Dear Sonu!
It is true that most people would not like to part away with their cooking secrets. Only a few people are willing to share their recipes with others.
Regarding mothakam, we must prepare the flout for it. Soak the raw rice for an hour, drain the water completely and dry the rice on a white cloth in the shade of our house. Do not dry them by using fan. When they are almost dried, pound the rice in to fine flour. Sieve the flour thrice. Then put it in a cloth, bring the corners to the center and tie it, steam the flour for 15 minutes. When cooled, spread the flour on the cloth, completely cool the flour and then again sieve it finely. Then you can store it in a jar. This flour is called as ‘idiyappa maavu’ or ‘pathappaduthtiya maavu. You can keep this for more than a year. In native place, for making this flour, people use ‘maavu arisi’ [IR20 raw rice]. This rice will give rich white colour and much softness to the palakarams. This flour is always used for making idiyappams, putt varieties, kozhukkattai and mothakams. If we make the kozhukkattai maavu in to a soft texture, the mothakams or kozhukkattai will become soft and glossy without any cracks.
MOTHAKAM:
Ingredients:
Kozhukkattai maavu-1 ½ cups
Salt-1/4 tsp
Oil- 1 ½ sp
Water- 1 ½ to 2 cups
Shredded coconut-1 cup
Mashed jaggery- 1 cup
Ghee- 1 tsp
Cardamom powder- 1 tsp
Procedure:
Prepare a ‘kambi paagu’ with the jaggery.
Add the coconut with the ghee and the cardamom powder.
Cook it until it is thickened.
Let it cool down.
Sieve the flour with salt.
Put it on a broad bowl and pour the oil.
Boil the water.
Pour it to the flour slowly mixing well all the way.
If the water is not sufficient, boil a little more water.
Knead it to a soft dough.
Make a small ball and flatten it thinly on a plantain leaf piece which is greased with gingelly oil.
Put a spoon of pooranam on it.
Bring all the corners to the center and press well in the center which will look like a ‘gopuram’.
There are so many moulds for making ‘mothakams’ nowadays.
Steam the mothakams for 10 minutes.
NB: there are so many varieties in ‘pooranams’. I have written here a simple one.
My blogs:
www.manoskitchen.blogspot.com
www.muthukuviyal.blogspot.com
Hello Mrs.Mano,
Few days back saw this site while looking for authentic Tamillian recipes and immediately registered. I saw your huge collection and am amazed .. so many are there !
Am very eager to copy all of them and try out one by one.
See you later with my first feedback :)
Gee.
Dear geecee!
Welcome to Forumhub!
I have posted here lots of recipes with greatest enthusiasm and sincerity for the past 6 years. But what gives me most pleasure and satisfaction is the viewer's feedback after trying my recipes.
I am also eagerly waiting for yr first feedback here!
aunty,
what is the difference between sambar satham and kadhamba sadham. i saw the both the receipes , i want to try kadhamba sadham. taste will be different. please let me know.
aunty,
also i saw kadappa receipe. can we try that with kadalai paruppu?
Dear Selvi!
I regret for the delay in replying you.
The differences between sambar sadham and kadhamba sadham are the spices and the vegetables. Coconut is also added in kadhamba sadham.
The Kadappa is a delicious dish and could be a suitable side dish for dosa as wella s chappaathi.
Selvi! I really appreciate your immense interest in cookery. I also admire your careful and devoted upbringing of your children especially with culinary interests.
Selvi! Could you post your vendaikkai pachadi here about which we have discussed in our conversation?
SROUTS CABBAGE PORIYAL:
Ingredients:
Green gram sprouts- 1 cup
Finely shredded cabbage- 3 to 4 cups
Finely chopped green chilles-2
Finely sliced onion-2
Finely sliced capsicum-1/4 cup
Salt to taste
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Black gram- 1 tsp
Asafetida powder- half sp
Oil-2 tbsp
Shredded coconut- 3 tbsp
Chopped coriander- half cup
Procedure:
Heat the oil in a pan and add the mustard seeds.
When they splutter, add the black gram and the asafetida powder.
Fry them on slow fire for a few seconds and then add the onion and the green chillies.
Fry them for a few seconds.
Add the sprouts and the cabbage and cook without adding water for a few minutes.
When the vegetables are half done add the capsicum and the salt.
Cook for a few seconds.
Sprinkle the coconut and the coriander leaves.
Toss for a second and then serve.
APPLE DATE THIRATTUPAL
Ingredients:
Milk- 11/2 liters
Red Apple-2 to 3
Date-10 pieces
Saffron-a pinch
Sugar- half cup
Ghee-2 tbsp
Sliced almonds-1 tbsp
Chopped cashew nuts- 1 tbsp
Raisins-2 tbsp
Procedure:
Pour the milk in a big pan and boil it until it is thickened to half of the quantity.
Shred the apple and chop the dates finely and add them to the boiling milk.
Add the saffron and cook it continuously on medium fire.
Add the sugar and mix well.
Fry the nuts and the raisins in the ghee to golden brown and add them to the boiling milk.
When the milk is thickened, take it away from the pan and cool it in the fridge.
dear aunty,
thanks a lot for clearing my doubts. i want to try those receipes at the earliest. sambar sadham is all time hit in our house. i want to try kadhamba sadham this week.Next full week kids are at home, after that back to school.
Thanks for ur words, i want to bring my children how my mom brought us. That time, i was thinking why my mom is doing with us like that. but now, i really proud of her, she taught everything to us apart from studies.
when people like u appreciate us, i really feel very happy and all the credit goes to my mom only.
thanks a looooooooooooot aunty.
Aunty tonight i will post the vendaikai patchadi.
i will try kadappa next time and dates apple thirattupal is very new, i will try and let u know. vishal asked to me make sweet and snacks.
in these holidays, i made ribbon pakoda, thattai, murukku and banana chips for them.
now they want me to make maida biscults(diamond -sweet) and laddu.
Goes well for paruppu kulumabu.
Vendaikai puli patchadi:
========================
drunstick - 2 , cut in to 3 cm each
brinjal - 5 medium size, cut into small squares
lady's finger - 10 to 15 cut into 1/2 cm each
tamarind extract - from lemon size of tamarind
[Optional:
--------
peerkangai - 1 small, cut into small squares
valakai - 1 small, cut into small squares
motchai - 1 handful
double beans - 1 handful]
in a kadai, add 2 tsp of oil add kadukku, urad dhal, vadagam, one red chilly, 2 medium size onion chopped, curry leaves. stir fry for 2 mins. then add medium size tomato chopped, lady's finger, fry for 2 to 3 mins and keep it aside.
in a vessel, add the tamarind extract, once it comes to boil add vegetables except lady's finger. add salt, turmeric powder.
sambar - 2tblsp or redchilly powder - 1 1/2 tsp and coriander powder - 2 tsp
cover and cook. when the vegetable are 75% done add the lady's finger mixture to the veges. cover and cook nicely.
now make a coarse paste from 3 tblsp of coconut, 1/2 tsp jeera, 2 cloves of garlic and transfer to vege mixture. allow it to cook for sometime. once it is done, remove from fire.
this can be served with paruppu kulambu. basic vege is drumstick, lady's finger and brinjal.
options are
----------
1. only lady's finger
2. lady's finger and brinjal
3. lady'sfinger, brinjal, peerkangai
4. lady'sfinger, brinjal, valakai, drumstick
5. some fresh beans (soya, double beans, mochai etc.)
puli should be mild.
aunty try this and let me know.
Dear Selvi!
Thanks for posting here yr nice recipe.
Your appa and amma always used to appreciate me on my recipes and my upbringing of my son. Whenever I happen to meet good and devoted young mothers, I never fail to praise them because I know fully well how much happiness we get when we are praised on our good things.
vanakam nga mrs mano.....hope yr grandson/u & all at home are well....:-)
onga kita "aravana payasam" ngra recipe irunthaa podunga plz......it is a kerala dessert...& its very delicious...ilaina no worries.
thanks nga!
mrs mano.....i tried your pongal & it came out deliciously & paathiram kaali totally :mrgreen:
thank u for yet another super recipe nga!
Dear Suvai!
Thanks a lot for the nice feedback on ‘Pongal’. Is it sarkkarai pongal or paruppu pongal?
Here is the recipe for ‘Aravana payasam’.
ARAVANA PAYASAM:
Ingredients:
Rice - 1 cup
Ghee - half cup
jaggery – 1 ½ cups
cardomom powder - 1 tsp
raisins – 1 tbsp
cashew – 15
Slivers of coconut- 2 tbsp
Small kalkandu- 2 tbsp
Procedure:
Wash rice and drain the water.
Dry them in a cloth for half an hour.
Fry them in a tbsp of ghee to golden brown.
Cook the rice to a smooth texture by adding enough water.
Add 3 tbsp of ghee to the rice now and blend the rice and ghee on low flame.
Add mashed jaggery to this rice and cook for a few minutes until everything is well blended.
Add rest of the ghee
Garnish with fried raisins, cashew nuts, coconut slivers and kalkandu.
Dear Mrs.Mano,
I made your recipe of WHEAT KULKANDH last week and it was very very delicious. My family enjoyed it very much and have asked for it again this weekend :)
As it is very easy recipe , measurements were perfect and quick to make also, a very good one to have in hand even when sudden guests come.
Thanks for sharing your recipes here.
Have a lovely day .
Gee.
Oh, I forgot to ask you Mrs.Mano, if you've posted recipe to make the biscuits called 'varukki' popular in Coonoor / Ooty ? I went thro' the index of recipes , but couldn't find it in any name.
When you have some free time, could you please post how to make those Ooty varukki biscuits ?
Thanks again.
Dear mrs mano....thank u so very much for posting the recipe of aravana payasam......neenga try panni irukeengalaa? I had it at a temple....& the taste was just out of this world....thanks nga once again for it....:-)
I tried yr parupu pongal ....exact measurements & method & it turned out super o super.....thank u & to dev too...avanga thaan sonaanga onga recipe super ah irukum nu...:-)
That is an interesting request for varuki nga geecee...:-)............ would be happy if it didnt have eggs....will wait for the recipe from mrs mano :mrgreen:
Dear Geecee!
Thanks a lot for the nice fedback on 'Wheat gulkandh'. Yes, it is a very simple but delicious sweet.
I do not know the recipe for 'Varukki'. I have asked some of my keralite friends also. they also do not know its recipe. If I come across the recipe, I will post it down here.
Dear Suvai!
Thank you very much for the feedback on paruppu pongal. I have never tried the aravana payasam. I got this recipe from one of my keralite friend. The ingredients seem very tempting and I will try it soon.
Dear mrs mano.......thippa rotti/thippa kaLi/naa ethanaala seiyapathunga?...not sure about the pronunciation either...not even sure which language...:mrgreen:...
if u have any idea of a recipe plz do share...thank u nga!
Dear Suvai!
It is surprising that you know about Thippa roti. How do you know about this dish? It is a very old one. This is my favourite dish also.
I do not know about Thippa kali. But I do know about Thippa roti. It is a very tasty dish. Just we must prepare like thick adai. There is no need to go for any other side dish other than Coconut chutney. But Tomato chutney or Tomato thokku will be more suitable than coconut chutney. Selvi had already asked for it. I am posting here this recipe for both of you!
THIPPA ROTI:
Ingredients:
Raw rice rawa- 3 cups
Black gram- 1 cup
Peppercorns- 1 tsp
Fresh curd- 1 cup
Bengal gram- half cup
Finely sliced onion-1 cup
Shredded coconut- half cup
Curry leaves- a handful
Chopped coriander- 2 tbsp
Salt to taste
Procedure:
Soak the black gram in enough water for 2 hours.
Wash the rawa and drain the water completely.
Add the pepeprcorns, Bengal gram and the curd with enough salt.
Mix well and keep it covered for an hour.
Grind the black gram smoothly and mix this with the rice rawa along with the greens, shredded coconut and sliced onions.
Thippa rotti can be made immediately or after one hour.
The batter should be thicker than the adai maavu
Heat a tawa, spread one big spoonful of better in to 2 cm thickness.
Pour gingelly oil around it.
Cover with a suitable lid and cook on slow fire.
When the bottom side is cooked to golden brown, flip the thippa roti to other side.
Do not cover with the lid this time.
Cook the other side to crisp and golden brown also
thanks aunty i will try thippa roti and let u know. some doubts are there, i will call u and clear it.
That's ok Mrs.Mano. When you come across the recipe, please do share here.
I tried your chettinad chicken kuzhambu this weekend and we were very very thrilled with the delicious taste. I've tried many recipes before & either masala will be too strong or will become too watery . Some how the taste won't be correct.
But your recipe the amount of ingredients & the proportion was just right , so the taste was very very satisfying.
Thanks a TON for such accurate recipe.
Gee.
Dear mrs mano.....:-) u r awesome for posting the thippa roti....actually a friend of mine mentioned about it while conversing & thats how i ended up enquiring...:-) Will surely try it & let u know soon....nga.
Not sure why they call thippa......very interesting ingri's & proportions nga.....thanks once again.
geecee would u mind posting the page in which u have found wheat gulkand...thanks in advance.
:cheer: Iniya Puthaandu Vaazhthukal nga mrs mano to you & to your family :cheer:
Hi Suvai,
In this link, http://www.mayyam.com/hub/viewtopic.php?t=5637, go down to the post by one hubber called Rajshank. She has given Mrs.Mano's complete collections in this link http://forumhub.mayyam.com/contribs/...f_Mrs_Mano.doc
which I've saved, but am printing in order like gravy item, tiffin item etc. because the different category is all mixed up.
The Wheat Kulkandh recipe is there after idli sambar and before Gulabjamun.
I'm re-posting it here for you to try & enjoy :)
WHEAT KULKANDH:
Heat ¾ cup of ghee in a kadai until it is melted.
Then add 1 cup of wheat flour and fry it to a light brown colour.
The fire should be low.
Then add 1 cup of sugar to it and mix well.
Then add 1 cup of boiled thick milk to it and mix well.
Add 1sp cardamom powder and fried cashew nuts to it.
Cook until it thickens.
Bye.
அன்புள்ள சுவை!
புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கு என் இதயங்கனிந்த நன்றி!
உங்களுக்கும் உங்கள் மகனுக்கும் என் இனிய புத்தாண்டு வாழ்த்துக்கள்!!
I WISH ALL MY FRIENDS A VERY HAPPY TAMIL NEW YEAR!!
Dear geecee!
Thanks a lot for yr nice feedback
on 'Chettinadu chicken kuzhambu'! I have posted a detailed reply to your inbox.
I am posting here two interesting recipes which are delicious for breakfast.
GREENGRAM SEMOLINA PONGAL:
Ingredients:
Semolina-2 ½ cups
Green gram- 1 cup
Asafetida- half sp
Turmeric powder- half sp
Curry leaves- 2 arc
Coarse pepper powder- 1 tsp
Cashew nuts- 2 tbsp
Ghee- half cup
Coarse cumin powder-1 tsp
Chopped coriander- half cup
Slit green chillies-3
Shredded ginger- 1 tsp
Salt to taste
Water-5 cups
Procedure:
Cook the green gram with the asafetida, turmeric powder and curry leaves until it is almost done.
Heat a small pan and pour the ghee.
On slow fire fry the cashew nuts to golden brown.
Then add the cumin, pepper, green chillies and the ginger.
Fry for a few seconds.
Add the coriander leaves and mix well.
Keep aside.
Heat a pan and add the water with enough salt.
When the water starts boiling sprinkle the semolina evenly in intervals.
When the semolina is almost cooked and all the water is evaporated, add the cooked green gram and the tempering.
Mix on slow fire for a few minutes until all the ingredients are blended smoothly.
My blogs:
www.muthusidharal.blogspot.com
BOTTLE GOURD KADAIYAL:
Ingredients:
Finely cut Bottle gourd- 3 cups
Chopped coriander- 3 tbsp
Finely chopped onion-half cup
Finely crushed tomato- half cup
Slit green chillies-3
Sambar powder- half sp
Salt to taste
Gingelly oil-4 tbsp
Tamarind- a gooseberry size
Mustard seeds- 1 tsp
Turmeric powder- half sp
Asafetida powder- half sp
Curry leaves- 2 arc
Procedure:
Soak the tamarind in enough water for half an hour and then extract its juice.
Heat a pan and pour the oil.
Add the mustard seeds and when they splutter add the onion, asafetida, tomato, curry leaves and the coriander.
Fry them for a few minutes.
Then add the bottle gourd pieces and fry for a few minutes.
Add the tamarind extract with the turmeric powder, sambar powder and enough salt.
Transfer this to a pressure pan and pressure cook for 3 whistles.
When cooled mash the vegetables finely.
This is an excellent accompaniment for this semolina pongal, idli, dosa and paruppu pongal!
www.muthusidharal.blogspot.com
Dear Mrs.Mano,
Thanks for your mail :)
I have one tiny doubt in this pongal recipe, does green gram mean the whole 'pachai payaru' ?? Or is it 'payatham paruppu' ?
If it is 'pachai payaru' we need to soak it overnight, right ?
I'm little confused here :D
Gee.
Dear Geecee!
Payaththamparuppu and paasipparuppu or paasipayaru are all the same. I have mentioned here the split green gram. You can cook directly as I have mentioned here. There is no need to soak overnight. Hope this explanation will help.
Yes Mrs.Mano, got it now :)
Happy Mother's Day to you nga mrs mano...:-)
Have you heard of a sweet named " Stickjaw" its mostly made in convents & its a special sweet prepared by nuns. If you get hold of it, kindly do post nga.
Thank you in advance.
Dear Suvai!
I have never tasted or tried this sweet. You can see the recipe in the following link.
http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Tam...tickjaw-126671
I have just mailed my reply to you.