IIRC that Di Cinema cover was the first to reveal the trimmed mush look. And then came Thirumalai.
Sent from my GT-I9082 using Tapatalk
Printable View
Pongal Box Office Top Ten: With exclusive collection reports from Tamil Nadu, UK & US.
Pongal has come and gone, but the festive atmosphere in theatres screening Pongal releases remains. The Pongal releases have been a mixture of successes, break evens and disappointments. Movies that released ahead of the Pongal season are having an unpredictable time too. Some are breathing their last at the box office; some are managing to hold on in spite of the festival onslaught.
A look at the top ten at the box office a week after Pongal with exclusive world wide collections details only in Behindwoods.
POKKIRI Pongal!
Box office - 1
Pokkiri
Cast:Vijay, Asin, Prakash Raj, Napolean, Nasser, Vadivelu
Director:Prabhu Deva
Music:Mani Sharma
Production:Kanagarathna Movies
Remake of a Telugu superhit, the Tamil flavor has not gone missing. Vijay has worked hard and the results are evident. The dance sequences have come out really well, thanks to Prabhu Deva. Vijay fans have just lapped up the movie.
Screen Talk:
It has all the ingredients of an entertainer. Vijay has done his job, Asin pitches in well too. Vadivelu manages to raise a few laughs, not many. All in all, a movie made for the masses and is sure to click with them. The songs add a lot of value to the movie.
Trade Talk:
Great opening week. Going by the word of mouth it is sure to have an extended good run. Success, it almost is, but how big, only time will tell. Vijay’s strong statement after the Aadhi debacle. Has done exceedingly well in the UK registering the 21st spot in its opening week.
Collection Details at the end of the first week:
Turnover:Clocked 99% on an average for the first four days.
Tamil Nadu Box Office:Rs.6.10 crores from 142 prints.
UK Box Office:Rs.20 to 22 lakhs. (Converted to Indian currency)
US Box Office:Rs.30 to 31 lakhs. (Converted to Indian currency)
(Collection details will change this Friday, the 26th of Jan)
Verdict:Hit to Super hit.
http://www.behindwoods.com/features/...n-movie-1.html
POKKIRI Pongal!
Chennai box-office - (Jan 12-16 )!!!!
This week, it is a five day Pongal special Chennai box-office. It was Pokkiri Pongal all the way. The Vijay starrer took an amazing 97 percent opening from five city theatres in three days and is clearly the number one. The masses are loving it and they are coming back to see it again as Devi and all other theatres screening the film has kept ticket rates at Rs 40 and Rs 30!
Mani Ratnam'sGuru(Hindi) had a head start over the Tamil films as it was released two days before, is doing roaring business and is at a steady 90 percent. After two days at the Sathyam big screen, it was shifted to a smaller screen to accommodate Ajit¡¯sAalwar, but still managed to be at number two due to steady collections. If 2006 ticket rates had prevailed,Guru, would have been in the number one position!
At number three isAalwarwhich is creating shock waves in the trade. The famous Ajit opening was missing after day-one as the fans were hugely disappointed by the film. Added to that, the film opened in big screens like Sathyam, Sangam,Bharat, Kamala all with 1000 plus seating capacity, which added to its woes.
In the fourth position is Vishal's Thamarabharani, which carries mixed reports and could not take an opening due to the biggies. It may pick up if the opposition weakens.
Dhanush's Thiruvilayadil Aarambham is still going steady and is in the fifth position.
http://www.sify.com/movies/chennai-b...fJaggfasi.html
POKKIRI in its second weekend
Chennai box-office - (Jan 19-21 )
"Pokkiri" rocks at the Chennai box-office! It has created a record 28 shows (Jan 14-20) continuously houseful at Devi (1170 seats) where tickets are priced (Rs 30 & Rs 40) less than some theatres in NSC area!Guru continues its stranglehold and is the second position. There is a marginal improvement in the collection of Thamarabharani which has moved up to the third place.Thiruvilayadal Arambham is steady at fourth place while Aalwar has slipped to fifth position. http://www.sify.com/movies/chennai-b...fDbiejfsi.html
POKKIRI in its third weekend
Chennai box-office - (Jan 26-28 ): Sify.com
Pokkiri rules and is the clear number one by a mile! Its hold over the CBO is amazing. In its third weekend, the film is still drawing 95 percent! At number two this week is the multi starrer Salaam-E-Ishq, which opened in four huge screens with combined capacity of over 4500 and by day two started dropping. In comparison Mani Ratnam's Guru is still the hottest show in town, and is steady at 85 to 90 percent during this weekend.
Dhanush's Thiruvilayadal Aarambham continues to rock, and has become a favourite with the family audience. Though GK films have boosted the publicity of Thamarabharani, it has not reflected in the collections and is at number five.
Into 4th weekend , Still No signs of leaving its throne
Chennai box-office (Feb 2 to 4)
Pokkiri rule continues in its fourth weekend! At number two this week is Mani Ratnam'sGuruwhich is drawing record crowds and has crossed the Rs 1 Crore net from Chennai city for its Hindi and Tamil versions combined!
At the third position isPori, which opened in big screens and could not hold on. At number four is Dhanush's Thiruvilayadal Aarambham which has become a favourite with the family audience.Thamarabharani, manages to keep itself afloat at number five. http://www.sify.com/movies/chennai-b...eWbfjaasi.html
Fifth weekend - Yet no change in position 1
Chennai box-office (Feb 09 to 12)
Friday, 16 February , 2007, 11:06
Pokkiri looks unbeatable as it continues to lord over the box-office fifth week in a row! The trade was shocked when the highly hyped Deepavali turned out to be a damp squib at the box office. It opened in too many screens and started dropping from day two as the word- of- mouth was bad, and is at the number two position.
And Mani Ratnam's Guru and its Hindi version is the number three and still drawing record crowds. At number four is Dhanush's Thiruvilayadal Aarambham which has become a favourite with the family audience.Thamarabharani, manages to keep itself afloat at number five.
http://www.sify.com/movies/boxoffice...3&cid=13525926
Kumaran,
A kind request. Please refrain from posting about other movies. When u say about Pokkiri success, Vijay fans know the significance. Explaining it will only make way for intruders. And thats the last thing we need at this time. Hope u get it.
Pokkiri remained in TOP 5 at CBO for 12 weeks :notworthy:
http://www.sify.com/movies/boxoffice...4&cid=13525926
கோட்டான கோட்டி நன்றி தம்பி. :)
Thalapathy Vijay Real Kuruvi - Vijay Awards Dummy Kuruvi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wwBY-ujEkI
Headlines Today is India's first exclusive English News Channel started in 2003, that gets straight to the point and has been created to match the speed and lifestyle of the big city. The stories are slick and short. Its sister channel Aaj Tak is India's Number 1 News channel is to deliver news with unparalled passion, accuracy and speed. Headlines Today is the sharp news channel for sharp people.
This is the first time that a Tamil actor is being interviewed by this channel.Yes, you heard it right.Our very own 'Ilayathalapathy' Vijay gave an interview to Headlines Today on Feb 5th, 2007. Headlines Today organzied a special interview with Vijay in Taj Connemara. Colonially elegant and infused with design touches hinting to its imperial past, the Taj Connemara, is Chennai’s only heritage hotel.
No other actor has this rare opportunity of being interviewed at a place of his liking by this channel. Even Bollywood's biggest Superstar Amitabh Bachchan had to go to their studio to give an interview to this highly prestigious channel.
Vijay was interviewed by 'Headlines Today' on Feb 5th today. Vijay looked very fresh and very enthusiastic. Vijay interacted very well with the interview and media persons. All were very happy about the interview that Vijay gave. The person who interviewed Vijay, was very happy with Vijay for the way he spoke to her. She felt that Vijay was more outspoken than what she had heard about him to be.
She shot out the questions and Vijay answered them in a calm and refreshing manner. After the interview was over, Headlines Today thanked Vijay for giving a very exclusive interview to their channel. They also asked Vijay to give regular interviews to their channel
Thereby, we got to see the real power of our 'Ilayathalapathy Vijay'. It was one of the most glorious moments for Vijay's fans to cherish forever, and would surely have been a really satisfying moment for Vijay himself to have been interviewed by such a big channel.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZ-OzFKo_3U
Vijay’s birthday message to his fans
We are just three days away to have a glimpse at the digital motion poster of Vijay’s upcoming film Kaththi directed by AR Murugadoss. It will be unveiled for Vijay’s birthday on June 22. In an interview to a Tamil daily, when asked about what birthday message he would like to send his fans, Ilayathalapathy spoke in length.
Greetings to the fans who love me. I usually never celebrate my birthdays personally. Instead, I have been utilizing the day to help economically backward people. You have also gone a level higher and been serving the poor and needy people by organizing blood donation, organ donation camps, providing laptops for school children etc. All these activities give me immense pleasure and I feel really proud of my fans. I wish your social services should grow manifold in near future. You need to economically uplift yourselves to continue doing the same. If you are honest, dedicated and put in hard work, you are bound to taste success soon irrespective of what field you are in. Every victory of yours is like a victory to me. Work hard, reach great places and make wonders. This should be the best gift you could ever give me on my birthday. http://www.onlykollywood.com/vijay-b...akkal-iyakkam/
The biggest strength of vijay to winning all the polls & surveys has to be his reach over all section of fans! And his active fans over online :notworthy: deserve the special mention always!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqeBLh4CAAEAapC.jpg
Golden Share :) https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bqd-ETOCcAAWaAn.jpg
Just read all the posts... this is great. Let's continue this momentum. I ll try and be more active.
Btw...Kumaran. ..thanks for editing that post of yours. Ajay. .thanks for pointing it out. I am glad that we are doing the right thing by focusing on Vijay and not talking about other actors. We should continue to do this and post positive stuff about Vijay.
Proud to be a Thalapathy fan !!! Cheers !!!
:rotfl3::rotfl::rotfl2:
Looks like we have ruffled a few sagging feathers :)
Any ways, back to Vijay. Kumudham is not the first and would not be the last to proclaim the dominance of Vijay. Infact, the difference this time around is a little surprising. An all round voting across all age groups would have been even more emphatic.
Can someone post Google's post on the most searched tamil actor graph for the last decade. That is another sweet, sweet stat :)
Yes Cedy... there are so many such media sites and surveys. Pre release buzz of Vijay movies in trade circles is a huge indication of his growth and credibility with all distributor and theatre owner groups. His movies now get sold just during or post announcement..with tv channels competing to buy the rights. Anyway..all this has been proved time and again. Even if he doesn't give hits ..theaters will still go for his next movie. A great example is that Abirami owner statement in 2009 when he was going through a lean patch.
Vijay The Most Searched Actor in Google!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BbwcCMWCQAAyB-8.jpg
Top 5 Most Searched South Actors on Google in 2014 (January & February).
1. Vijay (Tamilnadu, Kerala, Malaysia): Tamil people see him as the next No.1 who could take the place of Superstar Rajinikanth. Vijay is just one of the mass hero in Kollywood until 2012. Good Success Rate and Films like Nanban (3 Idiots Tamil remake) and Thuppakki has helped him reach out family and multiplex audience. He enjoys a great following (only next to Rajini) now. He was mostly in news recently for his Sankranthi release 'Jilla'. http://www.tollywoodjunction.in/2014...rom-south.html
Thanks Kumaran.... yes that's the stat that Cedy was referring to. Super bro.
Here is another stat/article that was shared a few days back. Most searched unreleased movie for 2014 ..and this list includes all Indian movies..Tamil, Hindi, Telugu etc.
Kaththi is at no.3 behind Srk and Salmans movie.
Attachment 3351
And on the Kumudham polls, it was being conducted across the state for over 4 months and every week they were giving an update on it. Not that it was published all of a sudden like Ananda Vikatan article. The ballot boxes were sent across the districts and also postal votes were used. பூனை கண்ணை மூடிக்கிட்டா....
How about this ? ;)
Jilla tops the most mentioned movies of 2014 on google!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BqJYd_7CQAAXyjA.jpg
Very true Ajay. Attaching some proof of the same. It's not like a few people like you and me discussed here and made some home made posts here to put Vijay on top. This was a proper diligent process that was followed for months. As you said, the updates were provided regularly.
Attachment 3352
Attachment 3353
Attachment 3354
Folks, here we go :) Kumudham tables every where huh......
The latest kumudham table is ripped straight from here and offcourse, kumudham logo has been attached along with maane, thene and ponmane :)
http://toptamilfilms.blogspot.in/200...1_archive.html
The numbers have been updated from this anonymous blog and arranged in the form of a table and you don't need to spend much time to understand the sinister intentions of this unofficial blog.
But again, kumudham logo, maane, thene and ponmany makes it reliable.
The other business today article posted can be found here and again, the magic table appears :)
http://businesstoday.intoday.in/stor...ubt/1/267.html
Fun is when someone searches for Thuppakki in that 2011 list. :wink:
Cedy...why are movies like Lingaa...Kaththi...Vishwaroopam 2 not in the list...
sorry what a silly question right? This article was from a while back...probably I should have thought well before asking that question.
Okay guys...I guess we have had enough fun now. Just a few positive posts about Vijay without offensive remarks towards anyone and this is what happens. There is no cure for insecurity.
Let's get back to our initiative. Let's continue the posts for Vijay...3 more days for THE day....Kaththi first look and theme. Cannot wait.
This is what the best example for Cause and Effect.
lets start 'kumudham olipavar sangam' :lol2:
but I enjoy such whinings though :lol:
Fan from Kerala
En Uyirilum Mel aana Nanban ilayathalapathykku 40 avathu Pirandhanaal Vazhuthukkal . :notworthy:
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/h...69266709_n.jpg
Vijay :2thumbsup:
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-f.ak/h...27388617_n.jpg
4 Vijay Films in TOP 10! :notworthy:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BjgAsMCCIAAPwSf.jpg