From an archiving perspective, will try to re-post my old Telugu-IR-SPB posts in the forum regularly.
Printable View
From an archiving perspective, will try to re-post my old Telugu-IR-SPB posts in the forum regularly.
Welcome back. Remember you writing about a Vamshi song like this earlier.
The director of Abhilasha was Kodandarami Reddy. Infact I would say that he, Yendamuri and Raja established Chiranjeevi as the mega star. 'Challenge', 'Abhilasha', 'Kaidhi'(Music not by Raja) are part of Chiru folklore now.
The link to 'Urakalai Godavari': http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYLnbDbrtvI
Aditya Music had released a mp3 CD which has both these movies and some more. These two lie in the beginning. I am unable to get beyond these two movie. And like Plum the other songs caught my fancy as they were played more often on radio. Only after I bought the mp3 CD did I start listening to this song and needless to say has become one of my favorites. The way the tune flows is exactly like a river flowing. Should salute the lyricist who came with the words (probably Veturi)
And Plum I am also not able to decipher the lines you wrote which puzzled you. I have not seen the movie.
Nicely put.Quote:
The way the tune flows is exactly like a river flowing. Should salute the lyricist who came with the words (probably Veturi
While I keep harping on Telugu lyrics flowing smoothly off tunes, I fail to note with reverence the lyricists who make this possible. If used incorrectly - like in the -anta songs, usually a staple of dubbed movies - Telugu can be jarring, too, on the ears and tunes.
It's most likely Veturi, as Suresh observed. To introduce him to tamil folks, I can probably mark him as the rough equivalent of Vaali. From my knowledge, most of the songs I appreciate for perfect resonance with tunes are by him.
Suresh, let's hope raagas can decipher the lyrics of the song viz-a-viz the movie situation
Wow, nice to see Plum do an excellent, detailed post on a Telungu song!
Now, this thread is really alive, with more contributions!
Please keep them coming - however sporadic they may be.
Actually, that's the best way for thoughts to be poured in. And that's probably the way real writers work.
(To be honest, what app_engine is doing can't be called real "writing"...it's more like "collecting / recollecting & reporting" where there's not much internal struggle / thought process / creativity etc involved. Something like what people in media do, day after day, to make a living :wink:)
App anna
I cant seem to find "kaaveriye kavikuyile" video any where on the net ( youtube) if you find it, can you upload it please?
thanks
Faramu, andha picturisation pudikkal, pudikkal, silk shockernu sollittu youtube link kEkaRInga pArunga - kalaachaara kaavalaraiyya neer!
Param,
The boat song's youtube link was there in the original post...
Please click on the "kanavu scene" which is a hyperlink...Quote:
This song, as indicated by the motor boat sound in the prelude, was on the lake and was a typical kanavu scene :lol:
This thread has been come along very well with app and param playing main role. App also trying his best to post the songs in order. You are always welcome to add related telugu song information.. but do not start another branch. It will be better if you can start a new thread for IR-SPB-Telugu combo. This is just a request, as you know it is open forum, you may post as you wish.
There's no such danger, genesis. It might well be another year before I find enough urge to write the next post in this series. Don't worry, this thread is safe.
(switch on Anupam Kher of kuch kuch hOta hai) What do you mean "safe" (switch off Kher) Plum? We want variety here and not safety :-)
Please make it colorful!
Like I said before, I'm a zero when it comes to IR-north-of-poovirundha-valli. You, Sureshji, raagas, balaji are the hope in that geographical domain.
Also, I'm absolutely un-creative when it comes to writing. 'தினமும் சாப்பிடணும், அதுக்கு எதாச்சும் வேணும்'ங்கற மாதிரி தினமும் எதாச்சும் படிக்கவென்று எழுதப்படும் போஸ்ட்கள் .
We need feast too!
One year is not acceptable, solliyAchchu, ambuttuththEn!
You made my day with your awesome post on 'Urakalai Godavari'. :thumbsup: :clap: As I was reading your post, I was in your mode rewinding the song and your post to get enough of it, as I can't listen to the song now. Oh man! what a song and as you rightly pointed out those subtle twists gave us heart full of melody. Every note in that song has full of 'jeevan'. Just humming this song will want to leave all your current commitments (very hectic these days) and dissolve in this one. So many excellent places in pallavi and charanam. Those minute pauses in charanams (everything you mentioned) and the finishing of pallavi with 'rasa mayam ja ga thi' :notworthy: Heavenly heavenly!
Please continue posting your favorites!
App,
Picking up some enormously beautiful numbers in Kaaviriye Kavikkuyile and Pesakkoodaathu. Yes rocking numbers. Again excellent analysis on SPB vs PS singing in Pesakkoodaathu. :lol: Never thought about it this way until I read your post. Will listen to laugh again!
#110 உருகினேன் உருகினேன்
(அண்ணே அண்ணே, 1983 , ஜானகியுடன்)
Yet another sweet duet by the celebrated SPB-SJ pair, for a relatively unknown movie. This song was a 'radio-only-hit' along with some DHIRF's recording on their TDKs. Perhaps a mild inspiration for a later-day-IR number for Indiran Chandiran ...the second interlude makes me think so. Here IR uses his favourite "qwakkakukku" sound while kAdhal rAgamum kanniththamizhum had fantastic drums.
IR's use of this "qwakkakukku" sound is quite interesting as he employed it for a variety of songs / situations - fast senO ritA prelude / slow idhu oru nilAkkAlam 2nd interlude / folk andha nilAvaththAn's first interlude etc apart from this soft duet, among many others.
TF traditionally had artists coming from the drama groups. And stories too. If one lists all jAmbavAns of TF until 80's, some connection or other with stage can easily be traced for most names (including the famous Rajini). There was also a steady supply of directors like KB from stage. Late 70's / 80's had a ton of great drama groups and some of them did hilarious comedy stuff. Crazy Mohan, Mouli, SV Sekar, kAthAdi Ramamoorthy - to name a few. There were also serious groups like Poornam, Komal, Visu, YGM. Most of these dramas were also made into movies which helped all these artists to have an innings at TF.
Mouli didn't have any spectacular success in the field but was kind of commercially viable during the 80's, doing low budget movies every now and then, most of them based on his stage plays. His 'vA indhappakkam' had two phenomenal numbers by Shyam ('Anandha dhAgam' by DC/SJ and 'ivaL dEvathai' by SPB/VJ - both my all-time-favs). Somehow, he too landed in the IR bandwagon for this movie - that got named after the huge hit song from kOzhi koovuthu.
Other than vA indhappakkam songs, my fond memory of Mouli (nice -uncle/chithappA looking- guy) is as the apoorva sahOdhararkaL circus owner...he sure got into TF history by being present in one of the most memorable scenes ever - in which Appu gets hurt by his mom's careless remark & the viewers get a severe jolt by IR playing his theme - mmmm...the very remembrance of it brings goosebumps!
app, chattila irukkaRachE dhAn agappaila varum. chatti gets filled about once in a year, what to do?
V_S - yes, that's the thing with vurakalai godavari. You get humming the song, and you cannot get enough. This is, infact, a stick that IR gets beat with - that, for instance, you'd never get a nandhaa en nilaa from him(meaning, hummability, addictive phrasaes that you just want to keep singing again and again once you start). To a large extent, it is because of his strittu WCM theories, and the impulse to fit his tunes in a chord progression - something that got pronounced more and more in his latter days. Even within that, you will find countless songs like this which are as addictive as the MSV-Dhakshinamoorty-KVM-GR addictive tunes.
I just discovered uruginEn kannane last week. Havent given a close listen yet but from the surface, the base tune, and the first interlude were super.
The movie was not bad, funny. I used to confuse this with PoikkAl Kuthirai. Same hero methinks.
Pls write up regarding IR+SPB telugu songs, Apart from Shankaraparanam, I have not heard any telugu songs, I can not understand telugu either, so it would be usefull!
//
Apeesla Andhra Figure onnu vela seiyuranga, avangala venumna keatu konjum Telugu songs
post panrEn :lol2: //
nInga vaNdi Otta, enga kitta fuel kEkkaRInga. bEsh bEsh!Quote:
Apeesla Andhra Figure onnu vela seiyuranga, avangala venumna keatu konjum Telugu songs
post panrEn
Raagas has written a lovely post in the Raja's gems thread. adhai pArththu, padichu, kadalai pOdaRadhukku use paNNikOnga
In 1983, alphabetic order of movie names brings 'baghavathipuram rly gate' as the next one having SPB song (Asai nenjil) which cannot be picked for this thread as I've never heard before.
That means, the next song will be an extraordinary one...a song beyond compare...
grouch,
What a coincidence! Good that App brought up Mouli in his post. Thanks App. Yesterday when App posted about this song, I too got reminded of Poikkal Kuthirai, not sure why. But for a different reason, Mouli. I always thought Poikkal Kuthirai had Mouli, but since I watched during my school days in some theatre in Mount Road. I think in Anand or Little Anand (now these theatres are not there) or Casino/Geity. Loved that picture that time. Vaali, even Kamal comes as a cameo. But after browsing came to know there was no Mouli. I watch Nadaswaram in sun tv just because of him. Great Artist.
who acted in poikal kuthirai :)
naan paadum paadal?
udhaya geetham? sangeetha megam?
idhaya kovil?
I think Salangai Oli was released prior to all these.
Idhaya kovil beauties
1) yaar veetil roja poo poothathO- ( Only SPB possible) , it has all kind of emotions emoted by the master! you can hear this song 1000 times
2) Kootathila koyil pura - another semi Melody/Classic master piece from the lethal combo of (IR+SPB)
3) Vaan uyarntha solaiyilE - sadness at it's best. (it makes me cry, when I listen to this), those birds sounds in the song gives extra sad effect!
4) Idhayam oru kovil - I did not like this song that much, I thought it ha d a monotonous tabla beat throughout the song :oops: