I don't find any triangle sign or number in any of the bottles I've at home... Does it apply only in India or worldwide?...:roll:Quote:
Originally Posted by Beckham
Printable View
I don't find any triangle sign or number in any of the bottles I've at home... Does it apply only in India or worldwide?...:roll:Quote:
Dev,
I am not very sure but i will check it and tell you
ONE PARAGRAPH THAT EXPLAINS LIFE!
Arthur Ashe, the legendary Wimbledon player was dying of AIDS which he got due to infected blood he received during a heart surgery in 1983. From world over, he received letters from his fans, one of which conveyed: "Why does GOD have to select you for such a bad disease"?
To this Arthur Ashe replied: The world over -- 5 crore children start playing tennis, 50 lakh learn to play tennis, 5 lakh learn professional tennis, 50,000 come to the circuit, 5000 reach the grand slam, 50 reach Wimbledon, 4 to semi final, 2 to the finals, When I was holding a cup I never asked GOD "Why me?". And today in pain I should not be asking GOD "Why me?"
:clap: :clap: :clap:Quote:
First mistake is ok but Two mistakes in a row that to by God. Needs to be questioned. :roll:
In ancient Greece (469 - 399 BC), Socrates was widely lauded for his wisdom.
One day the great philosopher came upon an acquaintance who ran up to him excitedly and said, "Socrates, do you know what I just heard about one of your students?"
Wait a moment," Socrates replied. "Before you tell me I'd like you to pass a little test.It's called the Triple Filter Test."
"Triple filter?"
"That's right," Socrates continued. "Before you talk to me about my student let's take a moment to filter what you're going to say. The first filter is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?"
"No," the man said, "actually I just heard about it and..."
"All right," said Socrates. "So you don't really know if it's true or not. Now let's try the second filter, the filter of Goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my student something good?"
"No, on the contrary..."
"So," Socrates continued, "you want to tell me something bad about him, even though you're not certain it's true?"
The man shrugged, a little embarrassed.
Socrates continued. "You may still pass the test though,because there is a third filter - the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my student going to be useful to me?"
"No, not really..."
"Well," concluded Socrates, "if what you want to tell me is neither True nor Good nor even Useful,why tell it to me at all?"
The man was defeated and ashamed.
Nice one! Beckham!Quote:
Um, Becks, this one was already posted earlier....& Nov gave a continuation o f this story- bcos of stopping tat man from telling him wat he wanted to, Socrates never found out tat his wife was having an affair w/ his student Plato! :PQuote:
The Glass of Water
A professor began his class by holding up a glass with some water in
it. He held it up for all to see & asked the students,' How much do
you think this glass weighs?'
'50gms!' .... '100gms!' ......'125gms' ......the students answered.
'I really don't know unless I weigh it,' said the professor, 'but, my
question is: What would happen if I held it up like this for a few
minutes?'
'Nothing' the students said.
'Ok what would happen if I held it up like this for an hour?' the professor
asked.
'Your arm would begin to ache' said one of the students.
'You're right, now what would happen if I held it for a day?'
'Your arm could go numb, you might have severe muscle stress & paralysis
& have to go to hospital for sure!' ventured another student & all the
students laughed.
'Very good. But during all this, did the weight of the glass change?'
asked the professor.
'No'
'Then what caused the arm ache & the muscle stress?'
The students were puzzled.
'Put the glass down!' said one of the students.
'Exactly!' said the professor.
'Life's problems are something like this. Hold it for a few minutes in your
head & they seem OK.
Think of them for a long time & they begin to ache.
Hold it even longer & they begin to paralyze you.
You will not be able to do anything.'
It's important to think of the challenges (problems) in your life, but
EVEN MORE IMPORTANT to 'put them down' at the end of every day before you
go to sleep. That way, you are not stressed, you wake up every day fresh &
strong & can handle any issue, any challenge that comes your way!'
So, as it becomes time for you to leave office today,
Remember friend to 'PUT THE GLASS DOWN TODAY! '
Dev, it should be worldwide, most if not all plastic bottles, boxes should have the recycle symbol and the grade of the plastic within the recycle symbol mentioned somewhere. Though I am not sure about Sridhar's claim of grade 1 plastics releasing chemicals... :)Quote:
Originally Posted by dev