VBalan generally looks pretty ok. My comment was on how she appears in this trailer, which is why I said the protagonist of the film looks so. Or maybe I should've written, how she is made to look. Whatever.
Printable View
VBalan generally looks pretty ok. My comment was on how she appears in this trailer, which is why I said the protagonist of the film looks so. Or maybe I should've written, how she is made to look. Whatever.
Manja boots – ferformance brilliance galore.
Kashyapar/Kalki choose a simple, linear narrative to show a mildly engaging tale (quite shallow; could’ve been better written). But where the film makes up big time is with the performances and dialog writing – caustic, incisive yet mostly casual. The Kannada portions were such a welcome, for rarely do we get to see characters from this part of the country in Indian cinema. Kalki’s character’s not very different from the one she played in Shaitan – angst filled youngser with a troubled family and upbringing – but her acting is top-notch. The other characters (massage parlor owner-lady, Sidhappa Gowda, Prashanth, Nasseruddin) that exist in her life helps make the film engaging. Kashyapar, koot job, but innum neraya edhirpArkarOm.
Character seriyilla saar :lol2:
http://itsmyviews.com/wp-content/upl...lan-poster.jpg
apdiye thookkitu poi Vairamuthu pakkathula nikka vachidalam.
KV
adhu Vidhya Balettan ku.... (podhuva namma makkal indha madhiri commands pass panradhu vazhakkam). Her face belongs to that category, if you know what i mean
Vidhya Balettan
sEthu padhicha comedyA irukku, pirichchu padicha kasamusavA irukku
PanjapakesaIyer mOsam panneettArAmE. YArAna pAthelA?
ZNMDB - First one hour was a breeze. Extremely funny too. Adhukkappuram torchal. And Farhan Akhtar's self-promotion sabbaa :hammer:
Dilli Billy - Nice one time watch timepass film. And thats about it.
Big Brother (2007).
Pazhaya pAsam, athuvum Sunny Deol-a remba nAlA parkala. What a mess of a movie. Checked couple of reviews online, and none of them mentioned how this film ripped of Rajini's (note we don't say Suresh Krssna's) Baasha. Some scene by scene. Rajini's charisma and energy vs Sunny's plain pizza dough. Some of the action scenes would even make our Captain wince. Definitely not the kinda films Hindi pundits want me to see.
Pyaar Ka Punchnaama
A must watch for all men. Dont ever miss it.
Shaitan - Too much style spoils whatever little substance it has. Aaranya Kaandam vera level :2thumbsup:
Nerd, if you haven't already, you need to check out the 1985 Kannada movie ‘Accident’ by Shankar Nag (the guy who brought Malgudi Days to screen, for starters). His masterly direction and Raasa’s awesome score (no songs) makes this movie well ahead of its time (has its share of flaws, but still makes a gripping watch). ‘Dai, naanga idha 80s layE paathaachu da’ was the feeling I had when I watched Shaitan. Not that it’s a bad film, makes a solid start, very slick and enjoyable, but then fizzes out after the phony abduction; the Kashyapar syndrome, if one may call it so. But, Gulshan Deviah (KC, in this movie) and Kalki - koot tAlends - awesome performance in Manja boots too.
Thanks bro. Will hunt for the DVD/DVDRip/Youtube :-)
Double Dhamaal.
Falters when the four dimwits started maru-vEsham thing. Sanjay Dutt cannot make up his mind whether to play it straight, or to be goofy with them. An okay entertainer with few laughs here and there. Mallika Shrawat was totally unnecessary.
I have a confession. I like DeewaanE Hue paagal.
It is a sad adaptation of There's something about Mary.
That too I like the Madarasi mockery in it.
There is one guy, Om Puri's son, who is a Punjabi but -for no reason whatsoever - adopts a South Indian identity.
He watches South Indian films, grows a moustache and speaks a pidgin Madaraasi Hindi.
The whole thing is rife with the the Bollywood prejudiced Madarasi depiction, but it is so so over-the top that I found it funny.
And Om Puri's punjabi-ness versus his son causes many moments
Om Puri: Oi...subramaniam ke aulaadh :lol:
Om Puri: abEy...medhu vadA
Son sees his dream girl (Rimi Sen) on TV and screams happily (he's snacking as he watches TV)
OP: abEy ...kyA hua...mangwaa thO dhiyA tErE idli aur saambaar
And the guy calls OP 'appA' and his brother aNNai (அண்ணை)
Finally he locates Rimi Sen in Dubai and calls OP to tell him
Son: appA...GuruvaayurappaNdE...aa pENkutti kitti appA :rotfl:
And when kidnapping her he talks to her in a language which is Hindi ruined completely by using words and intonation which are Tamil (i.e. what bollywood would consider Tamil). She gets frustrated at one point and bursts out: kyA bakwaaz hain ye :lol:
It is a reasonably funny movie apart from this
Akshay Kumar and Vijay Raaz are trailing Sunil Shetty - who pretends to be handicapped.
At one point in the chase, SS throws his crutches at them and runs (first time we too know that he is not handicapped).
A moment of surprise and then
Vijay Raaza: bhaai yeh andhaa nahin hai :rotfl2:
Akshay: abE...andhaa thoo hai...
Climoks chase
Johnny Lever trailing the villain's car and talking over phone to Akshay Kumar - who's driving another car- passing on instructions. The car has Sunil Shetty, Vijay Raaz, Paresh Rawal - who are all on their own track.
Johnny Lever: Mc Donalds-se left liyE us caar nE, Mc Donalds sE left lE
Akshay: (relaying it and trying to stay on top of the chaos)
Paresh Rawal: yahaan McDonalds nahin hai...wo dheek KFC hain...KFC chalEgA? :lol:
Ippo varrA Housefull pOnrA blade-gaLai paakkum pOdhu, 6-7 varusham munnAdi - low production values-Oda - oru maadhiri sumaarA nallAvE edutha indha padangaLai nyAbagap paduththikka vENdi irukku
I saw this movie on TV (IPL MAX) - that tamil speaking charecter is hilarious...
Sounds like me :lol: I'm going to watch it right now, thanks for the recommendation P_R :)Quote:
Originally Posted by P_R
I had a feeling it might be Suresh Menon (Malayalam), he was the taxi driver in the Chitti scene from Ra.one. He has done a similar role in Anil Kapoor's Badhaai Ho Badhaai, where he plays the character of Lucky iyer, who wears a turban but speaks with a Madrasi accent lol.
Suresh Menon mimicking Rajinikanth in Only Rajini Can (in no particular order)
Battery - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89-VSWCwkZk
Across The Wall - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89-VSWCwkZk
Football - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mS6oEdx_DE
Break Oil - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rAOTDfOl32k
Maldives - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmODltUlSKE
Aag - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZuuzUshYkU
Dil Dhadakana - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P7piFCORDFY
Rockstar - Imtiaz's attempt at a Dil Se. Works well till the interval. But in the 2nd half completely loses control over the proceedings. The film just goes haywire. Biggest plus is Rahman's songs. Take them away from the film and the film would not have run for more than a day. Glad Rahman has gotten a subject that respects him.
Ranbir was alrite. Nargis was slightly better than that Majnu heroyini (Rajesh Khanna's daughter). Even a Trisha would have made the film slightly better. Attempt ellaam OK dhaan but he does not have it in him - Imtiaz.
Thought of watching this, at least for Sadda Haq :|
Heard they add subs on particular days in Sathyam (Thursday, I guess). Will watch it this week.
Oh!! Anyway, gonna watch it just for songs. Subtitle illattiyum prachnai illa.
That girl in yellow boots.
Must watch movie..
Well done AK..
I have not seen kaakha kaakha but I saw force and felt it is one of the most gripping and intense love stories I've ever seen in my life. I'm in awe for the villain. I read the villain for Kaakha kaakha won an award and I think it's likely that Vidyut Jamwal will get it here as he is a true recipient for it from every angle. With due respect to Arjun Rampal, there is no point playing the title role if you can't prove your mettle when given a responsibility. But it's not his fault, whoever wrote his role should be blamed. But to name a film after a character who's merely in a film for 4-5 scenes and that to with shabby screenplay is beyond my thought.
Vidyut Jamwal :clap: Checkout his stunts and you'll know exactly why he's got so much to offer.
On "The Dirty picture". Rajdeep Sardesai with Vidya Balan, Ekta Kapoor. They're representing the 80's era-vAm & not based on a single living/ed person. Not being inspired by Smitha-vAm. Yet the character's given a moniker 'Silk' as a tribute.
They speak of 80's as the most decadent in representation. Speaking derisively of the period (esp. 'Southern films'). On how it objectified women, yada yada. Wondering how much of a joke the current Bollywood is today then? The very aspects that they intend as 'vulgar', 'raunchy', has become a norm today. Just because some male actors show their abs, it doesn't change that equation. There's as much hypocrisy today, if not more problematic. We have bigger names like Gareebna, Freeyanka, etc rather than an exclusive set of actress for it. It's not what that happens on-screen, it's what that happened off it, the judgments & repercussions in society that needs to be highlighted. How attitudes had changed really? Not quite sure they have their fingers on right pulse. It appears that they not only claim to show the reality of it, they proclaim a high sense of importance on lines of 'look how bold & ballsy we are today, that we make these kind of films', but then again the 'we', the present state of bollywood, isn't exactly a progressive environment. A reassuring statement that it's "improving". And there's a preservation of Bollywood screen legends (of the period) who've been guilty of even turning Smitha Patil raunchy. The Bollywood-pov is so apparent in the trailer. Why should southern stars/audience be derided & parodied.
Formally as well, they tread a problematic route, showcasing/embracing the very aspect that they've worded as 'dirty'. Vidya Balan seems to revel in it. Watch any 80's video, there's a tinge of sadness & vulnerability in Silk's face. The close-up expression with Poornam in MP shows up in lot of her videos with KH, RK, Chiru, etc, there's a certain tinge of ambiguity & nuance. OTOH, there's Viday Balan. :roll: Forget sensuality, I think she tries too hard. There's a clear sense of vanity. If they meant it as some sort of empowerment, why have they decried it as 'dirty'.
Interesting how two similar films, My Week with Marilyn, & this, are being released in the same year. Somehow one already expects a major sense of disappointment in both films. A case of what could have been.