jagadhanandha kaaraka reminds me so heavily kunnathe.. the saarangi and the bass lines are so "Kunnaaththe"...
Nice recollection kiru. :smile: I remember that kiru. Even my dad used to say that and even remember doing that. As Suresh ji said you, jai, every one please write about these songs in detail whenever you can. Will be glad to read it.
The unfortunate fact about 'thandavakone' is that it is still not available in stores in Chennai, forget Bangalore. I don't know why this is happening eventhough someone like Agilan is supposed to have the rights. You can buy it online but not yet in stores. I do hope someone who has been in touch with Agilan mails him and checks as to when it will be available in stores.
very unlucky. Then what is the purpose of 'Isai Veliyeedu'?
:exactly: Thalaivar is probably the only composer who balances his composing techniques well with the film he is dealing with, yet comes up with techniques probably only he can decipher.
Is this the first time a magudi has had some sort of orchestration besides the usual sound they always show in films? Trust thalaivar to disguise the instrumentation in his own style so well that you can easily replace the magudi with a shenai and they still have the same effect.
Hulk,
Well said. And in a completely tangential reference, I remember you having uploaded the two songs of the Velu Prabhakaran movie, 'Kadhal Kadha' (?). I don't have those songs. Can you give me the link if you still have them up.
Venki: Thanks once again for the lyrics. Very enjoyable.
http://musicmazaa.com/telugu/audioso...ma+Rajyam.html
Excellent songs
Thanks for the share, great to see a mammoth track list from Raaja saab :)
I just can't control my tears while I'm hearing the songs.
Shri Rama Rajyam audio is a treasure
http://www.123telugu.com/audio-revie...ma-rajyam.html
Btw guys where are your Reviews - Suresh , Jai ,Plum ,V_S ,App ,Sunil , Raagas etc etc
Eagerly awaiting your reviews for the 16 songs in Shri Rama Rajyam
Wow! that's a big one. Seems like 4 to 5 soundtracks in one. :-D. ecstasy!! Need to listen shortly, but still stuck with Thandavakone. Yes we definitely need Sureshji, Plum and raagas to decipher the lyrics and how it has come. Should be very interesting from lyrics standpoint too.
Review of SriRamaRajyam:
http://www.123telugu.com/audio-revie...ma-rajyam.html
Was without net connection for a long time. Just listening to the songs now. Need some time to write a review. 16 songs!!
What an album - SRR!!!
Brought tears!!
nAnlAm normalAvE naalu maasam eduthuppEn. This might take a year or so to settle in. What I have heard so far raises expectations sky-high - gosh, the last I was excited was for Naan Kadavul
You forgot Pazhassi Raja :)
I was dismissive of Pazhassi until I heard it, suresh.
App, I yAm also not reviewer. IdhellAm janangaLA pArththu pattam kudukkaRachE apdiyE maindain paNNi kittu pOga vENdiyadhu dhaan...
Lol A_E , but idhulla naraya SPB songs irukku and all of them are gr8 ..Missed KV's name in the reviewers list ..Been a long time since we heard from you.SRR is an ideal platform for u to make a comeback :)
SRR is a really fantabulous album .Each and every song is a Pokisham.
Some songs which had an immediate impact on me 1st time hear are ;
Gali Ningi Neeru - An absolute gem in Keeravani ..SPB unleashing his true potential and showing his versatility and class
Kalaya Nijama - One of the best classic ephemeral beauties based on Sallapam ..A landmark song for Tippu
Ramayanamu Sri Rama - Sung by Female Duo Chitra and Shreya ,both of them do a fab job ,another Super SindhuBhairavi
Jagananda Kara - Well obviously , the full song is a stunner Welcoming back SPB in IR'S in grand fashion
Shri Rama Lera - Lovely duet by Sriram and Shreya , such a soothing and calm song..Serenity personified
Sapthashwarathamarudam - A SPB solo , total bliss and mind manifestation
Gaali Nigi Neeru songs from Sri Rama Rajiyam- Rhythms are same as "Venilave" of Minsarakanvu. Why Raja Why? ethuku commercial loops ungalukku? EKSI.
It will take atleast 1-2 days to even write a cursory review of the songs ..Listened to 5 songs and all of them are gems so far ... Atleast this,i need to come out of raaga and buy a CD
Shankau chakrala - so far only song that under huge embrassement, i hit FF button ! Thankfully short !!
All others are nice ones .. big winner !
"Shri Rama Lera" - reminds me of "puttham pudhu poo poothadho" (from 'Thalapathy') and 1-2 other songs - the string ensemble at the beginning of this track is freaking beautiful!
Listening to the songs now, very good so far.... :thumbsup:
Balu Sir and Shreya Paapa :cool2:
Is "Sri Raama Lera" - Which raaga is it set in? Sounds a bit like Pantuvaraali but i'm not sure. Suresh, help needed...
thanks...
Found the album here.
http://musicmazaa.com/telugu/audioso...ma+Rajyam.html
I will check out the album at the end of the day.
vinatha.
Bala,
As usual with Raja difficult to get to the raga :) I am also a bit confused about Srirama Lera. Sounds like Vasantha sometimes and Panthuvarali in some places. Jagadanandakaaraka sounds like Suddha Dhanyasi. The Ramayanamu song sung by Chitra and Shreya is definitely Sindhu Bhairavi :) As irir123 mentioned, Srirama Lera is close to 'Putham Pudhu Poo'. Definitely a very very soothing album.
this album only further confirms that IR is indeed the LAST of the classical composers, a link between the past, present and future - i can only think of perhaps MM Keeravani (aka Maragathamani) who can do justice to such a film with anything along similar lines!
It feels sad and scary that the present world of composers may not have the acumen/knowledge to come up with anything even close to this, if the requirement arose!
perhaps someone like Vidyasagar or an Ousepechan may come up with something, but this kind of blitzkeirg versatility with such a few years!
Nan kadavul, Pazhassi Raaja, Paa, Thandavakone (shaivaite overtones), Sri Rama Rajyam (opposite to the former!), Nandalala & Azhagarsamiyin Kudhirai (a freaked out avante-garde western classical/folk BGM filled outputs) and Ponnar Shankar (music for a wacko fiction abt Kongu culture!)
if ppl do NOT know how to bring more out of this man, it is just a sad state of affairs!
we need more Mahendrans, Bharathirajas, Mani Ratnams and Balu Mahendras from the new generation of directors to 'inspire' IR!
might sound repititive - but i go again - this man is a living phenomenon!
PS: as a side note, its my feeling that while Shreya's voice is very sweet and is a super-duper singing sensation of her generation, i have problems with her 'bhava'! while sounding sweet and crystal clear, perhaps because its in a language she does not understand she fails to bring in the necessary emotion(s) for certain songs - strictly IMHO
irir123 - Couldn't be said better! :clap:
:clap: Very well expressed irir123. I too had the same feeling. But they can be safe that these kind of divine films will never come again, so that they won't be exposed. :smile: But we need to thank the director and producer for daringly coming up with this film at this year (trend) and most of all we have to appreciate the telugu audience who still have interest in these kind of films and supporting it whole-heartedly even now, when we have already trashed these kind of films long time back. Last but not least, they have remembered our Maestro and gave this opportunity and made us all proud and gifted to listen to these gems. Big salute to them!
My expectations has gone so high. Just started listening.
sri rama lera.....
this kind of
carnatic pantuvarali- Hindustani pooryadhanasri
is a popular tune in Indian films.
this kind of shade have become super duper hits in the vocals of Bala, Asha etc...in hindi and tamil 3 decades ago.
devi devi poonthenil kalandhu.....Naan adimai illai....is one of them.
sandhanam poosa manjal .....Shri.Bala is the same shade.
remember asha's prem geet.....thumne kya kya.....
Enchanting tunes.:musicsmile: if sri rama lera...... appeals to your senses, you should check out those 80s pure marvels. LOVE IT. S.P.Bala delivered it eternal.
dhool boys have hosted a visu composition of vasantha, pantuvarali mix with Bala's vocal.
http://www.dhool.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8193
vinatha
what even more amazes me is IR's principled approach towards helping / aiding newcomers like Mysskin, Suseendhran, Bala etc with his music for their creative ventures - realizing very clearly that he himself was a struggler in his early years, he is doing ample justice to his own convictions!
am getting increasingly confident that the films / projects he has shunned over the years were borned out of either his principle(s), or, self-respect (as in Kavithalaya films who used someone else's music instead of waiting for him to complete the BGM for PPA!)
two things confuse / confound me though - trusting someone like Mr.Jegath Gasper, and doing films like Kadhal arangam/Dhanam !!!
irir123,
Nice review. You are spot on regarding Shreya. In many of the songs you can see the exact bhava missing, if you observe carefully. Especially when she is singing with Chitra. This is what I wrote on twitter yesterday: " 'Ramayanamu' shows that Shreya has to do some more apprenticeship under Chitra :) Chitra understands Raja's mind perfectly."
irir123,
Even the director of 'Thandavakone' (Subbu Sujatha) is a new guy and such mind blowing songs for him!! What more can you ask. I have always maintained the Raja's work ethic is impeccable. My friend Rajasaranam claims that Raja always gave the songs that the story / movie deserved, irrespective of who the director was.