Lemon kum no va...........
Printable View
Lemon kum no va...........
Hi Kugan Ka and Co
Shiv Ji is back :)
Kugan ka, hope you are well, I have not been following this thread for a while due high volumen of work in office.
This toffu thing, can you cook it without frying, I tried it too many times with frying, but it turned out too oily that I couldn't eat it
ennada idhu kuganku vandha sodhanai!!! appo pesama veggiesa steam panni salt n pepper potu saapida vendiyadhu thaan...:( :sigh: But if this is going to cure you completely, then no second thoughts... innum 2 maasam thaane... but qty rombe kuraichidatheenga K...eppadiyaavadhu oru moderate qty saapitidunga... illanna u'll become too weak by the end of this pathiyam... aprom adhu edhavadhu pudhu health problem vanthida pogudhu... paarthukonga...
avalo kashtapattu en adhai saapidureennga...:P
K has posted some recipes for steamed tofu n all... thedi pidichu senju paarunnga... Scrambled tofu with lots of spices nn veggies will be good... also, u can add it to any dish without frying...but andha taste avalova nalla irukaadhu IMO... neenga try pannni paarunga pidikudhaanu...neenga podura kaarathukku oru velai nalla irundhaalum irukkum!!!
Ezhumalai Devuda
Nalla ma :)
I have tried that steamed one, but it was so soft, it sort of melted :oops: Oh well Shiv ji is not a good cook :|
Kugan I felt very sad to read your post. Please take care, your health is very important.
Do not worry about the recipes, they can wait. Take care Kugan.
rendu moonu naal varaama , appram KK pakkam vandhaaa jolyyaa irukku... overflow of recipes..... :redjump:
K, I tried ur cocunut poli... :slurp: sema tastyaa irundhudhu,,, thanks... (amma neraya thadava senjirukkaaanga, appolaam try panna thonala, nowadays my interests hv gone higher towards cooking tasty fud... :D Thanks a lot... ;)
I did brinji for dinner yesterday, it turned out to be super duper hit, never imagined tht I can cook this my tastier brinji...
Yet to see other recipes from u... paathittu edha try pannalaamnu yosichu solren...:P
K,
Unga post parthu paavam ayiducchi. You post so many good recipes I feel sad for you. But 1 chappathi is too less. As Dev said minimum req is 1200 cal. Don't go below that. How about thalikattha kootu without coconut? Take care of you health. My prayers are with you.
Welcome Suvainga. Missed you.
Suja
kuganka,
Take care of ur health.
i felt very bad while reading ur post.
Health is very important kuganka.
Pathiya dishes-um free irukum pothu post pannunga.
kugan nga sorry to hear that.... ongala konja nenja pathiyam ilaama semma pathiyathiley pottu irukaanga..hmmm..kandipa romba kashtamaa thaan irukum to cook without general ingridients.....
Cheer up nga.....seekiram udambu gunam aagidichinaa...apuram ellaamey saapidalaam thaaney...ipo sacrifice apuram partyyyy :noteeth: odiye poidum months.....april is just around the corner....for being such a sport here is a simple recipe that u can eat ;-) hope the ingris are such that u can eat.
chapaathi roll :
lettuce...nalla thin ahhhh slice pannikonga...
kothamalli nalla podisa narukikonga
ipo konjam keerai/kathirikai/poosani/zuchini/cabbage/beans/pattani ellaam pottu konjama thanni pottu manjal podi pottu (if u can) vega vachi....just mash it all onnum paathiyuma.....can u add black pepper? if so add it along with salt....poondu? if yes add one clove...ilaati without it....half green chilli if u r allowed....ellaathaiyum nalla vega vachi konjam mash panni vachikonga.....now (ithu oru pav baaji mathri consistency ku kondu varanum....so put the whole mashed vegies onto a tava....& let the water evaporate....oru mothai maathri irukum ipo.... ileengala?..basically u add any veg that u can eat & prepare it the above way sareengala!
now u take the chapathi nalla soodu pannitu.....spread the mashed veg mothai on it.....now add the crispy lettuce....sprinkle some kothamalli.....voilaaaaaaaaaaa....u have a super soft taco ready....it will be much better than eating with plain keerai....
if u can take brown bread...u can roll a slice out thin...now put the vegies mothai on it ....roll the bread slice oru sausage roll maathri now what u can do is place it on a baking dish & bake it till the bread slice turns slightly brown....u now remove this from the oven....sprinkle some sliced lettuce on top & sprinkle some kothamalli....hmmmm a super fancy dish ready....onga veetila ellaarum ketka poraanga neenga paarungalen....:noteeth:
u have to have more supplements so drink fruit juices adikadi.....morning saathukudi / orange
evening pomegranate juice....ilaati....have a bowl of mixed fruits....get frozen berries....u can add to the bowl.
now.....another way to eat is chappathi u can mash up a banana...sprinkle some vellam (brown sugar)...& add a pinch of cinnamon powder to it.....spread it & have it as a desert too....
mash up apples & u can do the same....as the bananas....u can also make yr chapathi crisp....& add some boiled mashed apples with brown sugar / vellam or honey & cinnamom.....crispya saapita nalla irukum nga.
just pm me what exactly u can eat & i will try to gather more recipes for u or picky my own brain (noteeth icon pottukonga)
virunthu nu neenaichi pathiya saapaatai saapitudunga plz...(wink icon here)
Take care of yr health nga kugan...a lot of prayers are being said for u ...
selvi ngo.....i dont add enos to my rava idly......but they come out well..........ilati irukavey iruku MTR mix...:noteeth:
awww sorry nga suja & selvi....that u both missed me too...sometimes u gotta do what u gotta do ;-) ileengala!
.....kaanavilai nu paper la advertisement kodukaama iruntha sareee.....:rotfl::rotfl:
sorry nga kugan & dev for a longgggg posts....
My dear Tamby, soft tofu is no good for frying.
It is only good for steaming. You can fry firm tofu.
Even firm tofu you need not deep fry. You can shallow fry.
There will not be much oil. I usually shallow fry to add to my noodles.
I add it raw when I cook beans sprouts with it.
I am posting pictures of soft tofu and firm tofu.
Today I grilled firm tofu for lunch.
I will post the recipe. Take care, Kugan98
SOFT TOFU:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5099/...8794f88553.jpg
FIRM TOFU:
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5218/...247071ddd9.jpg
Tamby, here is the recipe for grilled tofu. Kugan98
GRILLED TOFU
Ingredients:
10 firm tofu, sliced horizontally
Marinate:
1 tbs of honey
1 tsp very finely grated ginger
1 tsp very finely grated garlic
1 tbs thick soy sauce
1 tsp red chillie powder
2 tsp Japanese sesame sauce
1 tbs of sesame oil
Lime to garnish
Onion slices to garnish
Method:
Marinate the tofu slices in the above marinate, for about 3 hours.
Apply little sesame oil to the grilling pan.
Arrange the tofu slices and grill them in an oven.
Pour the marinate in a saucepan and boil till it is thick.
Remove the grilled tofu slices to a tray.
Pour the thick marinate over the slices.
Serve with a lime wedge and garnish with onion slices.
NOTE: If you do not have a grill, you can pan fry it.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5213/...d11d3326_z.jpg
My dear friends, thank you all very much for the concern you all have for me.
I am really indebted to you all.
I think we all can forget about me for some time and concentrate on our cooking.
I feel very bad that I am upsetting every one.
Cheers Kugan will come out of this.
Thanks, thanks, Kugan98
Madhu Sree, I am very very happy that the dishes have come out nicely for you.
Please try other dishes and give us the feed back.
Thanks, Kugan98
Suja, Rose, Aarthii, thanks for all your concern.
I am sure all your prayers will surely cure me.
Thanks, every one. Take care, Kugan98
Suvai, Kugan says:ty::ty::ty::ty::
You have taken so much trouble to cook up a dish for me.
Thanks again Suvai, I will surely try it out.
Thanks again Suvai, Take care, Kugan98
Friends, I met a cook in India, he gave me some tips.
I am posting them here. Thanks, Kugan98
SOME TIPS WHILE MAKING BIRYANI
Soak the biryani rice for only 15 minutes.
Only then your rice will look long and beautiful.
For rice cooker biryani the water rato is 1 to 1 ½
Always put the washed rice in the boiling water.
Not before the water boils. Do not stir it often.
Add a small piece of raw papaya while cooking mutton
for biryani. It takes less time to cook the mutton.
If making onion raitha for biryani, add little salt to the onions.
Keep aside for a minute, then squeeze and wash in water.
You will not have strong onion smell.
Small cubed bread slices fried in ghee, add more taste to the biryani.
Saute more onions in low flame in ghee while making biryani.
It gives a very nice taste and aroma.
When adding garlic and ginger, they should be the same amount.
Biryani would taste better if consumed after keeping for about 5 hours.
Oh Amazing stuff Kugan ka, you are truly divine when it comes to cooking :)
Many Many thanks, I will try it this week end, and let you know
Take care of your health !
Nice tips K :)
Kugan, I just came here and saw all the posts. With so much good will, you will definitely come out of this. All the best, will keep you
in my prayers.
Kugan dear,
neenga enna enna sapidalam..list pannunga pl..
doctor kae doctor venum - udambu dhan idhu..enbadhu pola...,..
ungaluku - engalal mudinjdha recipe thara try panrom......... konjam variety kedaikudha parkalamae..........
wat about Lemon......... orange....... grapes........ sollunga kugan..........
Tvs aunty, no sour fruits for Kugan... so orange,lemon ellam out...
dev,
thanks for the info.. hmm pulipu kudadha....
Kugan, thanks for the grilled tofu. Looks great, will try out soon.
kuganka,tofu recipes looks good.
Thanks kuganka
A simple chicken fry recipe by Chef Damu...
Heat 2 tbsp oil. Add sombu and curry leaves. Let brown.
Add slit green chilles, onion-1 chopped fine. Let it turn slightly brown.
Add 1/2 kg chicken, 2 sp coriander pwd, 1/2 sp chilly pwd, 1 sp pepper powder, turmeric,salt. Cook on medium flame-covered. No need to add water as the chicken will ooze out enough water.
once done, add a tbsp or 2 of pottu kadalai powder and keep mixing. keep flame on low. Cook for 2-3 till the raw smell goes off and the chicken dries out. Add more oil if masala sticks to bottom. The masala should coat each piece of chicken well.
Take off flame and add lemon juice if u wish to.
Serve garnished with coriander leaves.
Thanks Dev, for the chicken recipe.
I too owe a chicken pepper fry recipe to Rose75.
I will post soon.
Dev, do you remember the pasta episodes we had.
My friend sent me a Kerala pasta recipe.
She is bugging me why I have not posted it yet.
I will post soon. Thanks and take care. Kugan98
This is what my friend called this curry.
It tasted nice with chapathi in India:thumbsup:. Kugan98
POTATO PULI KULAMBU
Ingredients:
½ kg small potatoes or cut into cubes
3 medium onions sliced
4 medium tomatoes sliced
1 lime sized tamarind
3 tsp chillie powder
3 tbs coriander powder
¼ tsp turmeric powder
1 tbs oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp cumin seeds
½ tsp urad dal
¼ tsp fenugreek seeds
Little coriander leaves
Method:
Use 4 cups of water to extract the tamarind juice.
Heat oil in a wok, add all the seasonings.
Let them splutter. Add in the sliced onions.
Sauté well till they turn lightly brown. Add in the tomatoes.
Stir fry and cook till they turn mushy.
Add in the potatoes, turmeric , chillie and coriander powders.
Stir fry for a couple of minutes. Add in salt and the tamarind water.
Let it come to a boil, lower the heat.
Simmer till the potatoes are cooked.
Add little water if the gravy is very thick.
Remove and garnish with the coriander leaves.
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5213/...c7cc4b49_z.jpg