Madhu.... I'm Prem Ananth.
Anyhow thanks for the info.
Kaalanggalil Aval Vasantham also has "MaNamagale Un MaNavarai Kolam" - artputhamaana paadal Varigal...!
Printable View
Madhu.... I'm Prem Ananth.
Anyhow thanks for the info.
Kaalanggalil Aval Vasantham also has "MaNamagale Un MaNavarai Kolam" - artputhamaana paadal Varigal...!
Hi Prem Ananth..
I think ..female voice in all the songs of Kalangalil avaL vasantham is VJ only..
"manamagale", "anbenum sudaral", "padum vande parthadhunda","mudhal mudhal varum sugam"... all !
Ramki -
Alaiyil Aarambiththu, Sorgaththil Mudinthuvittadhae Endru Irukku! :D
Thanks for hosting a class compilation all through the week!
-------------
Prem Ananth -
That's a good list of songs. Enni Irunthadhu is a VJ - Malaysia Vasudevan duet.
--------------
Regarding the "weird" coupling in Kora Kaagaz / Lalitha : The relationship is student / lecturer. VA / GG were chosen specifically for their age. What really sank Lalitha was the additional professor vaadai provided by "Calcutta" Prof. Viswanathan as Sujatha's father. Presidency College Staff Common Room-la Moonu Avar Ukkaandhuthuttu Vandha Maadhiri Aayidichchu!
Thanks for the Info Madhu!
Thanks for the correction Naaz!
Ramki,
If you don't mind, could you pls host "Poothathu Kamalam Purinthathu KaaraNam" from Nyanak Kulzhanthai?
Neel D, No suspicion on anyone at all. Infact I'm happy my tastes are in sync with others.
Premananth thanks for the info on Lalitha.
Sorry i do not have the song you reqeusted
JMahesh thanks for the info on theerppu. I like the 'amma or ambigai' pol song
SN23 no i do not have that MP song :(
Naaz thanks for the clarification on VA-GG :)
Pick #297
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/kangalaal_mn.rm
Song: kaNgaLaal naan varaindhen
Film: Mangala Nayagi
Singers: PSuseela, KJYesudoss
lyrics: kaNNadasan?
Music: VKumar
Another hindi remake another emotional senDimenDal story.
The original 'sajan bina suhagan' had Nutan, Rajendrakumar, Vinod Mehra, Padmini kholapure(baby) etc.
Story: Nutan and her husband(I think dr shreeram lagoo) has 3 daughters, the youngest(Padmini K) with heart problems. The father has cancer but afraid that the news might affect the daughter, he goes away to a remote place and dies there. The family hides his death from the kid . Rajendra kumar, ex classmate and oruthala kaadhalan of Nutan, gets close to the family. How the kid learns about ther fathers death and Nutan marries rajendrakumar forms the rest.
Usha khanna was the MD for original and she came up with few good songs. The stand out was KJYesudoss/Anuradha Paudwal's 'Madhuban khushboo deta hai'.
In tamil , KRVijaya did Nutans role and i believe sarathbabu did RK's role. Actress Shobana did PK's role. I think this was her second film as a child artiste(First was banumathy directed dasavatharam). I have not watched the tamil version so cant say if it was better or worse than the original.
Todays pick is again the standout song of the album. If you wish to sample the remaining songs , click here
http://www.emusic.com/album/10907/10907108.html
HI Rami..
nice song.. angum ingum.. konjam konjam..
idhe MD-in "unnidam mayangugiREn" vadai adikkara pola thONudhu..
BTW, is there another version of the song sung by SP Shailaja ?
Hi Ramki,
very nice song....
The song have tipical touch of VK. Eventhough I Listened it first time.
I think, Mangala Nayaki was last movie under Krishnan- Panju's directions.
Anyone could help me to clear this doubts?
1. Are there any songs sung by TMS under A.M.Raja's Music? (I only can remember VaNNa mAn oru pakkam from Enakkoru Magan Pirappaan.")
2. Does TMS composed music for any movie?
Ramki -
Mangala Nayaki is remembered (if at all) for just this song! One of the last good tunes from VK, and PS/KJY fill it with dignity and tenderness. These singers make the words come alive. They convey the "feeling" of the song without showing us (no gimmicks and unncessary stresses/aural highlights) at every turn that they are "moved"by the words they sing! What subtle artistry is all about!
Keep these classics coming! :D
Ramki: many of VJ+SPB songs under MSV are good. Better are VB's.
KanagaLaal naan varainden is a wonderful composition. KRV's lover Sharath babu sings along with KRV. Then KRV sings alone (PS). Then Shobana sings (SPS). 3 versions used very effectively.
An undigestable thing was Srikant acted as KRV's husband. Jodi poruththam sariye illai. I think they acted together in Karunali ullam also, but not as jodi.
Keep up Ramki :-)
Thanks Bala,Madhu,Premananth, Naaz and vel.
Madhu yes there is a SPS version too.
Premananth, 'balaparikshai' had music by TMS
vel thanks for the details on mangala naayaki
Pick #298
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/vangadi_pp.rm
Song: vangadi chittukaLaa
Film: pattina pravesam
Singer :lyrics: kaNNadasanHTML Code:[img]http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow06/lre_3.jpg[/img]
Music:MSViswanathan
Thanks to NeelD for the song and LRE Picture. Here is his excellent writeup. Thanks Neel.
The song being presented today is from the film Pattina Pravesam directed by K.Balachander. I don't know much about the plot of the film, and count on posters here to fill in. K.Balachander's movies usually had very good songs that actually summarized part of the proceedings through the song lyrics. LRE sang many wonderful songs in KB’s movies (ANimuthu vAnggi vanthEn, adi ennadi ulagam, Ananda thANdavamO, mAppiLLai ragasiyam, kAthOduthAn nAn pAduvEn, Hello My Dear, kalyANam kachchEri, nAn oru kathAnAyagi, etc.). vAnggadi sittukkaLA is one of LRE’s hit songs, but the song is rarely heard these days. I believe that the male voice in the beginning of the song belongs to MSV.
everfamous elandapazham paata vituteengalae
Though a good song, did not fit the voice of a simple Village Belle acted by new found Meera (Viziyile Malardhadhu and En Kanamani Un Kadhali fmame)
As a small kid I enjoyed the movie in spite of a heavy subject (29/30 years ago ). Good acting by Sarath Babu, Delhi Ganesh and Jai Ganesh though they were all new comers.
I think Visu was the writer as it was his play I suppose. Villagers come with great expectations to Pattinam and face challenges and failures and eventually return back.
Ofcourse who can forget the Vaan Nila SPB version and the lesser known LRAnjali version
Wish I can see the movie again
Thanks Ramki
bala
Bala: Sarath Babu? in pattina pravesam? Did you mean Sivachandran?
jmahesh,Quote:
Originally Posted by jmahesh
Thanks for bringing that up. That was not an oversight. It was deliberate. It is a catchy song famous for its double entendre. LRE did a wonderful job with that song. But I made an attempt to not list the dabbankuthu songs and folk songs that crossed the line into kuthu genre. As entertaining as they may be, there is nothing musically creative or demanding in those songs. Of course that is my opinion. And that is why I did not list those songs.
I also did not list any of LRE's amman songs, because those songs are still played at temple festivals and are commonly heard.
Wonderful listing Ramki....!
LRE in one my favorite singer. Her first solo was "Puthu Penne Puthu Penne" from Nalla Idathu Sambantham.
There are some fantastic duet with SGovintharajan - Thanggachi Chinna ponnu, anbu enbathu – Asai alaigal (also Jamuna Rani), Maambalzha Thottam Malligai Koottam from Oli Vilakku, Mathurai Arasaalum Meenatchi from Thirumalai Thenkumari.
The last portion of Mathurai ArasaaLum:
“Thiruverkaatinile Karumaari
Then Puthuvai Nagarinile MuthuMari
Samaypuranthannil Magamaayi
Sagala Saubaakkiyam Thanthiduvaal Maakaali”
Sema dappangkuttu portion and only she can sing with the additional gimmicks.
I Love her humming in Kallellaam Maanikka Kallaagumaa (AlayamaNi), Veedu Varai Uravu (Paatha KaaNikkai), Maanikka Thottil Inggirukka (Lullaby – Ari Ari Ari Arariraro)- (Panam Padaithavan).
Kaattotu Kulzhal aada from Periya Idathu Penn is another gem.
Another comedy song with Chandra Babu – Poranthaalum Ambilaiyaa Porakkak Koodathu. I love the sound she gave after the first line – aa oo.
Another solo, Kallellam Selai senjaan Pallava Raaja – from Vaa Raja Vaa.
Her duet with her sister LR.Anjali in Varuvaan Vadivelan – Paaru Saamy Paaru Iva Palzhaya Korathi is another Nice kurathi Song. Another Kurathi song for Ambika with MS.Vasuthevan in Deviyin Thiruvilaiyaadal – Valli Amman Vantha Kulam Engga Kulam Thaan.
Paalile Vennai Undu Paarkkum Pothu theriyuma from Devi Sri Karumaariyamman is duet with Vani Jeyram. (I think this is the only song both of them have sung together) LRE for Manorama and VJ for K.R.Vijaya. LRE kuralil antha Thimir, Anavam avvalavu alzhagaaga thoNikkum- Manoramavin ematru character – ai polave.
Another Samiyaattam song is Sakthi VanthaLadi from Sakthi Leelai. (very rare song she sung under TKR after he separate from MSV). The portion “Asainthaal Vinnulagam Asaiyum Thannale…. Hmm…. Only she can do.
I think LRE has the suitable voice for Jayalalitha after PS. I think only both of them sung for her.
When I was child there ware long wooden houses (call lines) in Estates. So what else song played in a house can listen to next or to the third house. Whenever we played the LRE Amman Songs, the woman in third house got Trans- Saami aattam. So have to stop the music. Not only she. During Amman Kovil Thiruvilzha time, Poosaari Udukkai Olikka Thevai illai, LRE paattu pothum. Ella pengalukkum Saami vanthu vidum. Appadi Oru kural.
But I’ womdering why she sung that kind of song in Arul – vikram’s movie after she already established as devotional singer.
[/tscii][tscii]
Many years back when DD was the sole tv channel i saw an interview with LRE.In that she mentioned about elandapazham song being one of her personal favourites and in a concert in malaysia/singapore she had to sing that song over & over again several tiimes due to fans request.Thats why i mentioned about that song.i have heard from others about the song having double meaning.( nijama enakku theriyathu)
My favourite is kathodu thaan.My mother told me that in a recent programme in Vijay tv KSC quoted this song as her favourite LRE song & sang a few lines
RC:
Both Sivachandran and Sarath Babu acted. SB acts as Meera's Boss and who would have robbed Meera's priceless possession. THere was a scene where a train sound was superimposed when Meera and SB talk. That scene was praised by all Magaiznes..
Bala
Hi
Thanks. Nice to hear this song after a long time. MSV KALAKI VITTAR(NADASWARAM ETC). splendid humming in the beginning but dont resembles MSV voice.
I like LRE &TMS combination verymuch especially THULLUVATHU ILLAMAI. The way she rendered KAANATHA KOLAM NE KANUM NERAM. WOW.
one more song NAM URUVARAI URUVAR SANTHIPOOM ENA KADHAL THEVATHI SONNAL with TMS. We have countless like this.
Ramesh
Very nice write up about one of my favorite singer.Thanks Neel.
Here is a song from her debut film nalla idaththu sammantham-dhukkaththilum sirikkaNum thuNivudanE irukaNum. I featerued this in URGO series last year. This is one of her personal favorites.She sacrificed a lot for her large family of brothers and sisters. She recalled this song in an interview that remembering those lines wil bring back all the courage and strength.
Ramki and Neel
Thanks for remembering LRE.
http://tfmpage.mayyam.com/hub/viewto...=asc&start=120
Bala is right about the storyline.I think KB introduced Delhi ganesh, Meera and ?Sivachandran. This song was picturised on the village side with Meera in Eththam and vayalveLi.Meera is the youngest sister of the 3 brothers.The story reminded me the film Pazhani by Nadigar thilagam.The best in the album is SPB in vaan nila picturised with Siva and Swarna on the beach.
MSV sang "dharmaththin kaNnai katti"- a kind of thematic song how the Chennai pattinam corrupted the innocent family from the village.
During the period preceeding Pattina Pravesam, AIR-Chennai used to air serial dramas daily 15 to 30 minutes in the afternoon. Visu, Mouli etc were very successful with their dramas and many of them were broadcast in the radio also.
If I am correct, Pattinap Pravesam was a popular drama by Visu and aired in AIR also. Later KB decided to make this story into film and thus started the filmy career of Visu.
Also, with IR fastly establishing in that period, this one film particularly the song "Vaan Nila", gave satisfactory moments to MSV lovers!
CSR
Ramki / Neel D,
Great presentation! I am always glad to rediscover LRE! Rather uncanny actually, for it was only the other day that I found myself in hallways of the immortal Palinginaal Oru Maaligai! LRE, what an original! She could go from rural to urban with just one turn of her tongue! Thanks for that list!
Pattinap Pravaesm found its "inspiration" in Conquerors of the Golden City. KB used the same stencil for another film about dillusioned hearts under one roof: Kalyana Agathigal. Hope to hear Manasukkul Uttkaarndhu Maniadiththaai sometime... (has it made POTW?)
Among those "introduced" by this film, Delhi Ganesh made the most successful (and lasting) transition from stage to screen.
Pattina pravesam is a stage play by Visu which was made a movie by KB .......
a family of villagers enter into Chennai in pursuit of doing some business, getting higher education, a good job and face failures......
while Delhi ganesh, the lead member loses everything in business....
Sivachandran becomes paralysed after an accident ....
Kaathaadi ramamurthy another brother becomes a thief i think ( his famous dialogue in this movie was BUNGLING )
a nice movie picturised well by KB
but KB ends the movie on a slightly positive note by showing Sivachandran reacting a bit from the paralysis stage....which gives the family a ray of hope...
Thanks to Ramki and Neel for this rare LRE song. I have been looking for this song from a long time. Couldn't get a hold of it anywhere. Today, I listened quite a few times and enjoyed.
The way LRE starts saying "ha" is very catchy.
My all time favourites of LRE:
With TMS:
paarvai onRE pOdhumE( yaar nee)
thaazham poovE thanga nilaavE (raththa thilagam)
pattikkaadaa pattaNamaa (maattukkaara vElan)
poo vaiththa poovaikku ..with PS and TMS (maattukkaara vELan)
avaLukkenna azhagiya mugam(Server sundharam)
sorgam pakkaththil(enga maamaa)
with PBS:
muLLil rojaa kaLLURum rojaa (kalaik kOvil)
nice yodelling by PBS.
malaraip paRiththaay (sengkamalath theevu)
yaarOdum pEsak koodaadhu
with PS:
ennadi mayakkamaa solladi (savaalE samaaLi)
paattonRu tharuvaar (server sundharam)
sonnadhellaam nadandhidumaa (paadha kaaNikkai)
vaadiyammaa vaadi (paNakkaraak kudumbam)
mundhaanai pandhaada (nenjam maRappadhillai)
paalaadai mEni (poovaa thalaiyaa)
Solos: (Innumerable)
vaadai kaatRammaa (raththa thilagam)
yaaradi vandhaar(vaanampaadi)
ammammaa kannaththil kannam vaiththuk koLLu
birds on the trees
muththamidum nErameppo
list will go on for ever.
Thanks Ramki for featuring the song.
Thanks sathyakabali, Naaz, jn.
Kannadasan writes such imaginative lines...
pattaNaththai katti izhuththu
enthan pakkaththilE koNdu niRuththu
And LRE sings it with such authority and aplomb. Especially when she repeats the lines with a "hoy hoy hoy hoy hoy hoy hoy" in between the lines, then pacing slowly through the second line and finishing off with a firm "niRuththu..u!".
To me these two lines showcase the genius of MSV, Kannadasan and LREswari all at once. Such great artistes.
Thank you everyone for the excellent response.
Pick #299
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/mugam_vm.rm
Song: mugam senthamarai
Film: vedikkai manidhargaL
Singer : SJanaki
lyrics: Vaali
Music: Shankar Ganesh
When i was a kid, my favorite day of the week was friday.
It was early 80s. The only tv channel available was doordarshan and every friday's oliyum oLiyum was a celebration. Since there was no school on saturdays , me and my friends will play till 8 pm and then go straight to sit in front of tv , just in time for OO.
On a new friday, the first song that was played is todays pick. The song wass picturised on Vijayashanthi. I have seen this song only once but still remember the details. VS, clad in a yellow saree will start singing in front of a mirror. The hero(Rajeev) will float into her dreams and she will fly to gardens and parks singing the song.
Another reason to love friday: Hindu's entertainment section. It will have the reviews of latest films. Being a film buff i will read the reviews of all films published, irrespective of the language.
That friday there was a review on 'vedikkai manidhargaL'. It got an average review and if i remember right, Rajeev played a dual role, one is a nice guy and the other a con man.
Todays song was praised in the review and i like(d) it too.
Today we have abundant tv channels playing songs agains and again and numerous websites that give us the reviews of new films. Though they are informative and entertaining, it kind of stole the thrill we experienced those nice innocent days.
I'm getting old :)
Time to move to Memories of Yesteryears section ! :lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramki
Ditto Feelings on OO and Hindu Review (I can add IE review also as I used to borrow neighbor's papers for that)
80-82 was a good time for SG as he came with a number of nice melodies and was having a number of hits.
This song was a good one also and I believe that Balaguru guy directed this movie as well (Kanni Paruvathile and Chinna Chinna Veedu Katti were some of his other movies I think)
SJ excels as always except for the occassional shrill in her voice
Thanks Ramki
Bala
Hi Ramki
Thrill is not there now. Those days we have no option but to wait for OLEYUM OLIYUM . Nice thing is there will be mixture of old and new songs. I can recollect Bala muralikrishna programme on RAGAS and he will select one cinema song and explain the speciality and MD's creativity. I think Doordarshan also did some commendable programmes.
ramesh
The name of the Balamurali krishna programme is SWARA RAAGA SUDHA
I (We) also enjoyed the PADAMUM PAADALUM telecast on DD-2 Channel, which used to have some rare songs that are not even telecast on OO.
I never heard this song before this. It’s very unfortunate for me. Really nice song. Artputhamaana varigal.
LRE patri ellorum pesikkittu irukka, adutha paattum LRE paatta varum endru paartha, SJ vanthu nitkiraar. Analum rasikka vaippathil kuraivillai.
Great Ramki.
Could anybody tell the synopsis of Vedikkai Manithargal ?
Really nice song, thanks Ramki. SJ voice and expression is very sweet. Thanks once again for this cute song.
regards
Meera
Ramki -
Wow, had not heard this one for many years! Great find! Another SJ (duet with MVD?) song for SG that I been seeking is "Idhazhil Thenpaandimuththukkal..." from Uchchakkattam? Hope you can bring that to POTW some day! If you can make it a double-bill with "Nee Vennmalligai..." (Veettukku Oru Kannagi) - I'll be twice happy!
Thanks for this song.Have heard it in radio decades ago and virtually faded from my memory.i was very happy to listen to it after such a long time.I am really amazed with your selection of songs.
Thank you all for the passionate response to LRE song.
Premananth and jn - thanks for the rare songs you have added to the lists.
Ramki,
mugam senthAmarai is a lovely song. It vanished from the airwaves too quickly along with many other great songs of that era. Thanks for bringing it back. It is a nice composition with elements of surprise and unpredictability. Great job by Shankar-Ganesh and sweet singing by S.Janaki.
Raj, Yes in another 3-4 decades :)
Thank you everyone for sharing your memories.
Naaz i do not have the songs you requested :(
Pick #300
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/valibam_ds.rm
Song: valibam vazhga
Film: devi sridevi
Singer : SJanaki , SPB
lyrics: Vairamuthu
Music: iLaiyaraja
JMahesh , i finaly located the CD and here is your request. The quality is not great but that shouldnt stop from enjoying this beautiful number.
The eternal second hero-heroine of tamil cinema, AVMRajan and Pushpalatha, produced this film to boost the career of their daughter Mahalakshmi aka sri. Sri had a dream debut. How many actress start their career with a kamalhassan film?Even though he played a 'guest' role in ranitheni, his name alone brought few people to theatres. The film also had good songs by IR. But unfortunately the few werent enough to sustain the film in theatres.
In the past AVMRajan has produced and starred in few movies to boost his own career, but they failed too. Similarly, his last(?) production 'devi sridevi' too failed miserably. The film had AVMR, sri, Suresh, subash etc. It was a routine story of three guys loving the same gal.
The film bombed and so did the career of mahalakshmi.
She then ventured into Kannada cinema (sri in KM)and became quite popular there. Where are AVMR and Pushpalatha? The last news i read about AVMR is about his conversion to christianity.
Devi sridevi had good songs by IR.
'dhasarathanin thirumaganai'(SJ, MV, DC)
'saan piLLai aanalum'(MV) and
todays pick.
Todays pick is one of my favorite favorite SPB-SJ duet. The pleasant interludes, the sweet voices and good lyrics make it an excellent song