Yes, JG is a fine film. "Ek Hasina thi" is not bad either! :P
/dig:
Thilak Avatar/Sig chance ila "Therikudhu"! sema 8-) :2thumbsup:
end dig/
Remember we're all saem blood! :D :)Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid_316
Rab ne bana di jodi :sigh2: can the movie get any slower? :fatigue:
Rock On
Uber sappy and superficial. But not bad at all.
Behindwoods rates(not that it matters :P) Tahaan as the best bollywood movie of 2008 - remember reading thilak say he'd seen it (dont remember his comments)
how is the movie? anyone other than thilak seen it?!
Ditto.Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhu Ram
Haven't seen it, Anoop. I'm yearning to watch it. :)Quote:
Originally Posted by directhit
revisited RangDeBasanti - unimaginable adrenaline rush on watching this movie.........Indian independence struggle is a highly voltile cum emotional story perched in our minds.......to draw a parallel to it and vow a contemporary story around it was mesmerising......Raykesh is undoubtedly my fav director :)
Neenga Aks paathirukkeengaLA :lol2:Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
Oye Lucky Lucky Oye
Disappointing.
Expected a lot from the KKG gang.
Very built-to-purpose characters, the charm thing was overplayed beyond credibility, the frivolity outdid the many many moments, really difficult to take the charecterization of Lucky seriously to feel his disappointments, loneliness etc.
The Paresh Rawal- Archana Puran Singh (how does she keep getting work ?) duo was unbearably superficially crafted/enacted.Many, many funny and clever scenes and sequences didn't string together impressively. After a point the look-I-am-smooth Abhay Deol got to me - that sank the movie.
This could have been a very impressive film: had the right conetent, parts and players. engayO sodhappittaanunga.
theatre-laye paathu, nondhu ponom - me and my frnds :lol: aana avare adha othhukittaru - Aks oru mistake-nnu.........but RDB was a cult classic.......Delhi-6 edhir paakuren but mild-a oru baed smell varudhu trailer-a paatha :lol:Quote:
* baed smell as in sodhappals in screenplay/characterisations
aahaa, DVD, oru full-u, kings ellam order panniyaache....ada, side dis kooda order panniyache, ippa vandhu ippadi sonna, naa enna pannuven :oops:Quote:
Gang-Oda paarthA nallA irukkum-ni ninaikkiREn. Many enjoyable moments.Quote:
Nama equanimus film-of-the-year, better than MithyA appidinnu ellAm sonnadhum, naan kannA pinnA-nnu edhirpaaththuttEnnnu ninnaikkiREn.
JTYJN is the film of the year for me
Genelia: (trying to make polite conversation with her brother) You love that mouse, right ?
Brother: No....just friends :rotfl:
Oh ok.Quote:
Enakku RDB-yE good-but-not-great dhaan.
So I don't have a lot of expectations about Delhi-6. Neenga ellAm paaththuttu sollunga appuram paarppOm
Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na :cool:
I'm quite surprised that you didn't like it that much. I actually think it's a markedly superior follow-up to Khosla Ka Ghosla in many ways.Quote:
And by the way, I don't think it's a "gang-watch" film (though my understanding of the idea itself could be quite flawed).
Khosla characters were very 'real' and interesting.Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
Naveen Nischol's forced suavity (Aap broker hain ya party ?), Tara Sharma bullying him into the role, that Vijendar guy's oiliness, the brashness of Ranvir Shorey ..none of this was put-on or engineered for the sake of it. Came across as very believable. "teri to ban gayi yaar" is how Ranvir reacts to Parvin Dabas's America plan...
Cheri: abi to interview denA hai
Sister: aapka interview to achchA hi hOga
Such a naive and lovely line. How much in their simple ignorance of his folks he is enveloped in their love. Anupam Kher having to eat his own words and talk politely to Vijendar, Boman Irani shouting at his servant for not ubasarichufying the Khoslas. Everything just showed the shade of the characters more and more. Nothing seemed to be just for show. I can't say that about OLLO.
OLLO squandered too many possibilities.
In the scene where Dolly makes advances to him and when spurned talks about his "valuation" is a great scene. Starts with how she was "touch ho gayi" when he asked her if she had eaten. Then "what's Lucky's standalone value" is mentioned by Bengali, Jogi etc. too many times.
The Parsh Rawal-Archana Puran Singh story is just horribly superficial. "Goondagardi nahi karna hai" and all. What the hell !
The whole world "uses" him. Jogi to Bengali yeah fine. But Dolly's mom asking for toaster. Come on ! That was lazy writing.
The airline lounge (!) girl who pesters him about membership card tells him he has become naughty after going to Dubai and lucky replies that people like her don't let him be shareef.
"enakku ennA thONdhu naa...neengellAm EdhO dappuL meaning-la pEsura maadhri thONdhu".
The recovery scene where he gets called honest by a couple. Twistedly funny is what they were going for I guess. It fell flat for me.
His brother avoids him, uncomfortable in the drinking scene, very surfacey about how "he has not raised a family". Dolly taking it out her husband - who is caricatured.
Sonal type holier-than-thou hypcrisy, Lucky misfitting everywhere, the cleverness doing him no good but it hits us more than it hits him.....all this could have been made into a much better film.
Instead the film is a sting of funny and cool scenes and lot of steam that prevents you (I mean me ! ) from connecting much with any of them or believing them to be real.
Which is why OLLO did not impress me as much as KKG.
PR,
I completely loved Khosla Ka Ghosla. It's a delicious film in which every moment is so well fleshed out. Every single character is so well etched and no one is out there to just make you laugh. So I completely agree with you there. (On that note, am I the only one to think it's quite a take-off on The Godfather set in the great Indian middle-class milieu?)
But I found Oye Lucky a superior film in many ways and found it engaging us at many levels.
I think this is where my viewing of the film differs from yours. Let me take up Lucky's stint with Dr. Handa. I'm surprised that many people seem to have seen it as a story with a twist of the conman getting conned. Hardly! It's fairly obvious that Lucky is going to get sidelined in the venture. He can't even use his bank account to begin with. That's how f*cked up he is. When the inevitable happens, he isn't able to take it with silence. That's all. Even in the hotel inauguration scene, it is Dr. Handa who washes his hands off. (And why wouldn't he?) It's not suggested that his friend Bangali has simply swindled all his money. He's still trying to explain the situation to Lucky. "Lucky, samjhaa kar yaar!" That he can't afford to be the boss. He even asks Handa to take a slap from Lucky! Lucky raises his hand just to see the fear in Handa's face. (Dibakar Banerjee brings out the dimensions of the relationship the three share with each other amazingly well.) But mere money is no good for Lucky. He just wouldn't have anyone be his boss. "us ne maar liya... hum ne khaa liya... aisi hi to relation bante hain!" (What a brilliant line!) This is the lesson Lucky never learns from his acolyte. And it is in this respect he is cheated in the restaurant deal too.Quote:
I think so :-)Quote:
On that note, am I the only one to think it's quite a take-off on The Godfather set in the great Indian middle-class milieu?
Godfather ?! As in the Amerigo Bonasera angle ? Do elaborate.
Not sure what I came across as.Quote:
I think this is where my viewing of the film differs from yours.
Handa was unsurprising as you say. When he reads the first news article and puts two and two together, you know where things are headed.
And of course Lucky's "I am the boss of me" is his downfall - but he doesn't care. The way it was repeatedly pointed out how he remains 'lowly' in the pecking order of the world, left me without an impact.
And the demands of the movie were too great. Not all of his the cool-acts are without gaping holes. They are enjoyable but aaraayakkoodAdhu. Why is it that he is celebrated chum of the cops ? Just because he is a natural-charmer ? That confused me ac)tually. It became a little of a fantasy then we are expected to 'feel' for Lucky having to bribe his younger brother to come to the wedding (as always Lucky doesn't realize the poignance of the situation he is in).
Bangali exists to be the suck-up/foil to Lucky. That seems to be the only aspect of his personality. btw who is that guy ?
CR, our worst fears have come true - with Dev.D album, Amit Trivedi has taken bollywood music far away from reach of tamil films :) .....only comedy supremacy is left with us now :thumbsup:
I'm just referring to the story outline that looked to me like a take-off on The Godfather albeit set in the Indian middle-class milieu. So, the Vito Corleone here (Mr. Khosla) is a meek middle-class patriarch. Bunty Khosla is the disappointing elder son. Cherry Khosla is the second son who wants to go away. In one of the scenes even that photograph bit in the first scene of The Godfather seemed to take a different form. Cherry actually cuts away the piece of his face from the family photograph!Quote:
aamaam la !Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
:bow:
JTYJN :notworthy: :notworthy:
Inimey subtitle illama Indhi padam paarthuttu karutthu solla koodathu :oops:
Equanimus,
The Godfather connection - :notworthy:
But more than :notworthy: i have :shock:
The best scene in the movie. Stunning, actually, for meQuote:
Agree about the holes but somehow 'Lucky' made the film enjoyable.
Downloading and listening now...Quote:
finally got to watch Johnny Gaddar
ennathha solla :bow: the way indhi directors are paying attention to details is amazing..........the dvd i watched had Sriram raghavan commenting about most of the scenes - it was cool......
was listening to Ada tracks - i thought it would have fit Mitya movie exactly.....esp, the feel that visuals of mitya gave me was similar to feel that IShq ada(female version) sound gave me.........i know it may sound silly - but i'm just wondering if anyone else felt the same.......
welcome to sajjanpur
when school kids are making brilliant movies, can headmaster be far behind? :bow: 'thalaivar' benegal conjures up a beautiful story about a educated youth in a village with sub plots serving as satire on traditions that are still rampant in rural india - like getting dog married to a girl so that her "misfortune" goes off :rotfl:
but i almost seem to have understood all scenes and narration - must be simplest of Benegal saab's films :lol: .....i had hard time in understanding many things in zubeida :oops:
Dasvidaniya :clap: :clap:
one small doubt :oops: Bollywood la indha B and C Centre ellam illayaa :confused2:
SalAm || NamastE - an ok film :)
their A centre multiplex audience are big enough to recover any movie.........even our tamil movies have a pretty rock solid A centre which is capable of recovering a movie upto 15cr if i'm not wrong..........but the intent to make good movies like bollywood has and corporates are still missing in tamil......Quote:
Originally Posted by directhit
its gone for the worse with Sun pictures and Azhagiri owned production house monopolising the industry..............this is exactly the reason why kannada movies are in a state they are now.......during late70's and 80's - when new wave hit bollywood and kollywood with likes of hrishikesh mukherjee, mahendran, barathiraja, maniratnam, nasserudin shah etc - kannada movies were produced by rowdies of mandia.......they never walked front later :( .......post rajkumar's death, some good movies are being made but they are still far behind........dont be surprised if tamil industry also goes the same way....... :lol:
The first half of Mixed Doubles. :rotfl: Rajat Kapoor demonstrates his touch even before MithyA.
AndAz apnA apnA
Very very :-(
I remember seeing this film as a kid and laughing.
I was trying hard yesterday to see what it is that amused me.
bayangaramAna mokkai.
Just startedQuote:
Originally Posted by complicateur
By the way khoon Daniel ne kiya aur Sophie bhi mar jaayegi
Thank You
is it a remake of a tamil movieQuote:
No.Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivasaayi
It is supposed to be Landmark comedy film. Came in 93/94
Sundar C liufted Kidnapping sequences, eveil twin villain replacing Heroine's father etc from this movie to use in uLLaththai aLLiththA.
Even without comparing to UAT, I found this movie disappointing.
Mixed Doubles
You don't have to be mindblowing. A simple, interesting film like this.
yEn dA seyya maatreenga ?
Starved TF Rasigan: yEn da indha maadhiri padam edukkuradhillai
Producer: Finance Tight
STFR: indha padam edukka oNNarai lachcha roova aagumA ? :x
indha padam thamizh-la eduththirundhA thamizh-naadE kondhaLichchirukkum 'ngradhu vEra vishayam. :-)
I guess I'll have to think of Hindi films as another medium altogether. :sigh2:
yeah, aanalum my q was more on the lines of do the B/C centre audience go to theatre and watch movies like lucky oye/dasvidaniya/mumbai meri jaan - or are they too looking forward to a masala and is that why Gajini became such a huge hit? :roll: edho onnu aaga motham tamil la B/C kaaranam kaatiye we'd have lots more of these masalas :xQuote:
true. but ppl are atleast welcoming new genre of movies nowadays in tamil. chennai 28/saroja/mozhi etc come to mind.Quote: