http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?NewsID=1099125
Raja and PC Sriram are appreciated here...
Printable View
Raja and PC Sriram are appreciated here...
http://sify.com/movies/malayalam/ful...hp?id=14458090
"vinOdha yAthra can be classified as a hit" it says...one more for IR-Sathyan Anthikkad combo...
http://content.msn.co.in/Entertainme...250507_354.htm
"P.C. Sreeram's cinematography is splendid. Ilaiyaraaja's musical score is soothing. The title track is soft on your ear drums."
"On the whole, 'Cheeni Kum' is absorbing in parts. A lackluster first half gets a boost with a much energetic second half and that elevates the film to the watchable level. At the box-office, 'Cheeni Kum' is targeted at the multiplexes mainly. Clever promos and feel-good vibes should ensure a positive run at the multiplexes."
Masand's review:
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/showbiz/...kum-41331.html
2 stars. He hasnt said anything about the music. On the whole looks like the first half is good and the second half is pathetic!
review by Leigh Singer
http://www.channel4.com/film/reviews/film.jsp?id=161580
"For starters, this is no straight musical, hence no cast-of-thousands dance routines. The music, though integral, is used in much the same way Hollywood wallpapers its montage sequences. Admittedly, to unaccustomed ears, the insanely catchy title theme sounds like it was composed on a 1980s Casio keyboard - you almost expect it to segue into 'Axel F' - but legendary composer Ilaiyaraaja and lyricists Sameer and Manoj Tapadia supplement the main story rather than overpower it. There's more Western influence here than just the London setting."
Khalid Mohamed's Review.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryP...heeni+Kum%2fEM
"Balki also carries a Mani Ratnam hangover: the Ilaiyaraja music seem to be retreads from Mouna Ragam.. and the terminally-ill child is straight out of Anjali. Also, it’s no surprise that the cinematography is by Ratnam’s oft-used lensman P C Sriram."
Guys i am going to watch cheeni kum later...will bring you a review of the BGM..:D
Great Hulkster,
Looking forward to your review. Am planning to catch the movie on Monday in Singapore.
Cheers!
Hey Guys !
Has anyone listened to 'The Music Messaiah' album..
Any comments/reviews
FullHyd is know for its unbiased reviews.
http://www.fullhyderabad.com/scripts...ni+Kum&ID=4632
"The title song "Cheeni Kum" has delightful rhythm, and is catchy, gentle and heartwarming, even when you are listening to it for the first time.
While the music by Ilayaraja is generally good, it is surprising that during several segments in the first half of the movie, there is hardly a background score"
http://sevenmountain.blogspot.com/20...ie-review.html
Thalaivar has shown that his BGM reflects on the theme of the movie rather than just coming across as wonderful orchestral pieces...the instruments and style of BGM is really worth a album on its on :clap:
I forgot to mention that there is a beautfil bit song vaishnava janato that comes when paresh rawal ignores all the food from his loved ones...nice arrangements :D
Review at Desicritics:
http://desicritics.org/2007/05/27/011343.php
Also, I was able to catch the NDTV movie review of CK and if I remember it right, the reviewer said that music is a delight.
Krishnan
Couple of more reviews:
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/E...ow/2075063.cms
Review on Times of India.
no mention about music.
On DnaIndia.
"P C Sreeram’s intimate camerawork sets the mood for the film as does Ilaiyaraaja’s melodious tunes."
http://www.dnaindia.com/report.asp?NewsID=1099059
Box office collections.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/h...view/8658.html
IndiaGlitz review. Says "From both music and editing perspective, there is a clear distinction between
the first and the second half. While music is extremely likeable as the songs play in the background
throughout the first half of the narrative, in the second half it is hardly effective."
http://www.deccanherald.com/Content/...0705253712.asp
Deccan Herald review. No mention about music.
Krishnan
Saw the movie.Overall, movie is a good one to watch.
The first half is well paced while the second half is not so.
Music throughout the movie is good and there are quite a few notable instances where raja stamps his authority.
There is a score with "vaishnava jana" song in the seconf half which is quite good.
But, there was not even a single complete song played in the movie (at PVR).Thats' a major disappointment for me.But, all the songs(though played in bits) fits to the movie perfectly.
This movie should do well in a centers and i think this would get a pass mark in BO :)
Read reviews for shootout and cheenikum in bangalore vijay times today.CK gets three stars while shootout gets 1 star.
If shootout falls out,Ck would do even better :)
Thoroughly disappointing...!
There are hardly any songs in the movie. No wonder... no one is talking about music in their reviews.
Cheeni Kum - first 30 seconds of this song is played 3-4 times. Forget charanam, you won't even get to hear the anupallavi. What a pity!
Baatein hawa - again only the pallavi is played, that too with major distractions.
Jaane do - lasted more than 30 seconds, but most of the song is chopped off, yet again.
It's hard to notice any sort of music in this film...
I just hope IR doesn't waste his time with Balki again.
Sad to see IR's hard work going down the drain.
unbelievable. worst news i have heard in recent times. Just too shocking.
Teja i think you forgot how the movie was conceived..it is made in hollywood style making the songs as BGM to induce effectiveness of the scenes...i enjoyed the way the music integrated with the film..its not necessary that raja is only upheld if his songs come in every scene...in fact if they featured full length the movement of the story and the relativity of the previous scenes would be lost...i would say as a director he has balanced the technical and main aspects of the movie :D
http://desipundit.com/baradwajrangan...t-lokhandwala/
As usual brangan comes up with his review !Surprisinglty no mention of raaja .
mumbai Ramki, "bouncy tunes of Ilaiyaraja"-ngaRadha neenga vAsikkalayA?:-)
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/E...ow/2075258.cms
Atrocious :evil:
Times of India is the No : 1 daily in West / North India and has a giant reach . Such a paper not even mentioning a single word about music is something disgusting .
Let them cover the theme and the lead *casting but why total blackout on music ! :shock:
If Himesh or ARR had done the composing, they would have blown heavy trumpheting .
Quote:
Thoroughly disappointing...!
There are hardly any songs in the movie. No wonder... no one is talking about music in their reviews.
This is the thing that is always happening for poor IR :(
Particularly, the people who claim to be his great fans do this. That is more hurting..
Kamalhassan did this in his Virumandi, MX etc..
Bala did it in Pithamagan..
Now Balki !
Really hurting :(
guys
IR should stipulate a condition to directors that all his songs (atleast some) be played in the movie.
mumbai Xpress was a complete disappointment to me in this regard. The movie is a crap and that movie showed the in-coherence in film making of the well known and renowned singeetham. I wonder how the heck could he make such a crap movie. The movie is illogical and completely boring after a point with some stupid jokes. It could have been saved with some good jokes - but, to add insut to injury, IR's music was also pathetic.
Virumandi - another worst movie with very bad screen play. IR's tunes were excellent and rustic - but Kamal raped these songs by either showing them in bits and pieces or just neglecting them completely. Hey Ram and Virumandi pretty much show that Kamal is a complete tyro in art of directing and he needs to grow up in that regard.
Shiva - another major disaster for IR as a few good songs were neglected by our Indian spooky director RGV. This movie spoilt the pure IR tunes "Saara ye aalam" with some vulgar and obscene sequences by the heroine.
And now Cheeni Kum.... Balki's interviews suggest that he is a veteran of more than 100 movies in his kitty. Well ! If he is not concerned with IR's tunes, he could have atleast chosen a budding MD instead of IR. May be IR is very cheap :) money wise.
IR should quit the film industry as the current generation directors talk big about him before making the movie and completely fail him down in the actual movie.
@Nakeeran,
I don't think it's reviewer's fault. As I mentioned earlier, you can hardly notice any music in this film.
It's a pity that "Vaishnav jan ko" gets more screen time than any of the actual songs.
If I weren't an IR fan, I wouldn't have noticed anything extra ordinary with music either. Director has butchered the music to that extent.
@Hulkster,
may be what you said is true. But the end result of that - no one is going to notice IR's work in the film. Well, Balki could have at least continued the title track "cheeni kum" beyond 10 seconds.
Just 2 lines of that song? Come on!
I was waiting for it to go beyond the words "cheeni kum hai cheeni kum hai"... But no!
Songs last longer in promos, than in the film.
With a fan like Balki, IR doesn't need any distractors.
Teja
For the northies, the tunes are all new and fresh. & they have been well re-orchestrated .
It should be pleasing to their ears too no ?
Seems like the waves of current crop of guys like HR / Ismail D etc have changed the trend totally. I bet, if it had been such guys, the promo campaign would have been totally diff.
Vem,Quote:
Originally Posted by vem
May i request you to kindly grow up and watch some *cinema* before passing arbit judgements like this?
Your post is characterized by bad grammar, blind vitriol and abysmal intellect - idhellam correct pannunga first
Thank you :notworthy:
I still have yet to download the xvid torrent (waiting for it)
Balki stated in his interviews that he wanted Raja's tune to fit the background situation. In fact, the reason that Shiva didn't work was the picturization for a RGV film! That and Ramu choose bad Raja tunes to remake.
From MX's audio release, every Kamal knew that MX is nothing by a BGM movie. Granted, Pyar Chahiye/Poo Pothadhu was the only picturized song (the same thing follows for CK folks!) Aila Re/Yeli Adithapa po, Bandar Ki Dugi/Kuzhanda Kayil Malai and Monkey Chatter/Anthem were nothing but BGM and that's fine.
If the film's story is the USP of the film then you would want the songs to not steer you in another direction. Directors are targeting the viewer to understand the story not have part I of story then song 1 then part II of story followed by another song, etc.
Yes I know Raja's a genius in composing but again, Balki's done justice to the songs (read Jaane Do Na/Title Song). The cinema we knew then is slowly going away from us.
mr crajkumar
i assume u to be a kamal fan. i am sorry if i offended u in any ways. i just expressed my opinion that i just couldnt stand watching Virumandi and Mxpress.
If you are upset with my English/other aspects, I dont give a rats ass abt that. U, being a grown up, and technically English speaking big shot should stop visiting such public threads for your own good. come out of ur narrow minded world !
:rotfl: Thanks for proving me right :lol2:Quote:
Originally Posted by vem
Take this! The link says IR will score for "Pa". Not sure how far its true. BTW, I am not able to read the full news as the site is blocked in my company. Can someone please post the full news.
http://www.bollyvista.com/article/a/32/7674
All I could see from Google News snapshot is
"Vidya Balan may step in the project instead of Rai. 'Pa' will have musical notes from Ilaiyaraaja, who is being appreciated for his work in 'Cheeni Kum'"
Krishnan
Vidya Balan may step in 'Pa'
By Our Correspondent ©2007 Bollyvista.com
'Cheeni Kum' might have been accepted by audiences with mixed reactions but its director R. Balki is all excited about his next movie 'Pa' with same producer Sunil Manchanda. 'Pa' is ready to go on the floors in due time and features Amitabh and Abhishek Bachchan. It is a very light comedy film portraying the relationship between a father and son.
Although Balki had thought of casting Aishwarya Rai in the film earlier, news has come in that Vidya Balan may step in the project instead of Rai.
'Pa' will have musical notes from Ilaiyaraaja, who is being appreciated for his work in 'Cheeni Kum'.
Thanks raja_fan for posting the full news item !
Looks like IR was present for "Cheeni Kum" preview. Here is a short interview of his:
http://www.newindpress.com/NewsItems...trek&Topic=-59
Krishnan
Folks,
here is a wiki search on IR in Cheeni kum.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheeni_Kum
Part of the article is pasted here.
Music Composer Ilayaraja has composed 7 tracks. The reaction towards this album is generally positive. Fans of the maestro have praised Raja's efforts in spreading the acclaimed tamil tunes and modernizing it in hindi. Although some fans have panned that Raja should've created some more tunes and should've created a original soundtrack rather than recycle his classic tamil tunes. Reviewers such as Indiafm has rated "Cheeni Kum" 3 stars out off 5 with Joginer Tuteja quoting "'Cheeni Kum' turns out to be an enjoyable album which has its moments throughout its 7 track duration. While one never expected a musical from a film which told a love story that had never been seen before, 'Cheeni Kum' manages to throw in a nice-n-little pleasant surprise." Other sites such as Planet Bollywood, Sulekha, and fellow internet bloggers have praised Raja's melodious tunes in comparison's to today's music given by Himesh Reshamiya or Anu Malik.
Similarily [Businessofcinema.com] gave the album a 3/5 rating and mentioned that "sounds of the instruments and Vocals blend in harmony to provide a simple yet powerful score. This album is a must have, especially to play in between all those generated scores we are usually subjected to."
However,Rediff.com reviewer, Sonia Chopra has given the album a 2.5 out 5 stars quoting "The music is largely monotonous; only one or two voices have been used throughout. Not that Shreya Ghosal is not a good singer, she's terrific; but three songs one after the other, with the same voice, does begin to grate on your nerves. Plus, all the songs sound similar. Even lyrics by Sameer and Manoj Tapadia are disappointing and mediocre. When people say that they appreciate simple lyrics, they don't mean lyrics without any imagination whatsoever!" The Rediff bloggers have widely countered her logic by claiming that she has no ear for the maestro's music followed by a series of negative comments against her and the site's biased reviews as well.
Realactivex,
Don't take wikipedia seriously :)
Do you know that you and I can edit that page ourselves ? :D
http://www.hindu.com/2007/05/28/stor...2805770200.htm
And I read in bbc website that CK managed to be #8 in London BO...
http://www.newkerala.com/news5.php?a...lnews&id=33360
someone said he'll wait for Subash Jha's review...he says IR's melodies are talcum fresh...
another version of Subash Jha review:
http://www.indiafm.com/features/2007/05/28/2704/
guys, did you all notice the patronising manner in which these portals portray IR or Kamal ?
"'Pa' will have musical notes from Ilaiyaraaja, who is being appreciated for his work in 'Cheeni Kum'"
for Kamal it is always "the talented Kamal"
CK got a 70% response this coming weekend in comparison to the dull 20% on opening day. Declared Super hit overseas along with Shootout as well.
IR birthday special
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...nts/12413.html