Originally Posted by stone cold
can anyone tell me what shankar says about arr, on songs ?? :D
I don't understand what he says!! :?
Printable View
Quote:
Originally Posted by stone cold
can anyone tell me what shankar says about arr, on songs ?? :D
I don't understand what he says!! :?
Q) You had worked with ARR in all the films upto Boys. Then u did Anniyan in between which was not of ARR. Did ARR asked anything about it when doing music for Shivaji?
A) ARR will never ask such kind of question .He is a very sweet person. Instead whenever he gets a music in between his other compositions he will preserve the same for me and will present to me. He is well aware of which is the music that I like.
Not the exact words though. But similar to what he said.
Sorry for the offtopic post.
does anyone have sillunu oru kadhal 5.1 retail? i really need that. I buy all of Rahman's releases but the 5.1 retails i cant. Can someone send me the link to download it from? dinesh (maybe u have it?)
thxxxxx :D 8-)Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramakrishna
Shankar also went to mention that ARR did save the STYLE music for Shankar, and shankar accepted the music in a heartbeat, and started visualizing it for RK.
Shankar's interview was soooo encouraging, so the excitement has just sky-rocketed I guess! :DQuote:
Originally Posted by MusicIsLife
I read a news that the movie is postponed to June 8. That would be disastrous for fans if that is true.Quote:
Originally Posted by m_23_bayarea
I guess.. instead of letting myself down, i am eagerly waiting for the movie, if it is on June 8th, it is good for me, i can see it after my exams in NJ.
By the way, there is another song being added, it is worth the wait. My 3 year old son wants to listen to Athiradee all the time, he does not want other songs (i am so astonished that "style" is not impressive for him).Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramakrishna
no wonder kids is liking "Athiradee" song because i like very much
:lol:Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanjeevi
buzz is that the movie is releasing on june 8th...
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/musi...ovie_name.9092
Telugu songs of Sivaji...
June 8 ???? :shock: ... r they CRAZY??? close to 2 months more??? too much...too much..!!!
3 . How's the 'Sivaji' ring tone?
--- Ram, New York.
Thenali: In the first 3 days, there were 1,50,000 downloads. This is a record on a national level.
http://www.cinesouth.com/tfaq/new/index.shtml
Tuesday, April 17, 2007
Shriya goes ga-ga on `Sivaji` audio
Shriya Saran cannot stopping talking about the songs in Sivaji. Says Shriya, who was shooting a song with Vijay in Karaikudi for Azhagiya Tamil Magan (ATM) : "I'm a big Rahman fan and when I heard the Sivaji songs for the first time at the shoot I just went crazy about them. Believe me, the way Shankar Sir has shot the songs, along with Rajni Sir's dance movements, they are sure to be rocking."
Shriya says that one of the high points of her career will be that she danced with the superstar to the tune of A.R Rahman whom she calls "the Mozart of Indian film music". She features in five out of the six songs in the film. Says Shriya: "I'm there in all the songs, except Ballelika…., the introductory song."
When asked about her favourite song in the album, Shriya says: "I like all the songs and the way they are picturised. I'm sure that the songs will become bigger once the film releases and the channels popularize them. If you were to ask me my favourite song it is Vaaji, Vaaji, , the title song." Shriya refused to talk further on the songs, as she feels the film and its presentation will talk for itself.
Ever since the shoot, she has been humming the Sivaji songs. Now that the album is out, she has all the songs on her ipod, and hears it during her breaks.
http://rajinifans.com/showurl.asp?ur...aji-audio.html
where do you get the ringtones, can somebody zip and send it to me if possible @ smiyer@hotmail.com
ALL the songs of Sivaji ROCK! - I have come to this conclucsion after quite a few listens!
On first listening people may think that the songs aren't up to scratch...but if u listen to them a few more times...you'll love them forever! Best Rajini movie songs in years. :2thumbsup:
My vote for best song went to...(after lots and lots of thought, and changes of mind)....SAHANA (Udit N version). I guess im just in a bit of a melodic lovey dovey mood! I think Udit sings this song BEAUTIFULLY...I can't comment on his pronounciation as i'm no thamil expert. :tongueout:
AWWWWWW>>>>>I REALLY HOPE THE MOVIE ISNT POSTPONED ANY FURTHER!!!! IT WAS BAD ENUF MOVING IT FOR APRIL!!!! GRRRR......
Anyway. thats my first ever post on this forum done! :cool2:
:notworthy: [LoNG LiVe THe RaHMaN] :notworthy:
Welcome to the Hub Yathu! Glad you love the album... Have fun! :D :D
Wat's up guys....
Can anyone tell me how big the sale of the SivaJi audio is.....is it the biggest hit of all time in Tamil Cinema????or Shanker+Rahman combo...
It's creating history :D . look into previous pages, & welcome to the hub rookie & yathu :wink:Quote:
Originally Posted by rookie007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayan36
:exactly: hope it sets the all time record for cassette/CD sales.. that wud be enuf to silence a whole lot of guys .... :P
my first message here..... currently :musicsmile: :musicsmile: to ARR MAGIC!!
anoops, rookie007 and Yathu
welcome to the wonderful world of HUBBING!!
Another Fresher here:
I pray the production house to release either a couple of pics or news bit about the movie every week... so that the tempo maintains high until the movie get releases!!
:) Nice to be here guys..BIG THANKS ....looks like u guys are GOING crazy over SivaJi Musiz :D .....
Like everyone else here, I been listening to the songs from the day audio was released....... :thumbsup:
I cannot choose one perticular songs as the best one.....cause
One day my favourite is Style then it changes to Sahana then to Vaa Ji Vaa Ji .... and so forth ....
Rate:
Athirade: 8.5/10
Balleilakka: 9/10
Sahaanaa: 10/10
Sahaaraa:10/10
Style:8.5/10
The Boss:7/10
Vaaji vaaji:9.5/10
The songs are already CHARTBUSTERS!!!! and after seeing our SS dance for all the songs...one cannot imagine the status that the songs are going to go to....
when we compare it to the Shanker-Ar Rahman combo, SivaJi will be in top 3 :victory:
To people who are complaining about Udit's prounciation....well I think AR made a smart move here ....first time you listented to the song....you get memerizsed by Udit's voice.......He did a fantastIIc JOB!!!!!!
It is expected to create record sales once the film gets released. Now all the ARR and Rajni fans wud've bought the cds. But only wen the film gets released, family ppl will go for a buy...Quote:
Originally Posted by anoops
Is Sahana song a slower version of "Vin Meengal" theme from Uyirae?
A hot discussion is going on this at yahoogroups.
Sivaji Shankar Interview English Transcript
>
>
>
> Host: Happy New Year greetings to all of our Sun TV viewers across
the globe and with regards to those viewers spanning the globe, there
seems to be only one thing they are endlessly chatting about nowadays
and the reason behind that is Director Shankar and now we are going to
meet him, come on..! (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: How have you made the whole of Tamil Nadu to talk ceaselessly
Sir?
>
>
>
> Shankar: (Laughs) We are just doing our job and that job has
transcended beyond even ourselves. (Laughs)
>
>
>
> Host: And now after the release of the Sivaji songs, the
anticipation has grown even more?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Yes.
>
>
>
> Host: Now even when you were taking the Mudhalvan movie, it seemed
that the both of you (Shankar & Rajni) were going to come together for
a film, and then why the gap in between and now why has it finally
materialized in Sivaji?
>
>
>
> Shankar: We have met and spoken on numerous occasions, but I think
this is the right time; everything has come together correctly, the
script.umm.just everything, all things have fallen into place and
because of that we started the movie. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir, do you typically get the story ready and then chose the
appropriate lead star for it - what is your system for this?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Generally, we get the story ready and choose a star who is
more apt and suiting for that role. In all of my stories, such as
Kadhalan, Jeans and other such lighter love movies, you can see a
certain super heroism, larger than life.you can see those types of
characters; those have become super hero driven stories. If you take
any of those, whether Rajni Sir had starred or whether Kamal Sir had
starred, they would have been excellent. So that is the question of
whether we begin with an artist or whether we begin with a story.but
in terms of this movie (Sivaji), I was thinking about Rajni Sir when I
came up with this story. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: So from the beginning you had this story in mind for him?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Yea, this story came about with him in mind.
>
>
>
> Host: Then, when you make a movie with Rajni and because he is a
Superstar, did you feel a lot of pressure? Such as: should there be a
certain kind of buildup? Did you have any pressure since you knew you
were creating a story for a Superstar?
>
>
>
> Shankar: There was both pressure and jolliness. Because there are
certain expectations of him in movies, you have to satisfy those
requirements. And another thing, because he is there, there are
certain advantages, for instance you cannot take on certain issues
with some other heroes...so because of that, there are no limits to my
creative imagination, but if I placed those same issues on all artists
it just would not work out, so when I approach these issues with him
there it is be quite interesting. for example, in the "Athiradee" song,
you can witness what I'm saying, you cannot do all of those things we
have done in the song with any other hero.so there are many plus
points like that, but of course there are pressures as well, for
instance you cannot change him too much, but then again, people also
expect to see some change in my movies.so essentially, you have to
give and not give.have to reach a certain balance, so it was both
enjoyable and demanding, but finally, I think have solved those
issues. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: You are known as being a super director and if we take all of
your past movies, you can clearly see a sort of Shankar stamp on all
of them and in the same way, we can clearly distinguish a Rajni movie
from other films, so if we look at it that way and now that the both
of you are collaborating together - this Sivaji movie is whose movie?
>
>
>
> Shankar: They say this is a "Ra-Shankar- jni" formula. (Laughs) No,
but seriously, for those viewers who are coming expecting a Rajni
movie, they will see Rajni Sir's formula and for those coming to see a
Shankar movie, they will see Shankar's formula and on top of that, for
those fans who are coming to see what a combination of the two would
be, even they will be fulfilled, so I have maintained that balance
appropriately. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir, now in this movie from all the things we have seen,
Rajni Sir looks very youthful, how did you accomplish this?
>
>
>
> Shankar: For his character in this movie, we thought a lot about
his get-ups and what would look good and like I said before, we cannot
change Rajni Sir too much since when people think of Rajni Sir, a
certain image registers in their minds, so we cannot change him too
much, but we have to bring a tiny bit of change and so we thought
about ways to make him look pleasing and we went about gathering
stills from his previous movies which we thought would be apt for the
character he plays in Sivaji and then we short listed and short listed
until we came up with get-ups which perfectly fit his role in the
movie. And then we went about procuring the wigs and make-up
necessary to reproducing the selected get-ups and we did numerous
fittings and only at the last minute did we get the type of wigs and
looks we were aiming for.for the village look we used the Muratui
Kaalai get-up and for the city look we used the Billa get-up.
>
>
>
> Host: Now when you were doing all of this research were you and
your team the only ones doing it or was he (Rajni) also involved?
>
>
>
> Shankar: No he turned over the responsibility to me after hearing
what I had to say about what would look good for the movie.after
seeing the stills and wigs we came up with and seeing that it was all
correct, he was quite happy.
>
>
>
> Host: As you were working on this film, did you ever feel at any
moment any regrets about not having worked with him before in the past?
>
>
>
> Shankar: No, nothing like that.I mean everyone who has worked with
him always feel like working with him again and also they regret not
working with him in the past, those thoughts are always there.because
Rajni Sir is even more cooperative than a new face in the industry for
comparison, he is so flexible, he is so disciplined, he is so
sincere.I'm not just saying that because everyone always says that,
but as I have been working with him in the past year, I have seen it
personally. There are many things to be learnt from him by all the
new up and coming artists.I have not seen any person who has dedicated
everything to cinema with total sincerity, dedication, flexibility and
humility like him. So he really really is a great artist. (Shooting
Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Now as you have stated how Rajni has dedicated himself to
cinema, in the same vein you can say Kamal has also done the same and
you have worked with him before (in Indian).so after working with two
artists considered to be two living legends of Tamil cinema, what are
your experiences?
>
>
>
> Shankar: There are many similarities between the two.like I said
sincerity.they both sincerely have dedicated themselves to cinema, the
discipline.the notion that cinema is important and it should turn out
well. So in these issues, they both have many parallels. For
instance, if you take Kamal Sir, when I'm reading the script to him,
he would be casually glancing at me, observing how I read, watching
how I modulate the dialogues and he would be reading as I went along
as well; after reading it through he would say 'ok' and leave. Then
he would discuss the script, make any amendments and then when the
time for the shooting arrives, he would deliver whatever I expected of
him and more often than not, he would exceed my own expectations. So
in the same way when you look at Rajni Sir, when I'm reading a scene
he would be watching intently as how I'm reading it and then he would
leave when I'm finished. And when the time for shooting arrives he
would fulfill and exceed my own expectations tremendously by adding
his own uniqueness, likewise Kamal Sir.
>
>
>
> Host: So Sir, you were discussing Kamal and Rajni and how they
always got the performance right after reading through the scenes with
them, but would it not be better if you acted it out for them?
>
>
>
> Shankar: No, I mean as I'm reading the scene they understand what
I'm asking for in terms of modulation and since I read the complete
script to them thoroughly beforehand, they have already absorbed the
character they are playing. So as we go through the scenes, they
fully comprehend what my expectations are.95% of the time they get it
right and in the remaining 5%, if their performance does not fit with
my own vision for the particular scene, then I will explain it to them
and they will do it the way I told them to, so there is not an issue
there.
>
>
>
> Host: But there is also the supporting cast and how will you
demonstrate to them what your expectations are in terms of acting?
>
>
>
> Shankar: First I will read the scene to them and will ask them to
perform it for me.and as they are acting it out, if they
extemporaneously come up with something new and if it is good, I will
keep it and if I'm not satisfied with what they do, then I will
perform it for them and they will do it.
>
>
>
> Host: I ask all of this because didn't you originally come into the
industry wishing to act and do you still have any desires like that?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Hey I have acted in Sivaji itself (Laughs), I only said
that for comedy's sake, but I'm there only for one shot in the
"Balleilakka" song, so don't get too scared about my acting in the
movie. (Laughs) So it was just simply a casual appearance I did for
the fun of it.
>
>
>
> Host: So no real plans to act?
>
>
>
> Shankar: No no, because the director Shankar is more attuned and
principled to the integrity of the script than the actor Shankar, so
during casting time for example, director Shankar is quite strict in
choosing the best and most appropriate people to play the roles and so
when you look at it that way, director Shankar does not easily allow
actor Shankar to perform (Laughs).he would say to actor Shankar that
he is a miscast and to go away. (Laughs) (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: When you are looking at it, between the release of Boys and
Anniyan there was a gap and after it there was another gap and now you
have once again reunited with A.R. Rahman for Sivaji, so how did this
combination work out?
>
>
>
> Shankar: This is not new to us; we have a very good relationship as
we have been working together for a long time since 1993.our
relationship is not purely an occupational relationship as we work
together as good friends.
>
>
>
> Host: Did he not ask you why you did not choose him for Anniyan?
>
>
>
> Shankar: No, he would not ask something like that at all.he is
really a sweet person.since we have collaborated together on many
projects in the past, he knows what kind of tastes I have and look
for, so for example, when he is composing songs for other movies
besides mine, if he comes across a tune which he knows I would like,
he would put that aside for me.if I hear a song on an audio cd he has
composed for a movie and when I convey to him my fondness for it, he
would teasingly tell me he knew in the back of his mind that I
would.so in that way, we have a certain understanding. Even if you
take this movie Sivaji for example, the "Style" song was something he
spontaneously came up with and he immediately saved it for me and once
he showed it to me, I approved of it instantly. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir, when the name Rajni is merely mentioned, even little
children know that style is synonymous with it, so now you have even
included a song titled "Style", so what are the new styles you have
introduced there?
>
>
>
> Shankar: In this movie, many people will be expecting a lot from
Rajni Sir, his styles, etc. So we have come up with many new styles
and he has done it and they all have come out very well.it will be
quite a treat for the fans of Rajni Sir.we have also used his usual
styles in various different ways, so there will be no dearth of style
in this movie. (Laughs) You see, you have gotten the basic concept
itself, where there is Rajni, there is style.so when we say it, you
know, the dressing styles, the hair styles, the sunglass styles.even
backdrop styles and taking styles, just in all the different areas
when we approach this movie within the confines of style itself as a
premise, you will clearly see a difference in a positive way. For
instance, the backgrounds and locations are stylish, so if you look at
the shootings from Spain, you will see different things.
>
>
>
> Host: Which places have you traveled for this movie?
>
>
>
> Shankar: We went to Spain, Pune, Hyderabad.
>
>
>
> Host: So now that director Shankar, Superstar Rajnikanth and music
director A.R. Rahman have combined together for a movie, many people
are saying one thing or another about the movie's story, etc., so now
we ask you directly what the real secret behind Sivaji is?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Actually this is a story about someone who aspires to do
something good and the difficulties encountered when trying to do
so.you see, whenever someone tries to do something good, no one will
come to help that person, but there will always be many people trying
to block it, ruin it or to give trouble. Some people even drop the
idea of doing something good and go back to their own lives because of
the obstacles and barriers they have to face by saying something along
the lines of 'do I really need to go through all of these unnecessary
problems?'. But the essence of this story is about someone who above
all odds, perseveres against all of these adversities and is
victorious in his endeavors. If you take a look at the first half of
the movie, it will flow with much comedy and lighter situations and
the story will also flow along the same track and if you look at the
second half, it is just pure unexpected surprises.so the first half
will have a different taste and the second will have another. What
else can I tell you besides this? (Laughs)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir you can even tell us what the first scene is and we will
gladly listen.
>
>
>
> Shankar: Oh sure I will definitely tell you the story, starting
from scene number one.that is, the day after the release of the movie.
(Laughs)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir, in all of your movies there is always some message
within the story; do you think those messages are reaching the people?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Definitely.before when I was starting out in the beginning
I did not have much faith whether the message I was trying to
articulate through my movies reached the audience.... you know, they
would watch the movie and then forget about it.but after Indian for
example, I felt a certain awareness about accepting bribes in the
society, after Mudhalvan, just like how the typewriter was utilized in
the movie, certain people, such as collectors and government officials
for example, do the same thing by giving suspensions and taking
immediate action on the spot by bringing a typewriter with them.so
after reading these things in newspapers and periodicals, a belief
that you can make a difference through the medium of cinema was
instilled in me. After Anniyan, I have also seen more people adhering
to the traffic rules- such as stopping at the line at a yellow signal,
staying behind the yellow line at a stop, not spitting in public,
etc., many people have called me and told me so.even when I look at my
own road, I can witness better traffic discipline.so whether
substantial change occurs or not, I can still feel a certain
consciousness about those messages.
>
>
>
> Host: Is there a message within Sivaji also?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Certainly, we have incorporated a good message in this
movie as well.you see, our country's economy is currently flourishing
and growing.if you take a look at the currency market, the Indian
rupee was valued at 47 rupees to 1 American dollar, but now the rate
is 43 to 1...so in this movie, what we are trying to say is that if
the wealth our economic engine creates goes to the right places, then
we can make many beneficial changes to our country.so it is a very
good message we convey in the movie and I'm confident it will work
out. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Sir, when you say the name Rajni, there will be some sort of
punch dialogue that can go along with it; he has always used them in
his movies.are there any punch dialogues in Sivaji?
>
>
>
> Shankar: For example, 'Sachin adicha sixer thaanda, Sivaji adicha
puncture thaanda, Singam kooda jujubi thaanda, Sivaji vaayil jilebi
thaanda', so there will be punch dialogues, but they will be in the
songs.it will be a theme type, so there will be punch dialogues in the
movie; we just have changed it a bit, it will be different, but when
you watch the movie you will see how it fits.
>
>
>
> Host: You just were talking about "Sivaji vaayil jilebi thaana' and
so it leads to this question, normally Rajni is known for his
cigarette smoking and gimmickry on screen, but now because he does not
do that, what has he done in this movie?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Watch the movie and you will see (Laughs).if I tell you
now the thrill will be gone. (Shooting Clips Shown)
>
>
>
> Host: Now finally to all of those viewers across the globe, what do
you wish to say?
>
>
>
> Shankar: Happy Tamil New Years. One request I have for all of you
is that you watch Sivaji and other movies in the theaters and not on
pirated discs.many people have put their best efforts and talents as
well as invest much money in creating these movies and so it would be
wrong to waste that.that is the only thing I ask of you. Thank you.
>
Sivaji will certainly rock the screens
IndiaGlitz [Wednesday, April 18, 2007]
With just a few days left for Rajinikanth's Sivaji (tentatively planned for 17 May), the hype and expectations are touching all-time high for the movie.
Director Shankar is confident that Sivaji would be a movie to cherish in Indian film industry. One of the costliest movies to have been made in Indian screen, Sivaji has brought together the likes of AVM, Rajinikanth, Shankar and A R Rahman.
According to Shankar, “It is a movie that would certainly satisfy Rajini-fans. A typical Rajinikanth film, the movie would be a treat for them”.
“The highlight of the movie is that for the first time, we have shot a song sequence (Shana) in huge sets put up on glass. It was a challenging task to shoot the song since the lights would be reflected on the glass. All credit to cinematographer K V Anand for achieving the impossible.”
In a nutshell, the movie is about a man, who wants to do good for the society. The hurdles that he comes across in accomplishing his mission. But is inter spread with gaiety, grandeur and splendor.
Soundtrack
Further information: Sivaji: The Boss (soundtrack)
Sivaji: The Boss
Sivaji: The Boss cover
Studio album by A.R. Rahman
Released April 2, 2007
Genre Feature film soundtrack
Length 36:10
Label AVM Music
Producer(s) A.R. Rahman
Professional reviews
Despite the excellent music reviews, Shankar received for Anniyan with Harris Jayaraj,[111] AVM Productions and Rajinikanth demanded that India's top music director should be involved in the project, so A. R. Rahman was signed up as music director for Sivaji. Early, on speculations were high that the songs would be remarkable as A. R. Rahman was paid two Indian Crores for the project, making him the highest paid Indian music director.[112]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sivaji:_The_Boss
:roll: :roll: :? :shock:
I hope the background score would be more impressive than the songs...! :victory:
I don't think thats possible as the songs are already of the HIGHEST standards! HaHaHa :tongueout:Quote:
Originally Posted by SoftSword
Hey guys i'm a fresher to the Forum , does anybody know when the trailer would be out am eagerly waiting for it. Yeah may 17th is late enough any further delay might dampen the spirits of enthusiasts.Guess they'd release the trailer sometime in May to keep up the Tempo
welcome aboard :wave: keep visiting for updatesQuote:
Originally Posted by vnkatkumar
thats like 4 new ppl in the HUB in like 2 days....
WOW... look what ARR is capable of.... :D
guys! can some1 pls give me the lyrics for Style and Sahara (Vijay Yesudass) songs....
thanx
ofcourse yathu... but BGM makes the movie more interesting and hi-tech..
and thats what we call better than the best!! :thumbsup:
Well said lancelot! I joined this forum specifically because the ARR albums bit is sooooooo good! :2thumbsup:Quote:
Originally Posted by lancelot