Thamizh madam
Padam pathutEla
Unga review pls :)
Thamizh madam
Padam pathutEla
Unga review pls :)
Hello Tamizh, posting links((positive/negative), is being done by everyone for whatever the pleasure may be, i have seen others do it (especially negative ones) very religiously in other threads/ for other films. i didn't have much of a opnion after seeing this movie, here in charlotte nc, usa, movie did not have a good run compared to other rajini films, i have loved other rajini films. you talk as if there are punithar's and munivars in the hub in general. Ithu ella edthaluyum naddakuthu. Anyway admire your kadamai Kanniyum and Kattupaddu, just take it easy...
All eyes are on the much-awaited biggie HOLIDAY - A SOLDIER IS NEVER OFF DUTY, which is expected to release in [approx] 400 screens in the international arena ... Telugu film MANAM continues to dominate USA Boxoffice. The film has fared very well in UK as well [limited screens] ... KOCHADAIIYAAN is holding very well in Malaysia in particular.
Weekend: 30 May - 1 June, 2014
United States of America
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross ($) Screens Total Gross ($) Total Gross (INR)
33 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 2 66,916 53 613,242 3.62 crores
37 The Lunchbox 14 46,564 54 3,300,748 19.50 crores
69 47 To 84 - Hun Main Kisnu Watan Kahunga (Punjabi) 1 4,696 10 4,696 2.77 lacs
71 Heropanti 2 4,592 7 36,815 21.75 lacs
76 Mundeyan Ton Bachke Rahin (Punjabi) 1 2,698 6 2,698 1.59 lacs
104 Kochadaiiyaan (Hindi) 2 555 4 15,823 9.35 lacs
114 2 States 7 310 1 1,838,712 10.86 crores
Note: Some screens yet to report.
Canada
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (US$) Screens Total Gross (US$) Total Gross (INR)
17 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 2 21,047 13 100,238 59.22 lacs
26 Mundeyan Ton Bachke Rahin 1 10,163 9 10,163 6 lacs
36 The Lunchbox 12 5,951 9 513,518 3.03 crores
41 Heropanti 2 3,696 4 19,858 11.73 lacs
89 Kochadaiiyaan (Hindi) 2 32 1 132 7,799/-
United Kingdom and Ireland
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (£) Screens Total Gross (£) Total Gross (INR)
23 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 2 14,883 10 146,824 1.46 crores
26 Manam (Telugu) 1 11,055 2 11,055 10.96 lacs
46 The Lunchbox 8 2,448 13 470,644 4.67 crores
64 2 States 7 1,006 2 527,276 5.23 crores
Australia
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (A$) Screens Total Gross (A$) Total Gross (INR)
29 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 4 15,042 10 150,484 82.43 lacs
38 Heropanti 2 5,561 6 27,056 14.82 lacs
42 47 To 84 - Hun Main Kisnu Watan Kahunga (Punjabi) 1 3,897 6 3,897 2.13 lacs
46 Mundeyan Ton Bachke Rahin (Punjabi) 1 2,950 7 2,950 1.62 lacs
48 Waar (Pakistani film) 3 2,902 2 104,045 57.01 lacs
New Zealand
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (NZ$) Screens Total Gross (NZ$) Total Gross (INR)
19 Heropanti 2 7,880 5 29,232 14.64 lacs
20 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 1 5,038 1 5,038 2.52 lacs
39 Mundeyan Ton Bachke Rahin (Punjabi) 1 199 1 199 9,971/-
Hong Kong
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (HK$) Screens Total Gross (HK$) Total Gross (INR)
30 The Lunchbox 13 1,110 1 1,390,723 1.06 crores
Malaysia
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (MYR) Screens Total Gross (MYR) Total Gross (INR)
7 Kochadaiiyaan (Tamil) 2 173,164 27 859,581 1.58 crores
11 Kochadaiiyaan (Hindi) 2 7,924 2 30,278 5.56 lacs
18 Heropanti 2 2,250 1 4,860 89,200/-
Note: Reported screens only.
Germany
Rank Movie Weekend Weekend Gross (€) Screens Total Gross (€) Total Gross (INR)
68 The Lunchbox 28 2,374 8 1,254,829 10.11 crores
213 English Vinglish 49 33 1 107,434 86.60 lacs
Let us do the math.
US: 03.72 crores+ telugu version
CAN:00.6 crores
UK: 01.46
MAL:01.60
AUS: 0.80 crores
It adds up to 8.2 crores + singapore, middle east collection.
So, taotal overseas collection would be 10 crores!!!
I saw it on Tuesday and by Friday it was no longer at the theater I saw it at (which I noticed while looking up Manam's show times). I read that the prices were going to be slashed in half to encourage sales.
I posted teh RGV tweet because I came across it and thought it was hilarious -- my friend made a somewhat similar comment on seeing Kochadaiyaan's exaggerated six pack.
Kochadaiyaan (Kochadaiiyaan) Ends First Week With Rs 53 Crores At Box Office
tamil oneindia is pro-rajni and they have released this figures..Still they say film is doing good..:)
http://entertainment.oneindia.in/tam...ml#slide691339
1st 3 days 42 C,1st 5 days 51 C..after 1 week its 53C..Overseas coll alone 8.5C..after 2nd week-end total collection would be 60C
As i said the film will end with 70C-80C for 125C budget with 60:40 share for producers/owners and theaters resulting in loss of 70C for producers..huge flop..Kooti kalichi paaru kanakku sariyaa irukkum..
Media and distributors are trying very hard to have a decent run at Box office just because of name and fame rajni gained over the years..But still no luck..
Will rajni wife,daughters learn the lesson? They are the biggest enemy for Rajni by trying to exploit his name for their benefits and thereby damaging his image
Sorry, It may be irrelevant here but ....
The Sivan song in Kochadaiyan ( I know it is a Thevaram), which begins like "maasil veenaiyum malai mathiyumum" , what does "Maasi" mean ?
அது மாசி இல்லை. மாசு+இல்- மாசில். Meaning: Flawless
Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
Permit me to try :
Maasi directly refers to the tamil calender month with a period spanning between 15 February & 14 March. Its an auspicious period of Shivites as Shivaratri falls during this time. So Maasi is widely connected or symbolised when talking about Shiva, that you can find it in song usages. But it takes various meaning while combining it with the word that follows
"Maasil veenaiyum malai mathiyumum" is from Thirunaavukarasar Thevaram. Here is means the melody. The same combining with the evening states the wonderful atmospheric weather during the said period. So throughout the depiction of the verse, Maasil stands a call as the descriptive be it time period, adjective or symbolism to God himself.
Other subtle description can be found in a Duets like "Masila Nilave nam" or "Masila unmai Kadhale" : here its refers to Lovely. The moon is lovely during this period or she is lovely as this time of the year. Actually, it has to be read with the context of the narrative, and see the wonderment in the change of its usage.
In Kochadaiiyaan, it lauds Lord Shiva : further details, I invite you to look into Thevaram.
[Anything wrong or found wrong, I stand corrected]
Thanks Ajay
Mappi
Detailed explanation, thanks a lot, Is there any websites which translates these "Thevaramams" meaning into English?
I found this on the net
Maasil Veenaiyum Maalai Madhiyamum
Veesu thendralum veengila veynilum
Moosu vandarai poygayum ponradhee
Eesan endhai inayadi neezhalee.
Translation:
The shelter under the parallel feet of the God, my boss, is like the nice melody of Veena (Musical Instrument), the early evening moon, pleasant breeze, the Spring, a pond where bees are in making sound.
Finally the king decided to throw Thirunaanukkarasar into the sea tieing him to a big stone. He was taken in a boat to the deeper portion of the sea with the body tied to a stone. He was thrown in the sea. He was unruffled. That time he recited with great love and confidence on Lord Shiva this hymn. To the surprise of all others the stone became the boat and Thirunaavukkarasar got down in a village near Thiruppadhiripuliyoor (Kadaloor).
I wonder how this song would have translated in the Hindi / Telugu version, any one seen this in hindi / telugu ??
The Hindi lyrics roughly translate to
You are in the cool and breezy wind for everyone
in our prayers/hymns, our chanting/devotional singing,
we bow our head down in your awe and offer you a lotus,
our lives will be free of suffering/death,
Kochadaiiyaan is the only truth, Kochadaiiyaan is for everyone,
Power is the offspring of Kochadaiiyaan,
Shiva Great God
Sunil
How was the movie in hindi ?
1st day 1st show I found it engaging with every scene, but the turn out in my hall was non-existent, i went with my bro and sis in law, there was already a lady sitting in and a man came in 1/4 in the movie. Total of 5 of us. cinema was cineworld woodgreen
Ranking based on Chennai Box Office Collections from Jun 02nd 2014 to Jun 08th 2014 Week : 3
Total collections in Chennai : Rs. 5,29,60,240
Verdict: Above Average
Kochadaiiyaan has hung on with a substantial number of shows, with the 3D version taking the majority. But the film's huge budget has prevented it from attaining the Hit status.
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...ce-jun-08.html
Small confusion...
Kochadaiyan was supposed to be a "Pandiya king", Pandiaya dynasty was supposed to be around 4th century BCE, clearly at that time, there was no influence of our Anglo Saxons or our long lost Persian cousins alias moors, then how come the costumes, of the characters esp the soldiers resembles so much of the Saxons ??
Its not that way Paramashivan. EPIC genre has many sub-categories. Firstly, EPIC genre concentrates more on extravaganza than accuracy. Only its sub-genres differentiate it. Fantasy & Epic genres go hand in hand, only that the latter includes historical dates or names just to resgister a detail with the audience. A look at the sub-genres will clear the doubt for you :
EPIC Biopics : Kamaraj - This contains accuracy
EPIC Historical : Kochadaiiyaan - It only picks up certain aspects of the said time period notably a dynasty or its people or its issues. It can also mingle it with an imaginary tale.
EPIC WAR - Veerapandiya Kattabomman - Cares for a bit of accuracy with dates & names, but the events are produced at a gradeur level to enhance it as a viewer's spectacle.
EPIC Religious - Avvaiyar (my favorite film) : The name says it all. It mainly depends on a beleif and stirs it up with saints & legends who wandered the world.
Kochadaiiyaan is more inclined towards Fantasy, an imaginary story telling, where accuracy is not an ingredient.
yes, this is correct. maasu means flawed or impure (karai padintha.)
refer to songs such as maasilaa nilavE (flawless moon), maasillaa unmai kaathalE (pure love), maasaRu ponnE (flawless) etc.
maasil veenaiyum therefore means perfect music emitted from the veenai
NOV :notworthy:
I feel the " Rudra Thandavam" could have been extended a lot longer, "Kocahdaiyan engal Kocahadaiyan" was excellent, but it does not give the goose bumps effect like IR's "OM Shivohum Om Shivohum" . But "muthuvaha thaan methuvaha thaan" is seriously addictive song!
"
And the great danger at this point of the story is the temptation to make hasty reconstructions by piercing together fragments from literature and epigraphy which at first blush seem to have a connection with one another , but on closer scrutiny fail to support the super structure they have been made to bear. Great impediments to a proper understanding to records result sometimes from change suggestions thrown out by authorative scholars which is often repeated by their followers without the reservations with which they were originally given and occasionally even palable errors are handed down as Gospels.
"
- K.A. Nilakanta Sastri, 1929 : Extract from Pg37 The Pandyan Kingdom, from the Earliest Times to the Sixteenth Century
Total collections of Kochadaiyaan worldwide?
Finally saw it. The story is decent though it has shades of "Prince of Egypt" and Muthu/Padaiyappa. The graphics at times felt like watching a Playstation 2 cutscene and in places, the rendering felt incomplete.
Given the financial backing from Eros, I think they should've made it live action like they planned earlier. And if they're going for the Part 2 (ala Rana like it was orignally planned), they should consider doing it live action.
Would be the best decision. KSR knows how to mould Rajni properly over Soundarya.
And I think Part 2 has to happen. Heard somewhere that Rajni is under a 3-film contract with Eros, so when Rana was announced (later revised, re-versioned as Koch), I'd assume Rana was part of the deal and I guess if Lingaa is going to be marketed in Hindi with Sonakshi, they probably snapped Hindi rights as part of deal.
It’s been 50 days since the monstrous release of Kochadaiiyaan, India’s first ever photorealistic Motion Capture film, starring Superstar Rajinikanth and Deepika Padukone. The film, directed by Soundarya Rajinikanth Ashwin, is still running in a number of theaters in Tamil Nadu.
As far as Chennai, the film is being screened at Baby Albert, Robot Bala Abirami, PVR Multiplex, Studio 5 and few other theaters.
Also starring Sarath Kumar, Shobana, Rukmini Vijaykumar, Jackie Shroff, Aadhi and Nasser, the film is an AR Rahman musical, produced by Eros International and Media One Global Entertainment Limited.
We wish the team well and hope to see more such new attempts in the future.
http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies-...0-day-run.html
Ranadheeran
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ni3rkBYHulU
Member 'thatguy', this is exclusively for you. They have mainly used Blender Software, and the output is amazing. Plus there are 2 shots that they have picked from 300 (one, Rajini in the battle field and the other is Shobana in the fields), the animation had a great depth to such scenes.
EDIT
Tech Info from Youtube Comments Prasad Kumar :
"
Purely created on #Linux desktops. Ubuntu OS, Blender for animation and Gimp along with Audacity. Beauty of #OpenSource
"
800 hours of hard work gets mentioned in Hindu :
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...cle6242675.ece
Hats off to Realworks Studio
If only kochadaiyaan was as vibrant and colourful as that.