,onion tamraind recipe looks great.My Mouth has started watering already. :slurp:
Kuagnka,tried bittergourd crispses,it turned out great.very yummy. :D
Dev,kuttiku senchu kodunga.definitely she will like it.