sivasub,
The 'theeyani daanimma' was actually first done in Malayalam for Balu Mahendra's 'Yathra'. The pallavi was completely based on 'Favorite Things'. Not here. It is not a direct one but the rhythmic pattern sounds like that.
sivasub,
The 'theeyani daanimma' was actually first done in Malayalam for Balu Mahendra's 'Yathra'. The pallavi was completely based on 'Favorite Things'. Not here. It is not a direct one but the rhythmic pattern sounds like that.
There's also Pootukkal pottalum. In Malayalam, thannannam thaananna. Nireekshana was Yathra remake, although they fitted in a thumbi vaa rehash into it.
Suresh, unga oorula enga katchi nemba stronggu. Jaagradhaiyaa irundhukkunga
Forget about the 'katchi'. Go listen to 'Snehaveedu' first. As a person who loves the Malayalam female solos, you should listen to this album and appreciate the songs. Do it now :)
Suresh65
Arumaiyana Vimarsanam.
Infact I liked the Shreya Goshal song, specifically the variance between Pallavi and Charanam, but still seemless (only IR can do that)
Hariharan has sung in a controlled manner, much thanks SIr
The duet is ok, still not a fan of Rahul's voice. Shweta has her mother's sweet voice
Ofcourse, IR has given the best to Chitra, and as you said, she is proven once again that she is the best after SJ.
Good/Nice soothing album.
MaycI say it is a Hat-trick for IR after a long time ?
Bala
Brilliant write up on Ilayaraja's re-recording for "Sri Rama Rajyam". Says Ilayaraja usually does re-recording with two keyboards. But for this film, he opted to use live instruments, with 70 musicians. He refused to go down the beaten track set by previous mythology based movies, and did something new & unique, almost like he re-did the screenplay with his rerecording. Producer says IR did the rerecording as if he was doing research in music.
http://andhravilas.com/telugunews/23...highlight.html
Goosebumps!
Plum, a shoot-on-sight order for saying not wow...goodness what if i said she was just plain horrible? I would be lying of course...she is a competent singer...just as Suresh said not quite reaching that connection...for me anyways..
as for "katchi" why have one in my own land when I got intl support :poke:
but please no politics mucking up my music :D
and order can be put into immediate effect if you promise to play IR instrumental music during my funeral.
I felt Shreya's 'avanithumbi' sounded more like a tamil song , maybe due to her pronounciation. The music that comes after the lines ... thanaalo , ( ? violins) heavenly.
Also felt that Rahul's rendition of 'amruthamai' was better than Hariharan's and for the duet did not sound as great as he did for the solo. Chitra vazhakkam pol kalakkivittaar.
My thoughts:
Chandra bimbathin: A nice, slow and floating tune. The first interlude comprising of synth bass and chorus is great. Nice bass / accompanying music touches in charanams too. 2nd interlude is a contrast though. Rahul Nambiar sounds different in pallavi and charanam.
Amruthamayi: Hariharan's does a great job in the prelude humming with fantastic guitar strains. Again fantastic start to the first interlude with those synth / guitar. Short but nice touches of guitar in charanams too (notice when HH starts "prapanchangal/prabhadhangal.."). I loved the synth (??) electric guitar tune in 2nd interlude. Though RN has done a good job, I loved HH's version.
Aavanithumbi: Nice tune and liked both the interludes. The way music (synth strings??) accentuates the tune in charanams sound nice. Shreya (my current favourite singer) has done a good job. I started getting this feeling some time back (echoed by some here in forum) that her sweet voice (apart from ability to sing so well) is becoming the dominant factor when compared to the feelings expressed, though there are some examples (as said by some one "kannil paarvai") to prove me otherwise. That said and done, I admire her capability, attention and the extra efforts she puts to sing in other languages and bringing out admirable results.
Chengathir: Maybe because of the little familiarity of the tune, this song attracted me the least. Otherwise, no complaints about this song.
Amruthamay and chandra bimbathin will be treasured (and played frequently) for sure. Aavanithumbi could be added to that list
Krishnan
Milliblog review
Chengathir kaiyum is so obviously sweet, thanks to Chithra’s gorgeous vocals and Raja channeling his Kshatriyan number ‘Poottakkal pottalum’. In Shreya’s Aavanithumbi – another reliably sweet song – Raja’s interludes takes you through a nostalgic trip down his other rich repertoire without pinning on one song. Rahul Nambiar sounds oddly different across the pallavi and anupallavi of Chandrabimbathin, even as its beautiful, almost-ghazal’ish tune sits uncomfortably atop incongruent interludes. Amruthamayi, the soundtrack’s best, rises above Karthikraja’ish synth due to the sheer strength of its melody, while Hariharan’s version sounds better than Rahul’s. Snehaveedu is a bit too predictable, syrupy soundtrack.
Is Aavanithumbi, a different version of "Chithira Sevvanam"?
Not bad, for sure. No stellar song like 'Aaro pAdunna' (the sole reason for me being a little curious about this album), but no major duds either.
As has been the case most of the times in His newer albums, the Malayalam melodies somehow sound sweeter than the Thamizh ones.
Querida, Suresh65, sattubuttnu kannathla pOtukanga, illAti ummachi kanna kuththidum :twisted:
Sneha Veedu - beautiful album! Ilaiyaraaja doesnt disappoint. There are some "Malayalam stamp" kind of tunes - like the chitra song (some phrases do sound familiar) and there are some tunes that can be imported to any other (south indian) language as well - such as Aavanathumbi (it sounds a lot like some of 80s tamil songs of IR - the 1st interlude reminds me of interlude in "Kadhal Kavidhaigal" from Gopura Vasalile). Chandrabimbathil is impressive as well! And Amruthamaayi is a nugget anyway. My order of liking would start with this song, ending with Chitra song. The bottom order keeps shuffling though :-)
Verdict: I love this album!
Now Some statistical overaction: :-)
2011 Verdict(so far): for me...
Loved: Azhagarsamiyin Kudhirai, Ponnar Shankar, Sneha Veedu, Sri rama Rajyam
Mixed opinions (liked just 1 or 2 songs): Ayyan, Sengathu bhoomiyile, Thandavakone
Didnt like: Hare Rama Hare Krishna
Thats pretty much like evening out - by number of films. But by number of songs, I have liked 21 songs composed by Ilaiyaraaja this year. Thats quite good! Great going Mr. Ilaiyaraaja! you never cease to surprise me!
Ok, not bad.
It is difficult to surpass Vinodayatra and bhagyadevata when it comes to this combo. This one, predictably, doesn't.
But it doesn't plumb the depths of the previous Lalettan-sathyan-IR combo either.
Btw, saw bhagyadevata yesterday. among the lesser films of this combo. Saw first half of katha thodarunnu last month - that one promises to be better.
One more review of 'SnehaVeedu': http://www.musicaloud.com/2011/09/17...ie-soundtrack/
I will say that as you keep hearing this album will easily reach the heights of Vinoda Yatra :) I am very sure. Difficult to rate any one album of this combo as the best. I love this album a lot for the excellent melodies that Raja has given.
While I am still stuck on Sita seemantham, kalaya nizama, raama raama ane from SRR, this comes as a big bonus. And what a contrast to his previous films this year. This is what I have been expecting from Satyan-IR combo.:D I am flying high. Every song is a breath-taking and unique experience. Captured my heart straightaway. I could not pick the best out of it. Sheer brilliant melodies and at the same time not stretching and stressing too much on interludes. All concentration on the soul which is the tune. A Delight to hear. Thank you Satyan sir! :smile:
I agree with Sureshji that it will easily reach other Satyan's greats.
BTW, superb reviews Sureshji, krish244 and raagas. Sureshji you said it all beautifully.
Thanks V_S. Yes, it is indeed a sort of sweet pain that before we can fully digest the songs of one album, another one comes along!! Same happened in 2009. The next album should be the Marathi one. I heard that in some show Arya said he will be releasing 'Padithurai' after Diwali. If that happens, we are in for a real treat.
Okay - I love this album. Can't stop listening to it. I do have my reservations - synth, familiar etc., - but deep down inside me, the Raja fanatic is so glad that he is still making lovable music - not that he stopped making it - somehow that reassurance beats everything else - at times I think that makes me happy more than the product itself. Anyway, surrender :notworthy:
anyone else or is it just me- the Hariharan number is so Vidhyasagar!
AravindMano: 'appadi vaayaa vazhikku' :D
Where did the acoustic guitars go after the prelude in amruthamaayi ? Could have been a tribute to Simon&Garfunkel. Opportunity wasted. I hate the ping-ponging effect.
you all are fantastic, suresh65, skr, krish, raagas.... thanks.
kiru is musically savvy.
You, Ilayaraja, always a GREAT FRIEND.
If you need a friend
I'm sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.:ty:
:musicsmile:
vinatha
Exactly my feeling too, Kiru. The song's structured so beautifully, starts off with just an acoustic guitar and vocals; would've been an absolute acoustic delight had it continued the same way throughout. Alas, he leaves us singing synthbhairavi. Why rAsAppu, why!
ha ha ..ROTFLMAO .. you are articulate or what !! :-)
@vinatha - I dont know music .. only can recognize sounds.. really.. just like figuring out missing numbers in a number series if you have too many examples.. IR has given too much music even I can figure out somethings sometimes .. we are all friends here.. birds of a feather.. maybe we need a Bay Area IR fan meetup ..
@Suresh - I think IR could have still used the guitars someway in the body of the song..now there is a feeling of let down..
If there was any surprise for me in Amruthamaayi song, it is the absence of a Ilaiyaraaja version. A good number of Hariharan solo songs for Ilaiyaraaja do have a Ilaiyaraaja version too
1. Vaanavile (Ramana)
2. Vaanthu tharakayo (poonthottam)
3. Thaalaattum kaatre thai sonna paate (devan)
4. Unnai Thedi Vennila (en maana vaanil)
5. Oor Orungam Nerathil
Added to that, it is a Kalyani raaga based song - ilaiyaraaja has sang quite many himself, in this raaga. Infact, we can almost hear him sing, going by the way he weaved the tune. I am surprised that he didnt sing it. But again, there is no point singing this lovely song with struggle (if that is an issue, as apparent in some of his recent renditions). May be he deliberately refrained.
But i must say - Hariharan's version sounds better than Rahul Nambiar's version for me. Some maturity in voice - which is adding some weight, needed for that composition.
Firstly, the need to have more than one version of a song without any orchestral differences is beyond my comprehension. Is this like retaining the track version after the final version has been recorded? Beats me. Sir, why this partiality? At least give us one acoustic and one ping-pong version!
I agree. You have a point. But this is something that was done by many composers previously and even today some composers (including Ilaiyaraaja) still do. By having two versions without any variations - it is ultimately holding a mirror to the skills of those two singers only and it doesnt add anything tangible (in any dimension) to the composer's credit. It will ultimately boil down to "who sang better?", from a singer perspective. If there are two versions with variations in tune/presentation/arrangements by composer, then it certainly adds to the merit of the composer.
Yeah, fair points raagas and KillAdi VAdhyAr( KV)
Actually, the ludes. I feel the magic in the ludes is not there anymore. Anyone else?
What I mean is at his peak, the ludes had some surprise hidden at one place - and when a new song releases, finding this is a pleasuresome activiy.
Examples:
The violin surge in the first interlude just after Kamal's playful bite of Amala's bhujams, and her kottu on his head from the same position, in Valaiyosai. That is the peak point of the song - the magical portion of the song, as it were.
First interlude starting in Saamikitta solli vechu with the synth flutes
The synth flute in the second interlude at the beginning - nee dhaane endhan pon vasantham with the guitars responding
These are special portions even in those special songs.
Leaving that aside, even functional interludes like Azhagiya Kanne's have high musical magic value.
Comparitively, ludes these days seem to be merely functional
I need to write that long pending article about Raja's musical changes and my understanding of his methods soon. In my mind but not getting time to hand on keyboard. Will do so soon.
Regarding two versions I think it is more to do with space filling in the CD. One would have been the track version and the other the actual version. I don't think film makers are so concerned about us that they want us to analyze how different each one has sung. They just want to fill up the CD hoping that they can fill their coffers.
vAdhyArE! Inna ibdi sollteenga? Magic in ludes and all (in vadivel's terms) is 'grine' matter'nga. While it is true that the aging brain peeps in during the songs/ludes every now and then, it's also amazing to see how he can pull off some absolute blinders. Listing some from the top of my head - Paa (udi udi, gum sum gum - whattay innovation, whattay musicality), Naan Kadavul (Om ShivOham, Kannil pArvai – running riot in the devotional area). Some days back, on the way to office, Oru Chiri KandAl played randomly from the playlist. My mind had classified this song under the ‘nice melody, no great shakes’. But then came the Veenai interlude… lovely piece, completely unexpected.
(Shameless plug: I’d made a list of ‘Interlude/prelude/postlude of the year’ in this post written couple of years back.)
To summarize, while the gray matter might not be in its purple patch anymore, it surely does show streaks of bright purple quite often. Bonus, gladly accepted.
Suresh ji & Querida - :D
Happi -
http://www.rediff.com/movies/slide-s...r/20110920.htm
Pick the three best movies of each other
"Shahid: It is very difficult to choose with him. I would go with Maqbool. There was a television series, Neem Ka Ped, which aired on DD Lucknow. There is a film of his, Happi, which is releasing soon. I have seen 10 minutes of the film and he is just stunning in it."
Konjam ethir paarkalaam
Happi is held up for Mausam. Once Mausam is through, I am sure Happi will release.
On the other hand, the one film (or album) that deserves to be brought out of cans is SRK. How can that heartless producer allow it to rot in cans, when he has a rare combination - Ilaiyaraaja & Gulzar!! and both going strong that too!
our desi producer/distributor fraternity is a bunch of 'ajaamadams' - remember what happened to Ayngaran's Nandalala ?? every other idli, dosai, vadai films of Ayngaran were being released and NL was in the cans for more than a year!
Aavanithumbi thamaraithumbi - Shreya Ghoshal :notworthy:
For the past two days, I was going to bed listening to Sneha Veedu. Very pleasant and soothing moments. Before I could finish listening to whole album, I am already asleep. But Aavanithumbi has been ringing my ears during my dreams and it was somehow also leading me to one of the best IR numbers of 70's. Especially the anu-pallavi lines, 'maarathum tholathum chaannidaathe, oh maayakaaran nee kanmunnil manyadindhe'. I could remember intermittently during night about that 70's song, but when I wake up in the morning and try to recollect, it was evading me, how hard I try. All through the day I was singing Aavanithumbi to get that connection but no success.
Suddenly today evening while driving home, I got hold of that exquisite gem from Kavikkuyil (1977) by P Susheela.
maanodum paadhaiyile vaLLi thaanodip pogayile
vandhaanam kandhan, thandhaanaam sontham inbam ange oraayiram
Does anyone see any similarity here.?
Somehow these two songs seems to me as sisters, but they have not seen each other, but they think of each other all the time. One born and brought up in a village, while another in some other city of different culture, yet they are desperate to see each other. I believe Maestro is taking Aavanithumbi, through to that village to have an opportunity to meet her sister and we are to witness their ever-loving and never-ending relationship.
Fabulous and forever-love-bonded composition by Maestro!
V_S,
'Aavanithumbi' is just the tip of the iceberg!! The more I hear every song the more I am amazed at the experimentations that Raja has tried. Unfortunately he has wrapped them up so well that people think this is just a melody sound track. I tried finding out the rhythm pattern in Chitra's song. It is amazing complex. Same way one of my friends called up from Chennai to ask what I thought was the ragam for 'Chandrabimbathin'. I still can't figure it out though we had discussions on twitter deciding it was Bahudari. My friend claims it is Sriranjani and another hears shades of Bageshree. So total confusion. Overall it has been enjoyable and I will very soon declare that this is the best Sathyan - Raja track till now :)