This is not true, movie will release on Oct 2nd... almost the dates are finalized and team is working to have the audio release in September.
Dhrishyam remake will be almost like Vasool Raja / UPO in terms of budget. So this is a safe movie for KH & Producers if it can be wrapped up faster like Uttama Villain.
What I like in Uttama Villain and Dhrishyam remake is that KH is focusing in finishing off the projects in shorter duration. This will give him the much needed financial strength to launch his risky future projects..
CR, Vasool Raja / UPO were BO hits or ave? remaking good movies is a good idea. i didnt see mbbs/wed despite living in north india. there are untapped millions of tamil cine goers. (on personal note i enjoyed VR to great extent and hated UPO)
AFAIK Vassol Raja was super hit, UPO was avg. Only time UTV and RKFI have collaborated. I guess afterwards some ladaai between them.
Unmai Vilambi and Nickraman,
As I had told many times before, Unnaipol Oruvan was a very profitable venture for RKFI. It took a bumper opening and a superb ROI. What made you think it isn't? :huh: But you are not alone. It is not remembered by many, probably because the movie's promos were low-key or because there aren't any duets in UPO which get repeatedly telecast on music channels to remind us of the movie.
During the release, it was widely considered a masterstroke by Kamal due to the fact that the low budget flick ended up making a lot of money in box office, within 25-30 days of release. RKFI must have been happy with profits made in less number of days, I guess. It ran for 50+ days, if I am not wrong.
Budget of UPO was less than 15 crores (12 crores, if I am not wrong) - including Kamal, Mohanlal & Venkatesh's salary. Wikipedia says 24 crores but 12 is what I heard. Revenue was 48 crores in Tamil + Telugu put together. Even if budget was 24, the movie made money as much as twice its budget.
Chennai Box Office (September 18-20, 2009) WEEK 1 (NUMBER 1)
Kamal Hassan’s Unnaipol Oruvan, as expected, has taken over the number one slot at the Chennai Box Office this Ramzan weekend. The film has netted an amazing Rs 56,09, 221 from 11 screens in Chennai, which is awesome by any yardstick, and the film is a hit.
BO verdict : Excellent opening
http://www.sify.com/movies/boxoffice...3&cid=13525926
Chennai Box Office - September 25 to 28 WEEK 2 (NUMBER 1)
During the long Pooja weekend, Kamal Hassan’s Unnaipol Oruvan rocked the CBO and is the clear number one.
http://www.sify.com/movies/boxoffice...5&cid=13525926
Chennai Box Office - October 2 to 4 WEEK 3 (NUMBER 1)
Unnaipol Oruvan is unbeatable at the CBO for the third week in a row, and is at number one.
http://www.sify.com/entertainment/mo...hp?id=14913695
Chennai Box Office (October 9 to 11) WEEK 4 (NUMBER 1)
The status quo has been maintained at the CBO, in a dull weekend due to Diwali previous effect. At number one is Unnaipol Oruvan, which will lord over the box-office till Diwali releases come along
Chennai Box Office - October 16 to 18 WEEK 5 (NUMBER 4)
In the fourth place is Kamal’s Unnaipol Oruvan, which has fallen.
UPO is a BB for its budget ..
UPO is definite hit..
Vasoolraja is Blockbuster Have seen it around 3 times in theatre during its release...remember it was really Huge that time
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BvMA38ECMAEZN5V.jpg
Uthama Villain sketch by Aakash Ramesh R.
Kamal Hassan's Uttama Villain has recently wrapped up its shoot and is now in the post production stage. The film is planning to release on the 2nd of October, for the Gandhi Jayanti weekend.
Kamal Hassan's make-up for the Theyyam portions is said to have taken more than 4 hours to apply. The make-up artists had been flown down from Thailand, Korea and Kerala for the same. Ramesh Aravind, the director of the film said that Kamal Hassan felt that he would fit the tag to direct this kind of a film, and that was how he was roped in.
http://cinemalead.com/news-id-four-h...-08-145877.htm