mayya mayya
hairathe
maula maula
rahman only the 'new age' composer in indian cinema music.
Printable View
mayya mayya
hairathe
maula maula
rahman only the 'new age' composer in indian cinema music.
I dedicate this to my mum
Only You - AR Rahman Jai Ho Concert Detroit 2010
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eM0h2FFWsr0
Happy Mother's Day to all the mums :)
Dholna - Thakshak (1999)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1f_hexY601g
Can you believe Bhaiya got an opportunity to do FEMALE DUET only in ALAIPPAYUDHEY, after that , I didn't recall any?
C.Ramachandra, MSV-TKR, S.D.Burman to Ilayaraja , they got so many chances to do FEMALE DUETS,
yesterday I was making a list,
only one pattu from Rahman!
yaaro yaarodi....alaippayudhey.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17H7_LeCC5A
good job, sunil!
nice post about the composition in the other thread.
munbey vaa.... rag jounpuri!
earlier classics in this rag are
sonnadhu neendhaana sol sol......shri.msv-shri.tkr
jaaye to jaaye kahan.... Dada Burman.
kallile kalai vannam kandaan.... singer - Late Seerghazhi Govindharajan.
eppo varuvaaro..... Gopala krishna bharathi composition.
My favorite Carnatic vocalist Shri. Sanjai subramanyan has done RTP in Rag Jounpuri just like many other rags. Sanju, YOU ROCK!:thumbsup:
vinatha.
Thanks Vinatha man, I can always count on you for ragas :D
You mean to say, you can count of tfmpage for raga info.....
post it in Raga thread. RR, Vel, thumburu etc... will stop by to ponder on the composition with their music might!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWiwA227l3U
amazing stuff....hip hop music sprinked in this beutifully... when no one in India really woke up to western
If I had to choose the most un-Rahman Ji-ish song post 2010, then hands down my vote goes for, Beera. OK, I’m kidding, Rahman Ji’s vocal presence in the prelude can be attributed to many of his gems but besides this vintage humming there isn’t much I can seriously relate to with reference to the rest of his songs.
Simply put, this is the amost non-Rahman Ji song which thankfully has clicked with people from different walks of life.
You know that you’re hearing a great song when you remove the core melody from the additional instrumentation and arrangements, if the core melody is lingering in your head after this then there’s no looking back. I don’t think there is another carefree melody bringing so many smiles as much as Beera and as a fan you can improvise the lyrics without deviating to much from the melody (talking from experience, I’m mainly singing/humming gibberish) when I’m in a comical mood.
As a title song(?), I would have never expected Rahman Ji to churn out such a number i.e. Tribal, fun-loving, simple. I was definitely expecting something more sombre yet exuberant, lavish and high on orchestration.
The pattern is highly free flowing yet it has little or no deviation. Keerthi Sagathia sounds ditto of Kailash Kher, but from hearing his other songs, I’ve come to a conclusion that he can reach the extremes of Kailash Kher as well as the mellowness of Naresh Iyer (prime example being the Gujarat Swarnim song).
The reason why I brought this up, is because when I went for my vacation this song was constantly ringing in my head for no clue what so ever. :D
Pyar Yeh Jaane Kaisa hai
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTavHodUbrg
IT’S BEEN HAUNTING ME ALL DAY
Innisai Alabadai - Enchanting me since 2006. Coupled with GF's opening credit video pullarrippu. A great booster for a Nonsense of a Satur-Work-Day. Works on every vein/muscle. Pity that this is not appreciated much.
NEE NATHASWARAM POLA VANTHA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E_62GxV8ViM
Wonderful song. A tad unfortunate that the part comprising of swarams in different ragas was edited out in the video. Benny Dayal, Ujjaiinee were all good. And adding to the singing, the masterly use of the Nadaswaram and the tavil makes the song a memorable listen....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHoBl7U2Ikk&feature=g-vrec
The freshness of this song and the lucidity of the tunes/lyrics is great.
'Aaruyirae mannippaaya mannippaaya sol en sagiyae' .... This song can be best described by a line from the song itself 'ainthu pulangaLin azhagiyae'. A song for all your senses.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XPolqWbAsw
Iruvar songs on loop for the whole day. Will easily find its place in ARR's top 10 albums.
tu bin bataye
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4UBXB...eature=related
from my god...
Anand... Excellent song.. :notworthy:
One of my fav. of ARR...
Naresh iyer debut song.. :)
Aalapane Mellane
Awesome.. Who is this Abhay?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slF9Uoo2Vvs
one of my fav spb ar song...very catchy...always fun listening and watching it...:musicsmile:
Ale Ale
What genre will this song fit into?
ARR Genre :wink:
SemMozhi |Tamil Anthem |AR.Rahman | [HD]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lRITPjraXgA
Quote:
I am a north Indian and still feel proud by watching this video even though i didn't understand a single word.. why ? because i felt it and i felt it because i consider tamil a part of my family which is the whole of india .. so why do you divide people on dravdian , aryan etc if you look to divide stuff then division won't stop .. instead think about unity .. that is the road to progress for this great nation !! Bharat Vazhaga .. Tamil Vazhaga
One of the comments from Youtube, my sentiments exactly.:D
God made humans, humans made religion i.e. Hindu, Muslim, Sikh, Christians etc.
God made the world, humans made countries i.e. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka etc.
No child enters the world with religion written on his forehead but we place this child on the drum of religion and start playing beats.
That will be the day when we teach our kids humanity, that day earth will become heaven.
We don't tell animals to be like animals, we only tell humans to act like humans.
வாசுதேவ குடும்பம்
Senmozhiya is one such song that regardless of being a song for Tamil World Conference, it has as a singer by the name of TMS who is from Saurashtra and the video is directed by a Mallu... You will find many others too... :D
We as Rahman Ji devotees should bridge the gap between NI and SI fans as for me Rahman Ji is defnitely the biggest uniting factor and that is his goal aswell. Jai Ho! #RantOver
Recently got a chance to listen to Sevaanam chinna pen soodum from pavithra...
Great composition and orchestration by ARR.... Truly miss such orchestration by ARR off late....
Definitely a great song not to be missed
Another ARR Genre song... which is mesmerizing
Maari mazhai peiyaatho from Uzhavan
What a song... 100% justice by Shahul hameed....
Miss this ARR and the talented singer too...
Alka Yagnik P. Jayachandran
Milo wahan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7f5fDiwgxag
Blood boils when such songs get lost in time :( Alka mam's humming portion is akin to Meenaxi's Rang Hai...
Arima Arima
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL1oRzvm_rs
Thalaivar glorifying Thalaivar. This IS the best shot song for Rajini Da!
Wishing you A Very Happy Birthday Sunil!. On this beautiful occasion, I am sharing my biggest Rahman favorite of all times with you. One of the best piece of music I have ever heard. :notworthy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJloCZReXvk
Aww, appreciate the love Sir! Call it a coincidence but I was going to write about this song a few days ago. :lol: A party isn't a party without this number... guaranteed success... Definitely should be one of the first songs played at any joyous occasion. A great dance number where Rahman Ji hasn't compromised on the melody one bit. Love the part at 2:12.
Thanks again! :cool: Ooh La Lala
Dotted Line from People Like Us...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOa4srjSOIM
I have only read one or two music reviews as I don’t want to get too influenced. Anyway I’m too immature to review an album like “Jab Tak Hai Jaan”.
I don’t really listen to music for lyrics but when the lyrics are in my mother tongue (Punjabi) and Rahman Ji is behind the music then I have no option but to unintentionally pay a slight bit of scrutiny. “Heer” and “Challa” are like chalk and cheese but somehow conjure up the same feelings and deep down explore a similar message with relation to the divine.
“Heer”
Emotions in music are usually expressed well via Woodwind and Strings and percussion instruments rarely convey more than one emotion. However, the ”Dafli” is one such drum that doesn’t fit in this equation as I believe it expresses happiness, love, passion and sorrow. It basically covers most if not the entire emotion spectrum. This song will have a different effect on different people, some listeners might find it a happy love song and some might feel the pain while others might pick up on both emotions. Either way, this song is definitely a testimony for any person that can control their emotions and really does question whether self-control or emotion is greater. The only way to control emotions is to completely lose yourself in the devotion of the divine. Every emotion that one has is temporary and doesn’t affect for a long term. In this song and probably in reality, love is not an emotion, it is everlasting. “Heer Ranjha” and “Mirza Sahiba” saw the divine in each other hence even today many lovers are inspired by their tales. The verses show that the central character of the song sees herself in her love.
The prelude has this sparkling humming backed by an Acoustic guitar which sets the tone of the song straight away. The yearning for love is expressed as well as the grief when one (a newlywed girl) leaves her family to go to her in-laws. The message of this song is that love is blind and it does this by paying homage to two epic Punjabi love tragedies: “Heer Ranjha” and “Mirza Sahiba”. While the former is a story of lovers separated by wealth and poverty, the latter is about lovers who belong to different tribes.
While the song explores nostalgia via folk it also strikes a chilling lounge vibe. The former is displayed by the earthy cum dolorous vocals and the latter by the obvious easy on ear Guitars and the Bass Drum and Rim. Both nostalgic and contemporary worlds meet at a bridge, which in the songs case is orchestral usage of “Saans”.
“Saans”
This can be termed as a journey, it’s not a song. It’s not just “Saans” but every song in this album makes me feel that Rahman Ji has stopped making music because we all know what music is but this is something else and it’s on another platform altogether.
Musically and lyrically, “Saans” reaches unreachable heights. The orchestration really does sound like a train and we all know Rahman Ji and Gulzar have already released a blockbuster song with a train theme. Other pictures that are depicted through this song are images of the night. All of the pictures are conjured up in the prelude itself. The train aspect is further supported by the Flute piece at 0.30 while the night is reflected by the choral chants and hypnotic bells. However, out of the blue Rahman Ji manages to weave in a Sarangi proving his unquestionable genius creativity.
Even though, there are vast musical flavours in this song, the overall structure/musical genre that glows the most here is Reggae (timbales and tambourine). So here it is, the song displays, Western Classical, Reggae as well Celtic which pops up in the second interlude thanks to the Bagpipes. Who would have thought that Bagpipes would go with Reggae music, it is certainly something that hasn’t been deeply ventured into, however Rahman Ji doesn’t leave any stone unturned in finding innovation here.
The vintage Flute piece at 4:03 just proves that in this song where there is so much experimentation in terms of musical genres, Rahman Ji has still found the scope to also experiment with Raags.
“Mujhe Saans Aayi”
“Mujhe Saans Nahin Aayi” – Rahman Ji has taken my breath away with this heavenly composition! :bow:
More to come...
Happy listening!
this song has been resurrected for me from a master piece of an album called Delhi 6 thnx to the stellar performance by you know who in unglugged..goosebumps all over..:bow:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9pfnOD2qBA