nAn eppO appidi sonnEn :confused:
The only movie I liked that had her was wOh sAt din and that one too was "despite" her :-)
I agree she was "not ugly" but never found a place in my fav books.
Ofcourse, her very talented sis was in :-)
Printable View
What context are you referring to you? The movie story line or situation? I can see there is context for Nila Kayudhu... I do not think there is any context for Poo Potta. If I go by your argument, is it acceptable to include porn for a first night scene? It is in context!!
V_S - Are you saying SPB/SJ are the best singers because they sang mukkal/munagal songs? Come on we have very talented singers very much comparable to SPB/SJ - TMS, PS, PBS, Chitra, KJY, Lata, Kishore, Rafi, Shreya are no less (to name few).
Re: mukkal munagal songs - I think there can be only these reasons 1) IR thinks/wants to assert he can make any sound musical (note donkey braying or goat etc) 2) He wanted to do anything to stay on top commercially. He will justify this very easily. In my books, these are the kind of situations he is just a smart human being :-) other wise he is god :-)
No absolutely not. I think you got it wrong. I can never ever imagine to comment on those yesteryear singers. Even if you note my post, I was only commenting on the current crop of singers. Also my post was not just because they can do only mukkal/munagal alone, we have already seen tons of songs in this thread, which covers varying range of emotions and genre where these two duo excel in whatever was given to them. Atleast based on listening experience right from my childhood to now, if you ask my preference (as everyone has their favorite list), Just after Rafi saab, definitely comes SPB in terms of versatility and without any limitation.
If you consider in female singers, definitely SJ comes among my top despite her voice is not that cute and sweet like others, even her higher octaves suffer strains, but again in terms of versatility, definitely she is up there with all the legends you listed above. She is a giant, period.
Chitra definitely she is also the best, but she has limitations.
Shreya, let me defer commenting on her, even though she is the best now, she is still a long way to go and let us not compare her to legends.
The way I see it is - Janaki and Chitra are playing in different genres. Just like SPB and KJY. People might get offended here. I see Janaki in the POP genre and Chitra in the classical/semi-classical space. Indian Film Music is a big world and no established terminologies or accepted classifications. Probably the link to the movie is tying it down or confounding the issue.
app,
you missed out vaali who wrote Gandhi desame .. brilliant lyrics to vent out the anger
Rajesh,
Gandhi Desame was by Vairamuthu. The lyrics itself as you mentioned would clearly indicate it is Vairamuthu. Actually out of the three SPB songs that App is going to discuss, Pen maane sangeetham paadavaa was by Mu.Mehta and Venmegam mannil vandhu was by Pulami Pithan.
காக்கிச் சட்டை படப் பாடல்களில் "பூபோட்ட தாவணி" .. அப்போதைய காலக் கட்டங்களில் எல்லா ஆர்கெஸ்டிராக்களிலும் பாடப்பட்டு வந்தது. கோரஸ், ஆர்கன், ட்ரம்ஸ், கிடார், பாலு குரலில் ஒரு ஆண் பாடகர் , ஜானகி குரலில் ஒரு பெண் பாடகர் இப்படி குறைந்த பட்ச அம்சங்களை வைத்தே அருமையாக நிகழ்த்திக் காட்டிவிடுவார்கள். குறைந்த வாத்தியக் கருவிகளைக் கொண்டு இப்படி பல அதிசயங்களை உருவாக்கி நூற்றுக்கணக்கான ஆர்கெஸ்டிராக்களை வாழ வைத்தவர் ராஜா. படம் வெளிவந்த இரண்டு மாதத்தில் இப்பாடல் எங்கள் கிராமத்திலும் வாசிக்கப்பட்டது ஒரு ஆர்கெஸ்டிரா மூலம். அடுத்ததாக வரக்கூடிய பாடல் சமீபத்தில் வெளிவந்து வெற்றிகரமாக ஓடிக்கொண்டிருக்கும் காக்கிச்சட்டை படத்திலிருந்து.. என மைக்கில் அறிவிப்பு வர, ஏக்கப்பட்ட கைத்தட்டல் கூடியிருக்கும் கமல் ரசிக கூட்டத்திலிருந்து. ட்ரவுசர் போட்டு திரிந்த அக்காலங்களில் நான் எப்போதும் விந்தையாக பார்ப்பது ட்ரம்ஸ் வாசிக்கப்படும் அழகை. வாயில் கொசு பூந்து வெளியில் வந்தால் கூட தெரியாத அளவிற்கு மெய்மறந்து ரசித்துக்கொண்டிருப்பேன். பூ போட்ட தாவணியும் ட்ரம்ஸ்-க்கு பெயர் போன பாடல். குறிப்பாக இரண்டாவது இடை இசை. கவிதை.
இதுல வருகிற முக்கல் முனகல்களை மேடையில் செய்துகொண்டிருந்த பெண் பாடகியை பார்த்து எங்க ஊர் பெருசு ஒன்னு அடித்த நக்கல் இப்போதும் ஞாபகம் இருக்கு. "போற போக்கப் பார்த்தா இவ நம்ம ஊர்லயே கொழந்தை பெத்துருவா போல!"
நெஞ்சம் உண்டு நேர்மை உண்டு........is a happy composition invokes the வீரம் and self - confidence . அது அறிவுரை composition from MGR -TMS gang . அது agenda பாடல்
app _eng ,
காந்தி தேசமே.....is a different kind of a composition .
காந்தி தேசமே ... is all about stating the அவல நிலை.
There is a sense of disappointment and heartache
பாலா is doing a good job of invoking the intended mood . chorus humming asserts the longing.
in உன் கண்ணில் நீர் வழிந்தால் by இளையராஜா, there is a மனத்தாங்கல் composition with dripping classism
என்ன தேசமோ இது என்ன தேசமோ.....யேசுதாஸ்.(na koi umang hai na koi tarang hai meri zindagi hai kya ik kati patang hai.....Lata's dard in R.D.Burman)
These compositions want you to think about it . They ponder on the pathetic situation while pointing the good and bad . still it is a hopeful composition .
Murali,
in an interview of SAC he told about the controversies about Gandhi desame and he said Vaali had to change few lines.
Rajesh,
I think SAC mistook Ellarume thirudangathaan which comes at the beginning of the film [sung by IR himself] and which was written by Vaalee, for Gandhi Desame. As I mentioned earlier Gandhi Desame had signature VM lines like
பதவியின் சிறைகளில் பாரத மாதா பரிதவிக்கிறாள்
சுதந்திர தேவி சுயநலப் புலிகளின் துணி துவைக்கிறாள்.
and in charanam you can again find the same pattern
ஏழையின் கூரையில் ஏற்றிய தீக்கனல் வான் வரை ஏறுதடா
ok Murali sir. you may be right
summer of 1985, with parents traveling a lot, I spent most of the hot days hanging out and playing with a lad of my age, kumar by name. Amidst the many tree-climbing, ball-chasing, veranda story-telling sessions he had, he often used to sing the Vanille thenila song.
Now that the pieces are put together I understand he must have been taken to Kakkichattai by his kamal-crazy family :)
nanRi M_S sir, for the insight on the lyricist for Gandhi dEsamE :-)
nanRi for the comments rajeshkrv, baroque & al_gates.
al_gates, all of us have a variety of characteristics and have moments that are playful, lost-in-thought, I-prefer-solitude, I-am-silly etc., especially at different time periods of life. Today, I was close to a road-rage persion on the drive from Chicago-Detroit (almost did tail-gating to a crazy Jeep driver who kept varying between 60-80 mph unnecessarily and was playing) which is so unlike-me and got chastised by my 18 year old son :-)
#190 வெண் மேகம்
(நான் சிகப்பு மனிதன், 1985 )
SPB version of 'oru thanga radhaththil' :wink:
Not as effective as the older one , strictly IMO, but was functional, from the movie's POV. OTOH, musically very rich - IR has infused a lot of mangaLa elements, lavishly added shenoy / thambura and such sounds to make it so festive. SPB feels from the heart while singing and anyone who has sister(s) can really feel it (I have two, apart from a brother, all younger, BTW).
Rajinkanth looked very smart in this movie. IIRC, he had suit in some scenes (possibly one of them in which blood oozes out due to the prior night's gun shot) and was dashing!
Actually, suit suits him better than any TF actor IMO!
He did the role very commendably and in a realistic manner IMO. Actually, in most movies until 80's (except those having some extra "style" gimmicks like cigaratte throwing) Rajini was so realistic on screen without much alattal. Especially he was so nice on song scenes. In addition to him, SAC employed KBR -who was the top director-actor at that time - to appear on screen. KBR really did his role nice and was intelligent as usual. That added some weight to the reasonably engaging movie. I liked it at the time of arrival and was happy that KBR was part of the project.
IIRC, most of my associates at the hostel liked the movie. In any case, better than the others that were running concurrently. Possibly another time period when IR had three 100 day hits running simultaneously (udhaya geetham, kAkki chattai, nAn sikappu manithan).
veN mEgham youtube :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RR3GD-AnR4A
must say that SAC had done well to take a character penned for Raj Babbar (of all people) in hindi to Rajinikanth!!! who would have thought about that...
What a thread ? @ App_engine :bow: feeling bad entering so late with the early 80s done. anyway, better late than never.
Naan Sigappu Manithan - invokes a few memories
# watched it at jayaram theatre, pondicherry (now Hotel Jayaram ). Not the usual Ananda / Balaji theatre where the RK / KH films are screened usually
# Vintage " The performer" Rajni, splendid direction
# RK's expressions when the drunkard asks him to drive the car on the footpath instead of on the road --- priceless.
# KBR entry just before the interval ( He removes the bicycle dynamo and keeps it in his Jolna bag to prevent theft ..... IIRC, thats when the director credits / Guset appearance credits appear
# KBR revealing the "color of the ink blotched on rajni's shirt" concept in the courtroom climax
# "Singaaram saloon" board kept ready and KBR inviting the judge to come for haircuts once he gets dismissed from service
App,
Your posts have invited many new hubbers and also veterans alike to share their valuable memories. That says it all. :notworthy: Definitely this thread is an asset to all IR, SPB fans and to mayyam.
Welcome al_gates and radiochandra to the hub. radiochandra, Very nice recap of Naan sigappu manithan scences. Keep them coming!
Jai, as usual good information to know about this role was initially thought for Raj Babber.
Just caught up with Kakki Chattai. There is nothing wrong with namma singaari sarakku :twisted: In fact that remains as the most popular number from KC till this date.
Vaanile Thenila is a great song, but I hate HATE the first two lines in the charanam. They feel sort of rushed for some reason :?
வானம் பாடும் பாடல் நானும் கேட்கிறேன்
வாசப்பூவை கையில் அள்ளி பார்க்கிறேன்
மாலை காற்றில் காதல் ஊஞ்சல் போடவா?
காமன் தேசம் போகும் தேரில் ஆடவா?
Ennavo meter-Oda extra speed-la pora maadhiri oru feeling. But when it gets to,
மைவிழி
பைங்கிளி
மன்னவன்
பூங்கொடி
மார்பிலே
Its sheer delight :-)
Keep em coming app saar :clap:
radiochandra,
Welcome to the hub & the IR forum! Thank you for the post!
nanRi V_S & Nerd!
On Kaaki Chattai, before the thread moves on ...
# "Vaanile Thenilaa" was my music band's ( JIPMER light music band "Breeze" , I was the KBist ) prize winning duet entry for Spanda, the all India intercollege fest 1996.
# I can remember jumping with joy when our troupe leader ( Moatoshi from Nagaland, he is a Pathologist now in Jamaica ) chose this---- Whoo ! Kamal - IR - SPB combo ....my day was made..... I was in 2nd yr MBBS and he was in final yr.
# Both male and female vocalists were from Hyderabad ( Dr Dash, a Bengali - Gult , hardcore IR fan , Dr Jyotsna, hardcore Kamal - IR - SPB fan just like me, my classmate and now a gynecologist in my hospital at Hyderabad )
# How we enjoyed doing the overlapping "Laa la laaa la la la la laaaa" in the interlude ...... Moatoshi of nagaland would swear by IR, while on the bass guitar
# About the movie itself, pucca masala with the RK group at school claiming that it ran more due to Satyaraj and less due to KH
# I remember getting smacked on my bums by my dad opposite Ananda theatre , pondicherry , crying on the road insisting for black tickets on day one ( Mr reddiyaar the owner, was known to dad but even he couldn't help due to mass booking by fans associations ). The spoilt brat of a child won the battle. Two tickets of Rs 10 were bought at Rs 50 a piece. My dad's honesty policy suffered a blackmark ..... who cared ? kamal padam 1st day.
# Those were days when the main road opposite Ananda theatre used to be closed down for traffic for big releases ( KH / RK ). Doesnt matter whether hit or flop
# Baba, Aalavandhaan timela ... athey roadla saani thelichu kolam podara madhiri iruntha kodumai ellaam 2000 appuram thaan.
# Can vividly remember the theatre going into raptures when Thengai Srinivasan describes KH to Satyaraj - "Rangoon Mocha Kottai madhiri Kannu "
# IR's BGM during the negative - sepia graph still title cards ..... and when the BGM changes to "Vanile Thenila " prelude pattern ..... ammaaaaaa ! Indha padathayellaam Hyderabadla re release panna maattaangala ?
AhA, arumaiyAna malarum ninaivukaL radiochandra!
nanRi, innum ezhudhungaL!
#191 பெண் மானே சங்கீதம் பாடி வா
(நான் சிகப்பு மனிதன், 1985 , ஜானகியுடன்)
The main tourist attraction of Henry Ford's birth place is the museum named after him. The place has some of the earliest cars and certain special ones (e.g. the one in which JFK was riding in Dallas when shot & killed). Though not as frequent as my Malampuzha trips when living in Palakkad (taking every visiting relative), this is possibly my max-visited tourist spot in this country.
While I get easily bored in the museum, there's another attraction which is annexed to this, called "Greenfield village". I can never get bored in this place, which is a retro village :-) It has people dressed like old countryside, steam engine train, pErththeduththukkoNdu vandha old buildings (such as the cycle shop of Wright brothers, one workshop + lab of T A Edison, home of Webster etc). The natural setting has an old town hall , place of worship (people get married here), open audi (bands play every now and then) and one can walk around / ride in Model T (that original $500 car) when there's no snow / horse cart ride etc.
There are similar places worldwide, I think, where people try to revisit the past and imagine themselves to be living there :-) At the minimum, there are certain festivals conducted in some places where people revisit the past for a period of time. (Holland, MI does this during its Tulip festival tracing back Holland-ish past. Frankenmuth, MI does the same with Germany-ish thingies). People enjoy "those old days" when life was slow, no rush, no noise, no jet-speed, no high-tech etc.
Whenever I listen to this song, it places me in a similar feel - taking back to a no-cable-tv / no-internet / no-rush / lazy / slow / peaceful time period. May be because the song has an air of calmness - with its slow pace, soft singing by SPB-SJ and very mild orchestration by rAsA.
Thoroughly enjoyable number!
pen mAnE youtube :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-V9ARAWW2E
So, we've covered the three movies that ran simultaneously in TN with Kamal / Rajini / Ilayaraja as respective heroes :wink:
I have one more song, for Sunday, to post...will pick some loner number (i.e. only hit song in the IR/SPB combo from a 1985 movie) for that...
#192 நிலவு தூங்கும் நேரம் நினைவு தூங்கிடாது
(குங்குமச்சிமிழ், 1985 , ஜானகியுடன்)
I have a doubt- what does the poet mean by 'nilavu thoongum nEram'? Does he mean pakal nEram? If so, what's the big wonder about one's "thoughts not sleeping" - as people are typically awake during daytime? :confused2:
Regardless, a very sweet song in the voices of our celebrated duet pair - that obtained its well-deserved recognition in the recording centers of TN at the time of its arrival! It made its way into thousands of cassette players & buses. The "mouth-organ" (salesmen in music shops in the Detroit area don't understand that term readily, "harmonica" is their term) is not that often used in IR's songs. Actually I can't think of that many numbers at all...other hubbers may want to list some harmonica-driven numbers by rAsA. I'm not a big fan of this instrument, for whatever reason, and really love the first interlude only when the flute starts with total accompaniment. May be it's easier to learn to play this toy and that's why most Hindi heroes play this on screen in some of their country-wide hit songs :wink: Despite my not-so-much-liking for harmonica, I simply love the song - for the sweet melody and the lovely singing of SPB / SJ.
I remember seeing this movie in one of those suburban (Trichy-Tanjore road) theaters...IR-R Sundarrajan combo but boring movie. The most shocking thing for us then was the appearance of Ilavarasi. Only a couple of years back (1982?) we saw her as a pAvadai-sattai small girl on vAzhvE mAyam and were even pitying her for 'machchAna vachchukkadi' in nAn pAdum pAdal just the prior year (1984 - "pAvam, chinnappoNNa ippadiyellAm Ada vakkiRangaLE").
But now, in this movie only a year later, her appearance was like some 60's heroines - suddenly so old looking :shock: Sad what this industry does to girls :-(
This was the only SPB song in that album where MV had max - goods vaNdiyilE, kai valikkudhu kai valikkudhu mAmA, vachchALAm neththippottu...The best song, from this album, IMO, is poongARRE !
#193 சிறிய பறவை சிறகை விரிக்கத்துடிக்கிறதே
(அந்த ஒரு நிமிடம், 1985 , ஜானகியுடன்)
Fantastic song!
One of the best from the SPB-SJ-IR combo, IMO...with the lovely percussion arrangements for pallavi, 3 saraNams with the second one different from the first & 3rd, both in melody & arrangments (they're differentiating the local Ambikapathi-Amaravathi from the foreign Romeo-Juliet / Laila-Majnu tragic pairs it seems - by way of resorting to mridhangam and nAttiya music). Ofcourse, vizhalukku iRaiththa neer - despite having the talented Oorvashi getting paired with Kamal, the movie was such a terrible bore and flopped (directed by Major S). Did she get another chance to work with Kamal in-between or had to wait for five years to do the terrific Palakkad girl?
This movie reminds me of a trip to yet another wingmate's village - because that's when we watched it in the nearby Thuraiyur town. This guy was a special friend, who looked so mature in the whole wing and was also one. (For the looks, he had the thickest meesai - had started shaving from high school I think and so looked way senior and mature than all of us. He was also soft-spoken, not getting into silly arguments, never bothered talking much about marks / ranks / this / that, never tense about ejjAms...and is now a top ranking official in Railways). We weren't that much close during the first two hostel years (Agate / Coral) but then ended up in the same wing in Emerald. Besides, he was also ECE. That brought more opportunities to interact. How? Mainly for "sharing books".
I need to talk about the books now. Except the first sem, I didn't have to buy ANY book at all for the whole engg course! Not just my experience, but that of most of my year mates! Reason? Library / book-bank / book-sharing in hostel! We used to get 3 books from book-bank each sem plus progressively increasing library tokens (1 for 1st year, 2 for 2nd year etc) and with those, could pick standard MKV / Millman kind of books for each sem. What I don't have, another used to have in the wing and it wasn't difficult to share at all - even on the ejjAm day. Worst case, some copying / writing down / visiting library fixed it!
Well, there was another book connection with this friend. He was the one who introduced J H Chase to me. I had seen those JHC books on book stalls / library but always thought they were 'maRRa' books -looking at those bikini pics on cover - and didn't venture. This meesaiwAlA was reading a JHC one day and told me it has less maRRa content than Sujatha or Pushpa Thangadurai :lol: and gave me that "You find him, I'll fix him". And that started my feverish checking out of all JHC's one by one from library until there was no more (around 50 of them - at one point of time I was reading them day and night for weeks!)
That way, he opened a new avenue to me which continued on for years with other janaranjaga writers like S Sheldon, I Wallace, R Ludlum...didn't they say your associates can have some influence on you?
Dazzling Ilayaraja compositions , you are posting App_eng. :musicsmile:
My life is possible only because of these compositions of early Ilayaraja.:ty: IR , thank you, You are a good friend.
மாதவ மாமவ தேவா கிருஷ்ணா... நீலாம்பரி பல்லவி , app _eng .
I don 't have brothers but blessed with loving and affectionate cousins ,they are fun always.
One at a time, I savour and cherish your IR-SPB offerings.:musicsmile:
vinatha.
Lovely 7 aam arivu review at Grouchy days. ( I already left my comment there about the Kamal article, the best I have come across on Kamal and his fans)
Back to the thread,
ANDHA ORU NIMIDAM - Kamal's worst movies votingla top 5 vil guaranteedaa idam pidikkum. A perennial embarassment for fans like me. I think, Kamal fans should launch some mission to destroy the CD/DVD copies of the movie all round the world - the movie is the living Blood Line of Kamal's "wedding" with Nth grade non sense.
# Mothirathula Visham ..... Shakehand Oosi murders by Major ..... ennaa kidney paa ?
# Bathroomla Bombu ..... widow Amma kulikka povaango ..... One nimit time ...... Run and Diffusu .......Title Justifiedu
# "Pachondiye Keladaa " song appuram Kathi Sandai ....... Kamal versus "surprise package" re entry man Vijayapuri C. Anandan ( Veerathirumagan fame ) ..... what a disgrace ?
# Songs ennamo Okay thaan. esp Siriya Paravai , otherwise nothing much.
RIP - Maestro's wife passed away yesterday due to heart attack.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...cle2587916.ece
nanRi, baroque!
BTW, I'm not posting any song today.
As a mark of respect to Raja sir's wife who passed away.
Will resume after the funeral.
Hi All
I started this thread with good intentions of carrying this thread till end, unfortunately due to work commitments; I am unable to participate on a regular basis. I would like to take this opportunity to thank "app" anna for his marvellous work! There are no words to describe his writing skills! (wish the greatest singer ever produced by India ,Dr .S.P.Balasubramanium sees this thread )
nilavu thoongum neram....
WOW! magical interludes for Caressing S.P.B, Janu is always emotive. Peerless singers indeed!
aesthetic heart of Ilayaraja!:musicsmile:
First interlude is my favorite... bass guitar goes counterpoint with mouth organ then flute and violin... DIVINE.
Second interlude is a violin masterpiece.
:ty:
ILAYARAJA WITH S.P.B!:clap:
Remember PAGAL NILAVU , App_eng
Murali mouth organ vaasichundey Revathiyai thorathindu eruppar.
Uyarathilerundhu periya paaraileyerundhu kizha kudhichu, avalai bhayamurudhiduvaaru...
back stroke swim pannindey, mouth organ vaasichchu
Maina maina... irish interludes, Ir sings .
Moondru Mudichchu...M.S.V . Kamal, Sri Devi go boating , prelude of Vasantha kaala ...... Early Rajinikanth's masterpiece!
oh... regarding kahani
First time மோகன் played this tune நிலவு தூங்கும் நேரம்.... to இளவரசி with his mouth organ in their place - கூட்சு வண்டி, it was பகல் நேரம், app _eng .
As I remember .. story is a flashback . சித்தி & Co கிட்டே இருந்து தப்பிச்சு ஓடி வரும்போது, மோகன் saves her . Later one time கல்யாண வீட்டுலே சாப்ட போவாங்க, அப்போ துரத்திடுவாங்க , that நைட் first time , இளவரசி plays the same tune in his mouth organ .
the சோக composition when they are living separately , she left , he moved on with a job too பகல் நேரம் only.
நிலவு தூங்கும் நேரம்
நினைவு தூங்கிடாது
இரவு தூங்கினாலும்
உறவு தூங்கிடாது........
vinatha.