Madhan (@ 202.*) on: Tue Sep 22 13:54:02 EDT 1998
1.Kaalai nera raagamey - Chitra - MD:IR from a 1985 - 86 movie - i don't remember the name.
2. Day by Day yenna maatram yenna maatram , day by day, yennai maatrum undhan thottam - Malgadi Subha- MD : IR from an early 1990s Ramarajan movie - this song has outstanding Western Classical opera style music !!!
3. Raathhingal rapaappaa - Malaysia Vasudevan - MD : IR from "POovizhi Vaasaliley"
4.ORey murai un dharisanam - S Janaki - MD : IR from "Yen Jeevan Paadudhu"
Krish (@ 193.*) on: Tue Sep 22 18:06:14 EDT 1998
There are a few good ones in "Anbulla Rajinikanth".
One in which Ambika and her husband sing before they get married
The otherr one is "Kadavul Illame" - a prayer song sung by Meena and her friends.
There is a beautiful song , not famous at all in "Alaya Theepam" - * Sujatha, Rajesh and Illavarasi. Sujatha sings this song praising her daughter
Aagayam Kanatha Suryodayam
Ennalum Thedatha Chandrodayam.
A slow melodious solo from Sivakumar, Sujatha starrer "Unnai Naan Sandithen" where Sivakumar sings for Sujatha who is sort of unwell. I don't remember the lyrics.
"Methuva Methuva Oru Kaathal Pattu" from Anna Nagar Mudhal Theru is also a very beautiful number.
vijay (@ 129.*) on: Tue Sep 22 18:24:36 EDT 1998
krish,
anbulla rajnikanth is a pretty decent album on the whole. the songs are
1. unnai ninaithen -spb,sj - a good melody
2. kadavul ullame- a lilting devotional song like
the old 'ammavum neeye appaavum neeye'.very good use of chorus singing.
3. muthumani chudare - KJY - good slow melody
unnai naan santhithen
devan thantha veenai - KJY
i feel that this thread has started looking like a
repetition of the IR early eighties song thread.
Ramki (@ wll1*) on: Tue Sep 22 21:03:32 EDT 1998
Vijay you are rite.
Guys/gals why dont we restrict ourselves to non IR ones.We have already had a discussion on IRs earlier films. It will be nice if we can discuss more on non-IR songs. Occasional references to his songs can be done,ofcourse.
My additions for today:
alaimagal malaimagal kalaimagal moovarum koluvidum rathiri navarathiri-Velli radham(VK)-Vijaykumar,KRV-JC,PS
thoduvadhenne thendralo malargalo-sabadham(VK)-Ravichandran,KRV-SPB
udhadugalil unadhu peiyar otti kondadhu adhai ucharikkum podhu nenjam thithikkindradhu-thangarathnam(MSV)-Thengai,Srividya,Manjula,vkumar-SPB,PS
chendumallipoove-shankar salim saimon(MSV)-Rajinikanth %co-SJ,MSV
aagayam boomi endrum ondra,nee andha vaanam-saamandhipoo(MV)-Sivakumar,Shobha-MV
malargalile un kolam engae-Sj(from same film)
unnai edhirparthen kanna nee vaa vaa-Radha(SG)-PRamila,Muthu,Jayanthi-PS
annai Mary unnai andri aarudhalai yaar tharuvaar-film?(SG)-PRamila-PS
nee megam aanal enne naan thogai aane pinnae
-thaiyilla pillai(SG)-TMS,PS-Vkumar,Jaichitra
thirupaarkadalil palli kondaiye sreeman narayana-charanam aiyappa(Devarajan)-ungal abimaana nadigargal-KJY
choodamani eduthu soodama ninnalaiyo-vazhga valarga(IR)-Saritha-Chitra
raagangal en thenilangal en kannile kaaviyangal-Thiruppam(MSV)-Sivaji,Sujatha-PS
pudavai katti kondu poovondru aadudhu-simma soppanam(MSV)-Sivaji,Saritha-TMS,VJ
pagai konda ullam thuyarathin illam-ellorum nallavarae(VK)-Muthu,Manju-KJY
yvs mani (@ hub.*) on: Wed Sep 23 00:25:02 EDT 1998
vijay - the song "Unnai ninaithu" actually starts as "Then poove poove vasamulla" from the film "Anbulla rajinikanth"
I like to add Varumaiyin Niram sivappu by MSV
1) Thathana than - by SPB & SJ
2)Nalla thoru veenai seithen
3) Theertha karaiyenile oru senbaga
4)Ranga rangaiyan enge ponalum - PS
5)Pattu onnu padu thambi
Ramki (@ pm06*) on: Wed Sep 23 00:30:47 EDT 1998
Mani one more song in VNS
thu hai raaja mai hoon rani-SJ(this song was written by PBSrinivas)
shankar (@ webg*) on: Wed Sep 23 04:29:11 EDT 1998
yvs,
AnbuLLa rajnikanth song starts as "thEn poove poove vaa thenral thEda"
NOV (@ 202.*) on: Wed Sep 23 05:34:45 EDT 1998
Vidhya - Thirumaal Perumai Songs
1. Thirumaal perumaikku nigar eithu
2. Malargaliley pala niram kandein
3. Kaagai siraginiley nanda laala
4. Maargazhi thingal mathi niraintha nannaal
5. Pachchai maamalai poal meini
6. Goapiyar konjum Ramanaa
7. Hari Hari Goakula Ramanaa unthan thiruvadi saranam Kannaa
Ramki - This thread is primarily for nostalgic reasons, primarily but not restricted to, late 70s and early 80s. If you exclude Ilayaraaja, then I have no business being here. :-))
Oru vendukoal - please forget the technicians behind the song - just wallow yourselves in the beauty and enchantment of the bygone days. :-))
Ramki (@ snot*) on: Wed Sep 23 09:29:59 EDT 1998
NOV my point is - many of them in this thread talk only about iraja songs and as u know our df has had enough discussions,analysis on his songs. SO ellamae jnabaga padutha patta paadalgal-for eg songs from panneer pushpangal,ilamai kaalangal etc has been scrutinised,awed,appreciated so many times that i dont feel they will ever be removed from our 'jnabagangal':))
If we are not able to discuss non ilaiyaraja songs then its really a pity-just to remind that till middle 80s other MDs were also in TFM and though they werent as good as IR they werent totally bad either:-))
Ravy (@ eagl*) on: Wed Sep 23 12:16:24 EDT 1998
Ramki:
When NOV started this topic I don't think he had another list making exercise in his mind. Some of the songs that you have mentioned were listed/remembered already in threads like KJY early hits, SPB early hits, V Kumar Hits, SG hits etc. What we (atleast I and hopefully NOV) expect in this thread is not just the songs but some snippets associated with those songs so that
they can walk us down the memory lane:-))