Dev I will ask my friends in Kerala about this orange halwa.
I will come back to you.
Thanks. Kugan.
Printable View
Dev I will ask my friends in Kerala about this orange halwa.
I will come back to you.
Thanks. Kugan.
Suvai, sorry nga neega illa, its Shanthy who asked for
kaara boonthi recipe. I will post it soon.
Appuram Malaysia la venthya keerai kidaikathu.
Thats the reason I do not cook it.
You know I like to post a recipe with the picture
that I have cooked. let me see, if I can post recipe only.
Thanks Suvai. Ippa ungga morekuzhambu.
It was finger licking good.
Aunts Masala Morekuzhambu: By Suvai
Ingri:
Pulitha more about 750 gms ( silupi vaikavum)
Thakali (if small two cut into 4)
Turmeric 1/2 tsp
Ithai moondrum onnaga serthidunga.
( Pachai Arisi & Thuvaram parupu irandum serthu 1 Tblsp - ithai soak pannidunga water la & keep it aside)
Araika vendiyathu:
Varamilagai 8 or 10 or less, Chinna vengayam 6( small in size)
Jeeragam One Tblsp plus a little more 1/2 tsp. Coconut about 1 handful. Garlic about 4 pips size about 1/3 of the viral. 1/2 teaspoon vendhayam. Ivai ellaam araithu kollavaum along with the arisi & thuvaramparupu soaked.
Method...The ground mixture of coconut is now to be poured into the thayir....& mix it adding salt.
now cut one( red prefered slice it )/ kruvepilai/ Nallenai about 1/1/2 Tblspoon/ jeeragam. (she means red dry chillie)
In a pathiram add Nallenai about 1 & 1/2 Tblspn....add kadugu & jeeragam to this u can add karuvepilai Keep heat on medium only.........now add the thayir mixture & keep on mixing it ilaati thayir will curdle......keep adding cut karuvepilai...it will smell good....pachai vasanai of the garlic onions ellaam poganum about 10 mins mix pannikitey irukanumnga.....apuramaa.....kadalai parupu vadai panni podunga....rombaaaa super ah irukum....Smile try pannitu sollunga...this is a very unique masala more kuzhambu....& the credit goes to my aunt...Smile
Note: I have not made any changes to this recipe.
It is really yummy. Thanks Suvai.
[html:15d77a45eb]
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/3762/img5925g.jpg
[/html:15d77a45eb]
Thanks Nithi for the lovely song.
The eldest brother is like our NOV anneh.
Do enjoy the thread.
Thanks. Kugan98
Nithi....thank u for youtube song thoughtful of u to find everyone here as a family! :-) Thanks once again.
Kugan nga....awesome that you tried & liked it.............thank u for posting the picture too!!! u r amazing.
I am glad that my "kanN alavu" worked out well for u....thanks nga :-)
s
Kugan,
Thanks alot for the Mothagam recipe. Shall try it this weekend and will keep u posted.
Thank you & keep rocking
Superspiczy
Thanks Suvai, ungga kann alavu ippadi peramaathama irukkuna?
Ungga kai alavu eppadi irukkum?
Supera irukkum. Ithu eppadi irukku? :lol:
Jokes aside well done Suvai.
Kugan98
Superspiczy, thanks for dropping by.
Do the mothakam and give us the feed back.
Thanks. Kugan98
[tscii] Try this simple dish.
BEAN SPROUT PORIYAL
Ingredients:
300 grms bean sprouts
1 onion chopped
2 green chillies chopped
2 medium potatoes cubed
1 tsp ginger paste
2 tbs scrapped coconut
½ tsp cumin seeds
2 small bay leaves
½ tsp red chillie powder
½ tsp cumin powder
¼ tsp tumeric powder
¼ tsp garam masala powder
2 tbs oil
Salt to taste
Method:
Heat oil in a wok, add the whole cumin seeds and bay leaves.
Add in the potato cubes and the tumeric powder.
Sauté the potato till they develop a golden tinge.
Add in the onions, green chillies, ginger paste, cumin powder,
Red chillie powder and sauté well.
Sprinkle little water and fry well till oil separates.
Add the bean sprouts, garam masala powder and salt.
Mix nicely till the masala has mixed nicely with the sprouts.
Add in the scrapped coconut and stir fry till all the water has dried.
Remove and serve with rice.
[html:58983d6c62]
http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/1180/beansprout.jpg
[/html:58983d6c62]
[quote="kugan98"]Thanks Suvai, ungga kann alavu ippadi peramaathama irukkuna?
Ungga kai alavu eppadi irukkum?
Supera irukkum. Ithu eppadi irukku? :lol:
:rotfl: :rotfl: kai alavu perusu thaanga kugan !!! kamiya samaika theriyaathu enaku... :mrgreen:
kugan...i tried both yr pakodas & garlicless rasam.......super ah vathathu....thank u thank u..........:-)
i tried yr chutney too...didnt add vinegar added lemon...it tasted very good!
thanks again!
:redjump: அனைவருக்கும் வினாயகர் சதுர்த்தி வாழ்த்துகள் :redjump:
http://files.myopera.com/Tamil/album...yagar%2003.jpg
PillayAr-ku cut pannura mAthiri saiva cake recipe irunthA yaar-Avathu pOdungga pa... :noteeth:
Happy Vinayagar Chathurthi to u too Thalafanzzz!
Kunga nga & friends!!!
[html:ef6ef79948]
http://live2cook.files.wordpress.com...chathurthi.jpg
[/html:ef6ef79948]
Happy VINAYAGAR CHATHURTHI to all my friends.
May the Lord shower his grace on all human beings
on this earth. Kugan98
Thalafanz thanks for your wishes.
Suvai thanks for your wishes and comments.
WOW! Nov anna ungga veetu pooja peramatham.
Thanks anna for the wishes.
[tscii]All still in the mood of the festival.
KADAMBA SAATHAM
Ingredients:
For Sambar:
½ cup toor dal, soaked and boiled and cooked till soft
3 tbs tamarind paste dissolved in 1 ½ cups of water
1 cup tomato chopped
1 tsp tumeric powder
¼ tsp asafetida powder
2 tbs chopped coriander leaves
Salt
4 cups of mixed vegetables, cut into cubes and strips.
(Potatoes, red pumpkin, brinjal, carrot, beans, broad beans,
Plantain, cauliflower)
Spice Mixture:
2 tbs channa dal
1 tbs coriander seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
7 dry red chillies
3 tbs grated coconut
1 tbs oil
Roast all the ingredients and grind to a smooth paste
Tempering:
3 tbs ghee / oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 green chillies slit
2 sprig curry leaves
Rice:
1 ½ cups rice it must be soft and little over cooked
Method:
Heat a pot with the ghee, add in all the tempering ingredients.
Add in the tumeric, asafoetida powder and stir well.
Now add in the mixed vegetables, tomato, and stir well.
Add in the tamarind water and allow it to boil for 5 minutes.
Now add in the cooked dal and the ground spice mixture.
Stir well, if it is very thick add little water and salt.
Let the sambar to boil for 5 minutes.
When everything is mixed well and veges cooked.
Add the coriander leaves and remove from the stove.
In a container, mix generous ladles of sambar into the rice.
The consistency should be like thick porridge.
It will harden a bit when it becomes cold.
It should not be very dry.
Serve warm with additional ghee and rice vadavams, or appalams.
[html:9ed8fdb317]
http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/3552/img5912x.jpg
[/html:9ed8fdb317]
[tscii]
STRAWBERRY MILK SHAKE
Ingredients:
1 cup fresh strawberries
4 cups fresh chilled milk
¼ tsp vanilla essence
4 scoops vanilla ice cream (optional)
Sugar as per taste
Strawberries to garnish
Method:
Wash and clean the straw berries
In a blender add the strawberries, milk, essence and sugar.
Blend till very foamy and smooth.
Pour this shake in 4 tall glasses. Then add the ice cream.
Garnish with a fresh strawberry.
Serve chilled.
[html:7a00eb6745]
http://img38.imageshack.us/img38/3954/cupj.jpg
[/html:7a00eb6745]
BANANA PANCAKE
Ingredients:
1oo grms self- raising flour
40 grms whole meal flour
1 tsp baking powder
3 tbs castor sugar
180 ml fresh milk
2 big fully ripe bananas
3 tbs melted butter
Little butter for pan frying
Method:
Add both the flours in a mixing bowl.
Stir in the sugar and the baking powder.
Make a well in the centre of the mixture.
Pour in the milk and the melted butter.
Beat with a wooden spoon until you have a smooth batter.
Leave the batter to rest for about 20 minutes.
Now mash the bananas well in a bowl and add it to the batter.
Heat a little butter in a non-stick frying pan.
Add 2 laddle full of the batter in the frying pan.
Do not disturb the batter, it will spread and form into a pancake.
Cook on medium heat ntil bubbles appear on the surface.
Flip the pan cake over and cook for another 2 minutes.
Serve the pancake warm with cut bananas and maple syrup.
[html:3662c51b17]
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/2912/img7076y.jpg
[/html:3662c51b17]
Belated Happy Vinayagar chathurthi to all :)
Suvai ka unga aunty ku thanga valayal dan podanum , her masala morekolambhu , is beyond par excellence. MY regards to her akka
Kugan ka , Kadamba sadham recipe is very interesting , i am hearing it for the first time.
Appuram all of you jus list down the palagaram and special recipes which you made for Pilayar chathurthi.
I did sundal and pal payasam.
kugan nga....onga sambar sadam interesting ah iruku...kandipa pannitu solaren.....;-)
nithi....i am soooo happy u tried the masala morekuzhambu & it came out well...kugan....thanks to u for putting the recipe along with the picture.
amaam nithi...avanga kaiku thanga valaiyal thaan podanum....she is one superbbbb cook....enga family la most of the ladies cook very well...always one wants to bring out their best.... ithula naanga thaan winners because we get the best food in bargain ;-)
Nithi, thanks for your post.
Nithi according to elders we are not supposed to have any
celebrations for a year, because of the deaths.
We just put fruits and had prayers in our house.
this year.
Normally I will do a sweet mothagam, savoury kolukkatai,
ponggal, sundal, and paal payasam along with fruits for prayers.
Thanks Nithi, take care. Kugan98
Hi Kugan
How are you? Today a workmate brought some lovely sweets named obuttu. It was flat like paratha but very soft. I could taste heaps of ghee, basan flour, sesame seeds, and cardamom. Please post the recipe if you can guess what it is. He is from Bengalore. Thank you
Here is my pancake recipe
self raising flour 2 cups (1cup=250ml)
Milk 2 cups
Eggs 2
Castor sugar 1/3 cup
Butter melted 2tb sp
Beat the eggs and add milk and sugar. Put self raising flour in a bowl and make a well in the centre. Add the milk egg sugar mix and mix it without lumps. Add melted butter. Leave the mixture to rest for 20minutes. Make pancakes on fry pan or tawa. Serve with vanila icecream and maple syrub or honey. Hope you'll like it.
Shanthy
Suvai thanks for all your compliments.
Suvai it was your aunts biryani in my house for lunch.
Its very simple to make with very few vegetables.
Not very rich with lots of ghee and also cashew nuts.
Everyone enjoyed the dish in my house.
I will post your recipe( I like the way you write in Tanglish)
Along with the picture taken.
I served with onion raitha.
Thanks Suvai, hope you will undo all your aunty's recipes
one by one for us to enjoy.
Thanks again Suvai , take care. Kugan98.
Note Suvai what did you do for Pilliar?
Thanks Shanthy for your pancake recipe.
Shanthy if I am not mistaken, obbuttu is another name for boli.
They even call it puran poli.
The fillings differ in different places.
Some use channa dal, some use toor dal
There are also people who use coconut and sesame seeds as fillings.
Every one uses maida as the cover, not besan.
I might be wrong Shanthy. Let me find out.
If I come across anyone using besan and they know the recipe.
I will surely post it for you. Thanks. Kugan98
Suvai's aunts biryani recipe.
I should say "Suvaio Suvai"
Ingridents:
Beans cut into half about handful
Carrots cut into length handful
Potato 2 cut into length
patani - oru kai alavu
vengayam - big 2 small 4 or 6 chopped
green chilies - 4 slit
kothamalli 1 kai alavu chopped fine
mint 1 kai alavu chopped fine
thayir about 2 to 3 Tblspoon
tomatoes - 4 nalla pazhama irukanum - cut panni vaikavum
Ghee & Oil together - about 3 to 4 Tblspoon.
Basumathi Rice - 4 measuring cups.(washed & drained)
Red chillie powder 1 to 2 teaspoon...according to yr taste..i use less karam only about 1 & 1/2 tsp....also if green chillies are karam then i lessen this one.
garlic & ginger paste - about 1 1/2 to 2 Tblspoon.
Turmeric - 1 tsp.
(badam 8 soaked & peeled - & lemon juice about 1 to 1/12)
badam araithu athil lemon juice squeeze panni vachikonga - this to be added when rice is cooked 3/4th)
IN a pressure cooker....add the Ghee & oil in this add pattai - 4 one inch pieces, cloves - 4, elakai - 2, Birinji ilai 2 - to this now add chopped onions, nalla fry pannunga then add yr green chillies ( slit ) konjam fry pannunga then add yr tomatoes & fry that also well till the water evaporates...now add the vegies & fry them well...add the turmeric powder & red chilli powder...fry again..now add the garlic ginger paste & fry well ...ipo add the kothamalli & mint leaves chopped....fry again well...now add the thayir & keep frying well...till water sort of evaporates....now add the washed rice & fry this really well till the rice looks coated well...good 7 minutes fry pannunga.... rice udaiyaraamaathri fry pannatheenga...konjam gentle ah..Wink
Now add your your one cup less water...for 4 cups it should be 7 & half cup of water only. as thayir & tomato & vegies have waterin them.....now mix this well....& add more salt if needed..taste panni paarunga....now keep yr flame on high...& make sure water evaporates & then cover it & cook on very very very low fire.....u can put coal on top or just cover & cook on low flame...for about good 10 to 15 mins till rice is 3/4th cooked.
now add the badam lemon mixture.....to the rice & give it a gentle mix ) cover & cook again till rice is fully cooked.
ithai neenga vengaya pachadi yoda serve pannunga...u will surely get commended for this very tastyyyy biriyani...
Thayir pachadi:
Thayir, kothamalli chopped, chillies chopped very fine mix it & add red vengayaam sliced & washed well & squeeze out the water & add this to the thayir....ruchiye thani thaanga try it!!
Biryani:
[html:03b4fddc5b]
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/9979/biryani.jpg
[/html:03b4fddc5b]
Dear Kugan
You are right. It is a different version of boli. Normally the boli we make is soft and you can see the filling. In this obuttu filling and cover all mixed up and a little harder. Probably a good quantity of ghee did that too. I will also ask him for a recipe and post it. I don't think he is much of a cook.
I am very proud that you are also so resourceful. Well done! I didn't even think of the connection between boli and ombuttu.
Shanthy
Thanks Shanthy that I am of useful to you.
I am no expert. Just learned on the way.
Do please post if you get the recipe from your friend.
Thanks. Take care. Kugan98
Simple peanut chutney.
PEANUT CHUTNEY
Ingredients:
1 cup of roasted peanuts
4 red chillies more if you like hot.
3 small onions
1 tsp tamarind paste
4 garlic pips
A small piece of ginger optional
cup of water or more
Salt to taste
Tempering:
tsp mustard seeds
tsp urad dal
1 sprig curry leaves
tsp oil.
Method:
Using very little oil, roast the red chillie, onions,
Ginger and garlic.
Now in a mixie grind all the ingredients to a little
Coarse paste. Grind it smooth if you like.
Taste for salt and tamarind.
Remove it to a container.
Now temper the items given with little oil
And pour it on top. Mix and serve with dosa or idli
[html:57ccbceb12]
http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/9...nutchutney.jpg
[/html:57ccbceb12]
KUZHI PANIYAARAM
Ingredients:
3 cups of idli batter
3 tbs of grated coconut
1 onion chopped
1green chillies chopped
2 dried red chillies cut into small pieces
1 small piece of ginger cut very fine
1 sprig curry leaves cut
1/2 tsp of mustard seeds
1/2 tsp of urad dal
oil
Method:
mix the coconut with the idli batter
temper all the other ingredients and add to the batter.
cook them in a kuzhi appam mould.
pour little oil in each hole, fill the holes with 3/4 of the batter.
when the bottom is cooked, about a minute or so
turn it over and cook the other side.
serve with coconut chutney.
[html:02ab1dab77]
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/9770/kulipaniyaram2.jpg
[/html:02ab1dab77]
Hi kugan,
I was so excited to see that u had tried & liked my aunts biriyani recipe...:-) The picture looks exactly like the way I do...:-)
u r awesome to try out different types of recipes & serve it for your family ...:-) I am thrilled that your family liked it too kugan nga :-)
i tried yr kathamba saadam....perfect measurement nga.....absolutely yummy!!
Nithi.....try out the biriyani also & let us know.;-)
kugan i tried yr peanut chutney today...super ruchi...:-) thank u thank u
Thank you ,thank you Suvai for your comments
and nice feed backs.
Its nice to cook different varaites and serve.
Post more of your aunts recipes for us.
Thanks Suvai, take care. Kugan98
[tscii] I remember Shanthy asking for this kara boonthi recipe.
Here it is Shanthy.
KARA BOONTHI
Ingredients:
500 grms besan flour
½ tsp baking powder
1 tbs vegetable oil
Pinch of asafetida
Salt to taste
Oil to fry
For garnishing:
2 tsp dry chillie powder
½ a cup of curry leaves
few roasted cashew nuts
4 pips of garlic smashed with the skin (optional)
Method:
In a bowl mix the baking powder, salt and the vegetable oil.
Rub nicely till it becomes frothy.
Now add the gram flour and mix nicely.
Add warm water and mix it into a thin batter without any lumps.
Heat oil in a wok, take a boonthi spoon( the spoon with lot of holes.
If you pour the batter over the spoon it should produce small rain drop size boonthis)
Now holding the spoon above the oil, take little batter and run over
The spoon at the same time slightly shake the spoon.
Do not over load the oil. Fry little boonthi at a time.
Remove the crisp fried boonthis on to a kitchen paper.
Do this till all the batter is finished.
Now fry the curry leaves, and the smashed garlic in the oil.
Mix the curry leaves, garlic, little salt , roasted cashew nuts and the chillie powder in the fried boonthis. Mix nicely and keep in an air tight container once it is
Really cooled. Serve as a snack.
[html:4447a6bf25]
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/3391/img5904.jpg
[/html:4447a6bf25]
Suvai another halwa for you.
TIRUNELVELI HALWA
250 grms whole wheat soaked for 10 hours.
1 kg sugar
525 grms ghee
Method:
Grind the wheat and strain it with a fine muslin cloth it into a vessel.
Let the milk like batter settle.
Remove the top clear water slowly.
Now pour the milk like batter and the sugar into a thick iron wok.
Heat the wok stirring continuously, till it begins to boil.
Add the ghee and keep on stirring. Let it boil down till it
Thickness and is nearly solid.
Remove and pour it onto a greased plate.
This halwa is of a very soft consistency
It cannot be cut into slices.
Normally this halwa is served suda, suda.
You can eat when cool too.
This type of halwa will literally slide down your throat.
Note: normally no colour and nuts are used in this halwa.
They say the halwa gets a very light colour due to the
Long hours of cooking.
I added a pinch of colour and some cashew nuts.
I never fail to eat this every time I visit Madurai
[html:43c8519e8e]
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/9964/thalwa.jpg
[/html:43c8519e8e]
Kugan..... today morning i made your peanut chutney. suda suda recipe padichu odane seidhen. It was very very good. thanks.
I also tried your pakoda during week end. I made two mistakes. Baking powder use pannalai and salt romba kammi. I just made very little quantity and so sambarla pottu apdiye adjust pannitten.
Will definitely make again.
Hi Kugan
Thank you for posting the recipe for kara boonthi. I will make it this weekend. Pictures of kara boonthi and thrunelveli halwa looks so yummy. No doubt we are all going to get fat very soon with all these lovely recipes and pictures. I am going to try Suvai's aunt's biriyani for dinner tonight. It looks and sounds lovely. Thanks Suvai.
Shanthy
Thanks Sudha for the feed backs and compliments.
Try it again with little baking powder and little
more salt. It goes well with the mint chutney.
Thanks Sudha. Take care. Kugan 98.
Thanks Shanthy for the feed backs and compliments.
Deepavali is coming very close.
You can make the kara boonthi for Deepavali.
Let us know how Suvai's biryani was.
Thanks Shanthy. Take care. Kugan98.
hi friends,
i am back now. so many receipes i could find in the hub, it will take time for me to go through it. my regards to everyone.Kugan, suvai, superspicy, nithi, shanthy, sudha all the hub viewers.
selvi
Welcome Selviem, we all missed you very much.
Take a nice rest and come with loads of recipes :lol:
Thanks. Kugan98
Hi Shanthy,
Hope the biriyani recipe comes out well for u & that your family will enjoy it too....:-) Do let us know how it turned out.
kunga nga.....thank u for the bhoondhi & Thirunelveli Halwa.....can it be made with just gothumai maavu? or is it necessary to soak Ghothumai (grains)?
Oru request onga Thai friend kita "Radna" (vegetarian) recipe iruntha kettu sollunga plz plz & thank u...i think its a very simple dish...but fish sauce poduvaanganu neenaikaren not sure....kettu paarunga if that can be made as a vegetarian dish...ilaati paravaa ileenga....with meat podunga i am sure other friends who eat meat will surely enjoy it too...:-)
selvi........welcome back nga.....:-) good to c u!!
I bet there are many recipes to catch up....:-)