RR :) oru paadavathi eduthu udunga :)
Printable View
RR :) oru paadavathi eduthu udunga :)
FM It's your area of specialization, isn't it? ;) Why don't you send me one..
Nice song RR. SPB's voice matching well for Mohan. balu will be very casual in this song .
I have also heard the same song through SJ also
Pick #315
[html:c86fcddf9a]http://www.musicindiaonline.com/z/ri...e/5481/f/1.jpg
http://www.chennaionline.com/musicse...kunnakkudi.JPG[/html:c86fcddf9a]
Song: maalai vanna maalai
Film: ThiruvaruL
Singer: PS
Lyrics: Kannadhasan
MD: Kunnakkudi vaidyanathan
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/maalai_t.rm
I think kunnakkudi is one of the most successful MD's who crossed-over from pure canatic to films. I like many of his filmy tunes (well.. excluding songs like 'kottaambattai roattile' :lol: ). Several of them were lilting - especially the very light classical numbers. Here's one such from ThiruvaruL. It happens to be PS' personal favorite under Kunnakkudi's music.
On the movie, I saw it but only remember AVm Rajan starred in it :( I hope NOV or someone will throw more light?
Other popular songs in this movie are: kanthan kaaladiyai vanginaal, kandukonden, ulagangal yaavum - all 3 by TMS.
I recollect seeing JAYA a telugu actress playing wife of AVMR who also sang Radhayin nenjamay ( Kil there HIndi lift ) in another movie.
Kunnakudi's most famous will be Marudhamalai mamaniyay from Deivam!
Also, I love Paal pongum paruvam , a song during which he plays around with swarajathi !
Ramki Avargale pattu down load aaga villaye.
ramesh
pl try now.Quote:
Originally Posted by umaramesh
Thanks Nakkeeran!
RR,
artputhamaana paadalai host panni irukkeengga....! romba Thanks.
Friends.....read the lyrics of the song while listen it. arthamaana varigal
maalai vaNNa maalai
intha ulagaththil aayiram maalai
maalai vaNNa maalai
maalai ulagaththil aayiram maalai
thiruniRai selvikku thirumaNa maalai
dhEvargaL saatciyil manggala maalai
maalai vaNNa maalai
aayiram pon peRum arut paa maalai
aaNdavan adiyaarkku jaba maNi maalai
aayiram pon peRum arut paa maalai
aaNdavan adiyaarkku jaba maNi maalai
kavinjargaL sUdum kavi maNi maalai
kaadhalar kUdida dhinam varum maalai
antha maalai ..anthi maalai
maalai vaNNa maalai
kalai magaL tharuvadhu kalvi maalai
thiru magaL tharuvadhu selva maalai
kalai magaL tharuvadhu kalvi maalai
thiru magaL tharuvadhu selva maalai
aRumugan sonnadhu praNava maalai
adhu thaan avanadhu thiruvaruL maalai
adhu thaan muruganin thiruvaruL maalai
maalai vaNNa maalai
Aha.... enthanai mAlaigal.... Kaviyarase
Nee paadinaai paamAlai
varaintha
un kaigalukku
thodukkirom poomAlai...!
RR,
PS also sang another unarchimayamaana paadal - Thanggam Perithendru Ninainthen Muruga...
"sAraththilum sAram niRainthathu samsAram
thArathirkke kaNavan thAne AthAram"
ThuNavan & Theivam vetrikkup piRagu, MMAC Thevar eduthu, marutha malaiyAn pugalzh paadum innoru padam.
Thevarum vAriyaaum special appearence koduthirunthaargal.
AVMR, nAgesh, Jeya, Sugumaari (panathaasai piditha maamiyaar), are the leads of Thiruvarul.
intha paadalgalai ketka vendum namakku Thiruvarul.
RR, Premananth has given most info. :)
I was barely a teenager when I watched this film and was totally moved by it. We had an audio shop then and this was one the few runaway hit albums. Thiruvarul came a couple of years after the successful Deivam, produced by the same Dhandayudhapani Films with the direction by (Devar’s son-in-law) Thiyagarajan. Dramatic AVM Rajan was paired with Jaya and one more actor I distinctly remember is Major Sundarrajan. Jaya sings this POW in front of a temple, as a flower girl. The movie relates the story of the building of Devar’s asthaana kOvil at Marudha Malai. Songs in the movie:
- Maalai vanna maalai - PS
Engum niraindhirukkum engal gurusaami – TMS
Ulagangal yaavum un arasaangamE – TMS (Bharadwaj used the beginning music for one of his songs – guess!)
Malaigalil sirandha malai Marudha malai – Sirghaazhiyaar
Kandhan kaaladiyai vananginaan – TMS
Thangam perithendru – TMS
Marudha malaikku neenga vandhu paarunga – TMS
Kandukonden kandukonden – TMS (now you know which song inspired the Aiswariya starrer!)
Great songs!
Hats of to Kunnakudiyaar :notworthy:
Welcome RR.
So ... Can we expect a super paadaavadhi sent by FM soon? :)
Most of the movies by KV as MD were devotional esp on murugan. dhirushti kazhippu pOla kottaampatti rOattile.. :(
Today's pow is a good one with good lyrics. PS sings it with ease.
jn :)
no paadavathis, I'm nothing to do with paadavathis. My collections are gone with wind :)
I like 'kaNdukoNdEn naan...' TMS kalakalaa paadiyirupaar, aanaa ithu ellam rare song ah :)
class song ramki thanks
thangam perindhendru is a solo by PS Not TMS
Thanks NOV and Rajesh.
As we know, Kunnakkudi Vaithiyanaathan and Poovai Senguttuvan were debut to the film industry by the album music, "thiruparam kundrathil" - kanthan karuNai.
"malaigaLil siRantha malai marutha malai" lyrics and mettu similar to Soolamanggalam Sister's album -
"mAthA piRantha malai imaya malai - vanthu
magan viLaiyaadum malai maruthamalai
AhA ithaRkku minji malaiyum illai - piLLai
avanukku minji piRakkavillai"
nallathoru medai kacheri paadal for AVMR and Jaya's wedding.
Regarding Dhanashekar and Mallika: Dhanashekar is a doctor by profession; tried his luck with film music. This song MalargaLin Raja was a major hit. (Late) Sasikumar and Stage actress M.Bhanumathi acted for this song. Very youthful and different voices. I remember Prameela acted in dual role with Ravichandran as her hero. 3-week run in theatre Paragon (Opp. Children's Theatre/KalaivaaNar Arangam).
Dhanashekar and Mallika had sung another duet from the film Thalaattu, starting with "thandhaikkO oru piravi thaayarukkO iru piravi". This film was acted by one Pandiyan (not Bharathiraja's) and (Late) Vijayashree (acted in Babu with Sivaji). This is also a decent pattu. Released in Wellington theatre.
If I remember correct, GK venkatesh has sung a folk sort of duet with L.R.Eswai in Thendral Veesum. Not sure of starting line... enna maamaa kobamaa OR something like that.
Sathyakabali: Did not Prem nazeer and Sandhya also acted in Thendral veesum?
"Sounds like kaNNadasan was in a great romantic mood."
Ramki: In which duet song KKD sOdai pOnaar? :-)
All songs of Veera Abhimanyu are treat to music lovers. Though the film had a mis-fit of actor like AVM Rajan, the music and songs were the saviours.
Thiruvarul was a moderate hit film wherein, as usual, all songs were sung by TMS & PS.
Ramki, listen to PS's another solo "thangam peridhendru", you would love it.
Ramki: If you have "Nadu jaamaththil vandhEnE" sung by one obscure singer called Chaaya Devi for the film "Kadhavai thattiya mohin pEi", please share paNNungO.
More later
VR
Romba Nandri VR.
Useful infos.
ThiruvaruLil TMS, PS, SGR paadi irunthaalum oru duet'o, kaathal paatto illai paarthinggaLa?
Can we get INANGALILAY ENNA INAM PENN INAM . Another song of 70s
KJY with ??
Lovely song
Thanks premanad for posting lyrics and movie details. Yes the lyrics are pretty good!
NOV, thanks for the nostalgic memories.. I know this is one of your fav movies :)
jn thanks for the welcome :)
thanks rajesh & others!
VasumathiRenga, spl thanks for all the detais. You are right about 'thangam perithendru'. Will host some other time.
Pick #316
[html:9baf5e49a7]
http://www.hinduonnet.com/thehindu/f...1801370201.jpg
http://malayalam.galatta.com/enterta...avindran04.gif
[/html:9baf5e49a7]
Song: santhana nilavoLi
Movie: Lakshmi vanthaachu
Singer: MV
Lyrcis: ?
MD: Ravindran
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/pow06/santhananilavoli_lv.rm
This is a tough song. It runs at crazy speeds (demanding excellent breath control), and also spans a wide range. I should say MV has done a real good job.
The song is set in Kalyana vasantham (same as Keeravani except Rishabam and Pachamam are not used in aarohanam) - a beautiful raga that gives a pathos feel. Ravindran has made it happy by composing a fast tune. Ninnaye rathiyendru (my favorite filmy K.V.), nalla manam vaazhga, kaanji pattuduthi are other songs in this raga.
Could someone share details about the movie?
Sure! Coming up soon..Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakeeran
Lakshmi vandhachu was one movie which Nadigar thilagam did in lighter vein. Natiya peroli Padmini plays his wife role
Its actually a remake of Kubsoorat ( a Rekha & rakesh Roshan starrer ). While Ashok kumar plays the father role, NT plays his role in tamil version
A cheerful Revathy enters NT's house ( NT will behave as if he is henpecked ) and what folllows was all mayhem as she breaks all the set rules / code of conduct set by Padmini.
Naturally, a rift surfaces between Padmini and Revathy as the entire family veers around Revathy including NT.
Finally all ends well with Nizalgal Ravi getting engaged to Revathy ( a melodrama also in the form of Revathy suffering from ailment etc )
Overall, a nice movie worth watching with family
I think this song appears when NT and the family members go out and Revathy dances while being supported by Jayachitra in some garden area
Actually Kunnakudi had a decent run in tfm I believe.
I have seen Agathiyar and the song Vendriduven is packed with some popular ragas & nice rendition by both TMS and Seergazi.
However, KK's best movie could be DEIVAM ?
He was MD for Va raja va also ?
You are right Nakeeran.
We also can add Thirumalai Thenkumari and rAja rAja cholzan.
mathurai arasALum meenAtchi, thirupathi malai vAlzhum vengkadesa, kalaiyAtha kalviyum (TT), Osai oLiyellAm Anai neeye, Edu thanthAnadi, thanjai periya kOvil, mAthanggal padaithAn (RRC) are memorable and wonderful songs.
If I'm not mistaken LV was the last film for NTSG and Padmini pair. The previos one Thaaikku Oru Thaallattu.
I cann't accept Pappima as Villi (a kind of) in this movie.
RR, what was the last movie for Baalaiya? Guru Thakshanai?! His voice different in the movie.
Nakkeeran,
Thanks for the story.
Yes, KV had a decent run. In fact, he was MGR's first choice for his magnum opus Ulagam Sutrum Vaaliban, but went for MSV at the last min.
premanath,
No idea about Baalayya movie!
Ippadi oru gunda thookki pottaa naanga nambiduvomaa?Quote:
Originally Posted by From Mars
NOV: did you mean the song "poove punnagai kaattu" (paarthen rasithen)?
Thanks RR, Never heard of this song!! I know ‘nalla manam vaazhga....’ as Kalyanavasantham!! But for this pattu my ears lean more towards ‘velli salangaikal....’song!!
Vinatha.
baroque,Quote:
Originally Posted by baroque
KV is somewhat close to chandrakauns, so we have to watch the avarohanam carefully. The song being fast makes it difficult. Can you listen to the interludes and confirm?
Nitya, thumburu: any comments?
spot on :thumbsup:Quote:
Originally Posted by RR
NOV :) That's actually All India Radio theme music. But you were not far off. Both are in sivaranjani raga and resemble a lot.
RR & Ramki: unga rendu pErukkum manamaarndha nandri for hosting very rarely heard songs.
Lakshmi Vandhachu song has the maximum shades of keeravaaNi, IMHO.
Hope some of you had seen the original hindi film. Very lively acting by Ashok Kumar and Rekha. Whereas the tamil version (directed by Rajasekhar ??), had over-liveliness in the lead atrists Sivaji and Revathi (Girl-friendu... Boy-friendu...). Padmini with her terrible hair-style was a mis-cast. I read in a mag that due to out-of-touch of a good dialogue delivery with proper modulations, she struggled a lot. It seems Sivaji had tried to help her to make it good. In Hindi original, Dina Pathak (Padmini's part) came out with a decent show.
Jayachitra (weighing min 75 kg :-) replacing Shasikala of Hindi), did dance very well for this. Of course Revathi too.
If I remember correct JC paired with Sivaji-Padmini's first son Prasanna ('Sirai' GurukkaL). SV Shekar (2nd son) with Arundathi and NizhalgaL Ravi (3rd son) with Revathi.
See you later
VR
Nakeeran,
Inagalilae enne inam was by KJY & Swarna.(W/O of V.Kumar, the Music Director) from Nalla Penmani *ing Muthuraman & Srividya.
Hu.... how many songs I missed. I never knew that Jaichitra danced with Reva for LV song. She really danced well :lol:
Ramki/all: Hope you know a song karpanaiyO kai vandhadhO, sung by SPB (young voice) and PS. Any details about this song? Lovely song, it is.
SN,
karpanaiyO kai vandhathO is from "mAlathy" lead by Gemini Ganesan and Saroja Thevi. KSG was the producer & director for the movie. MSV was the MD.
"engge en kiNNanggal engge" is onther good song from the movie.
Sorry...... no idea about other songs in the movie.
Thanks Mr. Murali SrinivasQuote:
Originally Posted by Murali Srinivas
I am eagerly awaiting this links & about the movie from Mr. RR
By the way, how many songs did Swana sing
Also, the composer for this song was V.Kumar . Am I right ?
VasumathiRenga, I haven't seen the hindi movie but did see the Tamil version recently. As you mentioned, the star cast was 'interesting' to watch.
Nakkeeran, your request will be online tomorrow. Today's is a guest DJ pick..
Pick #317
[html:1f105461ed]http://www.cinegoer.com/gallery/movies/svm/12.jpg[/html:1f105461ed]
Song: kaN niRaintha uruvam kaNNaa
Movie: Sree Krishna Leela
Singer. S. Varalakshmi
Lyrics: ?
MD: ?
http://tfmpage.com/stream/pow06/kan_niraintha.rm
(I hosted 'lakshmi vanthaachu'. Now in this pick vara'lakshmi' vanthaachu! :) )_
This song is sponsored by Neel D. He writes:
S.Varalakshmi is one of the two singing voices that bowled me over when
I was still a little kid. Majesty was her asset. Whether acting or
singing, she did it with impressive majesty. In the well known film
Veerapandiya Kattabomman she plays Kattabomman's wife Jakkamma, and
what a royal pair did Sivaji and Varalakshmi make. And of course, the
magnificient Akkaal Kundavai in Rajaraja Chozhan. Both films have
wonderful songs by SV.
Kannadasan says in his memoir "Sandhithen Saindhithen" her voice as
being unique, and I learn that she was one of his favorite singers.
S.Varalakshmi played one of the leading ladies in the multistarrer
"Sivagangai Seemai" produced by Kannadasan. She sang at least three
songs for that film.
S.Varalakshmi was born in Andhra Pradesh. As a child she went through
rigorous trianing in singing, and the result shows in every one of her
songs. She started acting and singing way back in the 1940s and has
paired with many of the greatest leading men of the 40s, 50s and 60s.
Apart from her solos, she has also sung duets and trios with many of
the greatest singers during her singing career spanning about fifty
years. I wish she was offered more chances to sing. The total number of
Tamil songs she recorded could be well below one hundred. I remember
reading in one of her interviews, that she would ask for a chance to
sing in the film whenever someone offered her a role in a film. It was
a good stand for her singing career but considering the business
practices in the industry it may have adversely affected her acting
career. Now she is older and retired. Two years ago Tamilnadu
government honored her with Kavignar Kannadasan Award.
S.Varalakshmi a very senior artist . The song I cherish forever is EDU THANDHANADI THILAYILAY from raja raja cholan
I could hear the same voice virtually in Guna . Unnai naan ariven !
She played a good villie role in Poova thalaiya
I think her fame enhanced through ADHI PARASAKTHI
Nakeeran: thanks for remnding her 'edu thanthaanadi', athi parasakthi and her poova thalayaa role. Good varied performances.
of course INTHA PACHAI KILLIKORU SEVANTHI POOVIL for MGR film.
KANNEER KURAL.
ramesh
S.Varalakshmi my favourite too.
Yes ramesh.
Intha Pachaikilikkoru sevvanthi poovil, atrputhamaana thaalaattu. appadiye sokki vidum.
the first saraNam:
ninRu nimirnthu en piLLai nadakkaiyil
rAja nadai thORkkum - elzhil
nInthum udalinai kANum polzhuthinil
siRpam athai kEtkum
nAn ArAro enRu thAlAtta - innum
Ar-Aro vanthu thAlAtta
appappa enna oru thaaimayaana kural, varigal. Thanks pulamai pithan for the lyrics.
RR/Ramki, if you have chance pls..... kindly host the song. it not easly get in the market. Only the KJY version available anywhere.
rAja rAja chOlzhan also have anothe wonderful song by SVL, SGR and TRM - Thanjai periya kovil pallAndu vAlzhagave. (matra iruvaraiyum SVL thookki saappittu viduvaar) Ivarin ANmaiyaana kural, matravargalin memaiyaana kuralgal adanggividum.
Friends, there is another wonderful solo by SVL in kanthan karuNai which produced by her husbend AL Seenivaasan, brother of Kaviyarasu Kannathaasanaar.
veLLi malai mannavA
vEtham nee allavA
munnOrkkum munnavA
mUnda kathai sollava
anjelzhuthum enggal nenjelzhuthallavA
aimbulanum unthan adaikkalam allavA
anjum en nenjukku ARuthal sollavA
abAyam nIkka varum sivAyamallavA
vAnulagam vilzhuvathenna
vAnavarthAm alzhuvathenna
sEnai asurar kulam
jeyakkodithAn kolvathenna
thEvar kural kEttu un thiruvadiyai nIttu
abayakaram nIttu un aruL mugathai kAttu
thEvar kural kEttu un thiruvadiyai nIttu
abayakaram nIttu un aruL mugathai kAttu
(wonderful Aahhhh here... sorry i don't know much about the rAgA's, Arohanam and avarohanam)
if we notice, she didn't sang in all film she was acting. Like AthiparAsakthi, poova thalaiya, nathaiyil muthu and few more.
She sang most of the duets with TR.Mahalinggam in late 40's and early 50's.