Ya the guy was awesome in Nijam...
Printable View
Ya the guy was awesome in Nijam...
Tollywood Boxoffice report
Sri Ramadasu
Number of Weeks: 2
Run: Released on 30th March on the eve of Ugadi, Sri Ramadasu took the box office by a sweep. The film crossed the expectations and is running housefull in all centers. Sri Ramadasu is a devotional treat to the audience and is also a blockbuster at the box office. In Guntur, the film collected 26,75,617. 23,90.00 is recorded from Nellore. Krishna saw first week share of 19 Lakhs while East Godavari collected 25 Lakhs share. Uttarandhara registered 38+ lakhs share.
Ram
Number of Weeks: 2
Run: Ram released along with Sri Ramadasu. N.Shankar directed Nitin for this film. Raam is presently running with divided talk and is making moderate collections. Music by Yuvan Shankar Raja proved an asset.
Ranam
Number of Weeks: 9
Run: Ranam completed 60 days. This is another hit for Gopichand who is registering hit after hit at the box office. Choreographer Rajasekhar turned director with this film.
Devadasu
Number of Weeks: 10
Run: Devadasu is running towards 100 days. Exciting thing about this film is the raise in the collections after the 50 day mark. The film is competing with new releases. In fact, it is making money better than some of the latest.
Laxmi
Run: Laxmi is running steadily towards 100 days. VV Vinayak directed Venkatesh for this film. This is one of the biggest hits for Venkatesh.
Style
Run: Style is also running towards the 100 day mark. Though Style started out with great openings, the collections have dipped in the last few weeks.
[tscii]Arrangements are going on at brisk pace for Mega felicitation event on the evening of 23rd April. Anand Sai designed a cream color set for the function.
Highlights of the function tonight are going to be –
1. Amitab Bachchan and Sri Devi coming down from Mumbai as guests.
2. Actress Sobhana’s classical dance performance during the opening and the ending of the functions.
3. Dance programs by Chiranjeevi’s heroines – Shriya, Reema Sen, Sakshi Sivanand, Sangeeta and other actresses.
4. Allu Arjun’s special dance.
5. Choreography by Sundaram, Raju Sundaram and Lawrence.
Zee Telugu channel is doing exclusive live for the event. At 5:30 pm, there is going to be curtain raiser of the program. From 6 onwards, the deferred live of the program starts and will be continuously aired till the end of the event
here is the Guestslit for the function
http://www.princemahesh.com/pokiri/mahi_goh.jpg
Well the felicitation on chiranjeevi seems to be like they are felicitating mahatma ghandi...although he is a greata ctor and rgeat human being i wonder if a felicitation of such a scale is really necessary...sometimes it can make a person feel too "big" for his shoes...hope such functions become a rarity in the future.....anyway congrats to chiranjeevi sir for his success and contribution to cinema as a whole.
:shock:Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikkonen
:| :roll:Quote:
Perhaps, telugu is much closer and similar to Tamil Industry..
Ethukku ippa Aparachitudu reactions..
I wanted to say that Telugu movie world is lot similar to Tamil one compared to Bollywood or other language movies..
Chiru’s felicitation: All present, Rajini absent!!
Behindwoods.com
For fans of the Telugu mega-star Chiranjeevi, it was a mega-event on April 23rd, at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad. For Chiranjeevi, it was a long way up from the streets of his home village, Mogultoor in Andhra Pradesh. The Telugu film industry had organized a function to felicitate Chiranjeevi on his receiving the Padma Bhushan Award.
Big wigs from three film industries, Hindi, Telugu and Tamil, were there. The occasion was graced by none other than the Big B from Bombay. Unfortunately, Tamil Superstar Rajinikanth could not attend the function as he was away from India, shooting for his Sivaji.
Speaking on the occasion Amitab Bachhan said: “Twice I missed opportunities in attending a function connected with Chiranjeevi. First it was a hundred day celebration of a hit. Then, it was the occasion of his daughter’s marriage. I was ill then. But then, this time I have made it. It is difficult to sustain your success unless you are hard working and humble. Chiranjeevi is both humble and hard working. People think that Bollywood is the biggest movie industry in India. No, it is not. The Telugu industry is the biggest movie industry in India and Chiranjeevi is the reigning King here. He is therefore, the King of Indian cinema!” There was a noisy jubilation in the hall as the Big B said this.
Shobana, danseuse and actress, who had worked with Chiranjeevi in many films said: “He is very humble and hard working. He cares a lot for his fellow artistes.”
Said Vikram, himself a hit hero in both Tamil and Telugu: “I’ve come to see two superstars on the same stage. Chiranjeevi is a kind of demigod here. He is also a kind of brother, friend and a source of inspiration to me.”
Ex-heroine Suhasini, who had herself paired with Chiranjeevi in many big hits said: “I have been in his films both as a technician and a heroine. He is made of great stuff.” She also sang the song Malli Malli Idi Rani Roju. (This day will not come again and again.)
Radhika too had eulogies for the mega star, her style: “Chiranjeevi is not an ordinary man. I first met him when I was working with Sudhakar. Chiranjeevi was so shy then. His hard work and perseverance have brought him to what he is today. He followed the ABCD rule. A for ambition, B for boldness, C for creativity and D for Dedication. I wish him all the success and also that he get the Bharata Ratna and the Dada Saheb Phalke Award.” She concluded her speech by shouting Jai Chiranjeevi to which the audience responded with full spirit and gusto.
Radha, Chiranjeevi’s one time heroine said that she loved pairing with Chiranjeevi and that it was amazing working with such a talented artiste as Chiranjeevi.
Towards the end of the day’s events, a group of physically challenged children, trained by dance master Lawrence, gave a scintillating dance recital. There was a standing ovation to the event. Chiranjeevi walked to the dais and gave bouquets of flowers to the performers.
For the fans of Chiranjeevi and Telugu movie buffs, it was indeed an eventful day.
http://www.behindwoods.com/features/...i-1/index.html
__________________________________________________ ___
* Wow, what jubilation that should have been for Chiranjeevi and his fans ... :D
* AB's statement abt Telugu movie industry should definitely make my friend NTR ecstatic .... :D :D
* Too sad Rajini wasnt there to complete the circle ... :cry:
Chiranjeevi Felicitation
Megastar Chiranjeevi is felicitated by the Telugu industry on 23rd April at Gachibowli stadium. The event started off with a song by singer Sunita. Suhasini lit the lamp kicking off the event. Sai Kumar and Paruchuri Venkateswara Rao anchored the event.
Heroines who acted with Chiranjeevi attended the event. Reshma Roy (first heroine of Chiranjeevi), Radhika, Radha, Suhasini, Jayasudha, Jayaprada, Sridevi, Anjala Javeri, Sobhana, Sakshi Sivanand, and Rambha are among the attendees. Other attendees included Pawan kalyan, Srikanth, Sivabalaji, Asin, Sandhya, Mahesh Babu, Raja, Vikram, Ali, Mohan Babu, Vishnu and many other celebrities. Also, directors and producers who worked with Chiranjeevi participated in the event.
Sobhana, who also received Padmasri, performed a classical dance. Sridevi expressed her happiness being a part of this event. She wished that Chiranjeevi will reach further heights.
Suhasini said, "Chiranjeevi always refers to me as chatter box. Probably he is now afraid that I might talk in length. To keep this short, I will just sing". She hummed Malli Malli idhi rani roju song and took every one by surprise.
Jayaprada said that it is the hard work that got Chiranjeevi to this height. "Now he is in the heart of millions of fans", added Jayaprada.
Jayasudha remembered her first impression on Chiranjeevi. "I thought he was head strong. We just met in a set and my first impression was that he is arrogant. But after further acquaintance, my impression changed. Chiranjeevi trusts in hard work and that is what got him here. That is one side of him. The other side of him is the responsibility towards the society. That shows in his social work. I am sure he will win Bharataratna also", said Jayasudha.
Yedida Nageswara Rao, who produced films like Apatbandavudu with Chiru, said, "Chiranjeevi winning Padmabushan gives me feeling that the entire industry is honored. He won awards for all the films that I produced with him. Swayamkrushi and Apatbandavudu are translated into Russian. The movies did very well there also".
"Chiranjeevi follows ABCDs of movie and hence he is successful.", said Radhika. She further eloborated that ABCD stands for Ambition, Bold, Creativity and Dedication. She went on to predict that Chiranjeevi will achieve Bharataratna, Dada Sahed Phalke and other prestigious awards. She concluded the speech with Jai Chiranjeeva slogan.
Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bhachchan came in while Radhika's speech was going on. Felicitation of Chiranjeevi started immediately afte rhis arrival. Chiranjeevi is handed over the momento. Following that Amitabh spoke. He said, "I am surprised at the turn out that came to felicitate a person. These moments are really magical. There is lot of hard work involved with how a normal person turned into such a great actor. Also, he is a man of great humanity. In fact, I dont have much acquaintance with him. I was invited by him for a 100 days function and also recently for his daughter's marriage. Due to prior commitments,I could not make it to either of them. I am very happy that now I could make it. Success does not come easy. It is one task to achieve success and it is a different one to keep it up. In fact, keeping it up is the toughest task. Chiranjeevi is a person who dealt with it in a great fashion. Also, his contribution to the society through the eye bank and blood bank is great. "
Amitabh further added, "People think that Bollywood is the biggest film industry in India. But the truth is Telugu film industry is the biggest. Commercially also, Telugu industry is very strong. Being the king of Telugu industry, Chiranjeevi can be called the King of Indian Cinema."
Responding to the words of Amitabh, Chiru said Amitabh is a legendary actor and also narrated a short poem written by Harivanshrai Bachchan. "Amitabh is a legendary actor. When I was an aspiring actor, Amitabh is our idol". Chiranjeevi then touched the feet of Amitabh. The entire audience gave a standing ovation to the two megastars.
Mohan Babu honored Chiranjeevi on behalf of MAA. Following that Mohan Babu said, "I and Chiru acted in few films together. In between there came a few misunderstandings. I invited Chiru to few of my functions. But he never called me for any of his. Probably he feels like calling me and Allu Aravind might be stopping him. (laughing)". He further added that those who spoiled the relation between us are not happy either. "Today I feel like the entire Telugu community is honored", he concluded.
Pawan Kalyan followed up. He referred to Chiranjeevi as Sakthi. "Usually a person is judged by his education or credentials. You all know I flunked inter 3 times. I am now where I am because of a gudiance, a Sakthi.. that is none other than Chiranjeevi. When I came into the industry, Annayya told me that I should use 3 point rule - Honesty, Hard Work and Dedication. He reminded me that I should be myself and not brother of Chiranjeevi. It is the energy that he imparted up on me that I am here now. "
Pawan further added, "Thammudu Mohan Babu spoke moments ago. They could be true or otherwise. I know about Annayya very well. I am blessed to see him from close cornor. I can vouch that all he knows is to love. He never hurts any one. He always feels to do some thing to every one. Blood bank and eye bank evolved from the same thoughts. Until today I never dared to see him eye to eye. But today I got this magic energy. I am telling him today that I will be with him always no matter what. I am not just saying this on my behalf but from all of us". His words got astounding response from the entire auditorium.
Vikram said that he is at the event not as a guest but as a fan. "Chiranjeevi is great. He is a humble human being. No award can evaluate him.", added Vikram.
Radha said, "Our pair clicked very good and in fact we were better known for dances. I am very happy to be a part of this event. "
Dasari Narayana Rao commented that Chiranjeevi is a bridge to the past to the present. "He has millions of fans who are ready to do any thing at his hint. He is a role model. "
Responding to all the compliments, Chiranjeevi finally said, "At times silence is better and now I feel that. I am overwhelmed. I dont have words. I learnt from Allu Ramalingayya garu not to think about the past. I look for today. I think about tomorrow. But never about past. Now, at this function, looking at all of you, I am getting reminded of the old days. It will be a wrong thing not to remember the past at this time (laughs). "
When Chiranjeevi was remembering his times at Pune film institute, Dasari took the mike and said that he is one of the members on the selection committee. "He was feeling a bit embarrased. Realizing that we asked him to do whatever he knew, and the rest is history", said Dasari.
Chiru continued and thanked one and all who attended the event.
The event also consisted of Allu Arjun's dance, a dance program by the handicapped students of Lawrence, Sakshi Sivanand and Sangeeta's dance programs, Devisri's remix of Yureka Sakamika.
Guys if someone could post reviews of the Telugu movies,We would know which movies to watch and which ones not to watch.It would def help.
Hmmm. Neenga mattum review va paarthuttu nalla padamaa select panni paarpeenga. Mathavanga ellaa padathayum paarthuttu kastapadanumaa :huh: :roll:Quote:
Originally Posted by ssanjinika