Very mediocre songs, Ramki :)
S.Balaji, the song 'nenje unnasai enna' is by TL Maharajan.
Printable View
Very mediocre songs, Ramki :)
S.Balaji, the song 'nenje unnasai enna' is by TL Maharajan.
babu song muthal murai ketkireno ennavo... its ok
enakku pidithathu driyo driyo thaan :lol: , maduraiyil chinthamani thiraiarangil 100 naatkalukku mel odiyathu
Interprter thanks for being honest. I know they are mediocre but at the same time they are not nonlistenable either :)
Others thanks for the details.
Pick #359
http://tfmpage.com/stream/pow06/kan_kvs.rm
Song: kaNkanda deivame
Movie: keezhvaanam sivakkum
Singers : TMSoundararajan, PSuseela
Lyrics: kaNNadasan
MD: MSViswanathan
Magazines often referred saritha as peN sivaji. When these aaN/PeN sivajis came together for this brilliant film, the combination was nothing but volatile. Their powerful performances enriched the story and made this film a memorable one. Their
wordly duals was fascinating to watch(credit should also be given to the dialogue writer). I know KVS was adapted from a stage drama with poornam and anandhi in the roles of sivaji/saritha. Anandhi, actress with a unique voice, also did a small role in the film.
Im sure many of us aware of the storyline so im not going to waste time talking about it. The film also had Sarathbabu, Menaka, Jaishankar etc.
MSV too came out with good songs. 'kadavul ninaithaan maNanaaL koduthaan' is of my favorite TMS solos from 80s era.
I vaguely remember a VJ solo for Menaka or am I hallucinating?
Todays song has lovely wordplay by kavignar. The slightly aged voice of TMS suits the character played by NT to the T and im glad MSV did not use singers like MV for the song.
Another excellent song from KVS is enakkoru vidiveLLi en vaaninlE by MSV. Its a background song for Jai & Menaka. Did MV sing for Sivaji during that time frame? I'm not sure! arumayaana padam!
Ramki
Nalla song (You have been too kind to TMS, sorry he is worst part of this song!)
There was a ok duet by SPB-SPS for SB and Menaka.
This was one of the few films reviewed by Cho in Tuklak. Showered praises heavily.
However Saritha and NT did over act in many scenes. The movie ran close to 150 days in Shanthi Theatre.
Thanks for the song, KD has done a great job
Bala
This one is a good selection, Ramki :)
Like you, kadavul ninaithan is my fav. too. Saritha and Sivaji acted very well. The Sarthbabu-Menaka duet is ponnana ulagam.
bala,
But TMS brings Sivaji image to my mind immediately, right? Something MV didn't quite succeed that much. Aged voice seems to help also. :) I see your point though.
I think this song is one of the beautiful sindhu bairavi's of that time. What a start to set the stage for rest of the song..!
A song good in different levels!
Haven't heard this song for too damned long!!!
Thanks RR for reminding us at the NT thread. I have missed a lot, looks like.
I think you guys are right, MV would not have pulled off well, especially the climax part of the song where sparring is required. Thanks again.
PS sings perfect while TMS struggles at Paranjothiye .. but overall a nice song
POONANA NERAM INERAM UDHYAM . spb-shailja duet.
Kadvual amithan is my favourite song. Grand prelude and I think TMS voice very much suited for shivaji.
PS sings perfect while TMS struggles at Paranjothiye .. but overall a nice song.
I think TMS did well MANITHIRA THIVANGALAIN MAYA KAITHKULUKU Where he sings in the high pitch. PS voice was so sweet .
ramesh
One of the best films of Sivjaji is KVS. Over-acting is born with Sivaji but Sivaji will be NULL without OA :-) In KVS, his performance is like walking on the knife, splendid !! No less in case of Saritha. I have seen the stage drama also. TS Anandhi's acting was damn good. People (at least around me) incl myself were very much moved with full of tears while watching the last scenes.
TMS's bhavam while rendering "virundhu ellAm mudindha pinbu, piLLaiyinai azhaiththAn iraivan aruLjodhiyE" is commanding. One will vouch me while you relish this by watching the song sequence.
Why no solid praise on PS? Let me take that pride...:-) Saritha is filled completely with anxiety about the episode being directed by her FIL. Though she respects him, but smelt 'something fishy here' and her finger points towards Sivaji. In this song, she ventilates her agony and anxiety and all burried feelings. Excellent wordings, Fitting music and obviously powerful singing by PS..... Pudhaindhu vaitha manakumural...ellam veLi varum andha uNarvu pravAham... simply astounding performance by PS. Though in 80's no.of PS songs in a film came down to 1 or maximum 2, but every song has had her agmark muthirai. Thats all your honor :-)
Ramki Sir,
Very nice song. I like the way they said Muruga Muruga Muruga...!
I like the climax. superb acting by NT and Saritha.
Same type of song has used in visu's Vaa Magale Vaa. Even the scene also similar, a conversation between Appa and Magal (Visu and Kushbu).
Muruga... Muruga..!
Hi SN
Over-acting is born with Sivaji but Sivaji will be NULL without OA
Can you elaborate what is over acting and normal acting in NT thread? so that we will discuss there.
regards
ramesh
In Keezhvanam sivakkum i liked jai's acting. Differnt role he played.
Kan kanda deivame is mei silirkkum song. 2 times kEttEn. I found myself involved very much. Was it by Kannadasan?
What is considered Overacting now (may be a decade ago too) was the kind of acting required those days. I wouldnt call all of them Overacting. May be people dont emote like that nowadays. KVS was a classic example of Sivaji's acting skills.
I am listening to the song kaN kaNda deivame .... after years, thanks :)
Looking for this song for a long time now.. Thanks for the wonderful song.. Excellent singing by PS.
Good movie as well with excellent performances from NT and Saritha.. But more than them I liked the role played by Jaishankar... Romba adakki vasichiruppar..
Thank you everyone for your feedback. I'm glad the selection was liked by so many.
For the next pick, pls go here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramki
Thanks for the details of this lovely song by PS and BMK! I was doing a query on the Melody queen's website and found the following link -
http://psusheela.org/tam/raresongs/raresongs101.html
Here it says the MD is TG Lingappa!
Trivia - This song sounds very much to a Madan Mohan Composition from a hindi movie Jahan Ara - woh chhup rahe sung by Lata M. I was listening to this hindi song a couple of days back, when I remembered this duet. I did a search this morning and got all the info. Plus this one from the tmfpage (though the movie mentioned is wrong!) -
"KVM's mannan thiru meni from subadinam sung Balamurali Krishna and PS certainly (atleast in the Pallavi portion) sounds very similar to Madan Mohan's 'Wo Chup rahe' from "Adalat" sun by Lata.I guess it qualifies to be called a copy."
<source: http://tfmpage.com/forum/21233.20751.9.html >>
Could someone throw light as to who the correct MD is!
Thanks in advance,
Priyamudam,
Nimi :)
I love the song, "poo poothathai yaar paarthadhu," Yesudoss just gets us into heaven with his voice and rendering.
:clap: :ty: :ty: :clap: :clap: :ty:Quote:
blending and losing myself in the melody
lyrics are wonderful
Indha Moderator Ramki Engae poitar??? Sollikama kanama poitarae SP......
Usha,
naanE POW threads kku puthusu :(
enakku epdi theriyum.
oru velai naan varlainnu kaanama poirunthaara irukkum :shock: :P
now hopefully he shall be back :D ( romba over shakthi ithelaam :yessir: )
chat panna vaikadhae Shakthi.NOV vandhuduvar....... :twisted:Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakthiprabha
Appadi illae SP. Neenga vandha Neram - Ramki varatam......
:roll: I did. I aint an exception.Quote:
I have to agree with this.Quote:
Its enjoyable just for Sjanakis versatility. Its not easy for a trained professional playback singer to sing without shruthi, bhaavam or wavering pitch. Janaki does it with such ease you start wondering if Bindu Ghosh herself has sung the song(song picturised on her).
I TRIED. Gave another try and another... and one more too.Quote:
I know you are going to hate it but give it another try. It's worth a smile :wink:
HATED IT all the more, may be I was smiling second time, and laughing third time, BUT ALL THE TIME I HATED IT :D :lol:
power:
indha thread ellAm old.. ( ofcourse gold !)
Ramki ippo ellAm varadhilla.. romba busy-a iruppadha kELvi :(
Madhu,
I am hearing all old picks...
Its like TREASURE !
I wanna save all these links, buy an IPOD download it and listen to all this while I do my morning walk (until my ripe old age)
I REALLY CANT SAY, how much old songs mean to me. Its like an orphan finding its parents
I owe ramky, neel and others A LOT!
:ty:
Hope ramki comes back atleast occasionally :?
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/ennod_tm.rm
:D wow.... so romantically painful. :?
Cant say why or how. Somehow song is painful too.
(Though "bhool gaya sab kuch" was not painful :? )
Quote:
Beautiful composition in BOWLI :musicsmile:
Hearing this song is a lovely way to start a day !
:musicsmile: :musicsmile: :musicsmile:Quote:
:) :notworthy:Quote:
Ive been searching for this song for ages. Its nostalgic for me cause, cause, my mom found this song cute n funny and hence used to enjoy this singing song, whilst I used to mock dance (pose) for this song ! :roll:
We had great fun mimicking this song I should say :oops:
Ive seen Devilalitha few times in saidapet busstand and around saidapet guindy areas :?Quote:
Anandhi who is a tv drama artist and kovai anuradha hails from nanganallore though, Ive seen them lot of times, VERY VERY SIMPLE normal ppl with no air at all. :thumbsup:
Pick #255
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/poo_rp.rm
Song: poo manakkum poonkuzhali
Film: Ratha paasam
Singers: SPB, BSSasirekha(?)
Lyrics:kaNNadasan
Music: MSViswanathan
:ty: Ramki for serene Yaman(Carnatic kalyani ) based composition. Vinatha.
Pick #312 & 313
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/pillai_omp.rm
http://raretfm.mayyam.com/stream/pow06/thedum_omp.rm
Songs: piLLai manam/thedum en kaadhal
Film: oru malarin payanam
Singers : Vani Jairam - Rajseetharaman, T.L.Thyagarajan
lyrics: Mu. Mehta
Music: Chandrabose
:ty: Ramki!
:thumbsup: Vani! Go girl! What a romantic, innocent voice in pillai manam...! Male vocal too nice, very nice!
thedum en kaadhal..... prelude reminds mookuthi poo meley... anyway, loving the calm melody.
Both male vocalists complement Vani!
http://tfmpage.com/stream/songs/aadha_vn.rm
Song: aadhavan ezhundhaan
Film: Vipranaarayana
Singer: AMRaja
Lyrics:S D Sundaram
Music : S.Rajeswara Rao
DIVINE song, Ramki!!
Can't get enough of Bhoopalam prelude portion!!
:ty: :ty: :ty: :ty: :ty: :ty: :ty:
Pick #353
http://tfmpage.com/stream/pow06/aadiyile_r.rm
Song: aadiyile perukkeduthu
Movie: Radha
Singers : PSuseela, BVasantha
Lyrics: vaali
MD: Shankar Ganesh
Wow!
Arabhi dripping musical.
:musicsmile: :clap: Ramki!
:ty: Ramki for yethanai manidhargal.... by Jayachandran.
I am familiar with amudha thamizhil.... not this solo.
:thumbsup: :ty:Quote:
Originally Posted by baroque
Hey shakthi, i am catching up Ramki's picks too!
Ramki rocks!!
Kadalodu nadhikkenna kobum....
I used to sit at my house varanda, listening to these musicals or go to paalkaran- konar house, praying he should take time to give my sombu back so that I can listen to the musicals from his tea kadai! :) Good old days!
what a gem of a Sriranjani dripping melody, now i have the craving for vasantha kaalangal isaindhu paadungal..., pallavi of naadha vinodhangal...
Love you Ramki so much!
:ty: :ty: :ty: :ty: