The video seems to have been removed. Any other links to this interview, please? Thanks.Quote:
Originally Posted by Sureshs65
Printable View
The video seems to have been removed. Any other links to this interview, please? Thanks.Quote:
Hello ,
Just checked the site Aynagaran , it happened to check the viewers response for Nandalala movie, where most of them highlight raja sir's music.
Kindly go to the below site and click the AUDIENCE REVIEW VEDIO link
http://www.ayngaran.com/frame.php?iframepath=home.php
People like us are more in chennai who like's Raja sir and his music...
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...nts/24600.html
Suresh openly admitting they rode on IR's wave. Quite true indeed.
Yes, it gave me goosebumps when Suresh told how IR's music was backbone and when he admitted that "Avarai Vetchi thaan Naanga Vaazhnthutom", my eyes got wet.Quote:
Originally Posted by NormalMan
Hats off and thanks to Suresh for acknowledging openly!!
Thanks NormalMan for sharing.
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...nts/24559.html
I think and think - that the appreciation for background score is more below the vindhyas and than above it . Think about this , its a neither a song , nor a heroine dropping down to take a pencil , nor a crass song , nor a punch that results in 50 people flying, nor your 50+ old hero masked in a wig ...
But its just a small kid ruminating and running to pick a kid - nothing great ( but nice) visuals - but the crowd gives a big applause when the music ends - NOw where in th earth, such appreciation of background score is there ?
PS : I was once speaking to my dear friend from Mumbai. When asked about interludes in songs , this was his reply " They are not really necessary , but just fillers ! " - their appreciation of music is much more for lyrics and the tone i guess.
Dear Ramki,
We have to be pity for these people having not felt or tasted the emotional feelings in music. If they care more about lyrics then they can buy lots of poems written by great poets around the world. Even in our house one person will be a capable of writing poems and can be read or hear....
The present mad flim industry fails to recognise that the good movie is a combinatination of talents in their respective fields. In our tamil industry ... Bagayaraj tries to give music, vikram sings , cheran acts , and out put is a complete nonsense.
And , certain directors know well when their movie blended with raja's music it elevates to higher level but they dont want , you know why , they want to be spoken by mass that the movie is hit because of their talent , the success should not be shared ......
But, indirectly they fail to entertain obsolutely. If these directors ignore the songs or the background , let them take movies without any backgrond score and show real sounds , car chase ,figts let it be original without any sound track,,, Can they go for this alternate... Example of recent moives, Nadoodigal - inspite of good plot the movie fails in background score and songs. No body now remembers the plot only the song be in period and be with us.
Who can change them...................
Again i am not yealing to do movies with only for Ilayaraja sir.. you can go to certain music directors who gives music in our cultural templates , I am searching nowadays after IR , Baradwaj and Vidya sagar.... :!:
its not their (those from across the Vindhyas) fault that they did not have someone like IR to groom them in the art of BGM listening/appreciation! so, to be condescending is unfair - 'for they know not, what it is'
:lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by irir123
No white dress here, looks like silk saree
[html:801442accf]
http://stbjp.msn.com/i/17/D6E7384A9C...3E22616952.jpg
[/html:801442accf]
Why does Mysskin show up as someone who is afraid of IR ? why has it become a habit for our filmmakers to show themselves as being submissive of someone who is as senior as IR, rather than show them genuine respect ??Quote:
Originally Posted by rajkumarc
Mysskin's slouched shoulders and clasping hands together was definitely embarassing to watch!
both of them were part of a creative team and are talking about their product and why cudnt they both behave as collaborators and not as a senior-novice pair doing a faceoff ?
does IR elicit such a behavior from the people he works with, or, is it just people's perception that he expects ppl to behave that way ??
i have not seen film-makers behaving in such a fashion with ARR or MSV !
Irir
You maybe be right in your assessment about being submissive. Many first time directors who go to IR for their music very much fall into this abyss and unable to get out. I was watching a youtube on "Mayil Recording", you could see the director as just another puppet.
Though we can sit here and do character assassination about their strong personality to get what they want, I could also feel the opposite. If you and I were to go to IR for a movie, I dont know if I will be able to overcome the grandiose state of euphoria on even sitting next to him. The music which fed one's soul for all these years and here is the man who made those things possible. The sheer moment is overwhelming. Though we may not even agree on the synth orchestration he does in most of his songs, do you think anyone will ever tell him that face to face. The irony is IR expects you to tell him what you want from him and he tries to exactly give you that. You can always swtich the arguement that given IR's recent outburts they just dont want to press the wrong button.
I am happy for Myshkin, even though he was subservient in his meeting with IR, he still got what he wanted even to the extent of cutting most of the songs, which is unheard off. Such people are far and few. Every other day , some random guy gets IR as his first movie MD and he goes to the press and starts gaga'ing. The output is dismal.
Its sad to see IR's so called fans longing for compliments from X Y Z for IR's music
IR is a musical genius. Avaruku edu ellam thoosi ku samam.
IR needs a platform to be recognized by the international music fraternity.
Caught a glimpse of some upcoming program in Zee Tamil - IR's visit/pooja in some Swami's samadhi. Will post the details when I catch the advt again.
It looks like an advt for teleserial on Saint Mayamma's life. Maestro is her staunch devotee.
:lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by app_engine
sAlvai dhAn. A clipping shown in Vijay TV seem to give the impression that he is not wearing a shirt and covering up with the sAlvai :shock:
That titbit is this :Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
Quote:
‘சந்திரமுகி’ படம் உருவானப்போ, அதுல இளையராஜா மியூசிக் போட்டா நல்லா இருக்குமுன்னு யோசிச்சேன். ஏன்னா அது மியூசிக்கல் சப்ஜெக்ட். ஆனா டிஷ்கசன்ல அதுபற்றி பேசாம போயிட்டேன். அதுக்கு பிறகு ஞாபகம் வந்து இளையராஜாவ போடுங்கன்னு சொன்னப்போ வித்யாசாகரை போட்டுட்டதா சொன்னாங்க. அவரு நல்ல பண்ணுவார்னு சொன்னாங்க. சொன்ன மாதிரியே பண்ணினார்.
Oho appdiyaa?Quote:
Originally Posted by app_engine
Naanga kaelvi patta varaikkum..
Shivaji films approach IR for moonmoonji and IR says - idhukkellaam Vidhyasaagare podhum and rest is geography..
idhukkum ippo abaara natchathram solli irukaradhukkum nallave tally aavudhuba.
Usual suspectsnaa summaava?
gumthalakadi gummaava?
Keyser Soze mannippaaraga.
// சந்திரமுகி’ படம் உருவானப்போ, அதுல இளையராஜா மியூசிக் போட்டா நல்லா இருக்குமுன்னு யோசிச்சேன். ஏன்னா அது மியூசிக்கல் சப்ஜெக்ட். ஆனா டிஷ்கசன்ல அதுபற்றி பேசாம போயிட்டேன். அதுக்கு பிறகு ஞாபகம் வந்து இளையராஜாவ போடுங்கன்னு சொன்னப்போ வித்யாசாகரை போட்டுட்டதா சொன்னாங்க. அவரு நல்ல பண்ணுவார்னு சொன்னாங்க. சொன்ன மாதிரியே பண்ணினார்.
//
Very good Mr.Superstar !
Do you want people to believe this ? Music was not taken up in film discussion ???
You spoiled a classic film "Manichithra thaazh" by remaking it in Tamil as a cheap comedy ! and you dare to call it a "musical subject" !
avlo gyabaga maradhiya ivarukku ?
what next ? for "xyz" i thought of IR, but, while eating idly for breakfast, it slipped my mind, and somehow Deva got signed!
bringing up that issue at this event,does not help him earn/score any brownie point(s) with IR, and in fact, raises the question as to why he even raised it ?
For Annamalai : They did ask for IR even though it was for kavithalaya IR suggested Karthik Raja and IR was also busy with symphony..Rajni refused and went to deva - Kadaiya Nijama
Maniratnam went to IR for iruvar but IR Declined Kathaiya Nijama
KB went to IR for kalki and IR asked for huge money and KB declined..Kathaiya Nijama
I dont know why Rajni mentions IR's name everywhere even during Kuselan he did mention his name
We all know Rajni wont go to IR
Cant comment on others but as far as i know, Maniratnam did go back to IR twice, for 2 films - Iruvar & Kannathil Mutthamittal. IR refused both the times.Quote:
Originally Posted by kameshratnam
Any pointer to IR interview by BR in Directors Meet?
http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/t...nts/24689.html
Where is our hero? :roll:
Why should he earn brownie points with IR?Quote:
pray tell me, what was the purpose of even speaking about something that he 'forgot' to do ?Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd
was it to either send an indirect message to music fans (especially IR fans) in the wake of the 'Nandhalala' wave ?
if that was not the purpose, it was then a very unthoughtful/ unprofessional thing to say - but then SS is renowned for making such meaningless disconnected 'pidhatrals' every now and then - so not surprising
part 1 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTDC9lhLHOo
part 2 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5HrYKWkZ60
Dir. Vamsi about the story behind his songs!!
Dir Vamsi & Illayaraja combo rocks!!
SS went to CD release. Vidya Sagar was the MD. He has to praise him. Natural to quote IR.Quote:
As an IR fan, I am glad that SS still has respect for IR.
SS = Super Simple. Dont expect double/triple meaning. He is Super Straight.
Its really funny. It was a good/hit movie, just like many other movie that came during that "golden" period. Not sure why they need to celebrate this.Quote:
Originally Posted by fan_ir
You want IR for this!
Yes, I read this in MR's interview in Vikatan/Kumudam some years back. Both are "so tamil specific" that he didnt need ARR (cant market in NI) and went to IR and IR F'ked him.Quote:
Originally Posted by raagas
I respect IR here.
http://rajamanjari.blogspot.com/
very nice writing...............
Today Director Manivannan came as the chief guest in Jaya TV's ragamalika. The competition had a special on 'Mohan-Illayaraja' combination. (Last week it was Kamal-Illayaraja). a couple of interesting observations by Manivannan.
1. A contestant sang the 'padavandadhor' song from 'Ilamai Kalangal'. Manivannan said that the movie was supposed to be directed by someone else but due to various reasons he couldn't do it. Then the producer asked Manivannan to make the movie. He gave Manivannan the tape containing the seven songs of the movie and told him to come up with a story around it. That is how 'Ilamai Kalangal' was born.
2. Contrary to what we think, Raja does seem to have given some amount of 'selection rights' to the directors. Manivannan said that he would generally land up in most of the song recordings those days. If Raja tuned something and found that the director was not convinced, he would write the notation in a paper and give it to his assistant Sundarrajan. Manivannan would observe this and tell Raja that on this particular day you have tuned this and given the 'paper' to Sudarrajan. Can you please give that tune for my movie. Raja would then embellish that tune and it would become a major hit.
This show will continue next week as well with Manivannan as the chief guest. Hopefully we will get some more nuggets from him.
I've posted this info in the hub before -more than once - and am glad to be authenticated by Manivannan :-)Quote:
That "someone else" was none other than R Sundarrajan, who did payaNangaL mudivathillai prior to IK for motherland pictures. IIRC, the initially released LP record had the name of RS as director :-)
app_eng,
How can you be wrong? :) You are one of the good historians of those 80s. I mean you are one of the few who knows details about the producers/production house etc. Most people stop at hero / heroines and director.
I thought it must have been someone whom Manivannan knew because Manivannan said that he spoke to the concerned director and got his approval for going ahead with directing the film. Manivannan also said that everyone was thrilled during the shooting of 'Payanangal Mudivadhillai' since one of Bharathiraja's assistant, Sundarrajan, had got the chance to direct a film. So everyone who was Bharatiraja's assistant during that time worked as assistants to Sundarrajan in this film, it seems.
Suresh, Thanks a lot for updating . I missed it this time. Even last week's "Hariyudan naan" had excellent 80's round with only Raja's compositionsQuote:
thumburu,
The episode continues next week as well. So you can catch that next time. The same Mohan-Raja combination with Manivannan as the chief guest.
There was a non-released movie with the title "இளையராஜாவின் ரசிகை" :-) I'm reminded of that when I stumbled upon this blog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ananthi
Interestingly - rather, expectedly - she's also smart :-) The comments section has some interesting discussion and a sample :
:clap:Quote:
Originally Posted by Ananthi
app_eng,
Wow. Excellent comment. Someone whom we need in this forum whenever the unnecessary fights crop up :)
iLayarajavin rasigai - wasnt it a controversial movie which kind of IR felt defamed him and filed a court case and all?
Suresh, yes, I will remember to watch Ragamalika this sunday. "Ilaiyarajavin Rasigai" did not release but it had wonderful songs like maalai chevaanam","engaathu paiyyan ivan" which were made popular by "Ilangai vanoli" during early 80's.
He said Vidyasagar gave 'IR level' music for a movie which needed IR. Whats wrong with this? This is similar to Kamal recently saying DSP makes (or will make) IR/MSV level music. And meaningless/disconnected pidhatrals - isnt that a trademark of Raja sir? And dude, they are not orators, to carefully choose words and speak. Comment on their work.Quote: