Originally Posted by pro20035
Hello All,
A lot of nonsense is being discussed in these columns of late. The impression i get from all people is that ilayaraja has commited a great mistake. The forum seems to be divided into those who think that he should confess to his so called sins and those who think that regardless of his crimes and misdemeanours his music is what that really matters. Basically it seems that IR has been judged guilty even without a trial .
I have been sceptical about TIS from the beginning itself, due to a lost of reasons. The ambitions, motives and scope were not clear. A new, but controversial thing is that involvement of fans and fan groups in funding of the project.
I would like to analyse this issue from all viewpoints and try to stir a decent, rational and intelligent debate. It is not a big suprise that i have given preference to my viewpoints , since it is my posting.
First of all, what were the motives of the project and were they viable? The official line is to take the message of thiruvasagam to the younger generation who have lost touch with their spiritual roots. Only IR can tell us what the real motive is. I dont think making thiruvasagam in symphony is any way to do that. For starters, there are two unknowns( thiruvasagam and symphony), which makes it difficult to reach a larger audience. Contrary to original claims that it would be made in tamil, english, hindi, german and so on, eventually we ended up making it only in tamil, which severely restricts the range of the product to a few tamil speaking people in tamilnadu and the tamil diaspora, which is not so large compared to the hindi speaking group. Making an instrumental project without music, on the lines of HOW TO NAME IT or NOTHING BUT WIND would have given an international reach. Dont know who gives ideas to IR or if any person has that power to.
Second, once a project has been conceived, it has to be implemented in a professional manner. Once the feasibily and viability of the project has been ensured, a professional approach has to be taken to take the project to its conclusion. Who dealt with this. A Father who has no experience in managing such a project and a bunch of novice fans who have no experience in a project of such scale. It was obvious from this stage, that it would be a roller coaster ride all the way.
Fund raising- This was not at all done in a professional way and i have serious misgivings about the way it was done. I am still not sure why fans should have to fund the project. As somebody said if IR wanted to do this project for self satisfaction ane ego integration of achieving his lifes purpose, he should have funded it himself and it is not a big deal for a man who has earned so much in the last twenty five years( 25lakhs perfilm as suggested by somebody is absolutely over the top. Even top music directors (contemporary)like harris jeyaraj dont earn that much. Yuvan earns approximately 6 lakhs per film) He even donated more than 20 lakhs worth of jewels to his favourite deity.The fund raising was done professionally by some , such as the yahoo groups, where each contributor has been listed and the entire money which has been raised been announced and then handed over to the tamil mayyam. What about the other groups. For starters, i paid more than 500 dollars for the project , which has not been listed till now. I can prove this by my receipts. I can give the list of my friends names who have had similar experiences. The tamil mayyam and other groups keep claiming about loans they incurred for the project. I am baffled by these claims. Throughout the project , nobody said that TIS- USA are getting loans for the project. I think this is the biggest mystery in the project. We were led to believe that TIS_ USA is involved in bringing together people who were willing to donate to the project. At what stage were they involved in the sponsoring of the project. Who did they get the loans from? ARe they willing to publish the guys who gave them loans.
What is the expenditure of the project? Why did it require 1.4 crores. The expenses involved seem to be the hungarian orchestra and other foreigners used in the project. My technical knowledge in music is not adequate, but in my opinion, only POLLA VINAYEN requires a symphonic orchestra. All other songs could have been easily recorded in india. The album does not have such a staunch western classical slant, which could not have been recorded in india itself. Why go to Hungary?Only one song has childish english lyrics. Why do we have to go to New york for his lyric. Even myself could have written the english lyric. And why use the new york guy for sound mixing. I cant see any big necessity for that. AR Rahman and Harris Jeyaraj have incredible sound recording in their albums, which are better than TIS on any day. There is no point in keeping on whining that it costed 1.4 crores. Nobody is going to believe it, unless the exact expenses are listed. I am sure more than 50 % of the project has been funded by fans and sponsors, so u cant keep saying the budge is 1.4 crores. Does the budget include salary for IR and his trips. It would be a big surprise and disappointment if it is so.
There were inconsistences, misinformation throughout the project. There is no time or space for listing all of them. The project date has been postponsed so many times. They were saying IR met kalam one day and he actually meets them 2 months after that. There were claims galore, none of which seem to have materialise, such as the claim of donation of profits tsunami victims. What happened to those?
Initially it was said that they have to go to welgate, because there were no takers. it was clearly mentioned in one of those earlier letters by father or his group that big names did not think the project is viable. Eventually it landed up on welgate. So , who are we supposed to believe. Just because a father or some guys in US accuse IR,it doesnt automatically mean IR is guilty and it does not also mean we are going to believe it.
It is fair to ask the people involved, to give a list of all donors, including the sponsors and how much money was raised. This will enable to find out where it went wrong.
It is a big shame that the project is called a loss. No project in recent times, including movies got as much unanimous publicity as TIS got. The media and celebrites endorsed it unequivocally and the sales was unparalleled. No non film album in recent times has received so much warmth and support. The sales record should be published to confirme if it is really a loss and if it is a loss the blame should completely fall on tamil mayyam and other guys who were involved who failed to use such goodwill and publicity.
The Fathers letter seems to be suggesting that IR should be adored for his music rather than for his financial dealings. I am not prepared for accepting this verdict. It has to be proved that IR has done something wrong. He may have, but equally he might not have and everybody is presumed innocent until proven guilty. For me the needle of suspicion points exactly to the opposite direction of IR . It is for these people to clarify their positions. If there are loopholes in the contract, it is the mistake of the guys who signed the contract. It is a different matter if IR has violated a contract. But if he is just doing what is in the contract, how can we blame him. It is very implicit in the fathers letter that IR is doing things according to the contract.
My conclusion, although not completely based on solid evidence, but putting together what is in public domain is that the project surprised everybody and did far better than expected. So there is lot of money available. Sharing the spoils has become the bone of contention and everybody seems to be pointing the finger at the other person
Mere barking and expletives wont make me change my opinion. Sane and rational arguments are welcome. The whole project is a good case study for everybody who wants to know how a project should not be done.