Aamir
sumaar :?
Printable View
Aamir
sumaar :?
Enna PR eduththudalAmA? :lol2:Quote:
Originally Posted by Prabhu Ram
The frustration is of course entirely justified. The honesty of the film might be, as you rightly point out, a little to heavy for the fragile pseudo-morality in TN. But let us look at what things we can co-opt:
1. The aesthetics are at best DD TV Serial - acheivable at low cost.
2. The actors are a small but excellent ensemble - something that needs to be developed but I am sure is available - no inherent star value so one can lower cost.
3. Movie length is about an hour and a half - a lot of film rolls saved.
The most important thing I think is that somewhat serious material is presented as a dark comedy. I think humor is the best way to convince an audience to be less judgemental. Balu Mahendra understood this and hence the reason for the "feel" of irattai vAl kuruvi (even though it is supposedly a take on Micky and Maude).
:-|Quote:
Originally Posted by complicateur
PugazhEndhi: adhu yEn vElai illeengaLE
Aranganar: sonna udanE jagA vAngura paathiyA
I see your point about how easy it should be -market mechanics-wise to make this film. The fact that it is still not being done only seems to indicate there is no-one who 'wants' to. Hard to believe.I saw some promos for 'small films' in Tamil like this'. A film about an adfilmmaker making his first feature film. mudhal mudhal mudhal varai. Yet to meet anyone who watched that film.
Yeah. The last scene where Ranvir Shorey "over-reacts" is hilariously funny. But our reaction is more "what the .." rather than laugh-out-loud. That is where this film works so damn well.Quote:
I think humor is the best way to convince an audience to be less judgemental.
:lol: puriyuthuQuote:
Reporter: yEn saar thamizh-la intha mAthiri pada edukka mAttEngurAnga
VV (pivoting arm at elbow and making a back and forth rotating motion): ellAm intha dissance thAn kAraNam.
Yes I heard about the film too. There is another facebook group that I saw about someone making a similar attempt but with Madhavan. Also dont know how far that is going. How many people actually saw Mixed Doubles in the theatre to begin with?Quote:
This guy Ravir Shorey is really something. He acts so damn well.
woh bahut experimental hai...school mein bhi science kiya
In all earnest.
His demeanour when approaching the subject to Konkana (I didn't like her in the Mr. and Mrs.Iyer film and Page 3 is one of my pet hates - but I think I have to revise my opinion of her)
His reaction when his swinging friend says he was lying
His "eagerness and earnestness" when talking to prospects
arrE peel kar kE bhi kaa sakthA hoon yaar...aise kOyi problem nahin hai :rotfl:
I had to pause the video to laugh at that scene in the montage. Just hilarious. Haven't finished seeing it fully. Must get back to it.Quote:
chhil ke bhi khaa loonga yaar. aisa koi compulsory nahi hai! This film has riotous dialogue (by Anurag Kashyap and the director himself). A wonderful little film. I wrote about it in my blog at the time of its release.Quote:
Thanks again :rotfl:Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
Have you seen these too ? How are they ?Quote:
Originally Posted by equanimus
This guy is just great.
Yes. They're damn good too. Raghu Romeo especially is a must-watch. I'm a big fan of Rajat Kapoor. He is a little auteur of sorts. I've video copies of all his films (except 'Mithya' which I've not bought yet) in fact.Quote:
Equanimus: Thanks for that. His site seems to be down though. Raghu Romeo. Note paNNikkarEn. yArAvathu puNNiyavAn net-la upload paNNiyirukka mAttAnga!
that's the movie I was referring to but couldn't remember the name, if you remember me trying to remember.Quote:
//Yes I do remember you trying to remember (romba MMKR vAdai adikkuthu) - the vijay raaz movie and me confusing it with Bombay to Bangkok etc..//
andha ad filmmaker-vadhu andha padathha paathhara :lol:Quote:
Rajat Kapoor seems to be the man - as a calm/composed uncle in DCH to a selfish/inconsiderate upper middle class man in bheja fry.......he acted as "meghana's" dad in Jaane tu as well :clap: never knew he was a director until i came into this thread :oops: he has been making movies since 1994 as per wiki :shock:
Tarana (1994)
Private Detective: Two Plus Two Plus One (1997)
Hypnothesis (1998)
Tonight No Show (2000)
Must Tell Her... That I Love Her (2001)
Jojo and the Chair (2001)
Raghu Romeo (2003)
Mixed Doubles (2006)
Mithya (2008)
Mithya being his dream project it seems 8-) .......
Hypnothesis ! - pErE vithyAsamA irukkE :-)
idhula sila pala padam namma equanimus kooda pAkkalai pOla :lol2:
I have seen him atleast twice in Mumbai watching films in mainstream theatres by himself. Jobless students going to midnight shows or day shows in the Adlabs in Andheri/Malad. That time we only knew him as the guy who came in DCH and Monsoon Wedding. thaniyA popcorn sAptukittu padam pAthukittu iruppAr.
Then
GM : enna dA thinging ?
Now
VV: appuram..pA.....set-la EdhAvadhu sillarai vElai EdhAvadhu irundhA sollu.....naan paakkuREn
:rotfl: idhukku mela eppadi paa thalli nikkuradhuQuote:
btw, i remember Ranvir shorey and Vinay Pathak as VJs only, are they from theater? (reminds me of bala's timing - ennada periya theater-u, naanga paakkadha theatre-a-da :rotfl:)
Seen Raghu Romeo couple of years back. Terrific film. Compli, try this link
NanRi hai Nerd. Innum oru vAraththukkuLLa pArthhu mudichchAgaNum!
Oho !Quote:
Withdrawal syndrome-kku therapy ellAm pArththu vachchikkunga :lol2:
//dig.:lol: nInga vEra frind oruththan Feb 28th Playboy mansion masquerade ball ticket vechchikittu innum oru mAsam irukka bayangaramA tempt paNrAn. orE kustamappA! end dig.//Quote:
en kaNNe pattudichchi
Bheja Fry
Bad
And what's annoying is, it could have been a simple good film and they bothced it up completely.
Somehow many people refer to this film as a sort of "Rajat Kapoor film" (much to the irritation of the fanboy in me). He was just an associate producer of the film. It was produced by Sunil Doshi (Handmade Films) who also produced Kapoor's Mixed Doubles.Quote:
A plagiarized product, but I found it alright. Vinay pathak does it for me. (OTOH Ranvir sucked ass)
Even Vinay Pathak was quite annoying. Not in the he-is-meant-to-be-annoying sense. The whole movie was just superficial, unimaginative and stupid.Quote:
Originally Posted by thilak4life
Plagiarized vEraiyA ??? Let me guess, some British stage play ?
No, a French film. Havent seen Bheja Fry but I liked the original.Quote:
Bombay to Bangkok by nagesh kukkunoor...........very bad :oops: never expected this from a nagesh movie :cry:
Slumdog Millionare - i consider it as bollywood masala movie, hence posted it here......must say, we have beating around the bush a lot, such movies would have elevated us a long time back..........
Chandni Chowk to China
First half - ok
Second half - reminds me of 80's Jackie chan movies (trained by old man for avenge).
Mixed Doubles :rotfl:
bala eppavume oru paatta kettuttu - yaana nenjula midhichha madhiri irukku-nnu solluvaaru, aana indha padathha paathuttu yaana ------- midhicha madhiri irundhudhu :rotfl: sorry, i couldnt control :rotlf:
Gajini..... Ameer has done a decent job..... especially wn he is mottai boss, he rocks :clap: :clap:
Climax is better than Tamizh version :)
overall an entertainment movie
AR Murugadhaas.... namma aalaachchE :bow: :bow:
who dubbed for Asin.... I felt like Asin dubbed for herself :? she is looking gorgeous :shock:
Goal - ok movie .... but bipashapasu :tongueout: enna figure'u :smile2: enna structure'u :bow: :bow: reminded me Rajini's old song... nalla katta naattu katta :yessir:
Yaarum luck by chance pAkkaliyA? It's getting rave reviews..
Dasvidaniya :bow:
A simple story executed in a touching way. Vinay Pathak :thumbsup:
Anyone knows who played the saleswoman character??? :?
Dev.D is releasing this weekend :clap:
has got 5 stars in times rating 8-)Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
WOW. Found the web version. :clap: :bow:Quote:
Originally Posted by MADDY
Mumbai Meri Jaan
The film has peeped into people's lives and shows their level of suffering/trauma close to our heart.
One can feel the Evano Oruvan's trademark here and there. Nevertheless, great direction and amazing performance by everyone. :)
Leaves a great impact. :cry2:
Nishikanth Kamath :bow: :clap: :thumbsup:
Socha Na Tha :) :D
First half was amazing. second half got a little slower and repetitive.. :)
thanks compli
my frnd watched DevD, says it is too dark and tragic (pinna devdas padam kaamediyaava irukkum) but said, even the best of tamil cant match anurag kashyap :shock: engayo poitttaanaam
nichhayama padathha pakkanum - title card-la amit trivedi-kku oru clap poduradhukkaagavaavadhu :D
unga friend apdithana solluvaru MADDY..idhula enna periya aacharyamQuote:
Originally Posted by MADDY