+1. I mean if it could make me say that Hariharan version is better than Shreya kozhandhai's, then it must be a gem. I dont tolerate Hariharan for anything less than a gem.
Printable View
Hariharan, total damage :)
Listening to 'Dilwale Raat Hai jawan'. I think it was Kamal Aakarsh in his raagas guise who wrote here (or on twitter) that this song was atleast 20 yrs ahead of its time. Fantastic rhythm provided both by the drums and the bass. You can sing the song with either of them providing the rhythm (each one is different). Added to it some wonderful trumpets / sax etc. Overall a lovely effect.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fltlN87GaiY
Yes, I agree too Hariharan has sung beautifully, except he/Maestro could have concentrated on his diction. 11/12 times he faultered saying 'ViLayaattu' as 'Vilayaattu' which is the only sore point in the whole song. On the other hand, Shreya has got correctly 11/12 times the exact word. :smile: For a singer of his calibre and experience, this matters I think.
Here is your copy. Since you have asked, there are some sites like video2mp3.net where you can copy/paste the youtube link in the space provided and click 'Covert' which will convert to mp3. No need to download any software on your pc for this. Hope this helps. I am always ready to do for Maestro and fans.
Superb song Suresh ji! Listening after a long time. Wonderful piece of music! Thanks to you and aakarsh.
Here is my answer to the question I posted yesterday. I watched his movie yesterday. A memorable film. The palakkad locations are enough to watch the film. Mohalal, Sheela stole the limelight. Dense trees, lush greens, warm houses and great people. I will post some excellent BGMs in few days. I was mesmerized by Maestro's BGM. Lot of scope for Maestro in this film.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y80Fc...ature=youtu.be
V_S,
I just downloaded that clip, heard it and was about to type 'Snehaveedu' when I see your answer :( Honestly I have not watched that film going the sound I thought it must belong to this movie. Anyway thanks for the clip.
Thanks Suresh ji. Sorry about that, may be I posted too early. Good to know that you found it already!. What's unique about this piece is, Maestro has not used any of this song themes in the titles. Very minimalistic score.
Happy Maha Shivratri
http://youtube.com/watch?v=AH-b-dHr2B8
Bring on the bhang lol jokes apart... Wish you lot all the best :)
I have added two more files (savari and vandhaLE) to the same link here. Savari audio quality is not that good (as the video has disturbances), please bear with me. Still hunting for a good quality. But that's a beautiful song in one of the rarest raagams.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCBDNTKcyrU
Don't know if some other hubber has already shared this, but this is the video to "Vandhale Allipoo" I always wondered why the beginning had that half tambourine sound, now I know it is from an earlier dance part....another unexpected part is the pause/break in song...anyways the picturisation hasn't IMO taken away from the song, and for that I am glad about, especially for such a treasure of a song.
tabla ilayaraja's sriranjani masterpiece, Janu's solo VANDHADHU VANDHADHU...KILI PECHU KETKKA VAA
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFsB_txSPpE
Rasa pattu bhodhaiyil , how I drove & reached home tonight nnu theriyalai... ennavo oru paraparappu, ullaasam.... sappaa...
Rasa, Paada paduthureenga neenga!
vinatha
V_S - nandri nandri nandri. Ofocurse, SKV gave the conversion links earlier. But as I said "unga kaiyAla patthtu paisA vAngi adhula podi pOdaRa sugamE thani" :-)
Rasa, you are killing me tonight!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4B-w...eature=related
every song is a gem in agni natchathiram, wow, what a masterpiece by Yesudas & Raja, prelude set the mood with piano, violin & guitar rhythm! dazzling music- sivaranjani.
vinatha.
Plum, You are most welcome. :smile: I got reminded of my grandfather and his 'podi dabba' (he used to have some good brand). Our relatives and his friends used to have weekend chats with him with main intention to have his brand of pod. Can't forget those himalayan sneezes!. Great fun!
***controversy alert!!!!
SJ "worshipers" requested to skip this post ***
My recent 'custom made' CD has both thenRal vandhu theeNdum pOthu & mounamAna nEram and there seems to be a minor issue with SJ's singing of 'kiLi' (parrot).
We know KJY initially had a problem of singing the La of 'kiLi' slightly thinner, like how they say it in Malayalam, and often got criticized (poovizhi vAsalil yAradi vandhadhu kiLiyE kiLiyE)...
SJ seems to have a problem with kiLi as well, but in the opposite direction, that is, making the La thicker - almost like zha. In both 'kuLikkum Or kiLi' (mounamAna nEram) & 'kiLiyE kiLiyinamE' (thenRal vandhu), she almost sounds like 'kizhi' :oops:
Among my fav singers, some of those who never had any issue whatsoever with La, IMHO, are TMS / PS / SPB / MV :-)
The most difficult word to pronounce / sing, IMHO, is தொழிலாளி -'thozhilALi' - (has all the three of them and a real tongue-twister :sweat: )
SPB too in many songs appears to me "ழ்" in the places of "ள்"
eg : Please spend some time in hearing this non-IR song mentioned here http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthrea...419#post813419
In most of end lines of saranam, I am hearing "ழ்" in the places of "ள்". Please confirm my ears functionality.
In the last couple of years I've developed a habit - whenever feeling a little drowsy while driving, force myself to start "counting the beats" of the songs to decide the cyclic pattern - and it seemed to help a lot in freshening up the mind, at least for a while, until a spot can be found to take a 10 minute nap.
Well, last night I had to do that and the songs were :
poongAviyam, pEsum Oviyam
(KJY/PS/KSC sweet, 'ende sooryappuththirikku' aka 'kaRpoora mullai', the Srividya / Amala starrer by Fazil)
...pretty obvious that this follows the 3 beat cycle and may easily qualify for the 'waltz / jazz waltz' discussion based on Vicky's solvanam article. The most interesting thing is the 'ching-chAw' sound in saraNams at every 6th count (1-and-2-and-3-and "tish" - 1-and-2-and-3-and "tish" ).
thEdum kaN pArvai thavikka
(SPB/SJ beauty by MSV-IR, MTK)
...sounds like another 'waltz / jazz waltz' and the interludes very sincerely follow this while also having some terrific string sections, interesting to see that Vicky picked 'dhil dhil dhil dhil manadhil' from the same movie for his discussion
senthAzham poovil vandhAdum thenRal en meedhu mOdhudhammA
(KJY in terrific form here for Kavingar's lines, muLLum malarum)
...my deciphering is "standard 4 beat cycle"
isai vallunarkaL (Sureshji, skv, V_Sji, RR sir, KV, Akarsh) please correct me if I'm wrong on these!
use this image to teach anybody how to spell tamil words
http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/2456/tamilspell.jpg
While channel surfing stumbled upon this beauty. The volume was very low but I could hear ShreyaG. KeerO/KeerOyini were unsahikkable so I was like indha padaththukkellaam ShreyaG-yaa? Increased the volume and listened to the brilliant 2nd interlude (flute/violins/cello). I was like whoa, who is this composer, this is so 'Raaja'. Confusion was because I was thinking I would not have missed at least a ShreyaG number under Raaja. And it was Raaja indeed who picked up when the 2nd interlude ended.
So it is still Raaja who could come up with highly imaginative ludes :-) And later realized that its Yaarum Thodaatha from Ajantha. I have read about this song in the forum but did not have the enthusiasm to listen to it thinking I won't like it. How wrong was I! Been listening to it ever since.
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer...6'&lang=en
Great pick Nerd. Ajantha's every song is a gem, infact it has become a rare gem as the movie did not see the light. Yaarum thodaatha ondrai is definitely my pick too along with Manjari's 'thoorigai Indri'. I even love Malayalam version of the songs.
Also that unni krishnan song! Great album this is :D
fellows ithai ellaam kekka maattaanga. kekkaamaleye, raja's current music is so 90'ish nnu uLaruvaanga :evil:
Another raga based gem from Maestro: This one on brother-sister bonding.
Saavira Jenumagalu from Nyaya Gedhithu:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Y0dN_lISZQ
Comment from somebody:
tuned in Mallika Vasantham Ragam S G3 M1 P N3 S | S N3 D1 P M1 G3 R1 S. Janya of Mayamalavagowlai. This raga never used before or after in cinema. Song has traces of Kedharam, shankarabharanam in arohanam and avarohanam
venky,
Please read this brilliant article by Raj for Saavira JanumaghaLu. May be the raagam information in youtube is based on this article.
http://rajamanjari.blogspot.com/2011...-musician.html
this has been a very tired Saturday. We had to go out, whole day on our feet,
ரொம்ப tired ஆ இருக்கு ராசா...
energize me , I am all yours !:swinghead:
PEERLESS 80S ILAYARAJA!
ஆகாய கங்கை .....
stunning early Ilayaraja's treasure மத்யமாவதி
sexy ஜானு 's ஆலாப் with honey soaked வாசு , scintillating வயோலின்
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7MXxA8RYBg
Shreya Ghoshal singing 'surmai akhiyon mein' along with Shri K J Yesudas celebrating KJY's 50 years in the industry. Wonderful rendition!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7Zcjyn01Rw
Did u guys see, they kept an iPad in place of lyrics sheet!
Yes yes saw that sir! Andha iPad'a hold pandrathukkaagave oru (adjustable) stand vEra.:smile:
Woke up with hamsadhwani rag aalap of flute instrumental this gorgeous sunny Sunday morning.
எங்க சந்து டீ கடை blast இளையராஜா songs.
மலர்களே நாதஸ்வரங்கள்- malargale naadhaswarangal.....one of my favorite , early இளையராஜா masterpiece , ஹம்சத்வனி ராக்.
ஜானு's ஹம்மிங், பாட்டுக்கு பாட்டு, வாசு's honey soaked குரல்,:happydance:
I am blessed to grow up with the ultimate musician ever walked on this planet!:musicsmile:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wS-UY1wa4wk
Is this a fantastic visual for the eternal bliss or what!
கருவிழி உறங்காமல் கனவுகள் அரங்கேற இளமை நதிகள் இரண்டும் இணையட்டுமே...
ஜானும்மா is stunning .
மன்மதன் திருகோயில் அதில் காதல் பூஜை......
joy has no bounds when வாசு joins with ஜானு 's ஆலாப்.:-D
It's always you, Ilayaraja!
vinatha
வெயில் நாளும் சுடுமென் தேகம் கெடுமென
ஜன்னல் திரையிடும் மேகம்
இரு காதல் விழிகளில் வீசும் ஒளிகளில்
பிறையும் பௌர்ணமி ஆகும்...
sizzling hit from ஸ்ரீ .இளையராஜா & ஸ்ரீ .வைரமுத்து & ஸ்ரீ .பாலா !:smokesmirk:
What an orchestration, bass guitar, acoustic guitar, violin, flute, Lover boy in his amazing form, கவிஞர் in his கவர்ச்சி mood!:redjump::bluejump::redjump:
ஈர இரவில் நூறு கனவு
பேதை விழியில் போதை நினைவு
பன்னீரில் இளந்தேகம் நீராடும்
பனிப்பூக்கள் உனைக்கண்டு தேனூறும்
நீ ஆடை அணிகலன் சூடும் அறைகளில்
ரோஜா மல்லிகை வாசம்
முக வேர்வைத் துளியது போகும் வரையிலும்
தென்றல் கவரிகள் வீசும்
நெஞ்சோரம் தள்ளாடும் முத்தாரம் எந்நாளும்...... கவிஞர் வைரமுத்து!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXpq7zoUnLY
that's Raja pattu for me tonight!
energy flies high for me tonight!
vinatha.
Was listening to Santana/Black Magic woman.. bass guitar driven rhythm.. my thoughts .. indian music is monophonic .. european music is polyphonic and has harmony .. is our music inferior ? The same IR who uses a 50 or 100 piece orchestra also does music with minimal instruments.. why does he not always add a harmony layer and big orchestras.. ok, the movie situation warrants it or maybe you can still enjoy indian music whatever the harmony is playing in parallel for a brief moments shows up as gamakams in an indian music (my theory). Just like a not so music-savvy european can ignore the harmony and enjoy the main tune so does an indian enjoy the tune while sometimes ignoring the gamakams.
Along with this, indian rhythm instruments seem to be more multi-faceted - urumi and the way the 'bayan' is played with the tabla set. They dont seem to need a bass guitar backing. With this as context, listen to 'ejamAn kAladi' and nilavE mugam kAttu from ejaman.
The whole movie is a festival of indian tunes.
Kiru, I had just mentioned ejamaan as my fav rajini album post 90s. You are right - it is a celebration. AVM avlo avarukkedhirA kaai nagarthiyum, avanga thirumba vandhappo vanjanai illaama vazhangi irukkaar.I also believe RVU had to insist on IR to AVM for this movie
In terms of sound engineering and effects, I think, thanikkAttu rAja is a milestone. It has very good transparent recording (there is some clipping) and effects like reverb/pan are used in many songs. The songs themselves use a variety of rhythms. mullai arumbE - mridhangam, sandana kARRE - drums and other songs many native drums. rAsaVe unnai naan - eNNi thaan has a style of recording which Rahman prefers.
Of these, I like the serious - rasAvE unnai naan and the funny .. naan thaanda ippO devadas - this song is really cool in lyrics :-) . Not sure you guys like it :-) I think songs like this helped rajini get a cool/carefree dude image.
(@Plum - I am sure AVM founder had really good artistic ambitions.. his heirs are running it like a corporation looking for cheap part suppliers )
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer...545%27&lang=en :superb: :cool:
vaanam thodatha... Ultimate piano prelude from Ilayaraja!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZ9iv-x-hqM&feature=player_embedded
cool ilayaraja !
oh .. nenjame idhu un raagame .......Deepan with Janu!:musicsmile:
gushing violin, steady guitar strumming, jillendra janu!
PEERLESS 80S ILAYARAJA!
குளிர்ச்சியா, ஜில்லென்ற பாடல் எப்படித்தான் ராஜாக்கு just like that தோணுதோ!
ராஜாதான் பயங்கர romantic !:swinghead:
vinatha.
Today i listened 5 gems,was what i posted and two are the ones baroque posted,
other 2 are posted by suresh65 in twitter
- http://urstelugustudio.blogspot.in/2...episode-2.html
- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0osYOrLa9cM
feeling too ecstatic! unable to write in words, athaiyum thaandi arputhamaanathu!
First time for me. Uma Ramanan I think. Terrific song. Dhaagam edukkiRa nEram from Enakkaaga Kaaththiru
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tO8woga3R-0