kugan's kitchen
[tscii]
Panakam is a drink made as a Neivedhyam
For Rama Navami.
Modern children would not know what panakam is.
In my house we make panakam and neer mooru during
the hot sesaons for the children. We also make raagi kool.
They also like the raagi kali with hot sour puli kulambu.
PANAKAM
Ingredients:
250 grms vellam
5 cups of water
¼ tsp pepper powder
Little cardamom powder
¼ tsp dried ginger powder (sukku)
Lime juice to taste.
Method:
Dissolve the vellam in the water.
Strain it, add in all the other ingredients.
Mix well. Chill and serve.
Note: Some people add tamarind juice instead of lime juice.
[html:fc05a786c0]
http://img395.imageshack.us/img395/2255/panakamone.jpg
[/html:fc05a786c0]
kugan's kitchen
[tscii]Another cool drink to serve.
MANGO LASSI
Ingredients:
1 ½ cups diced fresh mangoes
½ cup fresh orange juice
1 ½ cups fresh yogurt
2 tbs honey
½ cup ice cubes
¼ tsp rose water.
Method:
In a blender, combine the mangoes, orange juice, honey,
Rose water and the ice cubes.
Process on high speed until well combined.
Add in the yogurt and process until frothy.
Garnish with a mint leaf and serve.
Note: Sorry I did not have mint leaves.
[html:8ff6a88ff9]
http://img389.imageshack.us/img389/8296/lassi.jpg
[/html:8ff6a88ff9]
kugan's kitchen
Thanks NOV anneh.
Kugan98
nithi congrats, welcome back to thread.
selvi
wishing all the hubbers "Happy Diwali"
selvi
Welcome to kugans Karthika!!
kugan,
can u please post the receipe of radish kadalai paruppu kootu as we get in the restaurant.
thanks in advance
selvi
Dear Kugan
Thank you for all the recipes. I made sweet pongal, ulunthu vadai and thayir vadai for Kantha sasti pooja. Turned out very good and all liked it. Thank you again.
I used the grinder for vadai but I have to add water to make the stones move. How do you manage to grind without water or with little water? End paste is a little watery and I added some rice flour to make it thick. Not sure using ulunthu powder is better or not. Please advice.
Congratulations Nithy. Wish you all the best in your career.
Welcome to the hub Karthika!
Shanthy
Kugan's Kitchen
Selviem, thanks for your post.
There are many kinds of dishes cooked with the radish.
In sambar, puli kulambu, grated radish poriyal, grated radish raitha.
radish dal kutto and so on.
Radish is an excellant source of vitamin C.
if you have food poisoning, taking white radish is good as it helps flushes out the unwanted from your body.
Anyway, white radish is a vegetable you should eat if you want a clear complexion.
O.K Selviem I will post the recipe that I know.
Thanks. Kugan98
Kugan's kitchen
Thanks Shanthy for your nice compliments and post.
Shanthy, your grinder must be wet not dry.
I am sure you would have just washed before grinding.
Your urad dal will have little liquid in it after straining.
add about 6 tbs of water in the grinder.
add little urad dal and switch on the grinder.
keep adding little urad dal with little sprinkling of water,
every time. When you find the urad dal very very thick, sprinkle little water. This way you will not get watery dough.
The dough will be spongy.
Never add rice or flour to the dough. your vadai will be little hard.
Vadais made without flours will be very spongy to eat.
This is how I make Shanthy.
There may be different ways and style.
So forgive me if I am wrong.
Thanks. Kugan98
Note : If your dough is watery, there is no choice but to add little flour. I have no experince, you can try with urad dal flour.
Rice flour will make your vadai hard. Some say you get crisp vadai by adding rice flour. Sorry I have not tried.
kugan's kitchen
[tscii]
POTATO BONDA
Ingredients:
The Filling:
5 big potatoes boiled till ¾ cooked
1 small onion chopped
4 green chillies chopped
¼ inch ginger chopped
¼ tsp tumeric powder
1 tsp urad dal
½ tsp channa dal
½ tsp mustard seeds
Little coriander leaves chopped
Little curry leaves chopped
Salt to taste
Little lime juice
For Batter:
1 cup besan flour
¼ cup rice flour
Little red chillie powder
A pinch of baking powder
A pinch of asafetida powder
Little salt
Oil for frying.
Method:
Peel and mash the potatoes well.
In a pan add 1 tsp of oil, when hot, add in the mustard seeds,
urad dal and channa dal. Fry a bit, add in the onions, green chillies
ginger, and curry leaves , sauté for a little while.
Mix all these with the mashed potato, add also the coriander leaves, lime juice and salt. Shape the into lime sized balls and keep them aside.
Mix all the ingredients in the batter section, except the oil.
Add enough water to make a thick batter. A bit thicker than dosai consistency.
Heat oil in a wok for deep frying.
Take the ball one at a time and dip in the coating batter.
Slip each one carefully into the hot oil.
Fry them until they turn golden brown.
Serve hot as it is or with coconut chutney.
The Potato Balls Before Frying:
[html:1597029851]
http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/6581/bonda1.jpg
[/html:1597029851]
The Fried Bondas:
[html:1597029851]
http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/8524/bonda4.jpg
[/html:1597029851]
kugan, thanks for a nice explanation about radish. can u please post me raitha and grated radish poriyal . thanks in advance
selvi
Also kugan, give me some receipes in beetroot too.
selvi
potato bonda looks yummy, i do make like this. But now afraid of oil coz i made too much snacks for diwali. so break for atleast couple of months.
kugan's kitchen
Thanks Selviem for your response.
You request are coming soon.
I can understand too much of fryings.
Anyway bonda is a common snack.
As I said before, its for young brides who live far away from
home and who are new to cooking.
Thanks selviem.
Suvai must be having a long break.
kugan's kitchen
Suvai sent me this recipe.
I made this for lunch today.
I made potato masala and onion raitha as side dishes.
Every one enjoyed it.
Thanks Suvai for the recipe.
Kugan98.
SUVAI"S RECIPE
Here is one of our family fav recipes ;
Mint Rice
1 big bunch of mint
1 big bunch of kothamali
1 Tblspn each of garlic & ginger paste
1Tblspn Corriander seeds (naan ithai podaamal thaan seiven nalla varum)
(Grind all the above & keep aside)
4 onions chopped fine
4 tomatoes chopped fine
6 green chillies (according to your taste)
3-4 cups cooked rice.
method: Heat oil/ghee put in Jeera & bay leaf, add cut onions till onions become slightly pink. Now add the ground masala & keep turning till the oil oozes out. Add the chopped tomatoes & salt.
Cook well till it becomes thickish (mothai maathri varanum) now add in the cooled cooked rice & mix.
Enjoy with Thayir pachadi & vadam & vathal. or appalam.
[html:95b8e28830]
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/90/mintrice.jpg
[/html:95b8e28830]
kugan,
mint rice i will try and let u know
also can u plz post oats upma of ur version.
selvi
Thanks to All
I thank u all for the Welcome given to me.I have little experience in cooking as i started to learn cooking after marriage.I bought cookery books and collected recipes in net(major credit goes to this hub).So I dont have any recipe.But i will try the recipes posted in this hub and i will give my compliments.
Kugan can u post all the radish recipes told by u.I like radish very much and i am eager to try your recipes.Thanks!
kugan's Kitchen.
Thanks Selviem, today I will post oats pongal
and oats upma.
I have the picture for oats pongal.
I also have the recipes for all the radish dishes.
I do not have the pictures.
I had them all in my laptop. Now they say the laptop is corrupt
and all the pictures are missing.
I will cook again and post with the pictures.
Thanks Selviem. Take care. kugan 98
kugan's kitchen
[tscii]
OATS PONGGAL
Ingredients:
1 cup oats
1/4 cup pan roasted, boiled mung dal (less if you like)
1 tsp coarsely crushed black pepper
½ tsp cumin seeds
¼ tsp asafotida powder
1 tsp finely grated ginger
2 sprigs of curry leaves
2 tsp ghee or oil ( also less if you like)
Salt to taste
Method:
Cook oats with little water, so that it is thick.
Add the cooked mung dal, and salt.
Mix nicely so that the oats and dal are well combined.
Remove from stove.
In a wok, add the ghee.
Add the pepper, cumin seeds .
Now add the ginger, curry leaves and asafetida powder.
Now pour the seasonings on the cooked oats.
Mix well and serve.
[html:29b72e4d5d]
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/7950/oatsponggal.jpg
[/html:29b72e4d5d]
kugan's kitchen
OATS UPMA
Ingredients:
1 cup rolled oats (not instant)
1 cup mixed veges chopped (optional)
1 medium onion chopped
3 green chillies chopped
1 small piece of ginger chopped fine
Few curry leaves chopped
Little coriander leaves chopped
2 cups of water
Salt to taste
1 tbs roasted cashew nuts.
Seasonings:
2 tbs ghee or oil
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp channa dal
½ tsp urad dal
Method:
Dry roast the oats in a wok for few minutes.
Heat the ghee in a wok, add in the mustard seeds, channa dal and urad dals. Fry for a second.
Add in the onions, ginger, and green chillies.
Sauté for few minutes, add in the curry leaves.
Add in the mixed veges, and stir nicely.
Add in the 2 cups of water and about ¼ tsp of the salt.
Cover and let it come to a boil.
Reduce the heat and add in the roasted oats,stirring continuously.
Cover the the oats and let it cook for about 5 minutes.
The oats should have absorbed all the water.
Give a stir, add in the coriander leaves and the cashew nuts.
Serve warm with any chutney.
Note: You can cook this upma without the veges also.
Kugan's Kitchen
Karthika, thanks for your your very nice post.
Very soon I will be posting the radish recipes.
I am glad that this thread is of help to you.
Keep writing.
Thanks. Kugan98
kugan,
thanks a lot for the oats receipes. how much water should we use for oats pongal.
take ur time for radish dishes.
thanks
selvi
Dear Kugan
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. I drained the soaked ulunthu in the strainer before putting in the grinder. That must have been left the ulunthu very dry. I will remember your suggestions next time. For four cups of ulunthu I added three table spoons of rice flour. It didn't show much difference but I was able to make good shaped vadais. Potato bonda looks very tempting Kugan. May be I will try for the weekend and forget about the waist line.
Shanthy
Dear Kugan and friends,
Its been ages since i posted some recipes. I am so sorry. I am currently in Spore for 3mths Holiday. Therefore, I will not be able to post any recipes till Jan. As my mum will do all the cooking and i am not allowed into the kitchen. "Romba chellam" So.. I will try my level best to post amma's Recipes.
I will make sure i visit our HUB regularly. Miss u guys and happy belated Diwali....
Superspiczy
superspicy, enjoy ur stay with ur mom, donot forget to post ur mom's receipes. happy to see u in the thread after long time.
selvi
Kugan's Kitchen
Selviem, normally you boil 11/2 cups of water.
You keep some boiling water by the side.
if you find the water not enough, add little more water.
you do not want your pongal to be too kola kola.
Thanks. Take care. Kugan98
Note: Selviem my aunty has e-mailed me the radish kutoo,
resturant style. I will try it out first before posting.
Kugan's kitchen
Shanthy, thanks for your post.
I am not a professional, I learn by trial and error.
According to my aunty, vadais made without adding any flours
retain their softness .
Thanks. Kugan98
kugan's kitchen.
Welcome back Super spiczy.
Enjoy your stay in your moms place.
Nothing like moms cooking and love.
I have lost both. :(
Singapore recipe ellam pottu asathungga.
Mom's recipeyum post pannungga.
Enjoy yourself Superspiczy.
Take care. kugan98
Kugan's Kitchen
[tscii] There are two different styles in doing this simple radish raitha.
This is the first one.
RADISH RAITHA (1)
Ingredients:
1 radish skinned and grated
1 cup yogurt
1 red onion chopped fine
1 tomato chopped fine
2 green chillies chopped fine
1 tsp oil
½ tsp cumin seeds
Few curry leaves chopped
Salt to taste
Method:
Grate the radish, add in the chopped onions, tomato, salt
And green chillies.
Heat oil in a pan add in the cumin seeds and curry leaves.
Add it to the radish mixture.
Finally add in the curds and mix well before serving.
Note: Add the curd according to the consistency you want.
Some people like to saute the grated radish in a tsp of oil to get
rid of the raw smell. I use it raw.
[html:53bff9d1a2]
http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/6333/radish1.jpg
[/html:53bff9d1a2]
We do this style when we have guests for lunch.
RADISH RAITHA (2)
Ingredients:
300 grms radish grated
1 cup fresh yogurt
2 green chillies
½ tsp cumin seeds
2 tbs grated coconut
2 cashew nuts
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp urad dal
1 red chillie broken
Few curry leaves
Salt to taste.
2 tsp oil
Method:
Heat 1 tsp of oil in a pan. Sauté the grated radish till the raw smell goes.
It will only take about 2 minutes. The radish must be crunchy.
Grind together green chillies, cumin seeds, grated coconut,
And the cashew nuts to a smooth paste using very little water.
Beat yogurt with salt, add in the paste and mix well.
Add in the sautéed radish.
Heat a pan with 1 tsp of oil, add in the mustard seeds, urad dal, broken red chillie and the curry leaves. Pour on the raitha.
Chill and serve.
kugan's kitchen
VAALAI POO KOOTU
Ingredients:
1 vaalai poo
100 grms toor dal soaked and boiled till cooked.
1 big onion chopped
4 pips garlic smashed.
1 small piece of ginger cut fine
3 dried chillies cut into ' pieces
tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin powder
tsp tumeric powder
1 sprig curry leaves
cup curds
salt to taste oil.
Method:
Mix the curd with a litre of water in a basin.
Remove the maroon coloured sheath of the flower.
Remove a bunch of florets at a time.
Remove the stamen and also the white pinkish petal.
Cut the florets into small pieces. Soak them in the curd, water mixture.
This is to avoid the flowers turning black.
Heat oil in a wok. Add oil, then the mustard seeds.
Add in the onions, garlic, and ginger .
Add in also the dry chillies and curry leaves. Stir nicely.
Mean time wash the flowers, once and squeeze out the water.
Now add the flower, cumin powder, and tumeric powder.
Stir fry nicely, add the cooked dal, salt and let the flowers cook.
Sprinkle some water if needed, otherwise the liquid in the dal is enough.
Remove from stove when cooked.
Serve with rice or roti.
[html:f9ce507bb5]
http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/3839/bananaflower.jpg
[/html:f9ce507bb5]
Hello Kugan Kitchen makkale
y/day we went to a small hotel here where they served adai. The adai was crispy as well as soft. I could make out that they have used black ulundhu and more of rice.
My son asked me idhu madhiri adai veetla panna mudiyuma - nu.
Help pannungo please.....
Kugan's Kitchen
Welcome Sudha. Enngeh pooitingga?
Long time missing. I can understand.
All of us are somehow busy.
How was Deepavali? What did you cook.?
Suvai has posted to me a adai recipe.
I will try it out soon and post it in the hub.
Tell your son, nammal mudiyathathu onum illai.
We will give it a try.
Take care. Kugan98
Engum pogalai pa. I read all the posts. Pudusa try panra mood than illai. Edho regular cooking, to the extent I know.
I did not do anything for deepavali.
My son is a very poor eater. 90% vishayangal pudikkaadhu. So I have to repeat only within the 10%. thats my problem.
So when he liked that adai, i thought of doing, but proportions therile. So this is the place to turn to...
kugan,
thank u so much for radish receipes, i will try it out tomorrow. Also can u give me tip how to buy vaalai poo. we dont get nice stuff here, all are small. Its always kasappu whenever i buy over here. so only during my visit to india, my mom will cook vaalai poo and i will eat nicely. u tempted me by posting vaalai poo kootu.
selvi
sudha,
i make adai in 2 types.
method i
========
idli rice - 1 cup
ulundhu - 2 tsp
toor dhal - 1/4 cup
soak for four hours, grind coarsely in the mixie with 3 dry red chillies, saunf - 1/2 tsp, ginger - 1/2". Mix with salt, grated coconut, chopped onions, coriander leaves, curry leaves, turmeric powder. mix nicely and make adai. Serve it with coconut chutney.
Method : 2
==========
Idli rice - 1 cup
ulundhu - 2 tsp
pasiparuppu - 2 tsp
yellow pumpkin - 2 tblsp chopped
soak for four hours, grind coarsely in the mixie with 3 dry red chillies, saunf - 1/2 tsp, ginger - 1/2". Mix with salt, grated coconut, chopped onions, coriander leaves, curry leaves, turmeric powder. mix nicely and make adai. Serve it with coconut chutney.
Method 2 will be softer than method 1
try it out.
Kugan's Kitchen
Selviem, I am not an expert, anyway I will tell you what I know.
I think the size of the flower does not matter.
Normally there will be some bitterness in the flower.
You soak the chopped flowers in butter milk and little salt, for about half an hour.
then squeeze out all the liquid. The flower will not be that bitter.
Moreover with all the dals and spices, you will not feel the bitterness. Try and see.
Thanks. kugan98
kugan's kitchen
[tscii]
RADISH PORIYAL
Ingredients:
300 grms radish grated or chopped
2 tbs of boiled moong dal. (not over cooked)
Salt to taste
1 tsp of oil
Seasonings:
¼ tsp mustard seeds
¼ tsp urad dal
Few curry leaves
2 shallots sliced
2 green chillies or dry red chillies sliced
1 tbs grated coconut.
Method:
Heat a wok with the oil, add in the mustard seeds, and urad dal.
Let it splutter, add in the sliced shallots, green chillies, and curry leaves. Sauté well.
Add in the grated radish and the boiled moong dal.
Stir well, cover and let it cook for 5 minutes.
(you need not add water as there will be enough liquid in the radish)
Add salt and stir well, finally add in the grated coconut.
Fry well and remove. This is a dry dish.
[html:2947b42005]
http://img5.imageshack.us/img5/2479/img5580q.jpg
[/html:2947b42005]
hi kugan nga,
awesome recipes post panniteenga....i too like raddish very much....will try out the koottu.
By the way "100 gms dal" nu pottu irukeenga entha dal nu konjam sollunga plz.
thanks for trying out the mint rice....& i am glad that your family liked it too :-)
hello nga sudha india....adai is one of my fav too ;-)...that too if u can add venthaya (fenugreek) leaves ....its even more tasty....
Selviem.....ya sometimes the vaazhai poo we get here is also bitter...so i add little tamarind to it to cover up the bitter taste...it sometimes works....try panni paarunga :-)