sent you one couple of seconds before
Printable View
sent you one couple of seconds before
Thanks kbee for the encouraging, positive updates-- vinu.
Kbee- sent u a reply - check it - thanks
Anytime (and anything) for IR. I missed the opportunity to donate to TIS, but its time for me to pay.Quote:
Originally Posted by baroque
One more news. Saregama wanted to price this product like any other product (means a single CD would cost around $7 for this category),where as tamilmaiyam doesnt want to compromise on the price. It seems some one in USA told them that people in USA will buy for $15 - $20. Who ever gave the information to TamilMaiyam does not know the facts here. The minute Thiruvasagam CD is released, I am sure mohankumars and other "well wishers" will post the MP3, so even a dedicated IR fan will download MP3 than buying a product for $20. So if they price the product any more than $7, this is going to be a disaster for tamilmaiyam.
In addition, if the product is priced at 15, it would be around Rs 500 in India, which is not affordable for a common (non IT) man.
In my opinion, this product should be rated same as "Vishnu Sahasranamam" or "Venketeshwara Suprabhatham" by MSS, just because it is an ever green - ever selling product and I am sure many of us here wanted TIS to be such a product.
I dont know how many of you here are in USA, but if you are in USA,please express your opinion on the price, so hopefully TISK or someone associated with tamilmaiyam will carry the news to relevant people.
This is 300% true.Quote:
Originally Posted by kbee
Kbee, So far we are comfortable buying carnatic/Hindustani/devotional single CDS $9.99, double CDs-- $12-$15, Mostly film music albums prefer $5.99 and under. They are regular prices I am mentioning. I have got couple of times very good discounts for may be I am buying 10 CDs or more than $ 100 worth of purchase etc.. from our local Indian music shops.
I think $7.99 is a reasonable price. Definitely with tax $10 is reachable to all.
Some web sites yerukku rt, i am not sure, long time back a friend of mine told me The mahal.com you get cheaper prices etc.. i have never bought, so i don't know.
kbee, I agree with others that 10 is a reasonable price. Tamilmayyam must be dreaming. And thay havent spent anything on marketing/promotion so far either.
Also as an aside, I havent heard Fr.Gasper mention even ONCE in press about the contribution of TIS-USA team or other fans in US or India towards the completion of this project. He keeps talking about his own loans. I hope he mentions it atleast in the future.
kbee do you think the length of each track would prove to be a deterrent in converting to mp3s? If each track is 10-20 mins long then mp3s wont be that easily downloadable especially from sites like coolgoose, unless otherwise the quality is poor.
Hai, i have a silly question... itunes do they charge each track 99cent or depends on the duration of a track the price varies? romba naal doubt idhu?
// Also as an aside, I havent heard Fr.Gasper mention even ONCE in press about the contribution of TIS-USA team or other fans in US or India towards the completion of this project. //
vijay...tisusa's participation was mentioned in the press meet...
i think $15 was based on the cost of classical albums from Sony...for example ARRs "warriors of heaven and earth" is currently listed at $13 (on sale at a lower price)...
and nothing can be a deterrent in converting and distributing tracks as mp3s...
i think the US price should be determined by the price in India...i am sure formulas exist for the markup...
Kbee,
It is really very nice of you to take active part and promote this project at this time.
I wonder how u missed the meetings held in NorthEast area last year.
I think the price should be minimum 10$ and maximum 15 $, most of the online CD/DVD buyers opinion is that the shipping and Handling charges are huge in many sites, which should be taken into consideration also.
Reasonable discounts towards bulk purchases of more than 5 may help people buy more.
Are u involved in the making of the special commemorative
( I might have spelt that word wrong) T shirts ?
Prabhudas
Are there anyways to contact Mohankumar and other "wellwishers" and request them not to do their usual social service in their sites?
I know, Coolgoose admin will respect our wishes in removing the mp3 ( personal experience) links if we request them.
thops, if the duration of each track is long it wont be as easily uploadable/downloadable as film tracks.I didnt say that conversion to mp3 wasnt possible.
If TIS-USA was indeed mentioned I stand corrected. But from what I have read and heard so far no mention of the fans contribution was made by Fr.Gasper. Even when he appeared on TV he was talking about incurring heavy loans but didnt mention the fans contribution.
Thats like missing a life time opportunity. I recently only joined TFMpage, while searching for some reference related to IR music. Since then TFM became my home(page).Quote:
Originally Posted by prabhudas
Related to "Are u involved in the making of the special commemorative
( I might have spelt that word wrong) T shirts ?
"
I am not, but if you know someone is, please let me know. I can definitely contribute to this effort. If no one initiated, I can work on this. Please let me know. I do know people who own companies in Tiruppur, so should not be a problem printing. The problem is only in importing from India, but I can check on that.
tmrrmt, I got your mail. I will reply seperately to your mail.
All
There is a belief that the more a product is priced, the better the product will be. Thats also one of the reason why certain products are priced higher. When we had NBW and HTNI for $7, no one bought the CD from us, because they thought its a duplicate CD. The minute we increased to $10, we sold out and I have orders for atleast 25 CD, but I couldnt fullfil them. So $10 seems to be reasonable, with volume discount for people who buy 5, 10, 25 copies.
Sent a mail to quote for both round neck tshirt (normally you get them for $3 in streets of NY) and polo type TShirt (you get them between 5 - 10).
Kbee,
I think TISK had mentioned earlier in this thread about the
"T shirt", please check with TISK, but it will be a good idea especially for all HCIRFs to have ( order) one if that is eventually available
Prabhudas
Just off the phone with Saregama. Ppl in India still wanted to price the CD at 15, but saregama USA sent some facts on the CD market here. They asked me to "stay put" regarding tarrif and other details.. Will updte you as soon as I hear from anyone.
I need some help. What are the websites where we can give Ad for TIS.
"What are the websites where we can give Ad for TIS ?"
give me some time, I will get back with details of websites
When will Thalaivar's name come in the webpage given below?
http://www.grammy.com/awards/grammy/47noms.aspx
Hopefully very soon. He truly deserves it and much more.
I have been eagerly waiting to get TIS before I leave to the US.I hear that it will be released on May 7 in India and after May 2nd week in the US.Any updates?
kbee - no replies from you yet to my mail ?!
sorry, i didnt check my mail. I will reply to you today
SSeshadri75, it is not going to be released atleast till end of the month, since the CD is not yet replicated,pending some dispute over the price. Saregama gave a bad news that if the retail price is not with in $10 mark, they might pull off the whole deal... lets hope something good happens very soon.
When an ordinary Brittney Spears or Michael Jackson album goes for 14.99 to 17.99$ at every release to think of this monumental one time great product to be under 10 is unthinkable and not amounts to giving proper respect to the artist, effort, accumulation of talents, FR's sincerity and the loan obligations.
It is in the hands of the Tamils all over the world to come forward and show their support in the following ways:
1. Whatever may be the price to purchase at least one CD for each family.
2. Resolve not to upload or download to an MP3 format.
3. To send request letters to all those sites who generally put it on MP 3 of anything, to not to do it for this one.
4. Promoting it to their friends and families thru personal e-mails and group mails.
5. If anyone is aware of any organizations like the Nagaraththaar Sangam, Saiva sangam , etc. to approach them or forward their contact addresses to be sponsors for this project.
6. If any one knows of any grants available for such products, to let us know asap. We will contacct them and follow it up.
Friends, one should hear this CD, especially that 20.36 mt piece on Sivapuraanam from Thiru vasagam to really know what I am talking about.
I am willing to play it for serious inquirers who can assure me of such sponsors.
Please get in touch with me immediately at 919-413-3913 or send an e-mail to ommuruga41@YAHOO.COM.
THANKS.
YIA!!
TISK
I understand from the obligations point of view, but Saregama is talking from their markettability point of view. No matter what the price is, I am committed to promote TIS cd for our maestro.
BTW is the CD released? or it is the master copy that you have. My understanding from Saregama is that it is not replicated.
kbee
Dr.Shankar, Whatever may be the price we will purchase TIS for us and our family. Please don't get upset about $10 market rate view points. IR is GOD! HE is everything to us. We want TIS to be a success! Best Wishes, Vinu.(i feel very bad now i posted inthe $10 cd prices discussions )
TISK:
I am a big fan of IR and will definitely buy the CD for whatever the price is.
However, if what I am reading in your statement about how this product deserves $17 because a Britney Spears album sells at that price reflect6s the current thinking by you guys on marketing of this product, pls. think through this.
You could have got a real good price for this product if you had released the producty right after all the publicity happened with the progress of this project and completion of the project. The environment was good because the publicity created huge expectations for the product. However, you are losing a lot of the momentum created by the publicity as the time lags on.
With regard to the Britney Spears etc., thwe pricing is dictated by supply and demand. Because of the popularity of Britney, the album producers may feel confident about the demand and price it that way. I would still have no problems you charging that amount for the TBI CD but I think the logic of parallels to Britney CDs may not be appropriate reasoning.
As I saw in another post, if now the release of the product is going to be delayed until end of May is true (from a previous announcement of mid-may), I think these are the type of things which will detract from your ability to charge a premium. The delay would refelct again an erosion in credibililty as the dates get moving.
In addition, I would avoid again referring to debts incurred by Fr. jegath in marketing of TBI. It goes agains the premium image you are trying to build for the product. I am not saying that the effort and the debts undertaken by Fr. Jeagth is not laudable or need not dealth with, but if you try to tie it to the marketing, pricing and positioning of the product, you defeat your purpose of building a premium image of the product.
These are my thoughts more to be helpful to the project. (I have contributed US $500 to the project and am extremely hopeful for the grand success of the project)
Pricing is always a complex issue...
1. Bottomline: It has to reflect break-even for the project cost with expected MINIMUM volume. Any further quantities can be subsidised if the demand is not extremely high (which is expected for any classical album, as it won't go with masses and may not sell in millions)
2. Premium pricing will typically ensure lower volumes...as it would be deemed as not `janaranjagam' but `for upper classes', which is true in this case...that way, if the threshold for break-even is not very high, this is the right strategy to keep up the image of the work.
3. OTOH, if the so-called trumpeting of `popularising-the-concept', `enlightening-the-people' etc are the true intentions (I think so, otherwise so many wouldn't have given voluntary donations) then premium pricing is WRONG...as it defeats the purpose of reaching the masses with an important message. It gives a wrong `mEttukkudi-property' image which defeats the original mission proposed...
4. Either way, pricing it `reasonably' low...i.e. without losing to get to the break-even point while ensuring mass distribution will be the correct thing...because, many more will be encouraged to buy and piracy will be minimum...
All IMHO...
kr
I believe TISK took the liberty of discussing the debts in this forum since it is not for promoting the CD, than sharing info among TFM friends, so from that perspective it is okay.
KR is right about one thing. "Kaattrulla bothe Thootrikkolla vendum" The momentum is there still and will still be there, but day by day it is going to loose, so the sooner we release the CD the better.
On pricing, if the retail price is set fro $15, then depends on the wholesaler/retailer and their margin, some of us can still sell it for much less than $15. For e.g. I am planning to donate $1 for every CD, so if my price is $10, then I will sell it for $9. Here my intention is not to degrade the product/pricing,but to contribute from my part as donation. Like minded retailers can and will do the same. We have done similar things for some of tsunami efforts, so it is not unusual for retailers to sell below cost. Its indirect way of promoting/support the product.
Above all, after taking to Dr Shankar, I feld that the success of this project is key, not only to the effort all the people put so forth, but also for the upcoming projects. Lets all help in whatever way we can to make this a HUGE success. For e.g. if your immediately family is in india, if they dont buy the CD, you can present the CD to them. This can be a very good gift for many occasions (marriage, anniversary, brithday).
Latest update, CD will be released by end of June. Retailer rate would be around $15
kbee ,
Thanks for the info !
SOme of us shoudl try to persuade the like minded friends like Mohankumars ,oosai ,raaga etc not to release the album over the web for free ....Iam trying to collect a list and put up a request ...
TISK,
Why not release the product in Asia and then look at the prospects worldwide? If the volumes of sales are very good then you can demand any price you want. IMHO the success of the album will convince saregama or whoever to push the price label up. I am not a marketing expert, so it is my personal opinion.
TISK - on my part, I have been sending emails to organisers of several music festivals all over the world, for putting up flyers of TiS at their venues - hopefully, that will help in some kind of marketing for some niche audiences abroad
as for sponsorship, I already mentioned quite a number of times about the ARTS COUNCIL, UK -
email - Anna.Higgs@artscouncil.org.uk
http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/
http://www.artscouncil.org.uk/funding/index.php
another possible source is the Yehudi Menuhin Foundation
www.menuhin-foundation.com/
Has the TiS team tried to contact any of the above at all ? if not, please do it -
How about arts/music foundations in Europe ?
Let me just give you one cautious note (I hate to call it a 'warning') - already many hard-core IR fans that I know of, are snubbingly going around wondering "is TiS going the way of the symphony ?"
So, do something proactive and pls stop talking about Britney Spears and MJ, both of whom have a huge market globally and hence are in demand - think of what we can do practically
kbee - can you please check your mail and revert back to me ASAP ?
Madhan
Mr Madan
I replied to yrou email. I will keep 10 copies of HTNI, NBW, I24 hrs and MX (hindi version only available). Apart from these, if you wanted to add any other CDs, please let me know. I will get it from whereever it is.
Kbee - replied to your mail - pls. check
HI Guys,
I kept browsing through the magazines, netsites, newspapers etc. No info about the releasing of our thalaivar's dream work. Any info about that?
I'm waiting .... !
All our friends r waiting...
love
Irfan :shock:
They have been deleting my postings, as only cowards will do. They have absolutely no interest in making this project a success....we can all wait and wait, no one involved will do anything to market this product. I suppose they have all got they want already.....go ahead delete this post tooo.....