:rotfl:Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramakrishna
We have our own opinions. For me, Udit was the right choice for Sahana...Quote:
Originally Posted by thimuru
There are 2 things here -Quote:
Originally Posted by thimuru
1) pronunciation, clarity of lyrics
2) Voice/Singing
While i agree that you do need a lyric book to understand 'Athiradi' lyrics, i thought Rahman's singing was fun. You don't *always* need to understand the lyrics to like a song. Point (1) is a different issue, i agree
[Sorry to digress but let me get this point across. Why i liked Rahman in Athiradi? I'm not comparing but just using an analogy here, It's something similar to why i like Kamal or IR singing. May not have the best voice, may not be the best singers around but its about what they bring to the song. Its purely personal]
One aspect of Rahman's music is his ability to 'surprise' - giving 'moments' of surprise (something which IR was a master of, he still shows glimpses of that even these days). I think 'Athiradi' is one such instance. Certainly not timeless but full of energy and 'pep'
tf....i have mentioned it sounded good(athiradee....)!
but the song would have been enhanced if the song lyrics are made clear i believe!
even oru koodai sunlight...that guy could have sung with less stress! and clear way!
have u heard "vallavan" pop album of malasian troop....hip -hop album...u should have heard...they pronounce tamil so wonderfully and that makes the song hear so good!
i believe ...if arr made the lyrics clear iit would sound even better...thats it
More often than not Udit is never a good choice for a Tamil song and especially so when he sings for Rajni. I cant believe with all the talent being churned out these days from TV channel shows, our MDs cant find someone down south to do these peppy songs. Main criticism in this album(and even previous ones) against Rahman is his choice of singers. Madhushree doesnt deserve to sing a single song yet. I wish we had a court for musical crimes, that would exile singers like her and Udit.
Vijay yesudoss himself could have sung the happy version too, if somehow SPB or HH was'nt the preferred choice for whatsoever reason. Kay Kay who has a strong voice and who has earlier sung for Rajni would have been another choice. Udit could sing a peppy number or two from time to time. Thats about it. Him singing melodies is inexcusable.
vijayyesudas didnt do justice in the sad version itself :oops:
Sunday, April 08, 2007
Indian Express : Sivaji Audio Review
http://rajinifans.com/showurl.asp?ur...io-review.html
:clap: :clap: :clap:
sivaji songs r chartbusters everywhere. not just one song but every single one in the album is requested by internet users for the most number of times. i posted this before but i am posting again to show that sivaji still holds the top 7 position. its also amazing to see munbe vaa in top 10 also, only rahman!! http://www.musicindiaonline.com/music/ut/s/tamil/10/
Another musicreview
http://www.nilacharal.com/enter/revi...review_307.asp
After hearing the songs and especially Udit's rendition of Sahara pookal, this could have been the "ennavale" with some other singer, nevertheless, if you see the history, SPB replaced TMS for MGR, then somewhere along the line, Janaki came full force sidelining PSusheela, then chitra outshown Janaki, Chitra was cast aside by swarnalatha, seeing this it always urks us to find why did this happen, it would have been better if the people we wanted sang it. apart from that, probably we would accept udit eventually and he could be digested.
That being said, I still like Athiradee (pattaiya kilapi tar ARR), SPB song is marvellous, Oru koodai is another pick, i love the fight music. Still I believe, nobody would have done justice for this movie, except ARR. SPB's song could become the best of the recent time entries for RK, cannot wait for the movie.
:thumbsup:Quote:
Originally Posted by MusicIsLife
It's been a week now since the Chart Buster Sivaji release, here's my ranking of the songs:
1.Athiradee
2.Sahana
3.Vaa Ji
4.Style
5.The Boss
6.Ballelakka
7.Sahara
RJ+ARR
1.Sivaji
2.Muthu
3.Padaiyappa
4.Baba
SHR+ARR
1.Gentleman
2.Kadhalan
3.Sivaji
4.Mudhalvan
5.Boys
6.Jeans
7.Indian
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayan36
:omg: Boys should be number 1.. never bored of evry songs in Boys until now.. :D
yes ThalaNas.... Boys songs r just too good ... but i think Kadhalan should get the number 1 slot,followed by Boys then Sivaji :D :clap:
:roll: :argue: :fishgrin:Quote:
Originally Posted by dinesh2002
y???? :shock:Quote:
Originally Posted by selvakumar
i dunno whether its appropriate to post this here... but yes,when i 1st saw it... i find it really funny :P
1 . 'Sivaji' audio sales is a feat, is it not?
--- Nirmal, Nairobi.
Thenali: Definitely, but there's a wish by lay people that the audio could have been released in Tamil!
http://www.cinesouth.com/tfaq/new/index.shtml
http://forumhub.mayyam.com/hub/viewt...=983247#983247Quote:
Originally Posted by dinesh2002
:DQuote:
Selva, i really feel that Sivaji is on par with the previous ARR-Shankar album... i mean... beein a ARR fan who have 'karaichi kudichi' all his songs... Sivaji is another Boys for 2007 .... think the factor RAJINI here is making everyone confuse about the ARR-Shankar typical touch which is very very visible in Sivaji ... its ok... time will answer....we still have 40 days for the movie to release... def the song will be apriciated even b4 the movie hits the screen.... Smile
Selva... i dun see how my previous message can affects my ratings ??? :? i mean yes...Sivaji has overtake Mudhalvan,Indian,Jeans & Gentleman ... but i cant deny Kadhalan is ARR-Shankar best !!! the best of best... and yes... i had to refer to BOYS to show how good is Sivaji ... :) i think that shows it :) i think my message didint mention Sivaji is the best of ARR-Shankar but is ON PAR with them :) so they didint dissapoint us... :)Quote:
Originally Posted by selvakumar
if thinkfloyd's comments are taken neutrally, then letme see if that happens, when i say my opinions on sivaaji album....Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
1.ballelakka - nice song, ok to be an intro song for Rajni, intro chorus is different and attention grabbing. tune is slightly in the lines of devuda devudaa. i rate both the songs equally
2.sahana\ra - nice melody. the bend in the last line - nooraayram aandugal thaandiyum vaazhumithu - very cute, similar bend in GF - kammakkarayila song. thus, the beginning is too good but the stanza doesn't seem to grow up, i mean, there were no new tunes in that. one more doubt - that song(udit chinmayee version) had only one stanza, is it right or i d'loaded a wrong song? both udit and chinmayee does good job and udits pronounciation is GOOD and enjoyable compared to "kaathal pisaase paruvaayille"
the pathos version is completely nice. rare to hear such tune ina rajni movie
3.vaaji -not good but better. maybe improve on hearing
4.athiradi - song is surely nice but not more interested after some 10 times hearing. ARR's INSUT (Intendedly Non-Understanable Singing Technology) wasn't nice to hear, eventho it wasn't a spoiler.
5. The Boss- still didnt hear this....
6/ Oru koodai nilavoli \ soorya oli- was surprising to hear such tunes in rajni film, heared only one, so unable to comment but didnt attract as a good song, may be too good for a "koothu in theatre" song, for rajni fans
overall, from this 3 songs - We expect more from you ARR
thillaa langaa baashaa thaan - was heard as - billa ranga bashathaan - after reading lyrics
huh??? wut song is this no 6 of urs buddy??? if u mean Oru Koodai Sunlight... bro...that is the 'STYLE' song u numbered no 5!!! :roll:
hmmm... r u sure ur reviewing correctly?? :lol:
corrected
u stole my words, ThalanassQuote:
Originally Posted by ThalaNass
Athiradee is the climax song.
See below link, where Vaali talks about writing the climax song.
http://www.hindu.com/2007/03/03/stor...303830200.html
Another link from behindwoods has choreographer Lawrence talking about
the song.
http://www.behindwoods.com/tamil-mov...07-sivaji.html
Courtesy:arrfans@yahoogroups
SIVAJI TELUGU AUDIO REVIEW !!
Stylish, Contemporary and Unique
APK | April 09, 2007
Click here to listen to the songs
Rating: ***.75 (***** Very Good, **** Good, *** Fair, ** Average, * Bad)
The most awaited release of this year is out, at least for South India. And while the posters and publicity look out of this world-with both the lead pair gone blonde in bad wigs, the songs are good. All the hype and expectations may actually be harmful for the movie, but the music by AR Rehman will definitely ensure that the viewers have something they know will be a treat to watch. Good songs with Rajnikant's typical mannerisms and histrionics are sure to please admirers and cynics both.
Belleilakka With a pacy chorus, Belleilakka is really swift and the rhythm is great. A song reminiscing about the home in the village, it is nostalgic in tone. SP Balasubrahmanyam, Raihanah, Benny lend their voices for this wonderfully express-beat song while Bhuvana Chandra, Suddala Ashok Teja and Kulashekar have penned the lyrics. Guess what, this time too many cooks did not spoil the broth. The chorus is fantastic in this song, and SP Balu proves that he can match word and versatility like before. ***.75
Style Hip-hop, reggae and rap feature in this song. It sounds like an international hip-hop number, and if you don't listen carefully, even the lyrics sound like that. But wait, it's actually Telugu. 'Adirenu nee style..'-specially formulated for the king of characteristic style-Rajnikant. Love him, hate him, you can't ignore him-and the same with this number. It's straight out of the streets of NY, and it's possible it's set there too. The lyricist trio is the same, while Rags, Blaaze, Tanvi and Suresh Peters render this number. Gangsta' Rap, nothing less. ***.75
Vaaji Vaaji A duet sung by Harinath and Madhushree, this has a flowery, breezy feel to it. Nothing extraordinary, this kind of a number has been heard before-but that doesn't take away its feel-good value. The three lyricists and the chorus are it again-sweet and simple. ***.25
Adharanee The beginning of this sounds the same as the Mahesh Babu-starrer Nani's title number and MJ's Thriller can be compared to this song in terms of composition. Rehman and Sayonara (yeah, that's a name) lend their voices for this number. Everything about this song takes you by surprise-the composition, the unique voices and the lyrics. A superbly fun and stylish number, with English lyrics added for effect; one can understand the English lyrics. Stylish, that's the key-word. ***.5
Sahana Another duet, melodious and soft. It has that dreamy romantic touch to it, but with lots of instruments playing and an overactive chorus that seems to occur in many of Rehman's songs under Shankar's direction. Udit Narayan and Chinmayee suit the gentleness of this number perfectly. ***.75
The Boss Here it is, the title number. Style overload, and if anyone understands even a couple of the words, then please inform the others. But clarity notwithstanding, it just multiplies the oomph and glam quotient to this mega-production. The instruments used in this song are many, and the drums sound fabulous. ***.25
Last Word Unique compositions, out of the world voices, crazy lyrics and chorus-Shivaji stretches boundaries, in music and rhythm. Rehman can stand and take a bow, for all those critics who've said he's lost the magic touch. His touch still remains, and the freshness and individuality of this album proves that. All the numbers are fun to listen to, not to mention colorful and snazzy. For those who listen to a lot of Hip hop or even soft rock, this might not sound fresh, but to keep that in Telugu/Tamil without losing its flavor is wizardry-which is what Rehman does with Shivaji's music. The movie's verdict might be good or bad, but the msuc verdict is definitely rocking.
http://www.cinegoer.com/areviews/shivaji.htm
You guys grew up listening to Boys, i grew up listening to Gentlemen & Kadhalan, bringing back ol' memories 8-)
Adhu....
Can't seem to get the link ajayQuote:
Originally Posted by ajaybaskar
Instant Impact For Shivaji Songs
Tamilfilmratings.com [ 06 April 2007 ]
On expected lines, the audio figure of the Super Star's latest has well crossed the three lakh mark.
Such is the clamour that it has reached a point where many retail outlets are contemplating to open bookings. Serpentine queues are seen in Spencer Plaza, Halsa Mahal, Citi Centre, Shoppers Stop, Odyssey, Burma Bazar and T Nagar.
The three numbers doing solid rounds in many areas through loud speakers are: Sooriyano Chandrano, Oru Koodai Sunlight and Vaaji Vaaji Vaaji...
With around 500 prints the movie will have a worldwide release around middle of May. Concurrently, films scheduled for a May release have been advanced.
Sorry Rayan, its...Quote:
Originally Posted by rayan36
http://www.hindu.com/2007/03/03/stor...0303830200.htm
Thanks dude :thumbsup: I never expected Vaali getting a higher pay than VM, he's a 70 yr old teen :victory:
In Oli 96.8,SIngapore official tamil radio station, Sivaji songs are in top 2 places.1st place =vaaji vaaji and 2nd place=sahana while Style song is in 7th place.
The songs were officially released last week only and within a week the songs are top!
Music is an integral part of all of Shankar's films. A R Rahman has been his music director in all his films except Anniyan (Harris Jayaraj composed music for that film).
With Rahman making music for his film again, expectations were very high. And Rahman has not disappointed.
http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2007/apr/09slide5.htm
[/b]
Monday, April 09, 2007
Video : Fans reaction after Sivaji audio release
http://rajinifans.com/showurl.asp?ur...aji-audio.html
:boo:
can you tell the other songs in top 10 :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by stone cold
the same thing here in Malaysia too.
OLI TOP 10 SONGS....sorry 8-10 is not visible in that websiteQuote:
Originally Posted by Sanjeevi
Vaaji Vaaji
Sivaji
Sahana
Sivaji
Thaaliye Thevaiyille
Thamirabharani
Un Siripinil/
Aiyo
Pachaikili Muthucharam/
Paruthiveeran
Chinanchiru Chitte
Muruga
Unakkul Naane/
Ariyatha Vayasu
Pachaikili Muthucharam/
Paruthiveeran
Style
Shivaji
Thaaliye thevai Illai at number 3-aa?? and aiyo from PV at number 4???
Ore comedy-a irukkuba. Intha latchanaththula TN people taste paththi dambi dinesh romba worry panraar :)
:rotfl:Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJudge
aaaaaawwwwwwwwwww................GOD, gimme some patience :D