http://dailythanthi.com/cn/cn_home.asp?newsres=2&issuedate=5/22/2007&secid=1#‘¡VRŸcÁ%20ÛPWecÂ¥%20‘WLÖÐWÖÇ!
This says the Logithadas movie will have KR's music...
[/tscii]
Printable View
http://dailythanthi.com/cn/cn_home.asp?newsres=2&issuedate=5/22/2007&secid=1#‘¡VRŸcÁ%20ÛPWecÂ¥%20‘WLÖÐWÖÇ!
This says the Logithadas movie will have KR's music...
[/tscii]
>>> was a lift from "Kallellaam maanikka kallaagumaa.."
Probabaly not as already IR lifted it as "inge naan kanden kadhai naayagi" from a sivaji starer film. Prabably ARR got inspired from that lift :)))) Idhu epdi
Mayamalava gowla va yaaru handle panninaalum ipdi dhaan poda mudiyum....
Paavan unga naala IRayum copy kat listla sekka vendiyadha pochu
>>>Not to forget the charanam part resembling "Inji idupazhagi"
Super...
idhu kooda IRa paathu dhaan ARR suttara...IR adhukku munnadi "yeh dil deewana hai" songa "inji iduppu"nu mathinaar..
Super...idhu thaan continuity of a Songs life.
http://www.indiafm.com/features/2007/05/23/2682/
'jAnE dO nA' is the director's fav...
and his all-time fav movie is 'moondRam piRai':-)
http://www.financialexpress.com/fe_f...tent_id=164668
So can we expect IR to come again in "Pa" ?
As long as he's got an original script, I think Raja's established himself a spot in Bollywood. He's bringing in the stuff RD Burman would be proud of.
He's truly the Thalaivar of music!
I "REALLY" hope that CK hits off well and it departs from Nishabd, but from the promos, I feel that Balki's done full justice to Maestro's tunes. Let's see if the script is a winner this friday.
Nickraman - whatever be the outcome, given IR's nature, he might refuse any offer in Bollywood on a whim! he is unpredictable in his choice of films as well
The real taste of "commercial" sucess for any music is when the auto/taxi/bus/canteen guys play it.. and thats what is happening with CK in Bangalore.
A lot of upmarket chauffer driven cars are parked near my office and i usually hear CK when i pass them :-)
Hail Raaja!
Yes, this is the best song in the album. Which song features in top10s?Quote:
Originally Posted by app_engine
"Which song features in top10s?"
The title track.
relactivex,
Is the CD out in Bangalore ? I could not get it last week.
CDs are available in Landmark,FORUM and looking at the cd rack there,quite a few sold out too :)
I bought the CD from Music world on the brigades. Shreya Ghosal is the USP of "Cheeni Kum"'s reach to the northies.
Her rendition of "cheeni kum"and the fluid bass lines give a very sophisticated, urban feel to our good old SPB's "mandram vandha".
The first interlude of baatein hawa would simply blow the minds of melody lovers. Despite Shreya, I miss the wcm strings of "vizhiyile mani vazhiyin". Esp the 2nd bgm is a mini symphony The neo refurbished orchestration is no match to the old wine.
Cheeni kum CD is worth buying atleast for those last 2 pure instrumental pieces. The first theme music has soft piano and cool violins
and in between when we hear the orchestral riff of "cheeni kum" song, the effect is just spine tingling. This is Raja's speciality.
This should befit the ending credits music and I can visualize the audience leaving the movie hall with tears of joy. [High hopes eh? :)) ]
The second instrumental is sax with jazz flavour.
not Jane do na??:(Quote:
Originally Posted by raja_fan
Thanks anyway!
thumburu,
The sax instrumental piece is a brilliant adaptation of 'en iniya pon nilAvE', in typical movie BGM / smooth jazz style. Balki being a fan of BM & IR, this choice is quite understandable. I only wish it lasted a little longer...
I never feel that the Sax melody is a rehash "En iniya.."
May be the breaks in the tune resemble that..but I believe this is a fresh work of IR, not on any remix request.
Thanks Thumburu. I bought the CD from Music World.
For the Rs.150 we pay, even the CD cover is not of good quality :( The design is such that it does not close properly..Do any body feel the same ?
Exactly my feeling.Quote:
Originally Posted by raja_fan
Its not En Iniya Pon Nilave.
that Sax melody has resemblance of 'naan dhaan sakalakalaavallavan....ilamai idho idho...' for me!
Kettu paarunga..
If that's the case, he should've rejected RGV's Shiva 2006 then. What a terrible waste of potential Varma's done (Granted, the old Shiva was the BEST.)Quote:
Originally Posted by irir123
I do remember back on Indiaglitz's talk with Raja himself. This was prior to Shiva 2006's release. Raja said that he prefered Cheeni Kum to Shiva 2006. Also, he didn't feel bothered with Ramu's request.
Not sure what it means but I think he enjoys Balki more than Ramu. And seeing that the film won tremendous appreciation and applause at Cannes, and the song being in the top 10 charts, we hope that the film clicks tomorrow.
Review of the movie by some British Londonwala:
http://entertainment.timesonline.co....cle1830910.ece
Quite interesting!
App_engine: the reviewer says one good thing - it is that AB sucks (which is what I have always felt and anyways expected from any decent critic abroad! unlike our desi critics)- by all means, IR's music might turn out to be the major attraction/feature of the movie!
and also, at Cannes, a majority of the guys amongst the audience were desis!
plus, Balki being a successful adman, is doing all the right things to promote the film - in the present day setup, where promotion and looks carry more weight than substance, the movie might just succeed for creating interest!
I wish Balki did a candyfloss romance with Hrithik Roshan or SRK and IR scoring the music! then, that would draw crowds for sure!
http://www.naachgaana.com/2007/05/23...at-cheeni-kum/
praises Raja...
Same article in bangalore vijay times today :)Quote:
Originally Posted by app_engine
"From the word go, Cheeni Kum appeals with its polished, luminous camerawork (P C Sreeram) and zesty music track (the incomparable Illayaraja)"
This review says the movie sucks bigtime!
http://film.guardian.co.uk/News_Stor...087234,00.html
My firewall does not let me open the guardian page. can somebody please paste the contents for me. Thanks.
And what about the standing ovation at cannes? Was that stage managed by Balki? or was it because most of the guys who saw at cannes were of desi origin? heck. who cares as long as desis like it and make it a hit.
Here You go !Quote:
Originally Posted by realactivex
Stars - * (1)
Phelim O'Neill
Friday May 25, 2007
The Guardian
Half baked: Cheeni Kum
While it's great to see so many foreign language films being set in London (and not making a big deal about it), this Indian comedy romance seems to have fallen into the trap of snaring a big star and giving him nothing to do. While it's true that for a certain number of Bollywood fans, simply seeing their screen idols is enough, for any chance of crossover success the films have to offer more. Bachchan is almost supernaturally popular in India; his performances in such 1970s movies as Deewar and Sholay were truly stunning and he was also the first Asian actor to be honoured with a waxwork dummy in Madame Tussaud's.
Here though he bumbles along as a cantankerous chef who falls for a woman some 30 years his junior. The story tends to veer away from potentially interesting points almost as soon as they come into view. It's not about cooking, the age gap, cultural differences or, seemingly, anything. The advertising is using words like "raw", "spicy" and "fresh", whereas "half-baked" would be nearer the truth. To run with the cookery theme, this is just a pile of ingredients that no one has been bothered to form into a recipe.
-deleted-
-deleted-
-deleted-
--deleted-
--deleted-
--deleted--
http://www.rediff.com/movies/2007/may/25cheeni.htm
3 1/2 stars ..
Raja sen gives unbiased ,though controversial reviews ..He follows his convention of not sliding thru the soundtrack or BGM of the movie !
When the mood is bitter sweet CheeniKum, Iam late about Ajantha. Yet, I don't listen to samples on the net and prefer to wait till CDs or cassettes come out.
Ajantha is a kaleidoscope of colors offering by IR recently in TFM after a dark gloom of Mayakannadi.
My best pick from the album is undoubtedly UnniKrishnan's "yarukku yaarendru". I rate this number at par with any nice song from Raja's 80's songs. Pleasant, upbeat tune, Unni's singing, nice orchestration, all these go hand in hand. My next pick would be IR-Shreya soft duet "yaarum thodaadha ondrai" . The interludes in this song simply caress me like a breeze.
"yenge irundhai isaiye" and "thoorigai " are routine IR melodies.
In "Thoorigai", Raja has used Paras/Lalitha raga scale for a change , instead of
his favorite Keeravani/SindhuBhairavi/Mayamalavagowlai mould. The Manjari's song "oh Ilaigyan rasigan" is quite interesting.
It begins like an 80's disco retro and then annoyingly goes to use the tribal beats of "aasaiya kaathule". But wait . Dunt skip this song as it morphs into sweet melody after that and ends with classical sudhadhanyasi swaras . It deviates from the pallavi- 2 charanam structure.
"Kaiyil oru keyboard" and "poduda" are bleak colors.
Manjari has grown into a mature singer in this album.
Another cheeni kum review:
http://www.merinews.com/catFull.jsp?articleID=125148
About music it says (and thats all it says):
"Illaiya Raja’s music is in sync with the film."
Krishnan
This shows why people like IR are not taken seriously in the north..
For these people ( northies ), a film means just the story and the actors..nothing else..no technical people behind the screen..no musician, no camera man, no editors..nothing..hopeless creatures :banghead:
btw.., Cheeni kum review at 8.30 PM today at NDTV..lets see what they have to say !
http://www.moneycontrol.com/india/ne...essert-/283314
most sensible, balancd review so far- and yet, no mention of the BGM!!
http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/...1700140300.htm
"Sometime in the future, Balki also hopes to work with his other favourite actor, Kamal Hassan, whose Moondram Pirai (Sadma in Hindi) he has watched 22 times. Among directors admired are Baalu Mahendra, Bharatiraja, Mani Ratnam and Karan Johar, who, according to Balki, is among the most honest and fun filmmakers."