Both the movies are black and white.....Gayathri story was written by Sujatha.
Printable View
Raghu, what about the title song, also SPB. Glad you watched it. Ithukku poyee alattikkalamaa.....could have been a catchphrase, but never caught on....
grouch, continue the discussion on Rajini and screen kids here..
Eh? What else to discuss, Plum?
His characters likes only nephews and nieces. Re: Kali, Puthiya Kavithai. Anonymous orphaned kid, Anbulla Rajinikanth (it was supposed to be Anbulla Bagyaraj, so case could be rejetted). All awarded with songs of lauv.
Loves mothers: So many, don't know where to begin with. "Recent" example, Talabathi/Mannan/Uzhaippali. All except Talabathi gets adoring song. Talabathi gets background song. Poor relationship with the Sujathas though (check my blog post on Sujatha).
Loves sister - Also many, but ones get lovely song = Dharmayuttam, Nan Sigappu Manithan. You know what happened to them. Bhairavi gets post mortem song
Bad relationship with daughters. Re: Nallavanukku Nallavan / Annamalai. Both gets post-heartache songs.
Bad bad relationship with brothers. From 6 to 60, to Padikadhavan and Dharmadurai. Also post-heartache songs.
Son and songs? Any idea? Except for your suggestion on Nan Seitha Kurumbu.
More troubled history here - pethu eduthava dhAn from Velaikkaran, a seething rant against mom. But then the Mom was KR Vijaya so no wonder he was vexed.Quote:
Loves mothers: So many, don't know where to begin with. "Recent" example, Talabathi/Mannan/Uzhaippali. All except Talabathi gets adoring song. Talabathi gets background song. Poor relationship with the Sujathas though (check my blog post on Sujatha).
There is further trouble with Mom/dad in Panakkaran, too, but he chose to rant against the all-powerful God/Fate. Fair enough, too much mom/dad trouble in his filmography to restrict ranting to the one screen mom in that movie. It was, like, a collective rant for all his troubling moms/dads until then.
Sarada inspires a post-mortem en thaayin meedhu aanai. Sathyaraj, the dad, cops it rather badly as a result.
Sons are trouble. The great man knew this and kept off them - he got an early warning in neRRikaNN with the heartless son singing mAppiLLaikku mAman manasu at him with derision. Ever since, he swore to beget only daughters and I think he stuck to that - even in real life.Quote:
Son and songs? Any idea? Except for your suggestion on Nan Seitha Kurumbu.
Grouch, idhaiyellAm collect paNNi oru post pOttudunga indiaglitz-la - you will get more facebook requests from Rajini fans :-)
Rakesh anna
Yes the titile song was good as well, :) but Just love the Nakkal Laugh SPB ji does when saying " Ithukku poyee alattikkalamaa" , only SPB possible :notworthy:
Rajni and Saritha acting was "Awesome", esp the scenes when he beats the hell out of the badie with the belt!
Rakesh bhai
I read your Blog, very well written :clap: I agree with you on every thing, except the 'Handsome' bit :) , (I think Kamal/Karthik/Raghuvaran Falls in this Aspect )
BTW, On your blog, there is a picture of Rajni Uncle as Lord Krishna, was this a Telugu Film ?? :roll:
Most biggie heroes (excl Sivaji) would have had relatively fewer opportunities on screen to have children at all (may be 10%?) because they want to dance around young girls and get married to them in the last scene for the fairy tale 'lived happily ever after' ending :wink:
So, the results will be more or less similar if one conducts analysis on others (e.g. MKT / Kamal / MGR / Vijay )as well...
In the movie "SIVA", thalivar would also have a baby boy, and there is a song about the birth of his baby boy.
App: sivajikku excl potta neenga Kamalkum neenga excl poda vendi varum. Mahanadhi, nayagan, mumbai express(step son with Manisha being not even a respectable wife), sippikul muthu - evlo evlo? oru avasarathula kamalaiyum listla serthuttinga ignoring facts
Even vijayakanth did that movie with ambika where he has many children and pulan v with a teenage girl, sathriyan and the reln with kids is quite deeply captured on screen. Not to mention Ramana
In Rajini's case, the peculiarity is that he has troubled family history even where he has daughters like annamalai and n.nallavan
Adhai sonnA ninga duet, trees, penchant for young heroinesnu dhisai thirupparinga?
neenga solRadhu sari thAn :-) irunthAlum, % of movies with children for most heroes may not exceed 10% of their career count :wink: (much less in the case of u.s.vAlibar)
appuRam Rajini had "non-troubled" sildren in Padayappa :wink:
Adutta Varisu on TV.
Appovum pidikkala. Ippovum pidikkala. Pidikkala pidikkala pidikkala.
But songs are great though. The tailore-made for Rajini, Aasai nooruvagai is indeed his intro in the movie. Kaviriye Kavikkuyile is fantastic. Waiting for it to be covered in the other thread.
They also had Polladhavan right before Adutha Varisu last night. Having watched both yesterday, I sincerely liked AV Rajini compared to the former. Though there's nothing much to be said about the story, Rajini to say the least, was suave & stylish in the movie. OTOH, Rajini in Polladhavan was just :roll:. And they had to make it worse by having the ever irritating Sripriya as the heroine :banghead:
Audaz, Sri Priya is taken care of and is dispatched in Flashback, so it was no issue for me. I like Rajini in Polladhavan coz lot more scope in acting, you know in the "ivar nallavara kettavara" variety. But in AV he was in autopilot. Only animated during the Aasai Nooru Vagai song. I felt Sri Devi did good job, however much she can within the bad script, if such thing existed.
[QUOTE=groucho070;695742] I like Rajini in Polladhavan coz lot more scope in acting, you know in the "ivar nallavara kettavara" variety. /[QUOTE]
:mrgreen: Didn't think he had any scope of acting in both films, actually. I really felt he was trying too hard in Polladhavan. The romance scenes with Sripriya :banghead:, the emotional scenes whenever Baby Anju comes into the picture :fatigue: and basically every other scenes with Lakshmi - it almost felt as if he was trying to cover up the loop holes in the script by overdoing the scenes.
At least in AV, he was more relaxed and subtle. Probably he knew that no amount of acting could save the film and just didn't bother trying. Movie was unbearable needless to say, but it really felt so good to see his stylish demeanor :smokesmirk:
Polladhavan is not perfect by any means. The director was previously directing Sivaji films, so you can't expect "subtle"ness if that means what I think it means to some in this forum. Not helped by MSV's more bombastic sound (old man actually got louder as he aged, then mellowed down). There's no need to cover loop holes in script. That kinda film those days didn't have loop holes, they had caves and sink holes, etha coverup pannurathu. Admit the lauv scene with Sri Priya was annoying indeed.
One thing I don't like seeing in Rajini is being relaxed, that's where he starts to look fake. Like a shark that need to constantly move to be alive, Rajini needs to be constantly brimming with energy, moving, emoting, assisted by punch lines, or punch dialogues, etc. I hated his Chandramukhi performance (except the overpraised lakalaka scene).
Keep going audaz, healthy discussion indeed :smile:
No wonder! If such a script was written for Sivaji, he would probably have filled in the gaps and holes with his royal laugh, or slow-mo walk with his stick or even by twitching his eyebrows up and down. Rajini OTOH, was just clueless about which expressions to give and end up looking goofy or worse shunning away from the camera.:(
Aahhh...this is where I have to differ. No one can do the energetic roles like him, I agree. Then again, I've also yet to see any other actors doing the subtle and toned down roles in the stylish manner as he does. Chandramukhi was definitely not subtle, Grouch. It was merely comical- blame it on P. Vasu! :twisted: I was thinking along the lines of Naan Sivappu Manithan, the second half of Puthu Kavithai and to an extent, even portions of Thalapathi- Not much of talking, yet suave and charming. This is definitely one of those "only Rajini-possible" stuff!:smokesmirk:
Polladhavan for NT would have been awesome, but not at that time. The song, Naan Polladhavan, Rajini did his take, and NT would have gone his Navarathiri-ish Iravinil Attam, or Needhi-ish Nala mudhal kudikkamaatten sarcasm. But it would have been great. I can't argue on your take on what if NT did it. Spot on. It needs some amping up and theatrics.
Actually, the films you mentioned, nalla partenggana he is not at all relaxed. Second half of Puthu Kavithai he's brooding. Ditto portions of Thalabathi.
AV on the other hand reminds me of other lazy Rajinis like in Thai Veedu (though he was quite animated), or Payum Puli or Tangga Magan, all hack job. In fact, AV had that challenge thing going on, which also occurs in Thambikku Entha Ooru, witness the difference between performance.
I guess you are right about CM, I back you in blaming Vasu.
Polladhavan vs Adutta Varisu. Anyone else with their five cents?
Dude,
Polladhavan may not have been the "best movie" , but it was certainly not bad! The train murder intro and when Lakshmi meets Rajni for the first time in house were all :clap: . The awesome song "Naan Polladhavan" by SPB was really awesome!, not to mention Rajni's style of dancing!
The "Menace" Rajni creates when Lakshmi goes to the Police Station is just creepy!
I liked Polladhavan Over Aduthu Varisu any day! Polladhavan had good songs by MSV like
1) Atho vaarandi vaarandi villendhi oruthan
2) NaanE endrun raaja
3) Naan Polladhavan
Oh yeah, actually that's my favourite of them all. Pudichatha padam pudikaathathaala mindla slip ayiducho?
Anyway, another reason I don't like Rajini's character here. Being involved Silk for long term relationship. Come on!!! And then got screwed (again) by a friend who once played his brother in 6 to 60!!!!
Paramu, I never said anything about Polladhavan being a bad film or that it was worse than AV or anything to that extent. Story wise, I can't say much for both the films-Polladhavan was cliched while AV was just stupid. Nevertheless, I just happen to enjoy watching Rajini in AV rather than in Polladhavan...felt he was more stylish and suave in the former than the latter. :smokesmirk:
Audaz, unless you are into MSV, not sure you'd like it. Good songs those, but can't beat AV (nothing against MSV, he has his own awesome track record).
I like MSV, Grouch :-D I wouldn't call myself a fan really. But there were many a times I've heard and enjoyed his songs even without knowing that he was the original composer. Kamban Yemaandhan and Ilakkanam Maruthoo still remain as my favorites :thumbsup:
Nevertheless, Polladhavan songs didn't really stick to my mind, although I only watched the film 2 days back :roll: