Originally Posted by complicateur
idhai thaan ivvaLo nEram solla muyarchi paNNittu irundhEn
Printable View
:exactly:Quote:
idhai thaan ivvaLo nEram solla muyarchi paNNittu irundhEn
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:Quote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
But I knew they will not chose one from Thamizh this time - as it was awarded last time.
If Jothika missed it by a whisker then Prakashraj got it by a whisker. From the happenings that had come out, the final round of the selection it seems was restricted to 4 contestants.
Prakashraj for KAnchivaram, Mohanlal for Paradesi, Mammootty for Ore Kadal and Akshay Khanna for some film [don't remember the name] were the ones. [There was no SRK or AK]. Akashya Khanna was the first to go out and it became a three way tussle. After some time it was the turn of Mammootty to exit.
Then it became a tussle between Lal and Prakash and it was decided to go for voting. Again as destiny would have it, it turned out to be a tie with both of them getting equal votes. So Chairaman's casting vote became the most powerful tool and he essayed it favouring Prakashraj, making him to win his first NA for best actor.[He won only the supporting actor award for Iruvar].
PS: Ore Kadal not only won the best Music Director award but also was awarded the best regional film in Malayalam.
:lol:Quote:
kavalai padadinga...unga thiramaikku ariya vaippu varamala poidum.. :)
Murali sir Thank you for the information :)
Who is the chairman ?
Yaar andha chairmaan?
Btw, sivaji's. 300th movie edhu? Ninga sonna thaan nambuvom :-)
Akshaye Khanna for gandhi,my father - he played harilal gandhi - the son who had a troubled relationship with his father the mahatmaQuote:
Originally Posted by Murali Srinivas
Poopparikka varugirom is 288Quote:
Originally Posted by Plum
All guest appearances in tamil 7 and other languages 10 are pre-Once more.
Total films: 288 + 17 = 305
Therefore 300th ==> 283 + 17 guests
283 rd is Once More + 17 guest roles==> 300th is Once More
:clap: Congratulations to the very talented Prakashraj :clap:
I usually don't admit that I have favourites, but Prakashraj is surely one of them.
Ever since I first saw him on "Kaiyalavu Manasu" as Gururangan
I have tried to follow his films, sometimes watching fluff just cause he had a minute role in the film. Whether he plays the hero, the villian, the adversary, the comedian, the father or the friend...always he leaves an impact :clap:
Memorable movies with him IMHO: Aasai, Iruvar, Kannathil Muthumittal, Daya, Mozhi, Ghilli, Velli thirai, Appu, Abiyum Naanum, Thiruvilayadal Arambam, Arai Enn 305-il Kadavul, S/O Mahalakshmi, Santhosh Subramaniam...even this one movie where the heroine's image appears in his eyes as he dies...can't recall the name of it..
...and of course as Vengadam in Kanchivaram :notworthy:
I have to watch Duet...I remember being annoyed at the "Anjali, Pushpanjali" song and not watching the movie properly...needs a revisit for sure.
:oops:
PR, for instance, he did a guest role in hindi version of paasamalar. This is not covered in 10 other lang films. So I'm not too sure
PR, for instance, he did a guest role in hindi version of paasamalar. This is not covered in 10 other lang guest role films. So I'm not too sure about the order or the complete veracity of that list.
And pillalu thechina is the telugu dubbing of the kannada movie of which kuzhandhaigl kanda is the tamil dubbing. It's like counting Thalapathi thrice for Rajni, one each for the tamil, telugu and Hindi versions!
:D :D :DQuote:
Originally Posted by littlemaster1982
PR, my periappa used to often say " you can but won't means you can't"!
Oh, I guess it's because you don't get to hear the worst of Hindi film music as much as that of Tamil film music! An ordinary low-profile film having a good song or two is very common in Tamil cinema. I don't think the same can be said of Hindi film music at all. Mithoons and Amit Trivedis are still offbeat as far as Hindi cinema goes. And look what the composers down south do in the thick of mainstream! Significant difference.Quote:
Originally Posted by crajkumar_be
Wow! Equa, same point. Same goes for the movies also - nobody answered this - 10 movies released in the last 2 weeks in Hindi, including the JKR's nayagan equivalent - how many of these released in Chennai? How many of these people here know of?Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
ok, u pit ur best and i'll pit my best - lets see who wins
my first choice for music - Rock on
gimme urs :P
The reason, as PR contended, is that they wouldn't want to! (Yes, I'm indeed picking on the mention of paruththivIran. :)) But seriously, this is carrying the nativity deal too far without ever wondering whether what we see in our films is authentic. People often don't seem to realise that a filmmaker like Ameer doesn't hail from a village (in fact, I'm willing to stick my neck out and conjecture that the only time he'd been to that village we see in the film is when he shot it!) when they make statements along the lines of "only a director like Ameer could have made such a film." And Sasikumar studied at a boarding school!Quote:
[Of course, I'm not saying that it's required for a filmmaker to be familiar or know the place beforehand, rather my point is about the hollowness in the argument that a Kashyap or an Ali can't make a film with as much nativity as Ameer.]
Sakkarakatti :-)Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
(just kidding)
Actually, in music, the situation is reverse, the best in tamil is comparable to best in Hindi. But I feel the averages would be better in Tamil. This is the exact opposite of the movies situation.
Well, equa, what if I contend that Ammer/Sasikumar can make a JTYJN but "they wouldnt want to". There is a besant nagar populace that can be tapped right, like the South Mumbai genre in Hindi? But it it too miniscule to bet a movie on so why would boarding school educated Sasikumar make a movie of that sort, or even a Rockford?
The answer lies with your post - why does a boarding school educated director feel it safe to tap his rural roots, howsoever feeble roots?
What I find annoying is hiding away hindiwallahs' limitations under "why would they do it?" while simultaneously accusing tamilkaarans of "not being capable of what they havent attempted, lack of evidence be damned".
show me one tamil album in 2008 which can equal JTYJN or Jodha Akbar.......Quote:
vAraNam Ayiram. Now, you and I may not dig it but definitely, it is equivalent to JTYJN as far as appeal, aesthetics go. Rahman's genius cannot be held against Kollywood.
Actually, subtract Rahman from Bollywood and we'll talk :-)
Actually, give me an equivalent of naan kadavuL(music) in Hindi. VaippE illa, and therein lies a tale...
nalla vElai... bracket'kulla post panneenga :) 1st para'va padichchittu, naan oru 20 line'ku reply type pannittEn :oops:Quote:
Of course, I'm not arguing that they can't. Wasn't 'mounam pEsiyadhE' set in an urban milieu for instance? My question is the basis on which you argue that an Anurap Kashyap (or even an Imtiaz Ali) can't make a film rooted in nativity.Quote:
This is an interesting question. I've no issues whatsoever with conceding that the Tamil filmmakers are more predisposed to set their films in a more rooted milieu. There are other nuances at play here, but yes, one has to credit Tamil cinema for this.Quote:
Plum, you got me wrong there. I was saying that they wouldn't do it simply because they're clearly capable (as I see it) of doing better!Quote:
Actually, musicals educate me on how authentic a rock album is Rock On - because as a film soundtrack, it doesnt appeal to me much, and the only reason I am not stating explicitly my dis-preference for it is the fear that it may have explored rock elements and aesthetics beautifully - and I am certainly not musical enough to know that.
:shock: i never knew u hated rahman so much :P :wave:Quote:
Yov, Rahman equation-la irundhA, enga side argument weak aavumnu sonnA, thappA purinjikkarInga :(Quote:
Maddy,Quote:
Oh, like that'A? I thought all the songs were passable, except the two female solos ("yeh tumhari meri baatein" and "phir dekhiye") which I really like. Can't say I'm a fan.
What I feel is whatever Bolly is doing now is limited to multiplex movies. There is the odd Love Aaj Kal breaking that barrier but most of the path-breaking movies quoted are "out of mainstream". A JTYJN, well I dont want that sort in tamil, I dont consider it a big loss. Irundha nashtamillai, illainalum nashtamillai.
The only reason to lament tamil viz-a-viz Hindi is the absence of the infrastructure for movies that are doomed to fail but can still release subsidised by other factors(Mithya, Maqbool...)
Luck By Chance - Oh idhellAm dhaan great movies of Bollywood-nA, thanks but no thanks
But this is already quite strong in Hindi cinema, Plum. Their cinema has not penetrated to the heartlands, I agree, but they are making a lot of films already. To put it differently, it's hard to keep them aside and carry the discussion forward.Quote:
adhu sari. I think in terms of 'relative's, Malayalam of 80's did a lot more with lot less resources than what bollywood is doing now.
(Thats like the "Australian Defence" - oh yeah tendulkar is great but "mere paas bradman hai!" :-) )
Yes, I think I'd agree (despite my limited exposure to '80s Malayalam cinema), and clearly the enormous gap between that one and Tamil cinema (of any time) is not a matter of debate!
lets start from 2008/2009 and list out the best movies of KW/BW. though i am in favor of the hindi movies, i feel tamil hasn't done too bad either
Best of Hindi:
A Wednesday
Mumbai Meri Jaan
Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na
Aamir
Dasvidaniya
Dostana
Ghajini
Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!
Jodhaa Akbar
Tahaan (havent seen this)
Mithya (i personally didnt like this but seems to be a regular in the critics list :P)
Tamil:
Dasavathaaram
Subramaniyapuram
Anjathey
Santosh Subramaniam (prefer to say Bommarillu though :|)
Saroja
Vaaranam Aayiram
Abhiyum Naanum
Poi Solla Porom (it was inferior/superior to its original is another discussion)
Poo
(blasphemy alert :P) Yaaradi Nee Mohini - but 2007 hindi list la JWM irukkumpodhu thappillaingaren
Since hindi doesnt have the mass masala genre, am not bringing in the 'popular' movies of tamil :P (habbaada thappichom)
2009:
Dev.D
Kaminey (shudnt be in the list IMO, infact its like a tamil regular masala fare though with superior acting/dialogues)
Luck by Chance (compli had a rotfl icon for this - innum pakala)
13B
New York
Love Aaj Kal (going by Maddy's word :P)
99 (innum pakalai)
Vennila Kabadi Kuzhu
Naan Kadavul
Yavarum Nalam
Kanchivaram (idha endha year la podaradhu therla :P)
Naadodigal
Pasanga
though a movie by movie comparison is not possible, off late there has been a refreshing change in the stories and presentation here. kuthu paatu/hero-heroine intro song/thani comedy track/kathi pesum villain mattum dhaan b/c centre kku pudikumgaradhu kuranjittu varadhu. good signs!
naan list pottale indha thread silent ayidudhu :? :lol:
Sarna,Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarna
nInga enna sollaNumnu nenachchIngannu enakkup puriyudhu, and I hope the additional note clarifies my stand. But as a separate matter, I do think the point that Ameer is city-bred is crucial with respect to 'paruththivIran.' Portraying the hinterlands as some sort of bozoland where things seldom "make sense" is a familiar and comforting narrative to the urban eye. And 'paruththivIran' is a film which relishes doing exactly that.
Neenga list pannura Tamil movies Maddy-kku pidichirukkaNum ..athaan condition. :)Quote:
Originally Posted by directhit
From your list, Directhit, one thing is clear - the best actor for 2008 is likely to come from outside bollywood and kollywood!
Only contenders:
Abhay Deol - Dev D
Surya - VaaraNam Aayiram, considering how NA committees work, he has a decent chance!
Prakash Raj - Abhiyum Naanum - same as above
Ranbir Shorey - Mithya
Why dont you list out Malayalam movies for 2008 first?
Parindhu?(Mammootty)
malayalam la NA list poda onnum illai :lol: (there was a film for Lal - Aakashagopuram, dont have much info on that)
apart from that, decent (watchable) movies have been very few
Twenty 20
Cycle
Calcutta News (average by Blessy's calibre)
Thirakkatha (yet to watch - is being dubbed to tamil as well)
Innathe chinthavishayam (usual sathyan anthikad movie)
Veruthe Oru bharya (had some good reviews)
Parundhu was usual masala movie, Roudram was far better that way
2 Harihar Nagar
Passenger
Bhramaram (heard Lal was awesome in this, movie was average)
Target would be 2009 - movie in my siggy :smokesmirk:Quote:
:)Quote:
ameer city kaarar'ndradhaaladhaan city'ku appeal aagura maadhiri oru graamaththu padaththa kudukka mudinjadhunu solreengala ?Quote:
ps :- checking my perception level :oops: