Hello,
I think you can remove ARR from the topic.
Because A.R.Rahman has SIVAJI. I think you all know what this movie is. It's the biggest Project of Tamil Movie Industry.
Printable View
Hello,
I think you can remove ARR from the topic.
Because A.R.Rahman has SIVAJI. I think you all know what this movie is. It's the biggest Project of Tamil Movie Industry.
so what?.....music director of a big budget movie is the greatest music director??/Quote:
Originally Posted by baba88
what a great logic..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
Oh sorry nilavupriyan you're right.Quote:
Originally Posted by nilavupriyan
A.R.Rahman is already the greatest Music Director :lol: :lol: :lol:
Don't waste your time by comparing A.R.Rahman with other Music Directors.
A.R.Rahman has no competitors !
APPADIYA? :roll: entha vishayam ARRku theriyuma? therinja night nimmathiya thunguvaar!
arr is the top music director of india...no doubt.But he is not composing enough songs in tamil.......in tamil hj and uvan are giving major number of hits....im not saying yuvan and hj are better than arr....but arr is not competing at all....he is not giving enough films in tamilQuote:
Originally Posted by baba88
I still dont understand what r the parameters which determine the top music director in India? BTW what is India here? Is it only hindi movies?If that is so, Hindi ppl have the worst taste I have ever seen..Given a chance SAR wud rock Hindi films with his llalalallala & ahahahahha which will be very much apt&suitable for their movies..
I have'nt met a single person in Mumbai, who cares a slightest damn abt BGM..All they need is some funky punjabi tunes & lalalalala..aaahahahha BGMS..
buddysathi, ok lets hear from you what are the parameters to become India Top MD and who is the Top MD of India now? Please enlight us.
And Nilavupriyan, if ARR starts scoring number of movies in TFM, will u accept that he is No. 1 since u have said HJ and YSR are no match to ARR?
I dont know what qualifies to be top, but in terms of no. of CDs sold and the no. of movies available and the profitability of the copyright holders the choice is Himesh Reshammiya.
For e.g. Kyon Ki is selling like hot cake - but the music is horrible - i have listened to this songs few hundered times by different music directors- and by HR himself. but its selling good.
ARR's hindi ventures are all commercially flop. this includes Swades & Rising, which became more populare because of SRK and AK, but the rest of the CD sales are all time low.
What we really need from ARR is a hit like Rangeela in Hindi or Indian in Tamil.
alias/maddy/dinesh
this is statistics only. i have no aversion to arr.
If u go by that Pritam rules the roast. He has choclate which is a big hit and now Ek Hasena Ek Khiladi and Garam Masala heading the top. And his music is much better than HR. But going by the highest paid, it is ARR all the way and much soughted too and that makes him No. 1 MD of India. budysathi, this is my parameter of No. 1 MD but please do tell us yours.
Rehman and Dr. Kalaam?
A.R. Rehman is the master of the music world. There may not be a soul on earth who does not know him. He has made great successes in many films. Many films have been on the theatres for a long time just because of his music. He is to give yet another surprise to all his music lovers. He has plans of composing music and singing for a poem penned by the president of India Dr. A.P.J. Kalaam. Though this news is not thoroughly confirmed, sources say that he will start working on this by the end of this year.
http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainme...8&news=newnews
Yappa konjam alavaa vidunga!! 8-) reel andhira poguthu!!Quote:
Originally Posted by dinesh2002
when people can call medicore scores as masterpeice,mindblowing or xerox mds as great music dirs, that comment on ARR doesnt matter!! :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by buddysathi
the top music director in India doesent neccessarily mean the top selling MD.......ARR is a trend-setter in hindi and revolutionised music and other mds followed him like ants....Himesh is no.1 now but ARR is a all time gr8......
>>>>>I still dont understand what r the parameters which determine the top music director in India? BTW what is India here? Is it only hindi movies?If that is so, Hindi ppl have the worst taste I have ever seen..Given a chance SAR wud rock Hindi films with his llalalallala & ahahahahha which will be very much apt&suitable for their movies..
I have'nt met a single person in Mumbai, who cares a slightest damn abt BGM..All they need is some funky punjabi tunes & lalalalala..aaahahahha BGMS..>>>>>>>>
stop cracking jokes sir, it is the same hindi land which produced mds like SDB,RDB,naushad....y shuld IR praise these mds if they r not that gr8........
who is holding back SAR,YSR and VS from entering hindi......VS did a gud job in hulchul but was thrashed by media here......see, basically ur music shuld have a gloabal appeal which i dunt think YSR,SAR have.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by alias
definitely........,next to ir its arr........no doubt in it......but now as yuvan gives many hits in tamil he is leading....if arr gives many films arr will be at top :D
but he can't :lol: .Quote:
Originally Posted by nilavupriyan
ARR is going thur a phase where he is not sure if he wants to do more fast-peppy-beatz or work on what he likes - creating good music.Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanjeevi
Interesting thing is in Tamil he gets the fast-peppy songs and in Hindi he gets the classic ones. The problem is HFM spoils his music and doesnt utilize properly.
What ARR lacks here is the team that IR enjoyed - good directors - good actors. IR success (specially in BGM field) was also due ot the nature of movies that came in that time. What do you expect ARR to do for movies like Aa Aah, New, KKS etc. He did a pretty good job in Rising - but again the movie is a flop for its own reasons.
I wish ARR scored music for movies like Kadhal, Autograph.
Echoose me, where did IR praise RDB?? The same RDB who was popularly known as Chor DB? IR did praise Naushad though.Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
[the epithet may be harsh but RDB anyday rocked Bollywood better than ARR, if at all ARR rocked :P ]
*, HT(mumbai) lists roja as the 5th most path-breaking album in HFM history,Times(newyork) lists roja in top10 albums of the century, many UK tabloids have claimed that ARR has sold more albums than britney/madonna combined....if this is not rocking for u then katrina is a breeze in ur dictionary......
exactly the point in my mind sir........ARR does not want to do a kadhalan,rangeela,kadhal desam again.......he wants to do classier stuff like MP and swades......i seriously think he did A Ah for crazy fans like me whereas his heart lies in more meaningful projects......ARR is beyond mass-hits now and obviously u wud expect him to be thrashed by YSR,HJ,VS in audio sales and box-office....i know ARR-haters wud find it really joking and a lame xcuse but it is the fact......i think it is time for ARR fans to mature and realise that he cant keep on giving music for MADDY,alias & co to win some stupid arguements like IR vs ARR,HJ vs YSR vs ARR.......Quote:
Originally Posted by njv
arr is not a god ...,to be beyong comparison...he is one among all mdsQuote:
Yuvan in demand
After Maestro Ilayaraja, it seems that his son is taking his place in the music world. Yuvan is famous for making music which reminds one of Ilayaraja and yet, is unique to Yuvan – melodious, lilting and modern. His hit scores have ensured that he is in high demand these days – in fact, it is rumoured that he demands Rs.50 lakhs per film!
Currently, he is scoring the music for a film with superstar Chiranjeevi’s nephew. Like A.R. Rehman, Yuvan also does a lot of his composing at London, the home town of his better half…
http://tamil.galatta.com/entertainme...0&news=newnews
according to this reporter,ARR never ruled music world :lol: ,anywayz,i taut its Hj who is in demand now?? Anniyan & Ghazini (according to some its a good album) didint get him any big offers in tamil?
anniyan and gazini are high budjet films with great expectation......they are not musical hits tooQuote:
but arindum ariyamalum became a hit from nowhere else due to yuvan.........thats the difference
I heard that Godfather is a 15 crores movie.
Is it true ?
They say that the budget of Gajini was 8 crores.
If it's true then Godfather will be a kutty Anniyan. :D
ghazini super duper hit innu hj's fans webside like sify,cinesouth periya paalama podarannga.aana ingga malaysia ayula entha soundayume kekkala.kaaka kaaka alavukkukuda pesappadalaye.2songs okey.but not musical hit like kaaka kaaka.unmaiyile superhit movie ahh????
Oh, yeah, the movie is a superhit, and the songs will naturally become hits.Quote:
Originally Posted by A.ANAND
the salary mds gets for each movies:
http://thatstamil.indiainfo.com/spec...ews/music.html
surprisingly Harris J earns damn much, that must bring hope for the copycats keep on copying you will be rewarded.
Since you are someone who has visited the length and breadth of the country to some extent, I expected a more intelligent answer from you instead of pulling out some meaningless and dubious statistical references which lack a backbone. You proved me wrong yet again.Quote:
ARR's influence on Bollywood is still microscopic and negligible compared to RDB. Just look at what RDB accomplished in his first 15 years and compare with ARR. RDB was not really a spent force in 80s but lets restrict the span of his reign from 1966(Teesri Manzil) to 1980, assuming that Laxmikant-Pyarelal duo swept the 80s..(which in reality is not the entire truth).
Aradhana, Rampur Ka Laxman, Buddha Mil Gaya, Kati Patang, Amar Prem, hare rama hare Krishna, Caravan, Mere Jeevan Saathi, Yaadon Ki Baarat, Hum Kisise Hum Nahi, Aandhi...OH BOY, let me stop with the mid 70s. One can confidently claim RDB routine churned out close to 2 blockbuster hits PER YEAR ON AN AVERAGE!!! All that ARR has are a few mediocre albums, plus of course his usual recycling expertise in the form of a Roja, Bombay, Yuva, etc...
And my, what cheek you have to place ARR ahead of RDB when talking of them in the same breath itself would tantamount to blasphemy!
No IR fan would be idiotic enough to claim IR ruled MFM - he had good ones like an Olangal, KKSantoshangal, Yatramozhi, Guru but they were well spaced out and the likes of Ravindran, Arjunan, Devendran were always there at the top.
Face the bitter truth - ARR's place in Bollywood is always alongside the Anu Maliks(In more ways than one), Nadeem Shravans and definitely on a lesser level compared to S-J, RDB, L-P, B-L.
But then, there is always a certain logic-defying streak in ARR fans, who often detect unknown and fantastic achievements in their icon and believe he is the Lord and Master of every conceivable domain in the universe! It's just par for the course.
And likewise for you, every whisper is equivalent to a thunderclap!Quote:
yes mr.*, i stand corrected, RDB is better than ARR.....ARR is only equal to anu-malikin HFM....ok...bye....
DineshQuote:
I sent you a PM a month back with the current CD/MD ranking. YSR is growing everyday. Now his sales figures are close to current ARR sales (not 90s ARR). After TIS IR also gained good market share.
Unless ARR gives some solid numbers (quantity and quality) it would be hard for ARR to be in mainstream competition.
2006 will answer the questions.
Mr*(why dont you get a name?), Rahman's coverage in HFM might not be comprehensive, but considering the fact that he made a huge dent in Mumbai WHILE being the No.1 in TFM is a considerable achievment.
How much of a dent did RDB make in TFM or elsewhere? zilch.
And Rahman's influence is not measured just in number of albums either. Because it takes him just a couple of albums to change the whole perspective. Thats all it takes. If he holds a concert in Mumbai it rocks. If RDB or Anu Malik did the same in Madras would they get a similar response? Anu Malik wouldnt get a crowd in Mumbai itself :-)
vijay sir, leave mr.*.....for him ARR is lesser than RDB and IR.....so be it......who cares.....i dunt how he will react if i expose the copy-cat side of RDB......RDB was the biggest copy cat of HFM , bigger than anu malik......
Spanish and south american tunes are very common in RDB, but that doesnt mean RDB was worst or anything. If you forget about all the my vs your MD wars, then RDB, IR and ARR represent the music of india. RDB and IR, being on the same period, had a mutual respect for each other. "Pancham", people normally call him as, is a very great admirer of IR. He once said "with IR, TFM is 20 years ahead of HFM". If ARR doesnt go to HFM, then by now HFM would be 40 years behind TFM. If RDB wasnt there, HFM would be 60 years behing TFM.Quote:
Definitely RDB would get a good response. I have seen more "loyal" "ta"mi"l" people buying RDB than IR/ARR combined, specially people from "madras".Quote:
Originally Posted by vijayr
echoose me, now YOU are copying me! I was the first to point out RDB's copies. But to be fair to the man, his copies were very very mild variations from hindustani classical, unlike ARR who lifted lock, stock and barrel from western stuff in his early days. And consider the number of RDB originals which were blockbuster hits.Quote:
Translation of the above:Quote:
A guy of RDB's output cannot be put down easily, therefore I will use a superlative abuse to bring him below my icon.
Now why should RDB make a foray into tfm when his HFM is reverberating across the country? (Let me reiterate that I am no way questioning ARR's ability, I appreciate him for doing what no tfm composer has done. What peeves me is ARR fans imbecile remark that he ruled HFM). I still remember his Sholay, Abhimaan, Hum Kisise Kum Nahin, Yaadon Ki Baarat belted out in my neighborhood in TN in the very early 80s - this despite IR and MSV being at their peak and the aforementioned albums released in mid 70s)Quote:
Originally Posted by vijayr
Atleast RDB was the sole reason for the success of Rajesh Khanna, Sanjeev Kumar, Big B to some extent, Dharmendra, Rishi Kapoor, Randhir Kapoor....IR carried Sivakumar, Ramarajan, Mohan, Rajkiran on his shoulders...what does ARR have apart from Prabhu Deva(To compare Prabhu with those actors is a grave injustice - he would have carried himself with his dancing talent with any music director considering the trend in the 90s).
And finally, please tell me why evergreen hits like Lekar hum deewana Dil, Piya tu ab to aa jaa, and 100s more are still hot remixes even today. There are several bars and discos in N.I where RDB hits are a rage. Go to any music shop, check the Hindi section and you will find 100s of hit CDs housing 100s of songs of Kishore, Asha and Lata.....please compare with the effect of ARR, it will surely be humiliating to make such tall claims for our man.
mr*,for u, all RDB hits are ever-green, but for me rangeela,taal and swades are ever-green.......for that matter SDB's songs are less remixed and listened to today, does it mean that RDB was gr8er than SDB??? khatarnak logic yaar, continue....
and excuse(this is the way it shuld be written) me , RDB's hindi songs were heard in TN but there were crowds of ppl. who bought ARR's Tamil albums in the north......now wat do u say for this????
many ppl. have tried to prove that ARR copied western tunes, they have all bitten the dust, so dunt waste ur time......
see, i'm not saying ARR was a bigger entity than RDB in HFM but ARR's entry and the subsequent craze wave in the north are undeniable......he has changed the way songs sound forever.....i think ARR in every right deserves to be called a trendsetter and a legend in HFM.....i dunt think u'll agree but i'm pretty sure, u do realise ARR's achievement......
RDB's heavy spanish/south american inspirations makes it easy for anyone to remix his songs. In general, if somone can remix your music, that means there is a chance for improvement. Many attempted to remix IR and out of 4000+ songs, only few songs (less than 10) succeeded. To some extend ARR songs also are difficult to remix. Ofcourse songs by VS & few other songs are also are difficult, because the initial cut itself sounds like a remix.Quote:
Originally Posted by *
Only ARR can do remix of his own songs (e.g. Marangothiye and Mayilirage from Aa Aah) and only IR can do his own remix (e.g. Kaatrinil varum geethamae - the classical version and a remix version from ONOK).
Mr*, ARR has had a bigger impact with lesser albums in HFM, thats my point. It took him just 4 or 5 HFM albums to kind of have the impact that would have taken RDB 20 or 30 albums to get done in those days. No, I am not with those who say he "ruled" HFM but he did have a significant impact with just a handful of albums (similiar to the TFM wave). And in recent years, many prestigious and big budget projects in HFM have gone his way. That in itself is an achievment.
As for RDB, his songs are easily hummable(what with many of his popular hits like Chura liya, Mehbooba being pukka lifts from western numbers), catchy and that makes them ideal candidates for remixes. Add to the fact that the "kezhavi" Asha Bhonsle is still around singing those numbers at every chance she gets on stage :-) Rahman needed to make a foray into HFM as we all know those guys wont listen to anything much from the South, however good it is, while we in Bangalore and Chennai listen to Hindi songs all the time. Thats another topic to rant about some day.
yarappa intha kokarako!
oru senseless threada create pannittu athukappuram aalaye (oru postayum) kaanum. ethukkuthan hubkku varanganne theriyala :evil: :hammer: :banghead: Does this thread serve any purpose to the creator or any hubber here?
Moderators Why dont you do something on new/inactive hubbers creating topics?
vijayr, without going into who ruled and who didnt rule or who has more merit as a composer, were you around when RD was making those waves? You have some measurement scale that measures the waves made by ARR and RDB respectively in their times? What is this 4 vs 20 impact argument? As a research scholar, do you think this argument holds any sense or backup statistics except as a makeweight against fan-club members who speak no logic?
I think, in your eagerness to put down ARR-bashers(a laudable objective in its own place), you go overboard making some laughable comments.
Lastly, I am not questioning your judgement or argument - so please dont go about justifying how RD made less impact - the only thing I find funny is that you would make definitive judgements on the distant past without even having been there or seen what has happened - comparing it with the recent past which you have actually lived through so you have seen the impact of it does sound ridiculous, doesnt it to you?
For example, I fully agree with you when you say RDB's success can be attributable to his simple tunes and also the lifts might be true. But what makes you say with 100% conviction about the impact he made on that generation? How did you measure it in comparison with ARR's impact on another generation?